| Author |
Message |

starflower (starflower)
Member Username: starflower
Post Number: 893 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 09, 2010 - 11:30 pm: |
Pseed, for kee, he doesnt cry when he has enough sleep, like a 4 hour nap in the afternoons. when its about 2 hours or less than 3 hours, he'll be sure to cry his lungs out in protest, so i try to help him zz but never works. Behaviour: i'm also cracking my brains out, his problem is major seperation anxiety which makes me wonder how long i'll be sitting outside the CC next year when i plan to enroll him. Also, he throws things everywhere. He grabs the ipad even when i'm using it and if i refuse, i get a slap on my face. Shouting at him failed, beating his hand until its red, also no effect, he continues to watch tv as if nothing happened. Ya, perhaps like Seabreeze suggests, he can be frens w Mr Cane soon. But then again, he also has his sweet moments. The other day, he was in a happy mood and gave me 12 kisses consecutively on my lips *muaks* wet wet and loud loud ones, heheee |

mangogal (mangogal)
Intermediate Member Username: mangogal
Post Number: 3941 Registered: 9-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 8:45 am: |
halo mummies! Look like now our demanding tots wants alot of attention yeah? My gal too very sticky to me n certain things just wants me but at least hb bring her to childcare n bath her so still hv quality time for both of them,other than that just wants me esp ppatting her to sleep Prosper, oh dear K bite her peers in sch ah? Last week C was bitten by a boy n i was shock but good thing only left 2 teeth red mark cos the boy is younger than her and lesser teeth :p she didint cry n sch notify the parents liao, it happened while they were playing toys, C dun want to share toy n become the victim,hiaz propser, maybe u spent more quality time by playing n read to her, do some imaginary games to let her learn n release her frustration? liz, vera also ah? Think we now gt to crack our heads to be more creative in spending time wif them? Starflower,hee K is still a veey sweet boy but one party gt to be firm like for us, hubby is the discipline master n i will leave them alone n let him do the scolding, maybe u too sweet liao so he is nt afraid of u? Let ur hb handle his tantrum? Seabreeze,ur gal name is so sweet,dun worry she will be fine n grow uyp healthily Scumpee, ya maybe intro speech therapist if u worried? Take care as nt easy to handle 2 kiddos now :p |

prosper (prosper)
Intermediate Member Username: prosper
Post Number: 2265 Registered: 12-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 9:03 am: |
mangogal, everynite i will read bedtime story to her to make her love books..Tell her story, play ABC magnet with her in front of fridge. I think i do spent quality time with her. She is just want to be defiant. If i am not wrong it all started one day that daddy told me not to be too nice to her. Last time, whenever she wanted things, i will say, " ok u want huh, mummy give u k". So she became to take things for granted. So eversince i changed to train her to take no for an answer. She can't take it. slowly time by time, she became monster. Like this morning, refuse to wear clothes after washing up. I used cane and beat on her palm twice. and solved the problem.... Chocolate, In sch she might lack of attention but i found that it is not the case. cos I observe her when i brough her out with frends gathering. She also will defend herself with her peers. She dun like the same age group of her freind. SHe will snatch toy from them and wanted to play alone. she will share toy with those bigger jie jie. |

miss83 (orange_juice)
Member Username: orange_juice
Post Number: 1543 Registered: 9-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 10:11 am: |
scrumpee my friend's brother had a language delay as well..he didnt talk or have any vocabs till 3 yo. their parents send them to speech teraphy and it actually helped..one day he started talking and it became non stop talks..like a sudden burst of words come out :D i think they memorize all the words in their brains..but dunno how to say it..but when the time comes, he'll talk! non stop - as u wish! don't worry k.. re: our todds yes..they are attention seekers. and like to test our limits. if they're tired, it's worse..the get emotional easily. starflower 4 hour nap?? wowww!!! my boy only naps 2.5 hours and I have to be on his side, patting him, otherwise he will only nap for 1 hour and wake up crying and cranky after that. I really wish he can nap longer by himself. oh but to my surprise, last night is kind of a breakthrough.. he sleeps through!!! only asked for milk when he wakes up at 6.30am. usually he ask for milk around 1 or 2 am and then again when he wakes up around 6.30-7am. I hope this will be for good! all of us had a good sleep last night...no waking up to make milk, nice! |

sinmey (sinmey)
Junior Member Username: sinmey
Post Number: 498 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 10:22 am: |
mummies, so our tots are ready into the Terrible 2. bb M too will throw temper but seems not as bad as some of the tots here (phew). Whenever she cry, & ask/wan something, i would nvr give in. Instead i'll ask her to stop crying 1st, then ask probably & say 'please' ... after sometimes, she know she only get wat she want when she behave(mean no cry/shout) & say 'Please' .. like yesterday, she inside my sis's room, wan to listen to the song (we saved some of her favorite song in the desktop & play for her) .. when she go out of control, start screaming & wan to click the mouse & nvr listen instruction, my sis just carried her out of the room & close the door. She scream & cry out her lung, til i went to her, ask her wat happen .. she said ah yi (my sis) notti. Then i knocked on my sis's room, ask her wat happen. And i told her if she wan something from ah yi. she must ask permission, if she notti/not follow instruction, ah yi wont let her go into her room .. i made her said sorry to my sis, said ' i wan to watch Hot Dog, Please', then my sis let her in and she quietly sit there & point to the monitor, nvr throw temper .. She knows by throwing temper, will only lose wat she wan instead of getting them .. |

sinmey (sinmey)
Junior Member Username: sinmey
Post Number: 499 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 10:32 am: |
Prosper, my girl too, dun wan to wear clothes/pants/pampers .. I'll tease her say 'iiigghhh, siu siu(shame shame)' But i'll ask her if she wan mummy/papa wear for her, she will choose one .. or sometime she will said 'Moiiesha wear' .. then i let her wear herself(by helping her la). I always give some option (if she dun wan to do something like shower/eat, i'll ask her, mummy/papa do for her .. she will choose one then we continue, nvr have the option, want to do or not, it's who she wan to do for her) I think bcoz they see others do in the school & come back try to do the same. Eg, she plays with saliva & spit, we just ignore her. When she is not getting attention by doing that, she stops liao. Or we will divert her attention to something that she likes.. then she forgot her notti behaviour/throw temper liao ... not easy to be a crown, but i definitely is one at home .. so tiring .. |

missycandy (missycandy)
Advanced Member Username: missycandy
Post Number: 5038 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 11:18 am: |
sinmey - kirs also play with saliva lehhhhhh wahlao.. ! aloy teach one is it ? WAHAHAHAHA!!! Kirs is more of a whiny n sticky girl... not so much tantrums.. im quite firm... i smack.. i have no mercy... =P |

prosper (prosper)
Post Number: 2267 Registered: 12-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 11:31 am: |
sinmey- I did divert her attention all the times when she throw tantrum. sometimes it works sometime not. I also asked her to stop crying first and say please. She did listen, it worked . But what makes me angry is why does she behave like this all the times. Need scolding and wacking before we give in to her. Why can't she be like other kids behaving well and ask for for it instead? Ex: she was wearing her shoe. If that time happen to wear it all well, nothing happen, she happy. If sometimes wear just not in her way, she started to yell already. Her temper was really hugh. Missycandy- I realised Kris was very well behaved. My hb also said that. She belongs to that guai catergories. so envy. |

sinmey (sinmey)
Member Username: sinmey
Post Number: 502 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 11:51 am: |
missy, dunno leh ... must ask fiza .. must be someone in the class .. walao .. next time 2 of them also having the same bad habit, all pick up from the school one .. aiyoo .. i nvr smack lar, i ignore her .. then she has no fun & dun bother to do liao .. Prosper, no choice lar .. if they dun get wat they wan, they will try all way lor .. cry & scream is the easiest for them. i guess all kids also same lar .. |

