| Author |
Message |

deborah (babyjewels)
Junior Member Username: babyjewels
Post Number: 113 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, June 17, 2008 - 9:19 pm: |
I am teaching P1 this year and i realised that kids nowadays speak well but cannot read as well. As a result, they cannot complete their test papers on time as too much time is spent reading. My advice is start your kids on reading before they go to P1. |

Alcovelet (alcovelet)
New member Username: alcovelet
Post Number: 70 Registered: 3-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, June 17, 2008 - 9:56 pm: |
Deborah, tks for the great advice. Do you have other pearls of wisdom? |

fz (zhen49)
Junior Member Username: zhen49
Post Number: 305 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, June 17, 2008 - 11:47 pm: |
deborah, you are partially right. my boy can speak well....he can read well...the problem is that he does not understand what he read. he has to read a few times, or even i have to read it before he understand what is being written. it has since improve as i forced him to read more frequently. ya...any other things we need to prepare for P1? TIA |

PressuredKid (pressuredkid)
Junior Member Username: pressuredkid
Post Number: 136 Registered: 2-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 18, 2008 - 9:17 am: |
Hi Deborah Thanks for sharing. How about the writing part? My dd's handwriting is terrible, always never space in between words, have told her till I give up. Any mummies have that problem? |

Yuki (yuki)
Intermediate Member Username: yuki
Post Number: 2491 Registered: 11-2003
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 18, 2008 - 9:53 am: |
Hi mummies, My gal is in K1 now and i already start worrying about the Pri 1. My gal can speak relatively well, but lazy to read and write..... Yet i know they are expected to write short composition in P1.......... Hai........ |

deborah (babyjewels)
Post Number: 114 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 18, 2008 - 10:22 am: |
I'll be posting mistakes that P1 kids make as and when I have the time.....hopefully, that'll help you guide your kids, and P1 will be less painful for you and for them! |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 306 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 18, 2008 - 11:02 am: |
PressuredKid, my boy's handwriting used to be terrible for both chinese and english. i guess practice makes perfect. now his handwriting is so much better. Deborah, TIA.  |

PressuredKid (pressuredkid)
Junior Member Username: pressuredkid
Post Number: 137 Registered: 2-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 18, 2008 - 12:04 pm: |
Hi fz Your boy do not mind writing? My gal hates it leh, so how to motivate her to practice? Since young I've trouble getting her to write a page of alphabets or strokes in chinese, she'll finish just 1 row and that's it, complain she hand ache and give all excuses. She cannot sit still so only prefer to do maths and matching kind of assessment, when it comes to writing or coloring, she'll skip those pages. She'll still do reading of passages and complete the compre questions but her writing is something I can never accept, even for short ones like rearranging of sentences, she will write very horribly. You see her write, can faint ah. |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 307 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 18, 2008 - 7:45 pm: |
pressuredkid, my boy does not like writing too. but we don't do it daily, so he is still ok. he gets motivated when we praise him for his nice handwriting. for mandarin, his teacher in berries commented that he needs improvement so he got no choice but to practice. i do not allow my boy to skip pages when doing assessment...i usually give a variety of matching and writing. it'll get better when she starts practicing. |

Ng Siew Pheng (chris170773)
New member Username: chris170773
Post Number: 1 Registered: 6-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 25, 2008 - 3:03 pm: |
its true that they are expected to be able to read as there are problem sums in maths and they need to read all instructions before they can start doing the homework... My gal started P1 this year. Started her on Kumon english and maths last Jan and it helps a lot. Now she enjoys reading very much! |

deborah (babyjewels)
Post Number: 135 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 25, 2008 - 8:45 pm: |
i think it's very important to teach them phonics well. it need not be "branded" phonics, that is, going for special phonics training. it's better that parents just spend 10 or 15 mins each day on phonics with their kids. once the child is familiar with the sounds, it's easy for them to pick up on reading. don't need to spend too much on costly phonics classes. |

Reg28 (reg28)
New member Username: reg28
Post Number: 38 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 25, 2008 - 11:25 pm: |
hi deborah, can u provide some advice on how we can teach kids phonics? shd we be buying any books on phonics? any recommendations? thanks! |

chen_mama (mamachen)
New member Username: mamachen
Post Number: 18 Registered: 1-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 26, 2008 - 1:42 pm: |
How should I go about teaching my child to prepare her for pri 1? Maybe that's the reason why parents send kids to childcare/playgroup so they can learn better. They are better off than staying at home. |

Chicken Little (little_pony)
Advanced Member Username: little_pony
Post Number: 6214 Registered: 4-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, June 26, 2008 - 1:50 pm: |
me too having a gal going p1 next year but i look at her she is like totally unprepared. Still day dream, refuse to do her maths. Writing worst but enjoys reading. how how |

