| Author |
Message |

Mummy Bean (mummy_bean)
Junior Member Username: mummy_bean
Post Number: 156 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 16, 2010 - 3:34 pm: |
missycandy: Oh dear...hugs Kirs. Hope she is better now already. very heartache to see them having fever and looking so lethargic. This teething period is really torturing for mummies. My boy been rejecting all sorts of solids and lately he wans me to feed him yogurt with porridge. Faints. So I can understand your siansation. Big headache. I also intending to send him to zoophonics when turn 18 months.But need the approval of my finance minister at home. Sigh. And he hasn't really start talking yet. Still blabberings. Kirs going for playgroup liao ar. I wished I can throw my Favian in playgroup too. He is driving me nuts at home. haha. And I can't wait to go back to work. ha |

Mummy Bean (mummy_bean)
Post Number: 157 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 16, 2010 - 3:36 pm: |
pinkdemoness: Glad to hear that. u rest well too. when bb is sick, mummy also gets worn out. Take care.  |

missycandy (missycandy)
Intermediate Member Username: missycandy
Post Number: 4705 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 16, 2010 - 6:36 pm: |
mummybean - contemplating if shld start at 18mths or wait til next yr. but we have registered her at the sch olredi. =P do consider zoophonics. im opting for bilingual class. once a week. 1.5hrs. but il see how when the time comes as well. heh. not sure if kirs is keen.  |

Lenny Susanty (lenny_susanty)
Intermediate Member Username: lenny_susanty
Post Number: 2612 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 16, 2010 - 8:32 pm: |
Missy.. actually you can consider Letterland for phonics as well.. I kinda like their method of teaching our toddlers on alphabets. am considering of learning it so i can teach Bree. well, that depends if Bree lets me go for the course then.. hahaha |

jtho (ftmummy)
Member Username: ftmummy
Post Number: 1575 Registered: 10-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 16, 2010 - 9:48 pm: |
hello mummies! long time no post liao still remember me? |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 4706 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 16, 2010 - 9:52 pm: |
no who r u ? =P |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 4707 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 16, 2010 - 9:55 pm: |
lenny - zoophonics nearer to me... plus nicer to my pockets... lolx |

jtho (ftmummy)
Post Number: 1576 Registered: 10-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 16, 2010 - 10:06 pm: |
missycandy ya ya ya nobody knows me  |

reverie island (reverie_island)
Member Username: reverie_island
Post Number: 620 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 16, 2010 - 10:17 pm: |
lenny orchard flood. how to go for class? |

Post Number: 621 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 16, 2010 - 10:41 pm: |
i realised a difference in an alphabet between JG and GUG. Eg will be letter L. Gug pronounce as L... JG pronounce as Le... so confusing... i also realise eg the following word, cypress, phonic does not apply... eng is so chim... there is a certain where words are read and certain word eng should be written... |

Post Number: 2613 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 17, 2010 - 7:27 am: |
Jtho.. Good to see you here.. How is everything and how is out little Oli..? Saw his pics.. he is a cutie now.. hahah |

Post Number: 2614 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 17, 2010 - 7:29 am: |
Riverie, JG Term 3 will start on the week of 28th June. one of my GF went for holiday program yesterday, Forum not affected. |

jtho (ftmummy)
Post Number: 1577 Registered: 10-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 17, 2010 - 9:00 am: |
thanks lenny at least u still remember me, not like missycandy who asked who i am (mei liang xin) also, thank you for your compliment for my mischievous boy... he's a cutie, he's also a terror.... hahahah |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 4711 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 17, 2010 - 11:29 am: |
jtho - =P wahahahahaX! i knw oli maman *bleahx* mummybean - zoophonics much cheaper than the others... i think... lolx |

SeaBreeze (seabreeze)
Intermediate Member Username: seabreeze
Post Number: 4424 Registered: 1-2003
| | Posted on Thursday, June 17, 2010 - 11:48 am: |
reverie island ... There are rules in phonics ... like when 2 vowels are put togther only need to sound 1 of them etc so at their age now ... just focus on the individual alpha dun go into forming the words yet. Will confuse them and yourself only heehee Only when they are 3yr or 4yr then send them to those schools which teaches phonics =) thats what I am doing for my #1 so I am now learning from him oso |

