SingaporeMotherhood.com * Year 2004 and earlier Mums * (2004/09) Year End (Sep - Dec) 2004 Mothers-to-be < Previous Next >

Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
Archivepawprint46003 630 7-09-08  11:50 am
  ClosedClosed: New threads not accepted on this page        

Berry (berrywife)
Advanced Member
Username: berrywife

Post Number: 6432
Posted on Wednesday, July 09, 2008 - 1:03 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

pawprint, even tho neighbourhood stores selling electrical appliances alot more cheaply, they dont do extended warranty. IMO its not worth it to take the risk, esp since yours is a dryer-cum-washer, so many functions, lagi likely to breakdown (according to my own could-be-flawed theory lol!). Even my 1.2K whirlpool washer (the sales person was saying how great it is, no problems blah blah- yeah right,) gives me problem in less than 2 years, and the first repair required already costs more than the extended warranty I paid for. So if you dont want to stress over your next purchase, its a good idea to pay a wee bit more for peace of mind.

kelly (weddingfairy)
Advanced Member
Username: weddingfairy

Post Number: 6168
Posted on Wednesday, July 09, 2008 - 1:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

pawprint
gabe has foot arches. very visible.

Rochelle (laputa)
Username: laputa

Post Number: 1868
Posted on Thursday, July 10, 2008 - 4:16 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

was at the local zoo yesterday. it was 40degC here.

my boys at the "boat" at the zoo

pawprint (pawprint)
Username: pawprint

Post Number: 1467
Posted on Thursday, July 10, 2008 - 8:31 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Bought LG washer-dryer, $999 Best Denki promo, then added on extended warranty. Different stores varied in price promo, something wrong with their sales info lor.

Wld have preferred Thomson, smaller capacity but sooo slim! Wld have given me more leeway to squeeze and clean behind the machine! But agent OOS... and big difference in price, nearly $1.7K. :-(

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1468
Posted on Thursday, July 10, 2008 - 8:33 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Rochelle, 40deg! Yikes!

Rochelle (laputa)

Post Number: 1870
Posted on Thursday, July 10, 2008 - 8:33 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

pawprint,

whats the model of washer dryer you buy? thinking of getting one for my mum. my SG laundry area has no room for side by side so need a 2 in 1. how much is the extended warranty? thanks

Rochelle (laputa)

Post Number: 1871
Posted on Thursday, July 10, 2008 - 8:39 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

tiger children bottle recommendation?

I am looking at the MMM or MMD model for my boys.
http://www.usa.tiger-corporation.com/commodity/stainless_steel/lineup.html#mmm3

also is there any difference between made in japan and made in china?

those I bought in SG from takashimaya were made in japan. those I bought last yr here were made in china.

for the same model, the made in japan is more costly than the made in china. the asian shops here sell both the made in japan and made in china. its for my boys so if bo bian just have to pay more.

Rochelle (laputa)

Post Number: 1872
Posted on Thursday, July 10, 2008 - 10:19 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

children's place/old navy/carters/oskgosh clothes,

was at factory outlet on sunday and alot of clothes were on sale for USD 2.99, SGD 4.05

manage to get some clothes for myself since I wear kids size :-)

find alot of the sprees here are overcharging in exchange rate and shipping costs.

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1470
Posted on Thursday, July 10, 2008 - 12:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Rochelle, I was checking out these recommended washer-cum-dryer:

- LG WD 14331D 8kg/ 4kg (wash/ dry load) $999 at Best Denki, additional ~$150? for extended to 5yr warranty. Parkway Best Denki insists it's a DISPLAY model, otherwise it's $1099... but I got my non-display model from Century Best Denki.

- Turbo INCANTO TWD6610 6kg/ 3kg ~$1263 fr http://www.happiness.com.sg/main/product/ProductDetails.asp?ProductId=TWD6610# (no extended warranty???)

- TURBO INCANTO TWD6812 8kg/ 5kg ~$1600

- Thomson TX898 6kg/ 3kg ~$1648 fr Courts with 5yr warranty

I was told small shops that offer better pricing *sometimes* offer option of extended warranty... but the price of that warranty costs more than Courts or Denki. I was also told that Denki has best pricing for the warranty all-in lah.

The Thomson really the SMALLEST footprint but it's TOPLOAD compared to the other frontloads. H/e the topload is still horizontal axis drum, similar to front load spin.