3bagsfull (3bagsfull)
Member Username: 3bagsfull
Post Number: 575 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, June 26, 2008 - 3:50 pm: |
PressuredKid (pressuredkid) & fz (zhen49) Ha ha my ah boy just like ur kids lor, handwritting very terrible. Actually he likes writing, but he just can't get the shape/strokes right. After so many times of teaching/holding hands/scolding, the same words he still writes in the same awful way. I also try to help him to learn phonics. Eg. I'll ask him write "OOD" and teach him the sound, and then i will add in different letters in front like F-OOD, G-OOD, M-OOD etc. and ask him to write and read to me. So far it works pretty well this way. As for Chinese, I would number the sequence of the strokes on the row i wrote for him as example. In the end the shape is almost there but I must stress repeatedly that the sequences make a difference in Chinese, if not, he would just be like drawing squares and lines and try to piece them together to look like a word. I would say that for reading, he love to be read to rather than read himself. Must really coach him word by word many times then he can read out 1 book by himself. |

deborah (babyjewels)
Post Number: 136 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 26, 2008 - 9:40 pm: |
Illegible handwriting drives teachers mad...ha ha...but really, it's important for the kids to learn how to write clear enough for the teachers to decipher what is being written. so, start penmanship for your kids now! praise and reward them when the writing is beautiful. it's really a matter of practice. |

deborah (babyjewels)
Post Number: 137 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 26, 2008 - 10:18 pm: |
start with the a e i o u sounds for phonics. for those who want to know what's next to teach for phonics, you can pm me....i'll help answer if i have the time....for now, do vowels first. |

Reg28 (reg28)
Post Number: 39 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 26, 2008 - 10:47 pm: |
hi deborah, these days i start to hear alot abt parents sending their kids for creative writing. What do they teach in the creative writing classes, and when shd we start kids on these lessons? My gal is 5 this yr and i dont knw how to gauge where her standard is now. am afraid for her if she is behind the rest then she will hav difficulty coping during P1. |

Reg28 (reg28)
Post Number: 40 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 26, 2008 - 10:51 pm: |
btw deborah, i pm u abt phonics too. |

chen_mama (mamachen)
Post Number: 20 Registered: 1-2008
| | Posted on Friday, June 27, 2008 - 8:03 am: |
deborah, i pm u abt phonics too. |

deborah (babyjewels)
Post Number: 138 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Friday, June 27, 2008 - 10:34 am: |
will reply soon. for now, start with the sounds of a, e, i, o, u. don't rush your kids. let them slowly digest. i'd suggest you do one vowel per week. for the very fast ones, one letter every 5 days. give them examples like 'a' cat, 'a' bat,....u, hut, u, but.... |

kssg (kssg777)
New member Username: kssg777
Post Number: 10 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Saturday, June 28, 2008 - 1:08 am: |
Hi Deborah, Great to see a dedicated teacher like you helping all the parents out here. What are your views on those chinese teacher who cant speak proper mandarin ? How are they going to teach han yu pin yin??? My son speaks fairly well mandarin & able to read & write mandarin. He is currently in K2 , going to primary one next year. Just wondering will those teacher be offended when a young boy corrects their mandarin. & how am i going to teach him to be more diplomatic ??? As his current kindergarten encourages the kids to be more out spoken, so i am just afraid he will offend the teacher.Pls advise. |

deborah (babyjewels)
Post Number: 139 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Saturday, June 28, 2008 - 12:25 pm: |
hi kssg, oh, are there chinese teachers who can't speak proper mandarin? in my school, the chinese teachers are really proficient in their mandarin, so i really can't advise you on your question. |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 310 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Saturday, June 28, 2008 - 5:26 pm: |
Hi kssg, it is good to teach the kid to be more diplomatic. not only towards teachers, but to friends as well...just in case he offend some older kids and get into bullying situation. I told my boy to let me know what are the teachings that he think is incorrect and then i will guide him accordingly. his current PCF's teacher did made certain mistakes (mandarin words usage, english words description) and we told him to clarify on the basis that the kid may hear incorrectly instead of the teacher teaching wrongly. jmho |

kssg (kssg777)
New member Username: kssg777
Post Number: 11 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Sunday, June 29, 2008 - 1:26 am: |
Dear Deborah & fz, Thanks for your advise. Got to work on my kid's EQ as well. )) |

Yuki (yuki)
Intermediate Member Username: yuki
Post Number: 2498 Registered: 11-2003
| | Posted on Monday, June 30, 2008 - 9:46 am: |
Hi deborah, What about maths? Are the P1 kids expected to know multipication too? Am thinking if i should send my K1 gal to Kumon for maths and chinese...... She's lazy in doing work at home so maybe kumon environment will cultivate the habit of doing work..... Yet i am afraid i place too much pressure on her.......... |

Joey Goh (twinklemint)
New member Username: twinklemint
Post Number: 13 Registered: 6-2008
| | Posted on Monday, July 21, 2008 - 2:52 pm: |
hi , my son is now in N2, last time he does not like to write . But after i change him to a new childcare(Capier Diem), he likes writing alot. Now he is writing 1-30, A-Z ( upper and lower and also some chinese words with the correct strokes... I think a good preschool really matters alot |

deborah (babyjewels)
Post Number: 140 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, July 31, 2008 - 4:12 pm: |
sorry, i've been so busy at work and at home, so couldn't write. another mistake that kids make is when they erase something and in the process, something else is erased and they completely forget to write that back. in a test when the answer is not clear, we'll just mark it wrong. |