Mummy Bean (mummy_bean)
Post Number: 158 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 17, 2010 - 5:02 pm: |
missycandy: ha..ya I think so too..my gf told me its quite reasonable.. ha.. I think I am aiming for it and it is just two mrt stops away from my place. But now Favian stopped his GUG. So wondering what to do with him for the next three months before he can go zoophonics. reverie_island: after u told me about letterland , I went to check it out at a shop selling their edu materials. It is cheaper then zoophonics but the person told me if children learning zoophonics and u give them letterland too, they will get confuse. But she said letterland is now used in many schools. So she said if use letterland edu materials to guide them, they will feel easier to catch up in school. Ha..different people tell me different things. Now I become very confuse. |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 4712 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 17, 2010 - 7:38 pm: |
mummybean - bibinogs? =P or gymboree. gymboree at tanglin the rates are $450 for 12wks of play&learn and $320 for music class. then pay $50 to become member. membership is valid for 1yr. then can bring him for free play at $12/hr. i find it quite reasonable  |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 4713 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 17, 2010 - 7:49 pm: |
sigh. kirs is teething again(my suspicion) cn see 2 white buds of the 2 canines at the bottom... but cld also be another molar becos she keeps putting her finger inside... excessive drooling... fever the GP suspects something else but i dont trust him =P he says according to textbooks, teething shldnt have such a high fever ... her temp was 39.3 at the clinic ... ya the last time round the molar came out he gave abx... so now i told him i dont wan abx and he was like ya... i dont give that now... anyway i only wanted the voltaren supp... which i got.. hurhurhur... then me n my suayyy mouth/hand ... sigh.. mentioned that she stil taking solids n milk well.. end up today everything dont want... few spoons n milk ard 40mls then dont want liao... zzz then cry n cry n cry n cry... cry til vomit and body get hot again... hai... last night was horrible... she kept whining every other hr... omg... almost went mad!!! then made her milk this am but she refused... so ended up giving her yogurt but few spoons then mai liao... haiii... super duper sian... |

A. Fireangel (areya)
Junior Member Username: areya
Post Number: 344 Registered: 2-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, June 17, 2010 - 8:17 pm: |
missycandy, yep, in reality teething CAN have such high fever in some kiddos, as some of us have experienced but the point is that if he does suspect something else, he needs to state WHAT - did he see something in her ears/throat? did he do a urine dip and thinks she got a urine infection? does he think it's just another flu virus? etc etc etc. |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 4714 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 17, 2010 - 8:26 pm: |
he didnt state what. he didnt check the throat. but frm what he said i think he suspects viral infection. sigh. sucky gp. but can be seen fast. lolx. the one i like is usually super duper crowded... haiii... he jus asked me to look out for rashes if any. but frm the looks of it... its like last mth when her molar cut thru... same symptoms... |

Post Number: 622 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 17, 2010 - 11:02 pm: |
mummy bean how about JG phonic... so confusing already... she is starting JG on 30/6 and shichida on 1/7. |

Post Number: 2615 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 17, 2010 - 11:28 pm: |
Riverie Island.. JG has Zoo Phonics.. but will only touch on that when our toddlers go to PlayClub.. which is after they are 18mths old. I am planning to get Bree introduced to Letterland when the time comes  |

Post Number: 623 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 17, 2010 - 11:38 pm: |
JG and GUG different way of teaching phonic. one is uk one is us? which is more appropriate for sing context? alyssa like the phonic. she learns thru matching and she can some how imitate. i am actually quite happy with her performance. she got herself settled after a term. i actually thought of buying the zoo phonic set for her. i have the jg phonic set. i am confused on what is good. letterland, zoo phonic or JG phonic? Letterland if i am not wrong, are used by alot of Pre N sch. like some churches preschool... |