SeaBreeze (seabreeze)
Advanced Member Username: seabreeze
Post Number: 5465 Registered: 1-2003
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 12:13 pm: |
Think we really have many Mr Ox and Missy Ox -tempered around. Prosper ... SH is into biting oso and so far the victim has been my #1. He kanna on his hands and shoulder before ... really DEEP and RED mark! Even when we hit his hand and tell him no biting ... he just give us a 'look' and walk away. Like I said ... its individual temper cos my #1 NEVER had such incident before. Same set of parents with the same parenting style ... comeout still diff product hahahaah |

lizy (lizy)
Junior Member Username: lizy
Post Number: 469 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 12:17 pm: |
Proper, yes Vera also get voilent with people like her jiejie (her pri 3 cousin who loves her to bit), her grandparents, her daddy and me. She especially like to pull down/snatch our glasses. I find it very rude of her to do so and have been repeatly telling her not to pull our glasses. She does this while playing and out of a sudden, she comes right to our face and snatch our glasses or when she's trying to protest because I tell her off not to do something. She sometime bullied her jiejie and made her cried. There was once, I saw them playing together. There was no dispute but suddenly Vera just went towards her jiejie, and pulled her hair. I told her off. After a while, she pinch her jiejie again for no reason. I told her off and explain to her that it's wrong to hurt people. I wanted her to apologise to her jiejie by giving jiejie a hug. She went and gave her another scratch on her face. This time her jiejie cried. I talked to my husband about it and even question ourselves if we're too soft/lenient to her, were we not doing enough in disciplining her...? sigh. Chocolate, I try to avoid smacking when she did something naughty so also say like a tape recorder. Last night, hubby said that I become very naggy, like a typical nagging mother liao... Starflower, wow your little boy is so sweet! 12 continous kisses, he must have turned you into a melting butter loh. Yes, agree with you that our little ones do have the angelic side of them. A simple hug, a kiss or even when she just say mummy with a smile will melt me down and make me happy for the day. lol..! Mangogal, not really creative method but more like a discipline for me. When come home from work, I will not turn on my laptop again. IF work from home, knock off time means knock off time. ONce I step out of the study room, I'll try not to go in again unless got night teleconference no choice loh. During weekend, I try not to turn on tv. The time spend on my TV programmes will be used to spend on her. Play toys, read books etc with her. I try to give her attention first before she asks for it. |

prosper (prosper)
Post Number: 2268 Registered: 12-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 12:31 pm: |
oh yes for sometimes they are sweet too I just keep laughing and melting when my girl says xi shou- (wash hands )yesterday. It really so sweet when she says from her mouth. The way she said really really melts me. Very funny and wanted to laugh at the same time. |

pinkdemoness (pinkdemoness)
Member Username: pinkdemoness
Post Number: 899 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 12:55 pm: |
Hi all, indeed out lil cuties are turning to be lil monsters...Elixir is fine on the whole and does sweet stuffs more than monstrous ones...like when he sees me having dinner, he will go to the fridge to get a bottle of water for me, says please when he wants smth and if he is not in a good mood and urgently wants, he will walk a few steps away and start turning in circles and whine...as for crying when waking up, he only cries during his teething periods or when i m not ard else he is smiling when he wakes up n sees me...when he asks for me, my granny will tell him, mummy go work...n he will say, buy yakult...n he will be out playing already... when he does a wrong thing like throwing objects, i will make him pick it up and tell him its wrong and if its broken, mummy will not buy for him anymore...he learns it and cherishes his things... brought him to my frd's son's first bday party n i was glad he shares the toys that was passed to him with that lil baby...no fights and tugs...hope it last...he gets upsets only when a stranger gets close to him n wana touch him or carry him...else he's an angel...i think my granny is doing great in talking to him n guiding him during my absence and i do it by explaining to hi agn and agn till he acknowledges my instructions...n when he forgets, i will just remind him agn...i have never hit him since birth, oh maybe once or twice when he runs out halfway during a diaper change and when he accidentally steps onto his poo while struggling... our kiddos are very smart kids and guess we must keep talking to them, and explaining why they are not allowed to do a certain thing...i have to play e nice n bad guy so more tough for me if i dun exercise it well and confuse him why mummy is doing this n that at the same time... oh, i sometimes also bribe him when he refuses to listen, n it works all the time n another would be to catch his soft spot...like, elixir is afraid of the sound of the hairdryer, so whenever he is up to his lil mischiefs, i will say things like, i m gg to on the hairdryer if u dun stop, do u want that to happen, and he will say no and stop whatever he may be doing at once with a cheeky smile...just sharing how i stop his mischiefs...cheers |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 5039 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 2:27 pm: |
we cant ignore her or leave her be.. she will continue her nonsense... hurhur... prosper - wa. i think becos she shy so she dun anyhow behave... but at home really tyrant! |

Lenny Susanty (lenny_susanty)
Intermediate Member Username: lenny_susanty
Post Number: 2766 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 3:51 pm: |
Hi Mommies.. I have not been posting for a long while. Our home has been going through a re-painting and we moved to over to my folk's place to stay over. when we got back, hubs is due to go off for work and i had to unpack the stuff that we packed up for re-painting of our home. Grateful for my mom being with me this period of time. She has been trying to help with Bree but she is going through the peak of separation anxiety now. She does help me with laundry and minor chores around the house. i used to be able to leave Bree with my mom for a good 3 hours.. now.. 5mins is all i get. Regarding discipline: a few months ago, I smacked Bree on her thigh when she got me really upset.. was alone with her and trying to get her dressed.. while holding her feet to place her diaper, she struggled and my wrist was sprained in addition to giving me 2 hard kicks on my tummy (was having gastritis at that time too) i lost it.. and spanked her 3 times on her thigh.. she cried and that very moment i regretted it.. Ever since then.. she has learned to spank others when she was provoked or upset. Till now.. i really regretted my actions.. apart from the heartache i felt after spanking her, she has learned to spank to stop things that she doesn't like I am trying a different method now. depending on situation, If its tantrums and if i get to catch hold of her hand or leg..i grip it firmly, look her in the eye and tell her sternly.. "I love you Bree, Don't do that to mommy. It hurts me." if i cannot catch hold then i "Siam" away from her. If its cos she got tired and need to let out.. i tell her the same thingbut not in a stern voice. i do hug her and pat her.. then tell her.. i now u are tired and frustrated, just take a nap first and you will feel better later. or we will go shopping after u wake up etc.. I do make her stand at the "Naughty Corner". after a minute.. i went to ask her to apologise to me.. she does say No and turn her head away from me.. then i told her.. ok.. then u go on standing there till u are ready to apologise. I did this everywhere i go.. i have been immune to the stares in public when they stop and stare at the way i discipline her. i.e. Changing room, supermarkets, restaurants, shopping malls. my friends understand why i need to be a little late during appointments cos i do discipline her on the spot. i don't shout or yell at her in public.. just go near her and tell her. but if she screams and yells, i made her go back to the corner till she is ready to apologise. but if she misbehaves in the stroller.. i push the stroller to face a wall then i cover the canopy and let her cry it out.. i do watch her.. from a place where she cannot see me when i do that.. then i approach her after a minute.. (now their age.. its a minute) and ask her if she is going to stop crying and if she is ready to go.. she will stop and put her fingers on her mouth and say yes.. i do ask her to apologize to me, She says "Ry Ry (Sorry) .. meh mi(mommy).. hug .. kiss kiss" i will then push the stroller and move on.. if along the way .. she does this again.. i repeat what i did.. so far.. it works.. i am keeping my fingers crossed that i can continue to do this.. what i am trying to do now is not to raise my voice at her while asking her to go to the corner.. she does drive me nuts sometimes |