Adeline (ladeline28)
New member Username: ladeline28
Post Number: 14 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, August 07, 2008 - 11:00 am: |
[Quote] Hi fz Your boy do not mind writing? My gal hates it leh, so how to motivate her to practice? Since young I've trouble getting her to write a page of alphabets or strokes in chinese, she'll finish just 1 row and that's it, complain she hand ache and give all excuses. She cannot sit still so only prefer to do maths and matching kind of assessment, when it comes to writing or coloring, she'll skip those pages. She'll still do reading of passages and complete the compre questions but her writing is something I can never accept, even for short ones like rearranging of sentences, she will write very horribly. You see her write, can faint ah. [Unquote] Hi PressuredKid, Your comments about your dd exactly describes my son. He is in P1 and his handwriting is still terrible for both Chinese and English. He scribbles when he does his school homework. He dislikes doing assessments, dislike art (drawing and colouring), dislike reading, dislike going for enrichment classes. The only plus point is that he likes Math and I have no worries that he'll do well in that subject. So how? Now I am trying to find a good Chinese enrichment class with good/nice teachers to create learning in him. |

Post Number: 6600 Registered: 4-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, August 07, 2008 - 11:33 am: |
Adeline My gal going P1 next year. I can't help worrying for her too. She loves to read but hates to sit down and do the work. Cannot be bother about homework in fact school does not have and I am the one who is feeding her with things to do. sigh Where do you stay ? Currently I have 4 kids at my house 2 in P1 and 2 going P1 next year attending chinese class on Sat by a native teacher. If you are near CCK, you may like to join us |

sleepy resolutions (hippo2002)
Intermediate Member Username: hippo2002
Post Number: 2638 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, August 07, 2008 - 12:42 pm: |
Yuki Kumon is indeed very shiong for the child, even more shiong for parents I withdrawn my girl from Kumon last year because she day dream & sat at her desks for hours. I placed her back to Kumon a few months ago at her request. But still the same leh. I must sit right next to her & keep nagging her. Where got independent??!! Aiya, plan to withdraw her this year before she goes P1. Too time consuming lah She's doing fraction now. I think no point being so advanced, better tackle the P1 & P2 syllabus first Nevertheless, Kumon is good if your child has the discipline to do homework automatically & independently |

Tan Leng Leng (tanlengleng)
Senior Member Username: tanlengleng
Post Number: 12316 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, August 07, 2008 - 3:12 pm: |
*STRESSED* |

Post Number: 2639 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, August 07, 2008 - 4:11 pm: |
deborah I heard there is a test during P1 orientation to stream the kids into respective classes. What kind of test is that? English or Chinese? read a passage or a written test? also, any advice on how to reduce carelessness? thanks  |

qwer (chime68)
Intermediate Member Username: chime68
Post Number: 2236 Registered: 11-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, August 07, 2008 - 4:22 pm: |
indeed very stressed! my gal next year P1...aiyoh!!! stressed!! worried also the Math problem sums. they can read the problem sums but dun understand it...then cannot do. but when I explain, she can do. but cannot always explain to her....ultimately me not following her to school..... |

Adeline (ladeline28)
Post Number: 15 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, August 07, 2008 - 11:16 pm: |
Chicken Little, Thanks for the offer but I live in the east. Looking for an enrichment centre around here. |

deborah (babyjewels)
Post Number: 141 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Friday, August 08, 2008 - 2:06 pm: |
In P1, the kids will be required to do compo in the 2nd semester. Compo will be tested on. The kids are required to write min 8 sentences. Get your child to write simple sentences now. Start training them in their tenses and punctuation. |

chen_mama (mamachen)
Post Number: 42 Registered: 1-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, August 10, 2008 - 7:05 pm: |
Wow P1 doing compo! I dun recall doing any compo while I was in P1... Being a parent now is as stress as being a student in school. |

Adeline (ladeline28)
Post Number: 18 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, August 10, 2008 - 8:34 pm: |
My son is in P1 now and he is required to write 80 words for compo already! So stress! |

xuer (xuerkai)
New member Username: xuerkai
Post Number: 79 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Monday, August 11, 2008 - 12:00 pm: |
Hi Adeline, Which school is your son in? |