The LG some gd reviews (can google LG washer dryer review).

Rochelle (laputa)

Post Number: 1873
Posted on Thursday, July 10, 2008 - 12:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

pawprint,

the century best denki is the nearest to my SG home :-) was thinking of getting it for my parents for CNY spring cleaning. becos now get they will say the existing washer still quite new.

will check the reviewss. thanks

Rochelle (laputa)

Post Number: 1875
Posted on Friday, July 11, 2008 - 2:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

US brands,

maybe its because I am so near a factory outlet mall and 1hr drive away from another factory outlet mall. somemore summer weather so hot have to hide in the shopping malls.

my boys clothes are usually on the <= $3 racks and my clothes are usually on the 80-90% off racks.

I still find it funny that people (including my BIL) are willing to pay so much for US brands. especially when some sprees exchange rate is so much higher than the bank exchange rate.

think the only US brands I still like is Clarks and Coach.

Timberlannd, Nautica, Tommy Hilfiger, Lacoste, Burberry, TUM, Levis already see until bored.

Rochelle (laputa)

Post Number: 1905
Posted on Wednesday, July 16, 2008 - 12:43 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Reading,

WW is "reading" by sight words. he basically memorise those words he like and than when he spots those words in his story books he just point to it and "read"

Rochelle (laputa)

Post Number: 1912
Posted on Wednesday, July 16, 2008 - 7:51 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hubby helping with discipline?

my hubby still expect me to be the one to discipline even if he is at home. anyone else have this problem? If I remind him that he needs to help discipline too, he will do for few evenings than forget again.

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1474
Posted on Wednesday, July 16, 2008 - 9:06 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Rochelle,
Ahgirl *just* got some sightwords and can figure the easier words phonetically. But no progress lately lah, not enough time in the day, hahaha. Ath din get it for the longest time, til I actually went and bought an assessmt book! Her memory not very gd for such stuff lah, normal read-from-book, read THE END zillion times still din recognise THE. I mean she will recognise the STORYLINE but not link to each word. Until flashcard "THE". LOL! No idea what kinda "pattern" Ahboy will be, when his time comes- now still only reinforcing alphabet recognition and single sounds.

HB not around some evenings... hah. Oh well, at least I can go lunch with him later with 1 of the kids.

Rochelle (laputa)

Post Number: 1915
Posted on Wednesday, July 16, 2008 - 9:57 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

pawprint,

hubby will be out of town next week, silly thing is boys behave better when he is out of town.

WW also can figure how to pronounce the words phonetically for easy words. but he recognise words like "stop" "car" "train" "thomas" "truck" from memory

I spend 1hr a day reading with my boys. sometimes is 1hr stretch, sometimes is 2 x 30mins. if hubby good mood he will read storybooks to them for 30mins.

I use storybooks that have 1-2 sentence per page. than WW can pick up more sight words. if > 2 sentence per page, he rather tell the story himself than let me read.

gabby (gabby)
Username: gabby

Post Number: 795
Posted on Wednesday, July 23, 2008 - 6:02 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hello

just polling... i have a boy and a girl and my friend told me that I should not bathe them together. at what age do you mummies think that they should not bathe together? Gosh I have been doing that for some time!

Rochelle (laputa)

Post Number: 2037
Posted on Wednesday, July 23, 2008 - 9:37 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

gabby,

I think 3. my older boy who is 3 already can blah about difference between girl and boy body parts. so now we close toilet door. last time will leave a gap in case my boys hurt themselves

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1494
Posted on Wednesday, July 23, 2008 - 12:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

both kiddos shower together- easier, they sit down on plastic chairs next to each other and try to soap themselves. Think it's fine at 4yr/ 2yr... I don't have cut-off age... will determine when it shld stop, when i start feeling it inappropriate.

Rochelle (laputa)

Post Number: 2044
Posted on Wednesday, July 23, 2008 - 1:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

gabby, pawprint,

in Japan families bath together. so really depends on what is a comfortable age. my boys bath together. only close toilet door when me or hubby using

Berry (berrywife)
Advanced Member
Username: berrywife

Post Number: 6485
Posted on Wednesday, July 23, 2008 - 4:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Anyone has kids doing lessons in Yamaha? Any reviews/feedback/comments to share with me? I am looking at their keyboard class. :-)

gabby, I will probably stop bathing the kids together when either of them feels uncomfortable doing so.

gabby (gabby)

Post Number: 796
Posted on Thursday, July 24, 2008 - 6:10 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

berry, rochelle & pawprint

thanks for feedback.... I think I will go with the flow of things instead of imposing an age then!

berry
My neighbour is... so impressed as they even produce a dvd for the child to follow!