Post Number: 624 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 17, 2010 - 11:54 pm: |
Lenny You might be interested. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/1161065.html?1196044030 |

pinksorbet (pinksorbet)
Member Username: pinksorbet
Post Number: 1835 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 8:57 am: |
morning mummies wanna check do any of u babies cry in their sleep? kyan will suddenly jus scream and cry out loud in the middle of the night lo. So scary... and so i thought whether its realli normal for babies to do that. But think he will still be closing his eyes when he did that. mummies are so wei da...no matter how tired we may be, we will still put their child first...our patience may be weaning but our spirit hasn't. kyan is gg to take his MMR jab tmr, so worried he will have fever. The major one he had when he was teething weeks ago really put all of us at a drain. |

pinkdemoness (pinkdemoness)
Member Username: pinkdemoness
Post Number: 763 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 11:16 am: |
Tks all mummies for the advices and tips on looking after a high fever baby...its his first time so i was so lost plus the seizure and crankiness, discomfort etc...finally Elixir has recovered and back to his mischief self liao...hugs evryone!! |

lizy (lizy)
Junior Member Username: lizy
Post Number: 409 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 11:44 am: |
Pinksorbet, Baby cries in Sleep: vera also cries in her sleep at night. She also cries with her eyes close. For me, it's easy to know the reason, she wants her pacifier. She drops it someway on the bed when sleeping so I gotta help her look for it. Once I put it back into her mouth, she'll stop crying and continue with her sleep. This happens every night. You try to observe little kyan? I believe you'll sure be able to find the cause for him crying in his sleep. Mummy knows her child best! pinkdemoness, good to hear that Elixir has recovered! You're great too! You've helped your little boy fight and won the battle. To all mummies, we're all wei da mummies! If not because I'm a mother myself, I'll never understand why a mother would do anything for her child. After I had Vera, I realised that my life will never complete without her. Vera completes me! That's why I'm willing to do anything for her. That's why she's always my 1st priority! I'm sure you feel the way too that Your child completes you!  |

Agnes Chew (gnes)
Junior Member Username: gnes
Post Number: 475 Registered: 5-2004
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 11:53 am: |
reverie island, U starting JG on 30/6. Me too. Am at Evans Road 11am. What abt u? |

Post Number: 625 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 2:28 pm: |
Hi Agnes me will be at forum. 1pm. Same as Lenny. |

Agnes Chew (gnes)
Post Number: 476 Registered: 5-2004
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 3:12 pm: |
Reverie, I may switch to forum after one term cos more convenient in terms of transportation. |

don (donroxx)
Junior Member Username: donroxx
Post Number: 487 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 3:42 pm: |
pinkdemoness.. glad to know Elixer has recovered. well done mummy! |

don (donroxx)
Post Number: 488 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 3:43 pm: |
RE Channel 8's "Precious Babes" Thank you to all fellow mummies who voted for Lucas. Channel 8's "Precious Babes" competition has been canceled by the organisers. Think they were not prepared for such an event. See their notice here http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=125686800797062 |

jo's mummy (jo3309)
Member Username: jo3309
Post Number: 1353 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 5:19 pm: |
don, so sad the event cancelled...wasted my time.. |

don (donroxx)
Post Number: 489 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 5:50 pm: |
ya loh. i more angry than sad. totally wasted so many people's time. no respect for others and poor management of the event. gonna think twice before joining their future events |

Post Number: 626 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 7:13 pm: |
I think they should not cancelled. They underestimated technology n networking. They should set up a panel of judges n pick e winner. |

Mummy Bean (mummy_bean)
Post Number: 159 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 7:36 pm: |
missycandy: thanks for the info.. I actually thought of kindermusik but tanglin mall in terms of transportation quite inconvenient for me then weekend his daddy attending RT cannot send us for lessons. Xian++ . Btw hugs to Kirs.. hope she is better today. Jiayou. After these molars are out, I think won't have anymore fever saga. Reverie: oh I never check that out.. I think I will stick to zoo phonics since they will be exposed to letterland in nursery. By the way can share with me how much is Shicida's course fee? |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 4723 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 9:28 pm: |
mummybean - u r welcome. and thanks. i managed to feel her gums today.. its another molar... the 2nd one... still have another 2 more... plus her canines not out yet... btw, gug finish for favian already? and yes agree tanglin is quite out of the way for me too! zoo phonics at thomson is the best!!! lolx. |