Adeline (ladeline28)
Post Number: 21 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, August 12, 2008 - 9:17 am: |
Hi Xuer, My son is in St Stephen's. Although the school's standard is not high but they have homework everyday, sometimes for all 3 subjects, sometimes 1 or 2 subjects. Actually not much time left to do revise work or reading with him. |

chen_mama (mamachen)
Post Number: 46 Registered: 1-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, August 12, 2008 - 11:44 am: |
I read a blog from tamarind. She shares with us how she taught her children to read. Very informative. If I ever come across the link will share with you. Now her kid 4-5 yrs can read chim story books! She's a ftwm and still she puts in a lot of effort to teach her childrent o read. Pei fu... |

xuer (xuerkai)
New member Username: xuerkai
Post Number: 81 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, August 12, 2008 - 12:04 pm: |
Hi adeline, Does that mean that your son spend most of his time doing homework? My son is only 4 years old this year. I gathering feedback and info to decide which primary school is suitable for him. Considering from SAP school to neighbourhood school... kinda kiasu :p |

WahWah (wahwah)
Member Username: wahwah
Post Number: 575 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, August 12, 2008 - 2:01 pm: |
Hi mummies, Actually most of the schools will start Compo writing in P1. My P1 son is doing that too, sitting for written expression test tomorrow, its part of their CA2 English paper. Adeline, My son also has homework almost everyday too. There was once he was absent for 2 days, he came home with many pages of homework for the different subjects and all to be handed in the next day! I agree, really not much time left for revision. |

hi_squirrel (hi_squirrel)
New member Username: hi_squirrel
Post Number: 9 Registered: 8-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, August 12, 2008 - 2:05 pm: |
I think chen_mama is referring to this link... http://tamarindvillage.blogspot.com/2008/02/reading.html |

Adeline (ladeline28)
Post Number: 22 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, August 12, 2008 - 5:20 pm: |
Hi Xuer, It depends on how fast my son does his homework. I also want to give him some time to relax and enjoy life a little, let him play or watch tv. I heard some schools don't have much homework e.g. Temasek Primary. But I suppose their parents have to work a little harder to give them assessments to practise what was taught in school. Hi WahWah, Which school is your son in? |

WahWah (wahwah)
Post Number: 577 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, August 13, 2008 - 7:42 am: |
Hi Adeline, My son is in Canberra Pri, a neighbourhood sch in Sembawang. |

chen_mama (mamachen)
Post Number: 47 Registered: 1-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, August 13, 2008 - 8:34 am: |
Yes hi_squirrel (hi_squirrel), thanks for posting the link cos I lost the thread already.. Trying to search in vain. Hi Mummies, do take alook. I think it may help you too..I am going to try that to my child, hopefully I can see results. |

happymother (stichinthebox)
New member Username: stichinthebox
Post Number: 22 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, August 13, 2008 - 9:32 am: |
Hi mummies, Maybe you might want to send your chldren for creative writing class it very effective. The school accept children from k2 to upper primary for both chinese and english class. It located at AMK and Seragoon |

natellehcim (natellehcim)
New member Username: natellehcim
Post Number: 47 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, August 13, 2008 - 2:19 pm: |
Hi WahWah, so you stay in Sembawang? Me also but did not send my kid to Canberra. Heard quite stressful there. |

WahWah (wahwah)
Post Number: 582 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, August 14, 2008 - 8:20 am: |
Hi natellehcim, Yes, I stay in Sembawang. So where did you send your kid to? Endeavour Pri or Wellington Pri? I think its stressful for parents not the kids, my boy is not stressed at all. Maybe he is too young to know what is stress. So far, he still enjoys going to school, doesn't mind sitting for tests and exams too! |

New member Username: natellehcim
Post Number: 48 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, August 14, 2008 - 9:22 am: |
Oh that's good. registered my son in Sembawang Pri, due to distance. |

Post Number: 6713 Registered: 4-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, August 14, 2008 - 9:47 am: |
deborah need your advise. I just tested my gal. some simple books she can read and comprehend and answer my questions about the story. But when it gets a bit complicated she wont be able to answer. How should I train ? And since they will have compo in Pri 1. How can I get her ready for creative writing ? What reading materials would you recommend ? And which classes would you recommend to attend |

deborah (babyjewels)
Post Number: 142 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, August 14, 2008 - 10:29 am: |
For compre, it's a matter of practice. For creative writing, start with pictures and give them helping words. With the helping words, they can form sentences. Emphasize on the importance of punctuations and tenses. When they are better at their compo after a while, you can do without the helping words. |

Post Number: 6719 Registered: 4-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, August 14, 2008 - 11:13 am: |
Deborah thanks. So books what do you recommend. I have rigby so which level my gal should be now at K2 and next year P1. For practice, how many words or sentences should I expect her to know now. Any recommended materials or school ? |

Lisa Kvdrow (yvonnemommy)
New member Username: yvonnemommy
Post Number: 1 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, August 17, 2008 - 10:25 pm: |
Hi, everyone! My child is in P2. Just like Deborah said, she can speak well but read badly. My friend recommend a online web site beestar.org to me saying that the English language art exercises can help my child improve her reading efficiently, because her daughter has been using beestar for a long time. Does anyone here have any experience of beestar? Lisa |