Post Number: 2767 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 3:59 pm: |
When she is throwing her tantrums, i told her to stop.. after the third time.. i make her go to the Naughty Corner.. or i do ask her.. "do u want to face the wall?' She says no.. then she will stop.. but if she did it again.. i will keep repeating to be consistent. while she is at the naughty corner.. i warned everyone not to go near her.. anyway.. they go near her at their own risk.. cos she screams, and try to smack or scratch them.. on KPO auntie told me off when i was letting her cry in the stroller while waiting for a cab. so she goes near her to pacify her.. and said Wah.. your mommy so mean let u sit in the stroller so uncomfortable and let u cry.. poor thing.. having said that.. she tried to touch bree's face.. Bree scratched her hand with her finger nails.. i heard an "ouch" and i gave her a smirk.. serves her right.. Please la.. her stroller is well cushioned.. and she is just wanting me to carry her which i couldn't at that time.. cos i had just bought groceries and i had to hold on to the stroller on a slope.. well.. i told Bree that i will carry her in the cab.. then i let her cry it out.. but once i get in the cab.. i thanked for helping me and waiting for me in the stroller. and i told her "mommy promised to carry you when we get into the cab. now mommy is carrying you as promised. yes?" gave her a kiss and a big hug.. wiped all her tears and all is well. i did this 2 times and she got the message.. so far.. so good on the waiting for cab in her stroller. |

miss83 (orange_juice)
Member Username: orange_juice
Post Number: 1544 Registered: 9-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 4:27 pm: |
lenny i also do the "face the wall" too.. but i have to hold his body still to make him face the wall..otherwise he will turn his body to face me..at first he will still keep on giggling, like we're playing games..but when after a few seconds i still hold his body facing wall n try to move but cant..he starts to cry..i wait til 1 minute then i tell him he's not allowed to ..... and ask him to stop crying, say sorry and hug me... I think at this age using cane is too early..they wont understand. so i choose a naughty corner to discipline. I sometimes ask myself too if im being lenient in disciplining him..coz scolding doesnt stop him doing his mischief..usually i will warn him 2x, the 3rd time would be to send him to the wall.. sometimes distratcting also works...like just now..he wanted to play ball and threw it to our christmas tree...2 ornaments fell down..they didnt break..but i warn him 2nd time he did that, I will keep the ball away n he wont allow to play ball for 2 days. this time he understood what im saying n stop doing it.. last time i really have to keep his toy for 2 days n let him play again...and then keep it again because he was doing it again.. |

prosper (prosper)
Post Number: 2269 Registered: 12-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 5:22 pm: |
lenny, ur are lucky that your naughty corner worked for u. At times, i also ask my girl to go to stand at the corner facing the wall. It does't work. She won't guai guai go there. SHe will cling to me stretch out her arms to ask me to carry her then at the same time cried so loudly.. how how how.. whenever she cried, she will come to me liao. sometimes i find that they purposely oppose us. everyday as we are crossing the road, she refused to hold me hands. keep pushing me away and i have to force her. Then there was one day when she finally hold my hands, then i wanted to tell her, see cross road must hold hand hand ok. Then the moment she heard me saying these, she took away my hands again. How to teach? |

Post Number: 2768 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 5:33 pm: |
Mommies, About tantrums and aggressive behaviour.. i do have information to share. its a whole lot that i have to extract from a book.. unless i know how to upload the scanned file.. then i will try to scan these info for your reading.. in the meantime...please don't label our little ones "monsters".. i promise all of u.. there are reasons why they throw tantrums and why they have turned aggressive at this stage.. |

Post Number: 2769 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 5:37 pm: |
Prosper, i do have problems getting Bree to face the wall cos she won't go there on her own as well.. she does the same thing.. cry.. cling on to me and want me to carry.. despite all these.. i kept bringing her back to spot where i want her to stand and face the wall.. the minute she walks away.. i bring her back.. i kept doing it.. till she stays there.. when she clings on to me.. i told her she has been naughty.. and i want her to go face the wall. i will be expressionless, won't carry her.. bu twill hold her hand and walk her to the naughty corner. |

SammyT (sammyt)
New member Username: sammyt
Post Number: 9 Registered: 3-2009
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 5:59 pm: |
Hi Lenny, what book is that? It sounds like a good resource! Thanks for sharing.  |

Post Number: 2770 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 8:23 pm: |
SammyT, I am reading the following books: 1. The Contented Toddler years by Gina Ford 2. Secrets of the Baby Whisperer for the toddler yers 3. What to expect : The Toddler years 4. Supernanny Jo Frost i have been able to read all.. been reading section by section |

Post Number: 2771 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 8:55 pm: |
Extracted from The Contented Toddler Years by Gina Ford (Page 20) Aggressive Behaviour: The Majority of Toddlers will occasionally use some form of aggressive behaviour such as hitting, kicking, biting, Scratching. In my experience, Toddlers who resort to this sort of aggressive behaviour usually do when they are feeling insecure. Some feel resentful and jealous when they have to share their parents' attention with a new baby, or share the toys with other children in a playgroup. A toddler who had not learnt to share may try to retrieve his toy from another by kicking. The mother breast-feeding the new baby may be subjected to a sudden bite from a toddler who is feeling neglected. A gentle stroke of the baby's cheek by the toddler may end up as a very severe scratch. Unlike tantrums, which are directed only at parents, aggressive behaviour can often be directed at anyone whom the toddler feels is a threat. A Toddler who gets into the habit of using aggressive behaviour as a way of asserting himself or of getting undivided attention will quickly become unpopular with other parents and children |

Post Number: 2772 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 9:01 pm: |
Extracted from The Contented Toddler Years by Gina Ford (Page 21) The following guidelines give suggestions on how to deal with a toddler's aggressive behaviour: 1. A toddler must learn that aggressive behaviour in any form is not acceptable. Therefore it is foolish to deal with this problem by smacking him, or worse, as some books suggest, "biting him back". 2. If your toddler lashes out aggressively in one way or another, immediately take him to one side and explain simply and firmly that biting, hitting, etc. is not allowed. Avoid using words like 'bad', 'naughty' , which will only make him feel insecure. 3. Reinforce his good behaviour with lots of encouragement and praise*, with much emphasis on the times he plays nice with the baby and other toddlers. 4. Be extra vigilant when he is in group situations and quickly divert his attention when he shows signs of frustration and irritability. 5. A toddler should never be left alone with a baby for even a few minutes, and when they are together, they should be kept in full view. |

Post Number: 2773 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 9:14 pm: |
Mommies... the section about tantrums is a whole lot of pages.. don;t think i will be able to type all out.. apologies about that.. |