Post Number: 627 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 10:00 pm: |
Pinksorbet my bb does cry in her zzz. think they are dreaming...i just pat pat her a few sec... Agnes We will be at forum 1pm class. after that she will move up to playclub. then we should be going to evan or forum 1130 biligual class. hubby will attend with her. cos i will be 3 mths preg then... Evan seems better. pls share. cos they have better outdoor activities than forum. mummy bean alyssa attended kindermusik when she was abt 6 mths old. she enjoyed too. but hubby thought the class gettin bored so stoppted after 2 months. with the same amt of time and $, i prefer to send gug or jg. regarding phonic, different preschools use different phonic material. annual reg fee S$50 term fee S$780 for wkends and S$545 (if i din rem wrongly) we are attending the class at springleaf. admin staff is f**k up. same attitude over the years... No make up class, no credit refund etc for MC . profit driven. but what to do, they course is good. so they set high fee and can afford to act arrogant lor... i thought of buying zoo phonic material. i saw a zoo phonic border at the franchisor website. thought of buying to decor alyssa's room... we are moving house in sep. so happy! no need to stay with in laws. but it also means lesser help. |

Post Number: 2616 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 10:02 pm: |
Hi mommies.. Logging in to say a quick hi.. am packing up for our 8 days trip to Cavite & Manila on Sunday morning.. me and hubby will occupy one luggage and Bree one luggage on her own.. Still coughing now due to sore throat.. can only blame my greedy self for eating so many durian puffs. |

Post Number: 2617 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 10:07 pm: |
Riverie Island.. Re: Phonics.. I am not that particular about what phonics for Bree to learn as long as Bree is able to pronounce and read well. The main reason why i like Letterland is because.. it will teach our todds how to write the alphabet with a short rhyme which is kinda interesting to me. Re: Zoophonics.. There is a learning centre just across the road from my place that teaches ZooPhonics.. but they only take in Toddler at 18mths old. initially i thought of sending Bree there... but i liked Letterland after viewing the materials.. Pat's School house at Jubilee is using Letterland to teach the pre-schoolers.. That's how i got to know about Letterland and i saw the materials.. but i won't be sending Bree to Pat's Schoolhouse. Now am keeping an open mind about the choice of Pre-school although i have pretty much set my mind on one.. and need to decide which branch to go for.. |

Post Number: 2618 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 10:08 pm: |
Riverie..!! Congratulations!!! |

Post Number: 2619 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 10:13 pm: |
Agnes, Riverie & Fatfish, After this term 3 for PlayNest with JG in Forum at 1pm.. we intend to continue for PlayClub. We have not decided if we want to choose bilingual but are planning to switch Bree to the 9.00am class. Nowadays... If i do not intervene... i noticed that she has dropped her morning nap.. she now naps between 11.00am 12.00noon and wakes up between 1.00pm to 2.00pm.. she is the most alert in the morning, she wakes up at 6.30am daily.. no matter what time she slept at night..its just that if she slpet late the night before .. she will nap earlier for her afternoon. i will still monitor her and see how her schedule sets in.. then decide to change her class timing.. anyway.. when they get to pre-school.. it will be starting early in the morning as well.. good for her to develop this habit now. |

pinksorbet (pinksorbet)
Post Number: 1841 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 10:28 pm: |
lizy - i usually let him scream that very second then he will go back to sleep, so usually i won't observe since it doesn't take too long b4 he falls back to sleep again. I guess its hard to observe him. Will put the bolster back into his arms cos it usually gets "thrown" off a distance away from him, hoping it gives him some comfort pinkdemoness - i'm glad that lil elixir has finally recovered. This should give u abit of your deserved rest. Do take good care of yourself cos elixir depends v much on u =) reverie - i think my boy is having nightmares too or overstimulated during the day =S Lenny - take care and hope u enjoy yr trip =) for kyan he wakes up at 7am+. I intend to send him to preschool when he turns 18mths...i hope he is able to attune with the school's timetable cos right now he still has to take nap after his first feed and bath in the morning. And preschool kids have to wake up way earlier b4 7pm. |

Post Number: 628 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 10:30 pm: |
Lenny what's there to do at manila i wonder... anw, enjoy! which branch meaning a quite reputable chain of preschool. i prefer to send alyssa to kampong kind of presch... but far... |

Post Number: 2620 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 10:39 pm: |
Riverie.. Hubby is attending a course sent by his company at Cavite and after that we will proceed to Manila.. since we already in Philippines.. Our initial plan was to head on to Boracay but the transfers to that paradise is too much for Bree at this age.. so.. manila lor.. i also don't know what to do in Manila with Bree.. hehe... sekali just laze around with Bree and hubby/ |