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1500
Posted on Friday, August 01, 2008 - 9:02 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

WHO WANNA GO WITH US?

Today Newspaper Pg 8- Wild Wild Wet Cut-out Coupon!
$4/ child; $8/ adult- maximum purchase of 4 tix with each newspaper coupon!
Valid 1-31 Aug (closed Tue except Sch Hol/ PH).

YuRu (yuru)
Username: yuru

Post Number: 2813
Posted on Friday, August 01, 2008 - 9:18 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi pawprint,
fyi, we managed to bring C(carrying her) in w/o a ticket 2 weeks ago. :p

Medusa (mtmtmt)
Username: mtmtmt

Post Number: 4598
Posted on Friday, August 01, 2008 - 2:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

edit!

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1512
Posted on Friday, August 01, 2008 - 2:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yuru, hehe wow. Eh, C still in Yamaha Bebe Ballet at Parkway?

I got problem leh! Ahgal graduating to Classical Ballet but the ONLY timeslot offered is Sun! Bad for us! If take a break wait for next intake in Jan... they can't tell me whether it's gonna be a wkend slot! I think I need to check around other locations for wkday slot... so troublesome.

*******WWW- anyone going on Sun morn? :-) ******

YuRu (yuru)

Post Number: 2814
Posted on Friday, August 01, 2008 - 4:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

pawprint,
yup yup!
wow, so fast Ath graduate liao? i'm looking forward to C's graduation too, and hoping to put her with the tr you recommended last time.

Parkway may have more timeslots available, can email enquiry@crestar.com.sg to check.

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1514
Posted on Monday, August 04, 2008 - 9:04 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

WWW was fun! If ur kids enjoy water dumped over their heads, shooting waterguns at others and going down slides- they'd probably enjoy it :-) .

Jen (jenjen)
Username: jenjen

Post Number: 4898
Posted on Monday, August 04, 2008 - 10:05 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

pawprint, glad u had fun! it was so hot yesterday, must be lovely splashing about the water! due to J's history, she's very cautious when playing and will refuse to go down the slides herself. she much prefer to play some water toys by the side.

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1518
Posted on Friday, August 08, 2008 - 12:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yeap, had LOTS of fun! TOo much ah, next day I had headache couldn't bring the kids out.
I saw alot of kids who brought toys.

Mujmuj (muju)
Username: muju

Post Number: 480
Posted on Tuesday, August 12, 2008 - 9:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mommies, some lobang on what to do with your kids this weekend
Junior Angel's Club (JAC) KIDS' AFTERNOON OUT
AT GRACE KIDS

Venue: Grace Kids, 1 Kim Seng Promenade,
Great World City, #03-06/10, Singapore 237994

Date: Sat 16 August 2008

Time: 4pm to 6pm

Exclusive Junior Angels Club Member’s Price: $35/child (Usual Price $70),
Non member : $45/child

Suitable for kids 12 months and above

Does your children like
to sing and groove?
get creative with their hands?

Here’s your chance to see how kids truly have fun at Grace Kids.

Immerse yourself in an exhilaring session of music & movement then create your own masterpiece in a creative craft workshop.
You will also take home a special goodie bag!

Come dressed in your JAC Club T-Shirt and be prepared for an afternoon of
non-stop FUN!

To register please call 63580055/63508876
or email at : membership@tmc-sin.com.sg

Registration closes Wednesday 13 August 2008.

For more information on this event, log on to :

http://www.thomsonmedical.com/events.htm

For more information on Grace Kids, log on to www.gracekids.com.sg

Charsiew Rice (charsiew_rice)
Username: charsiew_rice

Post Number: 1264
Posted on Wednesday, September 03, 2008 - 2:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

*knock knock*...

down here like no movement liao...

Rochelle (laputa)

Post Number: 2276
Posted on Thursday, September 04, 2008 - 1:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

yalor.

my older boy now more aggressive to his younger 2yr old brother :-( anyone having same problem?

now he sometimes wont take turns with shared toys and he will "kick" his brother when angry

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1566
Posted on Thursday, September 04, 2008 - 6:12 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

CSR,
cos everyone at ur blog :-) .