Post Number: 2774 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 9:27 pm: |
Mommies.. About handling aggression, it is address in Chapter 8 of the book (What to expect : The Toddler years) a whole lot of info too.. |

lizy (lizy)
Junior Member Username: lizy
Post Number: 470 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 9:51 pm: |
Lenny, thank you so much for sharing. Very informative already. Moreover, you had provided the titles of the books. I'll definitely check them out.  |

reverie island (reverie_island)
Member Username: reverie_island
Post Number: 1022 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, November 11, 2010 - 12:47 am: |
Hey i am going to buy the following and saw this promo on their website and just share with you if you are interested. English and Japanese sets total $176 thus i am going to ask for the Chinese set as FOC. I am getting the chinese sing along too. I will be using the discount code WTL-ABT (valid till 31 dec 2010) to get S$5 off. |

sung (sung)
Member Username: sung
Post Number: 1625 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, November 11, 2010 - 2:10 am: |
hi mummies, kinda relieved to read that most of you are finding our tots having lots tantrums now. i tot my boy was changing suddenly coz he started being really disobendient these last 2 weeks. previously he was a dear, able to understand instructions really well and i can always distract him or reason with him. eg. he wants to colour crayons now and i'll tell him later coz it's lunch time so eat first before colouring ok. and he'll nod ok. he knows i keep my promises coz since birth, i will always let him do what he wants as long as reasonable and within limits. but these two weeks, he refused to listen. if i said cannot and even when i explained the reasons to him, he will throw a big tantrum and cry loudly, with tears and muscus and everything. like so pathetic but in anger. coz if you go near him, he will hit and slap me or hubby. sometimes i'm the one who tell him no but he will walk to his daddy and smack him. reason with him, talk to him all no use. i realised after crying too hysterically, he grows frightened of it himself and will look to me for hugs, while crying at the same time. then i will carry him, hug him and comfort him. but after he calmed down, sometimes he will still refused to apologise to whoever he has slapped. very frustrating, esp since it's a big turn from his behaviour in the past. he will keep shaking his head, do other things and refused to apologise. he doesn't speak the words yet so it's hand signs to indicate he's sorry but he just won't do it. am getting so tired of all his tantrums coz can happened more than 10 times a day. worst, he's home with me and not going to any childcare so i hv no idea where he picks up all these behaviours. i esp hates the slapping and hitting out part. we were past that stage earlier as he did it when he was 13 mths but with advise from a mummy here, we continously told him no no and wagged our fingers at him and he stopped doing it already. so frustrated it started all over again. he is a dear sometimes when he comes over to hug me on his own or when he kisses me when i asked him to. sometimes his actions are so endearing and cute too. but i really can't stand the bad behaviours recently and feel like i'm going to lose it sometimes. haven't really smacked him yet. but almost did this morn when he refused to let me change his clothes and diapers. kicked me when i carried him to bed to change and kept rolling again, crying loudly at the same time. was so upset with him...sigh...i really hoped this stage doesn't last too long. i'm getting so frustrated already and at times like this, i really wished i was back working...sigh. lenny, thanks for the sharing. you and some of the other mummies here are really patient. i'm not even sure if i can rem what i read and be patient with him when he's in this monstrous moods. i just feel so defeated and so frustrated... |

sung (sung)
Post Number: 1626 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, November 11, 2010 - 2:14 am: |
scrumpee, dun worry about your boy k. since you fixed the appt with the doc, at least have peace of mind that you have done all necessary. i'm sure your boy will be nattering non stop soon. dun give him or yourself pressure coz he can sense it and may even delay talking even more. my nephew only started talking alot after age3. before that, he just point and said 1 or 2 words but can see he was very intelligent coz he understands every thing. then all of a sudden, he started talking. i always tot he resisted talking earlier coz mil who is his caregiver always nagged in front of him why he doesn't want to talk, why other kids can talk, he can't, why he keeps pointing only, etc. i tot that gives him pressure and can see he's always very unhappy when hear all these so prob delay also. tat's why i'm admandant not to give my boy pressure too. |

Post Number: 2775 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, November 14, 2010 - 12:52 am: |
Sung, To be honest, those who really knew me... they are going to laugh their heads off if they heard anyone say that i am patient.. when Bree throw her tantrums, i normally just stop.. take a deep breath and then deal with her.. Alternatively, if i am at home.. i will just walk away from her and let her vent it out while i take a moment to calm myself down before i go to her.. Yes.. I sometimes do lose it and shouted at her when i am physically drained, feeling sick while trying to full through the day till her bedtime. am trying to NOT shout at her.. cos she has learnt to shout as well. sigh.. After i yelled at her, i end up apologizing to her. I told her i was sorry for shouting at her cos i was very upset with her and not feeling very well myself but still, i shouldn't have shouted at her. i do ask her to forgive me then give her a hug and a kiss. |

sung (sung)
Post Number: 1635 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, November 14, 2010 - 2:36 am: |
hi lenny, i don't dare to walk away when my boy gets into tat mood, coz he is kinda "destructive", hitting out at his surroundings and sometimes knocking his head accidentally in his somewhat "crazed" state. am worried he will hurt himself so i usually stick around. but yeah, it takes major efforts to keep quiet and not shout at him. i also realised he's picking up shouting when he sees me do it so i stopped. kids learn and imitate so well... haha i'm also always apologising to him too. sometimes for scolding him until he cries :P feels so damn guilty. anyway, my personal take is that you are a swell mummy! esp since always coping alone with bree. haha i do tink that u r very patient towards her. all your sharings does give me this feel  |

Post Number: 2776 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, November 14, 2010 - 11:36 pm: |
Sung, Thanks for the pat on my back.. about leaving our toddler while we walk out of the room to breathe, i read that we could leave them in their cot beds then walk out so we know that they will be safe.. but there is another school of thought against this.. fearing that they will reject their cots if we do that.. so.. |

A. Fireangel (areya)
Junior Member Username: areya
Post Number: 353 Registered: 2-2009
| | Posted on Monday, November 15, 2010 - 2:38 am: |
Hi all, looooooooooong time no post here as life had been busy >_< About discipline at this age, I have only one person to recommend : SUPERNANNY!!! http://www.supernanny.com/ the site has video clips so u can see the demonstrations directly, instead of reading pages and pages of books, which i think is more useful She is also a major advocate of naughty corner/ naughty step that sort of thing And, esp for mummies who are at the end of their tether cos apparently nothing works, the key word is CONSISTENCY. If you one day use naughty corner method, and then after a few days because u are so pissed off u start to scream and shout and threaten, it sends the message that they can incite that particular reaction out of you. Same with the tantrums - they are looking for a particular reaction - mainly attention of some sort or a volatile reaction - and if u give it to them once or twice, they will stubbornly hold on to that knowledge. Therefore it is all the more imperative that u change that concept that they have. My friend's grandaughter who, at 4 years old, still throws major tantrums out in public/private, gets a non-reaction from my friend when she tries it with her. She soon stopped that kind of behaviour with my friend. I believe in distraction (cos it works so well at this age) but negotiation is really not a good idea at any kind of age - it really demeans one's authority as a parent, and children NEED the authority. The way that I personally do it is this: if he misbehaves, I straightaway hold his arm, kneel down to face him directly at eye level and make sure he looks straight at me, and I speak in a LOW but ANGRY voice (no high pitched screaming/shouting cos that is the kind of volatile reaction that can encourage them), and tell him No, give the reason why No, and say it is not acceptable. If he does it again, I repeat. If he does it a third time, he gets a slap on his wrist, and he straightaway stops. He doesn't repeat the same thing again for some time I have to say, so far so good. He doesn't throw rages/tantrums, and is always in a happy disposition, and behaves himself 80% of the time when he is outside/ at the nanny's. Think we all got to consider things from their POV also. OK, their temperament and innate character plays a part in the way they behave, but I think it's important to have constantly good communication with them, read their body language/actions well, and understand that they they are at the moment starting to learn about social behaviour - not easy if u think about it! For all u know, the start of awful behaviour may very well be because their basic needs/requests have been overlooked eg for my son there was once when he was feeling thirsty and wanted a drink, but i didn't realise that. He got sooooo upset and only calmed down when i finallly gave him water. And then after that for a few times he decided to try overreacting to things, but I wisened up by then so it didn't continue. And ALWAYS ALWAYS praise them. U have to make sure u don't fall into the trap of scolding them more than u praise them cos it REALLY makes a difference - at least from my personal experience. I praise him for every little good behaviour from sitting still in the high chair/table, to eating all his food/eating without creating a mess, to putting his toys away, to following any little instruction I give him. I think I can safely say that I praise him 7/10 times I think most of us are too preoccupied with things around the home/work/rest of family so it's way too easy to overlook this little detail, but it's so important. Just my 2 cents' hope it helps some of u. Patience all! |