Post Number: 629 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 10:46 pm: |
Lenny thx. 9am is out, cos if i take train or cab, we will be caught in jam thought 9am is the best timing. i think i will leave the shag pack to hubby. he will attend with bb on wkn. in fact i prefer biligual. after attending jg i will share my view on jg and gug. if bree naps later then how to attend class? she will be cranky in class if she miss her nap? i worry too... cos alyssa usually nap abt 10-11 and wakes up abt 11-12+. if like that then might haf to take cab there and rush rush for her bkfast etc... this week so weird. she can zzz for 2 hours fr 4pm. her must haf nap at 4pm. |

Post Number: 630 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 10:47 pm: |
Lenny Juz relax lor and if nothing to do there. keke... |

Post Number: 2621 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 10:49 pm: |
Riverie. when term starts.. i will make bree nap early.. i max her wout in the morning so she will knock out at 10.30 - 11.00am then wake up between 11.45am -12.00pm. let her have a quick lunch. by 12.30pm.. we get out of our house and reach classroom by 1.00pm.. After class.. BF her or and eat her snacks.. then she naps for another 30misn or max 1 hr.. |

Agnes Chew (gnes)
Post Number: 477 Registered: 5-2004
| | Posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 - 11:31 pm: |
Lenny, I also noticed my boy slowly missing his morning naps and sleeps at abt 12+ and wakes before 3pm recently. Am trying to incorporate his lunch before he sleeps but can't. So feed him lunch when he wakes at 2+. This is also good for me cos i can have my lunch + break in peace. Reverie, But at 11am timing, its going to be very hot if they play outside..Not sure how are they going to do this. I will ask during the orientation on 26th. This is one reason I may want to change to forum..See how first. |

Mummy Bean (mummy_bean)
Post Number: 160 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Saturday, June 19, 2010 - 3:50 pm: |
missycandy: this teething period is driving all mummies crazy..I just touched Favian's gum and realised two lower molar are erupting..now just keeping my finger cross... make some barley water for Kirs ? it do helps for Favian when he was teething the other time.. and he had high fever for one week that nearly drove me nuts... And I agree... Zoophonics still the best !! ha... economical in terms of location and pocket.. :p Reverie: thanks for the pics ! your camera so clear..can see my fats so clearly ! ha..as quoted by my husband.. anyway thanks for the info also... actually I really like GUG but their timing is very off for me..I was sick after rushing thru this early lunch and lesson after three weeks..and weekends my husband is having stupid RT... and compulsory in laws visit.. sigh... So now am just waiting for zoophonics... ya good to move out... I am actually quite glad that I become a SAHM so Favian's care is directly under my way...though lesser help..but also lesser conflicts.. u can deco ALyssa's room like GUG..then she can play matching at home...think will be very fun for her... Lenny: enjoy ur trip! Pinksorbet: my bb cries in his sleep too..everynight without fail..wake up fuss a while and look for his pacifier before going back to sleep..sometimes he will jus sit beside me and stare at me..scary... |

Post Number: 2622 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Saturday, June 19, 2010 - 9:52 pm: |
Mummybean, Pink sorbet, Riverie Thanks.. i do hope i will enjoy my Philippines trip too.. Riverie.. Preschool that has many branches.. can be PAP, Cheerie Hearts etc wor... |

Post Number: 2623 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Saturday, June 19, 2010 - 10:13 pm: |
Re: Preschool.. I will let Bree "Choose".. meaning,.. i will bring her to the schools and watch her response while she is there apart from viewing the place etc. myself. ultimately.. its she who will be attending the school and i really want her to like the place. apart from pre-school.. if we do get a chance.. will introduce other activities to her to give her exposure.. will just sign her up for trials.. if she like then we go ahead.. if she don't like it.. then we won't force her. |

miss83 (orange_juice)
Member Username: orange_juice
Post Number: 1453 Registered: 9-2008
| | Posted on Saturday, June 19, 2010 - 10:15 pm: |
missy this teething has caused kris to have fever again? im still trauma with caleb's fever last month..i really really pray that it wont happen again!!! please..pleasee...really trauma!! re:bb cry ya sometimes it can be he's having a dream.. or just overtired or stimulated.. if he's having a dream he will cry n scream with eyes closed...if he's overtired he will cry or wake up sitting down on his bed. re: nap im so confused here..if i put him 2 naps..i feel that it's too much naps..since he can actually stay awake longer. but 1 nap, he only sleeps 1.5 hour which is not enough..by 7pm he's already sleepy..then the next day will wake up at 6am!! and that's too early for us.. haizz.. any tips how to make bb nap 1x but longer hours? |