Rochelle,
Elder not aggressive... but possibly passive-aggressive or something. Younger hold out a french fry FOR her, she decline. Younger sing song to her (except he pokes her with his fry while doing so) n her face black.
I explain... but dunno whether she buys it lah.

gabby (gabby)

Post Number: 812
Posted on Monday, September 15, 2008 - 10:45 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Rochelle

my girl is real chilli padi then, if bro ill treats her, she will pull his hair and then cry! Think they are going thr a phase whereby they are trying to exert their control over others...

Rochelle (laputa)

Post Number: 2283
Posted on Wednesday, October 01, 2008 - 4:26 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

was playing with egg molds and my boys made these from hard boiled eggs

little_devil (little_devil)
Username: little_devil

Post Number: 2677
Posted on Wednesday, October 15, 2008 - 12:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

HONEY HONEY
hey mummies, wanna ask if theres any HONEY expert here... what is raw unheated honey and i tot all honey is raw??!!?? and also what sort of honey is safe / unsafe for our toddler?

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1639
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 7:13 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

BLOOD BLOOD
CORDBLOOD... want to know if anyone who took the package, did you extend it? I mean I got a bill for the next 18yrs' storage or something... and I'm not sure if I wanna continue cos doesn't cordblood deteoriate beyond a certain storage age?

Post Number: 1271
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 11:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

HONEY HONEY
I feed kids Manuka honey from NZ ... so far so good... but not all children can take it.

BLOOD BLOOD
next 18 years of storage? they only send me yearly bill... and u know u can use the CDA account too?

Catherine Chionh (catherinechionh)
Username: catherinechionh

Post Number: 1025
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 12:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

if u are a fan of The Magic School Bus
check out the following link:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1812740.html

Post Number: 2679
Posted on Thursday, October 23, 2008 - 3:10 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

pawprint
ha!!! i dun think it will as they store it a special way. i didnt do it with quinn so i dun know the price. but if the price is right i will continue i guess.

CSR
i read that CLOVER honey is safe for children as they are milder BUT manuka is a good choice but i afraid it will be too heaty for quinn. he loves his honey stick for sure and i only get him the original one, clover, without added flavour. i am taking REALLY RAW HONEY and loving it so i wonder if he can take it too.....hmm.....

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1642
Posted on Friday, October 24, 2008 - 10:46 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

THANKS THANKS
:-) Silly HB scared me, turns out the 18yrs bill is an OPTION (with discount). Duh!

Post Number: 2680
Posted on Friday, November 07, 2008 - 7:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

WRITING REVERSE
any toddler doing this? Quinn will write certain words *not all* eg. like letter "S" and "n" and afew more. he loves to do WORDS dictation, like he will draw something, for example an ear then i will spell it for him to write. he can get them right and sometimes he remember how they spell also BUT he tends to write reverse for certain words, i try to correct him but i guess hes still into this writing reverse....... could it be dyslexia???!!!???!!!

Post Number: 2681
Posted on Saturday, November 08, 2008 - 9:34 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

oh yes, any toddler here ever complain about leg / feet aching / pain???

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1660
Posted on Saturday, November 08, 2008 - 3:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

lildevil,
i dunno... A does that sometimes too? Don't think it's dyslexia...
hmm, maybe Q has growing pains? A fren's kid complains his "knee is sinking in", sometimes suddenly in middle of night/ sleep. Not sure, maybe ask Q more specifically?

Post Number: 2682
Posted on Monday, November 10, 2008 - 12:41 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

pawprint
hope its not dyslexia.... actually i am sure that most toddlers did that, maybe i am just being a little too paranoid. i also think it could be growing pain.... as theres no redness or swelling and also he allows me to massage or touch his leg when theres a pain. and also it starts late evening and usually complain and cry in the night. and the next day, he seems okie, without complains and also dont seems to remember about what happen the previous night...

gabby (gabby)

Post Number: 825
Posted on Tuesday, November 11, 2008 - 4:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

little devil

gab does that too.. it is quite common to inverse the words. he loves to inverse no 5, S and q

Post Number: 2683
Posted on Tuesday, November 11, 2008 - 5:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

gabby
ha!!! i also realized they like to inverse 5,S very much yah...? ha!!!!