A. Fireangel (areya)
Junior Member Username: areya
Post Number: 354 Registered: 2-2009
| | Posted on Monday, November 15, 2010 - 2:45 am: |
Just to add, I haven't used naughty corner/step/chair/etc on him as he hadn't thrown any major rages/tantrums, but I for sure plan to utilise that method to its fullest potential if he decides to go down that route. hehe |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 5044 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Monday, November 15, 2010 - 2:47 pm: |
oh yes. i also believe in praising them. when Kirs does something right or properly... i will clap my hands for her, cheer and say good girl... hee hee... like keeping her toys n stuff ... =P |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 5045 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Monday, November 15, 2010 - 10:58 pm: |
wow so sad this plc. lol! |

sung (sung)
Post Number: 1637 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Monday, November 15, 2010 - 11:59 pm: |
hi lenny, thanks for the suggestion. my boy wun go into cot since he can walk so hv not put him there. that's his ball area for playing now, i'm sure he'll scream his lungs out if i put him there esp when he's meltdown mood. hi areya, thanks for your posting and sharing. you got me thinking and i'm really thankful for it. luckily there's you mummies to talk to. i guess i hv been too stung up lately over a lot of things and abit rushed/gan cheong in my attitude towards my little boy. forgot that he is still so young coz he is so "dong shi" usually. i realise after reflection that it's not coz i ignore his needs/requests but that i have been ignoring his wishes e.g. he will tell me no, he dun want to change his diapers now. but i'm rushing to do other hsehold stuff and noticed his diaper is already very full so i will "force" him to change his diaper now coz dun want to overlook it later and let his butt soak in the wet diaper. when i "force" him, he will meltdown and cry like siao. guess coz he is forced to do something against his wishes and he feels very miserable about it, whether or not my intentions are good. or another case when i take away his item of play forcefully, eg. he still want to colour with his crayons but i think he has been doing it for too long a time and i forcefully keep it against his voiced out wish coz it's near to sleeping time, he will meltdown too. sigh.. i forgot to think about how he must have felt or how it must have seen to him when mummy forcefully do so. silly me, i'm too focused on keeping the house clean and tidy each day, i forgot to focus on my little one's feelings!! it's so mean of me, i realise now...sigh. i do praise him alot but i guess the forceful method i've been using is making his life kinda miserable recently. prob also coz he is more assertive now and knows clearly what he wants/do not want. in the past, he will let me keep as long as i entertain him with other things. guess i must change my methods to a more gentler one now. thanks very much for the sharing. i will check out supernanny too. |

SeaBreeze (seabreeze)
Post Number: 5466 Registered: 1-2003
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 16, 2010 - 8:41 am: |
mummies ... Guess all of us are trying our best to provide all that we can for our lil ones n this stage is a challenging one cos there is an 'adult' in their lil body but yet they are unable to communicate effectively their wishes =p |

jo's mummy (jo3309)
Member Username: jo3309
Post Number: 1882 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 16, 2010 - 10:34 am: |
mummies, my boy is consider easy to stop him from getting wat he wanted (such as toys/kiddy rides) in de public. We will walk away n say bye bye to him, he will very scared n will run towards me. If he cries, will just say we bring him go buy ice-cream/biscuits/bread. he will stop crying. He is very tamzia, so just lure him with foods, will do =) If he still nvr stop crying, i will say "If you still cry, mummy don;t want u already, bcos u r not good boy ('guai'). He will cry louder. I will then say "Mummy loves u ok, mummy sayang u, ok? He will nod his head. Then I will say, "then u stop crying ok? mummy sayang/kiss kiss ok?" He will stop crying. So far, this method still can use (xx my fingers). Jovin still cant speak much vocab, but recently found him very fast in picking our words. Yesterday bring him for 18mths booster. Got his cert already! Feels like he is graduated..haha..lol.. |

SY (popkorn2009)
Member Username: popkorn2009
Post Number: 978 Registered: 3-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 16, 2010 - 11:26 pm: |
hi anyone keen to go babies SSO concert this thurs? I just realised i cant make it. A pair. 1030am. Pre concert starts at 945am. So sad that i mix the dates. |

Jasmine (jasminenbc)
Intermediate Member Username: jasminenbc
Post Number: 3037 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Friday, November 19, 2010 - 11:59 am: |
jo, Your boy also got his cert for jab le. Mine too. But does your boy have fever after the jab? My boy have fever since tuesday night after his jab in the evening. Today still have 38.2 fever in the morning. Still giving him the medicine. Hope his fever go away soon. Tis is the 1st time after his jab the fever last for 3 days sigh... |

jo's mummy (jo3309)
Post Number: 1884 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Friday, November 19, 2010 - 5:25 pm: |
Jasmine, My boy had fever 38 at night after the jab tat day and lasted for 2days only. don't worry the fever will goes off soon..keep sponge him with wet towel n make sure he drink more water/barley water. |

jo's mummy (jo3309)
Post Number: 1885 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Friday, November 19, 2010 - 5:26 pm: |
Hey mummies, Think many of us are planning for our LO 2years old Birthday? Will we have 2years old bash for our March babies?? |

Post Number: 2781 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, November 19, 2010 - 9:26 pm: |
jo's mummy, After Bree attended her friends' birthday party.. she is telling us that she wants to have one too.. we didn't have a bash for her when she is one, we just brought her to disneyland for a little celebration.. was initially planning to do it for her.. but now plans on hold.. cos we might be off to Aberdeen, Scotland during that period of time.. Nothing is firm yet.. Hubs just told me to hold all plans.. even for our own holidays that we planed in Q1 next year. As for this USS trip end of the month, it came as a shock to us. We didn't expect this so soon. It was supposed to be next yr before June.. Everything was last minute. We could not stay in US for longer than we wanted cos all the return flights a week before xmas are fully booked. We decided on Los Angeles after hub's course in Houston instead of Los Angeles & Las Vegas due to the short time frame. Don't want to touch and go then rush through destinations.. we did consider Florida but still decided on Los Angeles. Well.. Its comforting for me to know that we are going to USA instead of Norway for December.. cos its going to be freaking cold in Norway. Been busy packing our luggage for our trip lately, i can only pack at night when Bree is asleep.. else she will take out whatever i put in and throw them all over the floor. Hope there is a celebration or a bash for the March Babes too.. and hope if it happens, we can make it to attend as well |

Post Number: 2782 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, November 19, 2010 - 9:27 pm: |
Jo's mummy and jasminebc, Which jab are u moms talking about? |

Idlecat (idlecat)
Junior Member Username: idlecat
Post Number: 454 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Saturday, November 20, 2010 - 11:56 pm: |
FYI, FOX Clearance Sale at Tampine Road has started. Extra 10% Off with UOB card. Now our tot has grown up, not much can get from FOX so focus is on pumpkin patch. |

Idlecat (idlecat)
Junior Member Username: idlecat
Post Number: 455 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, November 21, 2010 - 12:05 am: |
Anybody give yr tot flu vaccine? am considering whether safe to give mine now as going oversea next mth... |

Serene (worried_girl)
Member Username: worried_girl
Post Number: 1345 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, November 21, 2010 - 3:23 pm: |
Any mummies has any idea when the Gimmill Warehouse sale (for carter's and other brands) at 43 Tampines St 92 will be on again this year? Appreciate a heads-up if anyone knows. Thanks! |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 5055 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, November 21, 2010 - 11:33 pm: |
its usually mid dec... the carters sale... |

Post Number: 2791 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 9:19 am: |
Hi Mommies, any one has advice for me? i have to keep typing my username and password everytime i want to post a meesage in forum. What do i do so that the website will keep me logged in all the time? |