Post Number: 2624 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Saturday, June 19, 2010 - 10:15 pm: |
Agnes.. About switching to Forum for JG.. Its up to individual actually. I had a mommy in my class who transfer from evans road cos she find it too hot and inconvenience of location. For some babies.. they do enjoy the great outdoors.. As for Bree.. i chose forum cos of her skin sensitivity to heat and convenience of location |

Post Number: 2625 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Saturday, June 19, 2010 - 10:17 pm: |
Miss83.. Bree sleeps at 7.00pm and wakes up around 6.00am to 6.30am.. we sort of followed her timing and start our day early too.. heheh |

Post Number: 2626 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Saturday, June 19, 2010 - 10:18 pm: |
Ok mommies.. i am logging to get an early night for tomorrow's flight. Take care all.. i will catch up again when i get back.. Ciao.. |

miss83 (orange_juice)
Post Number: 1454 Registered: 9-2008
| | Posted on Saturday, June 19, 2010 - 10:59 pm: |
lenny ya I'm thinking that if he sleeps at 7pm and wakes up around 6 then I'll have to adjust too.. but the thing is..if he wakes up at 6am..then he naps 1x at 11am for only 1.5 hour..he wont make it til 7pm also. usually he wakes up at 8am..then if i put him for 1 nap..he will zzz at around 12 or 12.30 til 2pm. then 7 pm he will be very tired already. next morning wake up 6 am...then nap again cannot be around 12 again like the previous day..coz today he wakes up 2 hours earlier... so he will nap earlier, and bedtime will be earlier than 7pm?? i hope u understand what i mean heehehe.. thats why i see that 1 nap not enough..but 2 naps too many..i'm stuck now. if 2 naps..i find it very difficult to put him to sleep nowadays..always takes 30 mins before he finally zzz.. |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 4728 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Saturday, June 19, 2010 - 11:18 pm: |
miss83 - i believe its the teething causing the high fever but the gp doesnt seem to agree with me... but anyway, fever saga over... tooth is cutting thru... not sure if fever will come back again.. hope not... but after the fever, comes the diarrhea... and... very very bad excoriation at her butt... super duper red & painful... sigh... so poor thing.. so have to change diapers every 2-3hrs... every diaper change have to wash... then dry, apply creams... air awhile... all done with her crying... and im very very drained.. becos she is super duper manja n sticky... |

Srumpee (scrumpee01)
Member Username: scrumpee01
Post Number: 1018 Registered: 9-2004
| | Posted on Sunday, June 20, 2010 - 10:56 am: |
missycandy hugs....hope Kirsten get well really soon |

pinkdemoness (pinkdemoness)
Member Username: pinkdemoness
Post Number: 764 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, June 20, 2010 - 3:54 pm: |
missycandy: hope kirsten get well soon too...Elixir's fever is gone but rash now...His pd also say teething would not have so high fever but i also think its teething...well, i dunno... |

Mummy Bean (mummy_bean)
Post Number: 161 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, June 20, 2010 - 4:12 pm: |
missycandy: can try the Jorubi Aloe veral gel on Kirs butts. Everytime Favian has redness & etc there I applied it instead of diaper cream the next diaper change it really gets better for him & will jus see slight redness. Poor u and Kirs.. Hugs.. hope Kirs would be back to her happy samseng self soon.. |

miss83 (orange_juice)
Post Number: 1455 Registered: 9-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, June 20, 2010 - 8:38 pm: |
missy my first PD I went also didnt agree that teething cause fever..although my heart said so!! then i went to see GP nearby home..and he told me it is true that teething can cause fever..and he confirmed me not to worry that the fever was really due to teething..because at that time I already gave antibiotics (cedax) which was very strong and could fight any infection..but fever kept on going on and off more than 5 days..so GP said it must be the molar cutting.. |