Ng Siew Pheng (chris170773)
New member Username: chris170773
Post Number: 9 Registered: 6-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, August 21, 2008 - 3:22 pm: |
I started my gal on Kumon when she was K2 last year as I realized she doesn't know how to read.. Stopped when she started P1 as she took up Ballet , Gym, piano and swimming as too shiong.. But now she is a bookworm, She can finished 4 books borrowed from the library in 3 days. Not the type of picture books for preschool but thin novels like the fairies books, Enid Blyton fairytales.. I could hardly keep up with her reading so got to try to make two trips to the library every week.. So I think Kumon really helps.. |

luanee (luanee)
New member Username: luanee
Post Number: 25 Registered: 9-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, September 11, 2008 - 1:58 pm: |
What about Maths? Is Kumon good? Or MPM? I was just doing a P1 assessment book with my girl (K2) yesterday and she doesn't know how to count the tens and ones. |

Post Number: 6931 Registered: 4-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, September 11, 2008 - 2:22 pm: |
Luanee My gal is with MPM and I think she improves after joining since Jan 08. I know in Nanyang where she is going, maths will be quite manipulative like give you a ruler and a few clips. Then the length of the ruler is how many clips. This is something she is learning at MPM |

poohger (tobebride)
Member Username: tobebride
Post Number: 739 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Thursday, September 11, 2008 - 4:30 pm: |
May I know what is MPM? |

Post Number: 6934 Registered: 4-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, September 11, 2008 - 4:41 pm: |
Poohger you may refer to this http://sg.mpmmath.com/ |

Post Number: 2718 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, September 11, 2008 - 4:58 pm: |
regardless of which enrichment you choose, MPM, Kumon, Enopi, abacus... still must do assessment books. Because these are just enrichment classes, they do not follow MOE syllabus so you need to bridge the gap using assessment books

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 348 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, September 11, 2008 - 5:40 pm: |
luanee, this may be the first time your girl is exposed to the concept of tens and ones. after a few practises, she should be able to pick it up. not to worry.  |

luanee (luanee)
New member Username: luanee
Post Number: 28 Registered: 9-2008
| | Posted on Friday, September 12, 2008 - 10:22 am: |
Thks all for your feedback... I just got her K2 syllabus that they be covering 10s and 1s this term, so hopefully things will be improving... Problem is I am shifting house in Dec, so location of any enrichment classs now is a big problem. Neither here nor there, sigh.. |

happyface (happyface1)
Member Username: happyface1
Post Number: 882 Registered: 3-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, September 24, 2008 - 11:44 am: |
Hi , thanks for all information. |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 352 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, September 24, 2008 - 12:47 pm: |
deborah, are there any tips/ways to teach composition or creative writing (whatever they call them) at home? TIA. |

Poornima (jpoorni)
New member Username: jpoorni
Post Number: 2 Registered: 12-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, December 24, 2008 - 1:32 pm: |
Hi , We are moving to singapore next week and my boy is 5 years in feb.I m really stressed when i see all the moms words.for what class my son is eligible. I am new to this site.How do i know whether there is a answer for my queries.In most forums we can check from our personal email... Thanks, Poornima |

Stella Brown (stella_b)
New member Username: stella_b
Post Number: 1 Registered: 2-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 03, 2009 - 4:01 pm: |
Hi, my daughter have been doing free math in Beestar for a year, and she has just started reading program. She really likes the math practice, and also OK with the reading now. But what I see is that she has made some progress in reading, because she begins to do better in reading in school. That's told by her teacher. |

leaf (add_leaf)
New member Username: add_leaf
Post Number: 14 Registered: 4-2008
| | Posted on Saturday, February 14, 2009 - 3:58 pm: |
just to share, try this website for introducing kids to phonics: www.starfall.com. My 3 and 5 year old enjoy the animation very much. All the best! |

Esther Ong (estherong)
New member Username: estherong
Post Number: 4 Registered: 12-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, March 01, 2009 - 10:45 pm: |
Hi friends, Have bought a stainless steel "Klean Kanteen" bottle for my kid early this year from www.singhealthstore.com and am so happy with it that I must share with all. Do not use plastic bottles that leach Biphenol-A. Stainless steel bottles are absolutely safe for your children. Remember they use the bottle every single day, so a little effort to get the right bottle is important. |

EASY (easy)
New member Username: easy
Post Number: 64 Registered: 6-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, June 23, 2009 - 1:26 am: |
Can anyone share whether it is effective just to improve creative writing at home with the assessment books or is it necessary to send to creative writing classes? |

**Janet** (janet_lee88)
Senior Member Username: janet_lee88
Post Number: 20305 Registered: 9-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, October 18, 2009 - 11:52 am: |
Hi Deborah, Thank you for your advice. I appreciate it. Reading also helps the child to write compo and answer comprehension questions. Mummies, My son's handwriting is terrible...he has 'received' many 'love notes' from both his English and CL teachers to write neatly but still no improvement. My budget is very tight bcos only hubby working...so we teach the kids ourselves except for CL tuition. |