Jasmine (jasminenbc)
Post Number: 3043 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 9:23 am: |
Lenny, My boy last jab is DPT, its the last jab and they will get their Cert. for all their jab. Tis time my boy have fever 3days as last few he only have fever like 1-2 days and is like 38 like what jo says, but tis time his fever almost reach 40, reading at 39.7. And now even the fever goes away, he totally lost his appetite, now whatever he take he only eat a small few mouth and walk away....sigh, he use to be a good eater. Now don't know how am I going to get back his appetite anymore... |

Jasmine (jasminenbc)
Post Number: 3044 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 9:25 am: |
Lenny, I thought as long U dont close your window you dont need to retype again? Once U closed the window and open another they box on user and password will be empty and U will need to sign in with password right? |

Jasmine (jasminenbc)
Post Number: 3045 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 9:28 am: |
Serene, Will update the thread if I have any new for the Gimmill Warehouse sales. Normally is 1 week before christmas, they will start on friday or earlier is thursday till sunday, the week before christmas. |

Jasmine (jasminenbc)
Post Number: 3046 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 9:29 am: |
Idlecat, If U bringing your child to like Hong Kong maybe should take lor. Those with high rise country. |

Post Number: 2793 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 10:58 am: |
Jasminebc, Hmm.. Bree has done her 18mths booster jab.. no certificate given by PD.. as for the password thingy.. i always leave the window open.. but i don't know why i need to log in every time i post |

Serene (worried_girl)
Post Number: 1346 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 3:16 pm: |
Thanks Jasminebc hehe |

Jasmine (jasminenbc)
Post Number: 3055 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 5:50 pm: |
Lenny, U should have a record on the jab Bree took right? Its will show which jab she havent took. If they never give U must ask for it leh. Coz when they enter school for Primary, school need a copy of the cert. for registration. So if U dont have better check with your PD. |

Post Number: 2794 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 8:22 pm: |
Jasminebc, All her vaccinations are recorded in health booklet.. i wonder if its good enough |

pinkdemoness (pinkdemoness)
Member Username: pinkdemoness
Post Number: 920 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 11:27 pm: |
i also no cert for Elixir's jabs...only recorded in health booklet...but mine is from polyclinic, still have cert ma? |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 5056 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 12:00 am: |
there is a website you csn visit to view the cert n print... lemme find the link |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 5057 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 12:00 am: |
http://www.nir.hpb.gov.sg/nir/eservices/eservice.jsp by right, the gp or pd or whoever gives the jab will update the registry.. so you all can log in to view it there...  |

Post Number: 2795 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 8:13 am: |
Missy.. Great Thanks!!!  |

Queenie (bel_vodka)
Intermediate Member Username: bel_vodka
Post Number: 3117 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 8:48 am: |
its been a super long time since i log it to read. =) miss all of u !!! ytd i started wondering if tristan is premature for his terrible 2 lately. lol seems like hes getting more n more on my nerves. loves whining.. loves saying no to almost everything.. started hitting daddy.. and the best thing the daddy is always giving in to him.. sigh. thank god im trained by nature to say NO. lol. after reading many of the posts above, i guess i shd keep track n minimize my smacking on him. and increases the praises to him. hope all is in time. |

Jasmine (jasminenbc)
Post Number: 3057 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 9:16 am: |
Lenny & pinkdemoness, Both my kids took their jab at GP near to my house. My girl have a piece of paper showing what jab she have taken consider a cert. ba. Ethan is with a nice piece of cert. showing his completed all the jab he taken. The nurse attach it on his Health book. |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 5058 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 9:27 am: |
jasmine - u cn find that cert in the registry. they print frm the web =P |

jo's mummy (jo3309)
Post Number: 1887 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 9:59 am: |
Hey Lenny, we talking abt the 18mths booster which is the 5in1 last jab. seems like u n Bree needs to travel always to the US. do u give Bree any travel vaccine? just curious.. ya the cert is just a half of A4 paper size stating all the jabs they taken. will need to keep this cert for his primary school in think. so must keep it nicely n think i will want to laminate it =p |

SeaBreeze (seabreeze)
Post Number: 5468 Registered: 1-2003
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 10:20 am: |
Morning ladies ... Argghhhh my confinement has offically ended but I wanted to do 40 days so here I am ... doing the rest of my confinement heehee My previous cl has left and her fren is here to finish up the job for her ... and missed her hahaha cos this new cl is more serious and not so chatty. Plus she is not used to bb so everytime bb cry yesterday ... she will just bring to me and ask isit want milk hahaha but now better. My #1 was down with HFMD and we think SH got it too!! #1 developed HFMD on Tues and SH had the fever on the following Sat - though my PD said SH is not HFMD cos no white spot in the mouth so she suspect its roseola. But now that his fever is gone .. the rashes never appear + he is not eating well. So in a way I do suspect that he is down with HFMD too but I havent see him for 1 week plus so I cant tell. |

Jennifer Chng (jennifer79)
Junior Member Username: jennifer79
Post Number: 171 Registered: 3-2010
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 2:38 pm: |
Is there a bday bash for Mar 09 bb? if there is, I wanna join! Pls count me in!  |

Post Number: 2796 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 5:22 pm: |
Jasminebc, Oh ok.. thanks for letting me know.. i am really blur... Jo's mummy, I did not let Bree take any extra jabs for her travels so far.. just those that are required by the ministry of health in SIN. If that's the case, i will wait for Bree to complete all her jabs before asking for the certificate.. she still require Hep A, 2nd Jab MMRV & 2nd jap of Pneumococcal. after all these.. the next round will be later stage.. |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 5068 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, November 25, 2010 - 9:15 am: |
has anyone been dwn to orc for the christmas decos yet? any recommendations besides tanglin mall where there is "snow" hee... thinking when to bring kirs to soak it up... hee |

Post Number: 2797 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 4:44 pm: |
Missy.. i have been in orchard 3 times a week but i went home before dark so.. won't be able to tell you much. Jurong Point is using precious moments theme for christmas |

strawberrys79 (strawberrys79)
Junior Member Username: strawberrys79
Post Number: 496 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, November 28, 2010 - 11:49 pm: |
Hi mummies, Long time never come in here.. Missed u all! Been busy with no.2 (hk) and hy. It is a challenge to have another bb when the elder one is at the terrible 2 stage. Hy started hitting our maid and ppl ard him..if he hits me I'll threaten to leave and he gets frighten and then he'll sayang me instead. Been picky with food and meal times are a struggle with him. Recently just started not to finish all his milk. Kept saying no to loads of things too. Demanding and wouldn't take no for an answer. Hope he'll pass this stage soon but I think it's just the beginning. |

elina (elina)
Intermediate Member Username: elina
Post Number: 2223 Registered: 2-2008
| | Posted on Monday, November 29, 2010 - 10:29 am: |
mummies, has ur pd advised that there is a new version of the pneumoccocal jab for a stronger version of pneumoccocal? advisable to take the jab or not? also, is there a booster jab for chicken pox? all these immunisation seems never ending |

yiyi123 (yiyi123)
Member Username: yiyi123
Post Number: 664 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Monday, November 29, 2010 - 10:34 am: |
Hi Strawberry, Is it Hy seeing green as I believe most of the time you are bfing Hk? That's why he is trying to seek ur attention? |