mummies, just to share something that happened last evening and hope mummies must be very careful about it. we, hubby, me and quinn went to supermarket last evening, at kovan. then out of a sudden, hubby YELLED at a man. i ask him what happen but he was too furious to tell me but i know it has something to do with that man and his hp!!! then hubby ask me to wait for him with quinn in the supermarket. then after awhile hubby called me, tells me that that man is a PERVERT! he use his hp and take pictures of woman in the supermarket and while i was walking infront with hubby and quinn further from me, he saw him talking pictures of me secretly!!!! YUCKS! so hubby so angry and stop him and reported to police and while waiting for the policemen to arrive, he beg hubby to let him go. hubby wants him to erase those pictures and he did then hubby let him off BUT hubby use his hp and take down him saying sorry and what so ever in video mode. hubby describe to the police wbout him and so if policemen caught him after that, then thats too bad!

mummies, please be very careful!!

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1666
Posted on Tuesday, November 11, 2008 - 5:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

lildevil,
shld hav hauled that guy to the police. I don't know, ever since I had a girl... I'm in a spare-no-pervs mentality. One day that man might prey on our offspring.

gabby (gabby)

Post Number: 826
Posted on Tuesday, November 11, 2008 - 5:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

HELP

Does any mummies here have an experience in sending Indonesian maids back? My Indo maid is due to go back but she wants to go back via Batam. She wants me to pay for the airfare from the budget airline she wants to take. Is this legal and proper? I dont object but dont want to get into legal issues. Thanks!

Post Number: 2684
Posted on Tuesday, November 11, 2008 - 8:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

pawprint
i ask hubby why he let him go? and actually i am still thinking why he let him off..... i guess hes too kind?!? saying that hes really an old man, if its not for that, he will definitely hit him. hubby says hes old and keeps begging him..... well, if its me, maybe i will not let him go just like that.

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1672
Posted on Friday, November 21, 2008 - 10:12 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I-ROBOT SCOOBAS?
Anyone using this? Any feedback? Am considering getting one! Just switch on while I'm out and come back to clean floors except for unreachable corners, yah?

Silly me- I have my cabinets suspended 6inches above the floor... and the darn scooba is exactly 6 inches height, argh I should have suspended it half inch higher!

IRON IRON IRON
Anyone rec me an iron $100-$200? Not garment steamer cos I read it's hot and steamy (hahaha) and tiring with arms going up-down and not suited to work shirts.

lildevil,
hehe i wld have kicked his balls. Seriously. Not for myself but for all past and future potential victims.

YuRu (yuru)

Post Number: 2958
Posted on Friday, November 21, 2008 - 11:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi pawprint,
I have a roomba and will get a scooba too.
Think it's good to start with a roomba? cos i think vaccum more tired than mopping? :-)

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1678
Posted on Sunday, November 23, 2008 - 8:32 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yuru!!! Really! I must tell HB! I have confidence in ur consumer choices, hehe :-) .

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1679
Posted on Sunday, November 23, 2008 - 9:02 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Wait, I thought Scooba vaccuums AND mops, so why get both?

YuRu (yuru)

Post Number: 2960
Posted on Sunday, November 23, 2008 - 9:32 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

pawprint,
haha thanks.

Scooba mainly washes the floor with minimum vacuum, so unless the floor is very clean otherwise the small dustbin will be full soon and affect the washing function.

you can read here for more discussions on irobot,
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=31543236#post31543236

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1680
Posted on Sunday, November 23, 2008 - 8:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yuru,
thanks, haha, looks like needs BOTH. Really pricey leh.

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1684
Posted on Tuesday, November 25, 2008 - 8:21 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yuru,
how are you getting ur Scooba, which model? I don't know which Roomba and Scooba models to get... are they all the same height?

YuRu (yuru)

Post Number: 2965
Posted on Tuesday, November 25, 2008 - 12:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi pawprint,

Will be getting scooba380, ship from US.
Not sure about the height leh, just checked, not in the specifications.

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1685
Posted on Tuesday, November 25, 2008 - 4:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

You confirmed arrangemnts? HB is going US early Dec...

YuRu (yuru)

Post Number: 2966
Posted on Tuesday, November 25, 2008 - 11:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi pawprint,

i just measured my roomba, height is ard 3", did u mention about 6"?

i hvn't confirmed on arrangement, irobot has 10% + free domestic shipping for thanks giving day. but now they only allow US issued CC. so i need help, the mummy hasn't replied yet.

it's good if your hb can carry back, read that getting at HSN is much cheaper, just buy at the store and bring bk and you can save quite a bit.