Pam (mothers_dream)
New member Username: mothers_dream
Post Number: 16 Registered: 8-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, December 10, 2009 - 7:12 pm: |
Totally agree with mummies here that it is stressful these days to prepare our kids for P1. Foundation is SO important, otherwise our poor kids will do poorly in P1/P2 next time and suffer poor esteem or worse, have to attend tuition for every subj. I think if a parent writes well, then by all means just teach at home. For some kids, just forcing them to do assessment books is not useful as they only learn to finish up the work without actually learning the skills to write creatively. Also, most kids aren't motivated to do assessment books, one after another.. It is boring. I am sure many mums will agree with me on that. Many kids can read but not understand what they read, especially if their vocabulary is poor. Language foundation is v important. I speak fr personal experience w my gals. Take a look at this blog mummies www.domesticgoddess-ourworldmyworld.blogspot.com if you are keen to improve your kids' English foundation. Check this SAHM's homeschooling posts for her children and her homebased lapbooking classes. My kids are attending and many forum mummies have kids attending too. I am very impressed as I have seen results in my gals and personally met some parents whose kids shown good improvements quickly too. Check out this too... http://thetotsuniversity.blogspot.com/2009/05/testimonies.html |

blissfulen (blissfulen)
New member Username: blissfulen
Post Number: 24 Registered: 12-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, January 06, 2010 - 1:46 pm: |
if you are looking for materials for home based learning or preparing your kids for preschool, may consider http://www.learningstore.com.sg They have materials used in schools (: |

jachang (jachang)
New member Username: jachang
Post Number: 6 Registered: 12-2009
| | Posted on Friday, January 08, 2010 - 2:17 pm: |
Hi Natellehcim, Is it really stressful studying in Canberra Pri?Thought of enrolling them due to dist.I heard negative comments about it.My maid is looking aft my 3 kids and I thought it would be easier to send my twin boys to Canberra next year. |

Member Username: natellehcim
Post Number: 545 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Friday, January 08, 2010 - 2:24 pm: |
Hi jachang, Stressful is what i've heard from parents whose kids are there... but there are some who said not leh... it is the most popular sch in Sembawang area for the past few years, maybe it is the future school MOE had appointed bah... i did not enrol my kids there, due to distance, but it is never in my list during registration. :P Stressful or not, I guess depends on individual i guess. The previous principal had retired last year and this year is a new principal. maybe with a change of principal, the school shall be managed differently? I register my kids in school just walking distance (5min) from home, and I find that it very convenient and time saving. Definitely will benefit the kids' when they have to go for CCA or extra lessons. |

jachang (jachang)
Post Number: 7 Registered: 12-2009
| | Posted on Friday, January 08, 2010 - 9:36 pm: |
Hi Natellehcim, Oh...No wonder. I heard last x was good.Now I m not sure cos I heard two negative comments.1 had transferred to another school while the other 1 wanted to trf.I hope to enrol them there.it is just a few min walk. |

Member Username: natellehcim
Post Number: 546 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Monday, January 11, 2010 - 9:42 am: |
hi, Jachang, if dist is a concern no harm trying. But if you do not PV, i guess balloting is unavoidable.  |

happyface (happyface1)
Post Number: 1721 Registered: 3-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, January 26, 2010 - 5:47 pm: |
Hi jachang, Will you like to share your experience of employing a maid to take care 3 kids at home with me. Please PM me. thanks. |

jachang (jachang)
Post Number: 11 Registered: 12-2009
| | Posted on Monday, February 08, 2010 - 12:55 pm: |
Hi Happyface, She is my 2nd maid and I m lucky to ve her to help me in managing my kids.I guess if u treat her well she will treat yr kids well too. She is with us for almost 2 yrs and my kids like her.I prefer to employ Indonesia maid who has children so that she is able to look aft mine. |

XY Gal (xxyygal)
New member Username: xxyygal
Post Number: 5 Registered: 3-2010
| | Posted on Friday, April 09, 2010 - 7:26 pm: |
Hi Deborah Am getting very worried about my child. She's 6 this year and is going to P1 next year. She can speak quite well but is very weak in her writing skills. She cannot even remember all the 26 letters. Am looking for a english private tutor for her, any recommendations? Tks in advance. |

TammyTan (mamatammy)
New member Username: mamatammy
Post Number: 17 Registered: 5-2010
| | Posted on Tuesday, May 18, 2010 - 11:23 pm: |
XY Gal, have you tried teaching her yourself, at least with the basic like the 26 letters and work with her writing of simple 3-letters words? Then let private tutor coach her on more advanced stuff. I think reading is more important than writing if she is already 6, but she should be able to form her letters from memory. Creative writing and all that stuff is extra. |

TammyTan (mamatammy)
Post Number: 18 Registered: 5-2010
| | Posted on Tuesday, May 18, 2010 - 11:24 pm: |
XY Gal, have you tried teaching her yourself, at least with the basic like the 26 letters and work with her writing of simple 3-letters words? Then let private tutor coach her on more advanced stuff. Reading is more important than writing, and she should be able to form her letters from memory. Creative writing and all that stuff is extra. |