Post Number: 497 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Monday, November 29, 2010 - 11:51 am: |
Hi yiyi, So far I dun really latch bb on. Usually I pump and bottle feed hk. I hasn't seen him try to pull me away when I was bottle feeding him but come to think of it I rarely let him see I feeding hk or carrying him. Hy knows hk existence and he'll go into the room to point at him and say 'didi' or 'baby' hehe then he'll kiss him or pat his face! Only once he refused to let my mom feed hk so I took over. Hy wanted to play with grandma that's why. It is a stressful period for me initially cos I was feeling guilty and worried abt hy's reaction but now it's better. |

jo's mummy (jo3309)
Post Number: 1923 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Monday, November 29, 2010 - 3:27 pm: |
Hey mummies, After this terrible 2 got terrible 3 or not huh? pek chek and buay tahan liao..!@#$%^&* |

sinmey (sinmey)
Member Username: sinmey
Post Number: 534 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Monday, November 29, 2010 - 5:50 pm: |
Jo's mummy, walao .. u so fast think of terrible 3 liao .. Jo not even 2 yet leh .. haha .. calm down .. at least u always got his signature big smile lar ... |

yiyi123 (yiyi123)
Post Number: 665 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Monday, November 29, 2010 - 6:05 pm: |
Strawberry, This is exactly how I feel when I have #2... feeling very bad not able to give more love and time to #1. But I tell myself when #2 grows up, #1 will have playmate to be with.. and will not be lonely.. In this case HY may just entered terrible 2 stage bah... Isaac also not very co-operative nowadays.. he likes to lie on the floor and whine/cry/scream... just to attract our attention to carry him, play with him, get things his way.. etc. Sometimes,I will "lock" him alone in the room if needed as a punishment. As for food, the only way I can make him finish his food now is to distract him with TV programs... I know is bad... but that's the only way as of now.. last time, sing songs, talk to him is good enough.. but now.. not anymore.. Does HY drink plain water? Isaac don like to drink plain water, so his only source of water is from his milk or soup... So maybe he is thirsty, therefore he can drink a lot of milk and soup. If not, his skin will have heat rash.. can be spotted easily. |

Post Number: 499 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Monday, November 29, 2010 - 10:06 pm: |
Hi yiyi, I thought I was the only one feeling that way! Cos other mummies seems to have it easier from what I see. Hehe Judging from what u wrote abt Isaac, all applies to Hy as well. sometimes Hy don't even wanna eat even if we let him watch tv programs. I'll just let him be. Because I believe if he's hungry he'll eat. I'm trying to be a 'cool' mum and not become overly anxious when he doesn't eat. Now whatever he wants to eat I just give it to him as long as it's safe, non spicy or harmful for him. Hy just drinks plain water with gripe water added. He doesn't take much soup and doesn't take fruit juice and shun away frm fruits. I'll ignore hy when he is being difficult and both my hb and i are very firm with him.. But I can't say the same for his nanny that's why I'm seriously putting him to half day sch first then later on go full day. I'm just taking each day as it comes now. I was just telling my Hb that if hy were to step into terrible twos stage earlier I wouldn't want to have no.2 so soon! Or I won't even consider having another child. But I would think having another child when the elder one is 4 yrs old or older will be better for parents. Btw Isaac has gone to sch right? Half day or full day? |

yiyi123 (yiyi123)
Post Number: 667 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 30, 2010 - 10:15 am: |
Isaac is in the school for 3 month loh... He is in full day playgroup. I believe HY will take more food and fruits when he goes school bah.. cos isaac also eat a lot when he see his frens were eating with him.. For me, I don wan to wait for Isaac 4 or 5 yrs old then have #2, cos I scared when the age gap will be too big, next time they will not be so close.. and I have to start the tiring cycle all over again when it just finished. :p so might as well once and for all tired for now, next time more relax.. keke.. lazy mummy lah! |

Srumpee (scrumpee01)
Member Username: scrumpee01
Post Number: 1092 Registered: 9-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 30, 2010 - 10:25 am: |
yiyi and strawberry Eames is entering terrible two too. - screams loudly when he finishes his food because he wants more, especially yogurt - lie on the floor, rub his feet, purposely knock his head against object if he don't get his way - will kneel on the floor when he doesn't want to walk or refuse to go to the direction we ask him to and start screaming - stiffens his back when he don't want us to carry him. And I feel the opposite from both of you. Actually feel bad for not spending enough time with no.2 because Eames needs our attention now that he is entering terrible 2 and also since he is still not talking, we spend more time with him to stimulate him. So, end up mei mei will either be left in the cot by herself or sitting on her rocker in one corner. I can only play with no.2 when Eames is preoccupied by his toys or sleeping |

Member Username: strawberrys79
Post Number: 501 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 30, 2010 - 12:01 pm: |
Hi yiyi, I'm considering putting hy into full day playgroup too. But I'm very worried he'll get sick and come back and pass the bug to didi. But come to think of it it will be better for him to go soon better than learn nothing at home and get spoilt further by nanny. Furthermore I will still be around for my maternity leave so if hy fall sick and cant cope at least I'm around to help. Hi srumpee, Dun worry so much abt Eames. Some boys are late boomers. my mom just made the remark that hy's language skills also not there and kept asking me to put him in sch. Maybe I'm the worrying type of Mom and I'm worried he will not be able to get used to the school immediately if he goes full day Sch or he won't get the best care. Haiz very headache lah |

Post Number: 502 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 30, 2010 - 12:06 pm: |
Hi yiyi, Forgot to add actually I think like u before , abt having a closer age gap for my kids. my Hb also prefer closer age gap cos he feels they can play better together. it's just that i got limited help and my maid still very new it's tough for me. Maybe I just need slightly more time to adapt. Hahah |

Serene (worried_girl)
Post Number: 1359 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 30, 2010 - 1:39 pm: |
Christmas show at malls 2010. Yogi Bear Meet & Greet Downtown East, Event Square 15 - 28 Nov (except Tues) Weekdays: 3.30pm & 7pm Weekends: 2pm, 4pm & 7pm Toy Story Christmas Galaxy Meet & Greet Woody & Buzz Parkway Parade, Basement Atrium 19 - 28 Nov (except Mon) 1pm, 4pm & 7pm *Spend min. $30 in single receipt for one pass. Strawberry Shortcake Berry Bubblelicious Show 1pm, 4pm & 7pm Yew Tee Point, 19-21 Nov (Meet & Greet only) Compass Point, 23-28 Nov Causeway Point, 30 Nov - 5 Dec Northpoint, 7-12 Dec Centrepoint, 14-19 Dec Anchorpoint, 21-23 Dec (Only 1pm, Meet & Greet only) Bedok Point, 21-23 Dec (Only 7pm, Meet & Greet only) Meet-n-Greet for first 40, no purchase required. Dora "The Big Pinata" Live Show Raffles City, Level 3 19 Nov - 5 Dec (except Mon) Tue - Fri: 1pm & 7pm Sat - Sun: 1pm, 4pm & 7pm Dora's Tea Party Raffles City, Level 3 4 & 5 Dec, 2.30pm *Spend min. $30 from 12 Nov - 5 Dec to receive a pass. Yo Gabba Gabba! Musical Takashimaya Square, B2 22 Nov - 1 Dec, 1pm, 4pm & 7pm daily Barney's Christmas Surprise! United Square 24 Nov - 6 Dec (except Tues) Mon-Fri: 2pm & 7pm Sat & Sat: 1pm, 4pm & 7pm *Meet & Greet; min. $30 required. Hi-5 Live Show Marina Square 26 Nov - 12 Dec (except Mon) 1pm, 4pm & 7pm *Meet & Greet, limited to first 50 (no min. spend) The Night Before Chirstmas & Mad Hatter's Christmas Tea Party Forum Shopping Mall, B1 27 Nov - 12 Dec 1pm & 5pm (Both shows alternate between the 2 showtimes) *Meet & Greet at 3pm, no min. spend Toy Story Christmas Galaxy Story-telling Sessions & Games Parkway Parade, Basement Atrium 30 Nov - 5 Dec 1pm, 4pm & 7pm *Spend min. $30 in single receipt for one pass. Care Bears Musical Live Show Downtown East, Event Square 30 Nov - 31 Dec (Weekends & Public Holidays ONLY) 6 - 6.30 pm (extra show on 21 Nov at 12.30pm) Care Bears Nite Parade Downtown East, Event Square, The Alley & E!hub 1- 26 Dec (Weekends ONLY) 8 - 8.30pm *Additional Parade on 31 Dec at 3pm The Elves and the Shoemaker retold by Precious Moments™ Jurong Point, JP1 Centrestage 1-12 Dec *Timings still unknown The Nutcracker - Musical Spectacular Vivocity, Level 3 Amphitheatre 2-12 Dec (except 6 Dec) 8pm *Spend $100 between 22 Nov - 12 Dec to redeem a pair of passes. OCBC Cardmembers need only charge $80. Dora & Boots Meet & Greet Raffles City, Level 3 7-12 Dec (except Mon) Tue - Fri: 1pm & 7pm Sat - Sun: 1pm, 4pm & 7pm *Admission to first 50 children per session Mr. Men & Little Miss Christmas Musical Takashimaya Square, B2 3-11 Dec, 1pm, 4pm & 7pm daily *no show on 6 Dec, Mon. Go Diego Go! - The Iguana Sing-along United Square 9-20 Dec (except Tues) Mon-Sun: 12pm, 4.30pm & 7pm *Meet & Greet; min. $30 required. Spongebob Squarepants MEET & GREET United Square 9-20 Dec (except Tues) Mon-Sun: 2.30pm *Meet & Greet ONLY; min. $30 required. Chirstmas at Changi Changi Airport 13 Nov- 6 Jan - Magical Teapot Gift Sessions Over 6 metres high, the amazing Magical Teapot comes alive and dispenses surprise treats every hour from 13 Nov 2010 to 6 Jan 2011. No purchase needed. *Terminal 3, Departure Check-in Hall Level 2 (before Immigration Counters) *Weekdays: 7pm - 10pm *Weekends: 1pm - 10pm - Bouncy Fun at the Christmas Fantasy Castle Kids will love spending hours bouncing and sliding at this giant castle from 4 Dec 2010 to 6 Jan 2011. Simply present any shopping or dining receipt (no min. spend) from Changi Airport to enjoy this fantastic treat! *Terminal 3, Departure Check-in Hall Level 2 *Daily, 12pm - 10pm |