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1686
Posted on Wednesday, November 26, 2008 - 12:43 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yuru,
3"? *MUAK!* It'd run under my cabinets nicely, yay!

I read Scooba is 6" ht, u gonna use in bedrooms? Won't it spray the base of your built-in wardrobes?

Are u getting Scooba 380 only or some replacement accessories for wear and tear? Replacement batteries? Using Clorox or vinegar or plain water or?

Eh share what areas your Roomba covers, u use for kitchen and yard too? What areas you group together, and how often, and when?

HB fine with the Roomba but not the Scooba, need to apply pressure...
Actually I'd rather just one gadget, I can't even think of a nice hidden docking station (for the Scooba especially).

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1687
Posted on Wednesday, November 26, 2008 - 9:28 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

BTW which Roomba model u have, for how long, any issues?
And why choose Scooba 380 instead of basic Scoobas.

They have so many models my head is spinning... their heights all seem different from different sources, yikes.

gabby (gabby)

Post Number: 841
Posted on Friday, December 05, 2008 - 3:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

feedback on steam iron needed

anyone tried the steam iron from novita(?) is it good??

Rochelle (laputa)

Post Number: 2291
Posted on Saturday, December 20, 2008 - 9:17 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

we spent thanksgiving there playing in the snow.

Rochelle (laputa)

Post Number: 2292
Posted on Saturday, December 20, 2008 - 9:18 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

just realised the caption didnt show up. this is at Crater Lake in Oregon, US

Rochelle (laputa)

Post Number: 2293
Posted on Saturday, December 20, 2008 - 9:18 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

just when for baby checkup.
WW is too heavy at 18kg and WK is too light at 15kg :-(

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1706
Posted on Sunday, December 21, 2008 - 11:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Rochelle,
that's a beaaautiful pic!

Hmm my #1 and #2 abt 1 kg apart... around 14, 15 kg...?

karen (ktpf)
Username: ktpf

Post Number: 896
Posted on Wednesday, December 31, 2008 - 11:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ANYONE STILL READING THIS THREAD!

Rochelle (laputa)

Post Number: 2295
Posted on Thursday, January 01, 2009 - 11:06 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

happy new year

Post Number: 1290
Posted on Thursday, February 05, 2009 - 11:31 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wahahhaha...

Gong Xi Fai Cai!

cjx (cjx)
Username: cjx

Post Number: 233
Posted on Tuesday, February 17, 2009 - 10:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi, my child does not seem to like to go to school. She's now in K1. She keeps crying whenever she reaches school and sometimes even all the way to school. I have tried to ask her many times the reason why she does not want to go but always do not get a proper answer from her.

Post Number: 2694
Posted on Wednesday, February 18, 2009 - 11:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

lately i really dont know why am i so short tempered......so impatient.....everything seems to get on my nerves!!! then i visit hubby's school *old boys* site and saw this and some seems to moved my heart...

A Child's Ten Commandments to Parents
Author: Unknown

* My hands are small; please don't expect perfection whenever I make a bed, draw a picture or throw a ball.

* My legs are short; please slow down so that I can keep up with you.

* My eyes have not seen the world as yours have; please let me explore safely. Don't restrict me unnecessarily.

* Housework will always be there. I'm only little for a short time, please take time to explain things to me about this wonderful world and do so willingly.

*My feelings are tender; please be sensitive to my needs. Don't nag me all day long. Treat me as you would like to be treated.

* I am a special gift from God; please treasure me as God intended you to do, holding me accountable for my actions, giving me guidelines to live by and disciplining me in a
loving manner.

*I need your encouragement to grow. Please go easy on the criticism; remember, you can criticize the things I do without criticizing me.

*Please give me the freedom to make decisions concerning myself. Permit me to fail, so that I can learn from my mistakes.

* Then someday I'll be prepared to make the kinds of
decisions that life requires of me.

*Please don't do things over for me. Somehow that makes me feel that my efforts didn't quite measure up to your expectations.

*Please don't be afraid to leave for a weekend together. Kids need vacations from parents, just as parents need vacations from kids. Besides, it's a great way to show us kids
that your marriage is very special.

*Please take me to church regularly, setting a good example for me to follow. I enjoy learning more about God.

UMMM..... the last one very IMO though...heee........