**Janet** (janet_lee88)
Senior Member Username: janet_lee88
Post Number: 20633 Registered: 9-2005
| | Posted on Monday, May 31, 2010 - 6:08 pm: |
XY Gal, My daughter is not confident writing. Her teacher told me she tends to write mirror images of alphabets like 'r', 'b' and 'q'. |

happyface (happyface1)
Post Number: 1905 Registered: 3-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, October 17, 2010 - 4:55 pm: |
Jachang, I recall this page and wanted to share my bad experience during my maternity leave with this 2nd married maid issue. She had a 1 yrs old child and she did not take care of it and working for me taking 3 childrens, she cant bother to take care the elder child. I was then angry with her for the past 4 months of M.L and teaching her what to do and how to care for the 3. She is totally out..... My current one is good with the childrens as can see that the childrens like her. She is bad in the begining when less than 3 months she take our HP to call oversea. Won her and hope she dont do it again. |

happyface (happyface1)
Post Number: 1906 Registered: 3-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, October 17, 2010 - 4:58 pm: |
Oh...so sorry... make mistake again... This page is for P1 topic... sorry about it.. My gal is enlisted to P1, a school I am not very like.. but no choice. |

Catharine (skyray35)
Junior Member Username: skyray35
Post Number: 219 Registered: 3-2005
| | Posted on Friday, October 22, 2010 - 4:55 pm: |
Hi Deborah My boy, going P1 next year, can't read and write on his own yet.. Considering 2 months to go before starting P1, what will you suggest that I can do? Really appreciate your advice... Thanks! skyray35 |

Post Number: 25195 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Friday, October 22, 2010 - 10:14 pm: |
Catharine, did he attend any pre-school in singapore? |

Catharine (skyray35)
Post Number: 221 Registered: 3-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, October 24, 2010 - 10:05 am: |
Hi Leng Leng Yes, he did. Started from Pre-Nursery till K2 now. That's why I am worried for him. I asked his teacher and looks like most of his classmates have no problem reading and writing on their own! |

Post Number: 25210 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Sunday, October 24, 2010 - 9:41 pm: |
Hi Catharine, do arrange a meeting with his teacher, check if he needs special attention. He may just be a slower leaner, is he born towards the end of the year? HTHs.  |

Catharine (skyray35)
Post Number: 222 Registered: 3-2005
| | Posted on Monday, October 25, 2010 - 1:24 pm: |
Hi Leng Leng Yes, I did meet his teacher. Feedback was he is not a confident boy in terms of learning.. Maybe that's why he is slow in learning. He's born in May. I guess i have to be more patient with him... But was just wondering if there;s anything I can help him to learn faster... thanks. |

Post Number: 25232 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, October 27, 2010 - 6:31 am: |
Hi Catharine, maybe you bring your boy to a polyclinic & ask for a referral to KKH? confidence should not stop him from reading and writing How's his speech & conversation at home & with strangers? |

Catharine (skyray35)
Post Number: 223 Registered: 3-2005
| | Posted on Wednesday, October 27, 2010 - 8:57 pm: |
Hi Leng Leng Thanks for the advise! He has no problems communicating... sometimes talk non-stop and asked many questions.. somehow.. it just his ability to recognise words.. |

Post Number: 25234 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, October 27, 2010 - 10:14 pm: |
Hi Catharine, then it may be just a matter of practice, is he able to read few letter words? e.g is, it, be, are, star? Did he pass his eye sight test in school?  |

Catharine (skyray35)
Post Number: 224 Registered: 3-2005
| | Posted on Thursday, October 28, 2010 - 5:00 pm: |
Hi Leng Leng His eyesight no prob! he doesn't really likes reading! and he gives me a blank look when I ask him to read! many people telling me maybe take time.. so i will monitor and see it goes... maybe go for some "crash" course during school holidays will help him... |

TammyTan (mamatammy)
Post Number: 28 Registered: 5-2010
| | Posted on Thursday, October 28, 2010 - 10:06 pm: |
Have you considered taking him to check with specialist? Sometimes kids have learning difficulties which can only be identified with specialists. Early intervention is best in such cases. By the time they are in K2, especially end K2, most cases with no learning difficulties should be able to read and write. If not, will be really stressed out in Primary school. Maybe best to check out and get reassurance from specialists. Don't want to alarm you, but I have personally known quite a few kids who have different learning difficulties. |