Srumpee (scrumpee01)
Member Username: scrumpee01
Post Number: 1093 Registered: 9-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 30, 2010 - 6:27 pm: |
Eames is also going to childcare in Jan |

yiyi123 (yiyi123)
Post Number: 668 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 30, 2010 - 7:46 pm: |
Strawberry, I have frens whose children attended half day school, were sick in the beginning.. And one of them practically sick once a week.. As most of the activities, playing and interaction among the kids were in the morning.. If u intend to put hy into full day eventually, IMHO, it will be better to start him from the beginning.. If not, during the transition from half day to full day, every afternoon, he will keep looking out for u, may refuse to go for afternoon nap all that.. Now may be tough for u.. But eventually feel the 先苦后甜. Srumpee, ya can understand how u feel towards meimei.. Don worry about eames.. Some babies are just not ready to talk.. Check out Einstein' childhood.. He speak very late too! |

Post Number: 504 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, December 01, 2010 - 4:43 am: |
Hi yiyi, Hy's class will be half day afternoon and I'm still thinking whether to start him in on full day immediately. Btw Isaac is at Cherie hearts right? How much do u pay for full day childcare? Did he have separation anxiety? How long did he take to settle down? |

yiyi123 (yiyi123)
Post Number: 669 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, December 01, 2010 - 11:28 am: |
Ya.. Isaac is at Cherie heart now.. I pay close to $500 per mth, to me the fee is a bit high, but I ilke his form teacher. She is very good, even when I am around, she can be very firm to Isaac, and even scold Isaac when Isaac not behaving himself, Isaac looks at the floor sadly. I feel like laughing at his expression.. but don dare as teacher look at him sternly.. haha.. Isaac seems to be a bit "weird" during the 1st 2 weeks... in the middle of the night will cry for no reason. But after 2 weeks.. everything is back to normal. He can adapt school life quite fast. I saw 1 of the gal in the same class as Isaac, was there for 2 months le.. still crying non stop when mummy/daddy left long ago... HY class is in the afternoon? So what time it started? Will it clash with HY nap time? |

Post Number: 506 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, December 01, 2010 - 6:35 pm: |
Hi yiyi, The full day fee is considered ok... I've heard of more expensive fee amount! Like $800 plus and above. Hy's afternoon class will be from 2 to 5pm. It won't clash with his nap in the morning. Paying $200 plus per mth after subsidy. |

Post Number: 172 Registered: 3-2010
| | Posted on Wednesday, December 01, 2010 - 7:24 pm: |
Hi Mummies, I jus brought Jovia for her last jab this morn... Her PD said Jovia can only come next April.. So happy! *Heartache to see her cry after the jab....  |

Post Number: 173 Registered: 3-2010
| | Posted on Wednesday, December 01, 2010 - 7:26 pm: |
Hi Strawberry and yiyi, I have yet to let Jovia attend childcare coz I duuno if she is ready. She can't express fully and I am afraid she may not be able to adapt it... |

yiyi123 (yiyi123)
Post Number: 673 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, December 01, 2010 - 9:40 pm: |
Strawberry, if it don clash with his napping time, should be ok. the fees is quite low.. Where is the Childcare centre? Jennifer, u can try go to the school and see the environment. At the same time, talk to the principle and the form teacher.. See if they give u the confidence to put ur baby there.. That's how I decide to put Isaac there.. There is always a 1st step and a painful beginning.. U just have to be mentally prepared.  |

chicky (chicky)
Junior Member Username: chicky
Post Number: 173 Registered: 3-2009
| | Posted on Wednesday, December 01, 2010 - 10:07 pm: |
Hi Mummies, I have some baby weaning food to let go at low price! 1) Nestle Cerelac (Rice & Mixed Vegetables) Expiry: May'11 Each: $4.00 Buy two at: $6 2) Nestle Cerelac (Brown Rice) Expiry: Jul'11 Each: $5.00 Buy two at: $8 Further offer: Buy all 4 items above at just $10!! Interested Please email me at chickyseah@yahoo.com.sg Thanks!

Post Number: 508 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, December 02, 2010 - 12:23 pm: |
Hi yiyi, The childcare is walking distance frm my home and nanny's home. Just spoke to the principal at the childcare again, she said no more slots in Jan. But if she had any in Jan or feb or even march she will let me know, just in case any parents withdraw their kids then they will let me know. I had actually wanted to let hy start in sep but decided to let him go to sch earlier. |

Post Number: 509 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, December 02, 2010 - 12:27 pm: |
Hi Jennifer, Is yr elder gal attending any sch now? I would think it's gd for them to mix around with kids their age and also other adults. I compare hy with another friend's kid of the same age, my friend's kid is very sociable and doesn't fear stranger. But for hy, he fear strangers already. Haiz I'm getting worried for him also. |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 5073 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, December 02, 2010 - 4:59 pm: |
strawberrys - i dont think its the environment... HY is prolly a shy boy by nature... Kirs goes to sch... according to the teacher, in sch she does play with the other kids on n off... but when i bring her out to meet her little friends, she will stick to me or hb like super glue... if an adult looks at her, her head will turn 90degrees downwards.... lol... but sometimes she will smile sheepishly... and wave bye... ahaahah... |

Post Number: 510 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, December 02, 2010 - 5:31 pm: |
Hi Missy, From what u say it could be their own character... Hmm But how to make him less apprehensive of other people? By exposing him more outside? |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 5074 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Friday, December 03, 2010 - 12:51 am: |
ehhhhhh i guess when he wans to come out of his shell he will.. until now.. kirs also still super sticky... haii... i jus learn to accept that she is shy lor... u expose him outside also depends where n what... sch can be one plc... if not meet up with east mummies lor... hahaha |