Jen (jenjen)
Advanced Member
Username: jenjen

Post Number: 5049
Posted on Friday, February 27, 2009 - 9:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mummies, please help to spread the word... thanks!
LOST on 25 Feb: Fujifilm Finepix J10 @ KKH or Paragon

gabby (gabby)

Post Number: 861
Posted on Tuesday, May 12, 2009 - 12:43 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Would you let your 5 year old learn drums? My son is pestering me.... I fear that I will never get any rest/peace. What are your opionions?

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1726
Posted on Monday, May 18, 2009 - 9:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Gabby,
hmm if u have the space and the noise tolerance, why not? Mine learning piano and it's maybe half the space compared to a full drum set, so if space not an issue. In terms of noise, both piano and drum practice sounds equally bad in the beginning, I guess?! :-)

Drum lessons are pretty expensive though. My 5yo's ex-piano teacher's 5yo boy is learning drums and seems to be happy :-) .

gabby (gabby)

Post Number: 867
Posted on Wednesday, May 20, 2009 - 3:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

pawprint

space now I still looking... thinking if its compulsary to sound proof the room!

Rochelle (laputa)

Post Number: 2298
Posted on Thursday, May 28, 2009 - 7:28 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

gabby,

depends on whether your neighbours can tolerate noise. my neighbours can tolerate piano but not drums

Taurus (dlai)
Username: dlai

Post Number: 205
Posted on Wednesday, June 17, 2009 - 2:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Can I join this thread for discussion??

Winter (winterbaby)
Username: winterbaby

Post Number: 20
Posted on Monday, July 20, 2009 - 10:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

was wondering to enroll my boy to drum or violin.. any advise?

Rochelle (laputa)

Post Number: 2299
Posted on Thursday, July 30, 2009 - 9:22 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Violin

Because you can carry a violin anywhere in the world on a plane :-)

a beginner violin is very cheap. you can buy a better one when your son is really interested

Drum set takes up more space too.

Eileen (littledar)
Username: littledar

Post Number: 256
Posted on Friday, August 07, 2009 - 8:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sorry to intrude... my baby is born in Sep 2005. I am desperately looking for a good maid to take care of him as my maid will be leaving this dec. pls PM me if u are transferring yr maid. tks.

chinkerina (chinkerina)
Username: chinkerina

Post Number: 66
Posted on Friday, August 28, 2009 - 10:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Anyone looking for fixed deposit let me know, i've good rates to share. chinkerina@yahoo.com.sg

Rochelle (laputa)

Post Number: 2316
Posted on Friday, September 25, 2009 - 9:15 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

someone posted this lovely anonymous poem and I thought I should share

"A child is like a butterfly in the wind.
Some can fly higher than others;
But each one flies the best it can.
Why compare one against the other?
Each one is different.
Each one is special.
Each one is beautiful."

chinkerina (chinkerina)
Username: chinkerina

Post Number: 85
Posted on Monday, November 09, 2009 - 11:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Anyone looking for Short Term Lump Sum savings i've lobang 3 years @2.1% or @ 2.25%

Rina
chinkerina@ymail.com

Rochelle (laputa)

Post Number: 2345
Posted on Thursday, December 31, 2009 - 5:53 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Happy New Year 2010 :-)

Mummy_Chia (mummy_chia)
Username: mummy_chia

Post Number: 21
Posted on Monday, January 11, 2010 - 10:42 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sorry to interrupt.

I’m a new mummy turning to full-time piano teaching. I specialise in coaching young children and teenagers. Able to teach for leisure or for preparation of ABRSM examination. Able to travel to your place to conduct the lesson. For any enquries, please sms/call me at 91230494. Thank you.

gabby (gabby)

Post Number: 899
Posted on Friday, February 26, 2010 - 12:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I know this thread is very quiet but anyone knows which Club Med is better?

Cherating of Bintan?

Poppletots Lee (poppletots)
Username: poppletots

Post Number: 26
Posted on Monday, March 22, 2010 - 9:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi mummies and daddies

Sorry to disturb your thread
We have just setup a new online blogshop for kids
Feel free to check us out at www.poppletots.blogspot.com or at add us on facebook: poppletots@yahoo.com.sg

pawprint (pawprint)

Post Number: 1781
Posted on Friday, December 02, 2011 - 4:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

test

FerFer (felicialye)
Username: felicialye

Post Number: 2
Posted on Tuesday, May 07, 2013 - 12:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

testinggg

Add Your Message Here
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use