augustmum (augustmum)
Member Username: augustmum
Post Number: 1315 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, October 28, 2010 - 10:40 pm: |
Hi Catharine, My K2 boy was unable to read about 4 months ago. I took a more drastic measure by resigning, withdrawing him from childcare and homeschooled him. I started with phonics, then high frequency words. I play games with him to help recall n recap the words. I progressed to Peter and Jane, starting with Book 1 and then slowly to level 10. I recommend Peter and Jane as the words are high frequency words and are repeated throughout the books. My son got a sense of satisfaction from able to read the simple books on his own and with lotsa encouragement, he went on to read more. Dr Suess books are good for teaching him to form words using Phonics. I tend to laugh with him when he read the funny parts in Dr Suess' books and this motivates him further. We are now reading Enid Blyton's books. He is also writing stories, with at least 7 sentences and doing open ended comprehension. Yes, very drastic and intensive but no choice as in the past, after he had returned from childcare and we, from work, we were too tired to do anything. It was simply not productive to teach him at night. We were easily short-fused too. After quitting my job, I teach him in the morning when he is in a good mood and even on days when he is cracky, I can easily postpone the lessons to after his nap. More relaxed environment = better learning. You may want to try teaching him on Sat or Sun morning. Start from the basics. Also take him to the doctor to rule out hearing loss. THe wait to be diagnosed by specialists is rather long, so parents may hv to try teaching on our own. |

Post Number: 25239 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Friday, October 29, 2010 - 3:53 am: |
Hi Catherine, try www.starfall.com JIA YOU! Leng Leng  |

Fairyprincess (fairyprincess)
Member Username: fairyprincess
Post Number: 1472 Registered: 9-2006
| | Posted on Friday, October 29, 2010 - 9:40 am: |
augustmum- I really admire you! I am 100% sure if mums put attention on the child, learning to read should come naturally- it is great that you got into the action by staying at home to teach him! I am a FTWM and balancing work with teaching my child- it is not easy! |

bboomer71 (bboomer71)
Junior Member Username: bboomer71
Post Number: 167 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Friday, October 29, 2010 - 11:55 am: |
Hi Catherine, Good job! Your son owes you big time. Big sacrifice on your part though, but no doubt worth it. I am somewhat like you as in I'm the one who teach my kids to read and write. If I had left it just to school, dont think they would have gotten too far. ;P But started earlier lah, in K1. My boy is going to P1 nex year. Peter & Jane, I took him thru the first few books, then we read other books coz graded readers can be quite boring. But lately I asked him to read level 10 coz the stories are interesting for boys: skydiving etc. He has no problems at all. Notice he can even reading silently now, but stamina not there to read the entire book on his own... Expect his reading to up the ante in P1 with the enforced reading periods and access to books in school library etc. |

Catharine (skyray35)
Post Number: 225 Registered: 3-2005
| | Posted on Friday, October 29, 2010 - 2:49 pm: |
Dear Mummies Thanks for the advise! Yes, I will consider to bring him to the specialist. Quitting my job is a big NO! But I guess I have to spend more time to read along with him and be more patient! Thanks Mummies! Have a great weekend ahead! |

augustmum (augustmum)
Member Username: augustmum
Post Number: 1316 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Friday, October 29, 2010 - 11:15 pm: |
Fairyprincess Thanks. No choice. We tried out-sourcing but found he did not like learning thru singing and activities. He prefers to be given the opportunity to ask n ask n ask endless questions re things he read. In a sch setting, the teachers may not be able to cater to his overflowing curiosity due to the need to manage n to give attention to other kids as well. I was a FTWM 4 months ago too and fully understand the stress that FTWMs must face. Took the easier way out, quit, live with less money n stress, and be happy  |

bboomer71 (bboomer71)
Junior Member Username: bboomer71
Post Number: 168 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 02, 2010 - 1:52 pm: |
Apologies to augustmum! The accolades were meant for you haha. I too have sacrificed my job for my kids. Too tired to be anywhere close to being fun and creative otherwise. Catharine, hang in there. Know moms who did not do anything until P1 then struggled to supervise and teach and still did very well. Good luck! |

Catharine (skyray35)
Post Number: 226 Registered: 3-2005
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 03, 2010 - 2:55 pm: |
Thanks bboomer! Very encouraging! I will strive towards that... ;) |

deborah (babyjewels)
Post Number: 414 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Friday, November 12, 2010 - 2:23 pm: |
Hi Mommies Thank you for keeping the thread alive! I'm so sorry for disappearing for ages. I've been up to my neck with work! Last year there was a new principal, so new goals, new pressure! I'm surprised I'm still in one piece! Ha ha.... Anyway, I hope your kids are all doing fine. Actually to teach English for lower primary, start off with a book. Read to them and then ask questions relating to the story and discuss with them any similar experiences they have faced. Also, discuss the more difficult vocab words and make sentences with the words. Encourage them to use the new words in their conversations. Important thing to remember is to make English FUN to learn! I hope to be able to contribute more in this thread. In the meantime, keep the thread alive! Thank you mommies! Hugs, Deborah |

deborah (babyjewels)
Post Number: 415 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Friday, November 12, 2010 - 5:13 pm: |
Mommies, I thought of doing a free Holiday English programme for 7 - 8 year olds. Would anyone be keen? I'm just planning things to keep my daughters occupied and so I thought it'd be good to extend this to other children. Would anyone be keen? If the response is good, I'll fix a day. Let me know. Deborah |