Post Number: 632 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, June 20, 2010 - 10:39 pm: |
Hi jorubi is good for mosquito bites too... Misscandy, pinksorbet & maybe jtho I am due in feb 2011 too. i saw all your name in the new thread. |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 4732 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, June 20, 2010 - 10:58 pm: |
lolxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx reverie - im not pregs. jean also not. we just go n kpo. lolxxxxx seeking baby dust... wahahahax!!! thanks scrumpee, pink, mummybean and miss83 ... ive tried aloe.. she jumps whenver i apply any cream... actually last night i saw getting better i applied steroid cream given by PD... and a powder... but today we went out... then in mrt she lao sai again... then cnt change there and then.. so had to get home n change... then red again ... vicious cycle... sigh... anyway i see how... il bring her to see the GP... i tried giving her lacto forte for her diarrhea.. but she as usual.. didnt wana open her mouth.. so force... and she spat it out... sigh... |

Post Number: 635 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, June 20, 2010 - 11:13 pm: |
pinksorbet is right... |

miss83 (orange_juice)
Post Number: 1459 Registered: 9-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, June 20, 2010 - 11:26 pm: |
missy lacto forte is the powder one right? i think can put in milk..but must finish it.. anyway, last time PD didnt give me meds for diarrhea due to teething.. he said if teething..diarrhea will be on n off..like last time caleb had diarrhea 1 day 2-3x..the next day only 1x..then stop and 2 days later got diarrhea again.. |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 4733 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 1:04 am: |
yups. im quite wary of adding stuff into her milk. i did a boo boo. i added panadol when she had fever n she rejected her milk feeds a few times... so after that incident.. i dont think i wana add meds to it... though lacto forte is sweet n smells like banana.. heh... i see how tmr... prolly have to change to cloth diapers for now... wil bring her to see doc... hopefully cn give me some wonder cream =P |

pinksorbet (pinksorbet)
Post Number: 1846 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 8:45 am: |
reverie - i'm right what? suddenly kyan has many teeth...lol...now i wonder how many he still hasn't grown. Dunno how to see cos he will scream and struggle when i pull open his mouth... missycandy - u using cloth nappies? why have to wash? |

jtho (ftmummy)
Post Number: 1583 Registered: 10-2008
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 10:45 am: |
reverie, congrats! ya, like wat missycandy said, i'm not pregnant... just went into feb 2011 thread to get some bbdust  |

jo's mummy (jo3309)
Post Number: 1361 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 11:42 am: |
missycandy, agree that PD will not agree with us if we link diarhoea + fever with teething..but our parents will tell us its due to teething.. last time bb Jo had diarhoea, doc gave the lactoforte (pkt, mix with 10ml water), Jovin had only 2pkt, his diarhoea stopped immediately. He likes it very much & always demand for more even after finish the 10ml...think by only stopping the diarhoea only the butts will not bcome red..hugzz tight tight to Kirs.. bb Jo upper molar teeth also out, each on every side..his lower gums r very thick, think the lower molar teeth is coming out soon...recently always wake up at midnite & only sleep back after 1hr..tiring... |

jo's mummy (jo3309)
Post Number: 1362 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 11:43 am: |
Reverie...CONGRATULATIONS!!! I hope I can start TTCing (for girls) soon...  |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 4734 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 1:01 pm: |
pinksorbet - i thought of using cloth diapers for now becos keep on lao sai-ing... but its getting better according to the doc since i cn see veggies in it... lolx.. which is true becos day before was all liquified... heh... wah i nvr check the upper gums.. cnt see.. she wldnt let me open her mouth too.. i have to be quick to view when she opens to eat her food... jo mummy - ya the gp also said its gastroentritis not teething... -_-" okie la.. whatever the diagnosis, as long as it stops and her butt gets better... doesnt matter what it is.. lolx... re: ttc - JUST DO IT! reverie - congrats! nt sure if i said it. lolxxx... and yes... pink is... =x |

Northvirgo (northvirgo)
Junior Member Username: northvirgo
Post Number: 327 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 1:06 pm: |
Reverie, popped in here and saw your good news. Congrats!! |

pinksorbet (pinksorbet)
Post Number: 1848 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 1:16 pm: |
missycandy - glad that kirsten is getting better! now that kyan has so many teeth, it hurts when he bites on me hard when i brush his teeth using finger brush. I think i will get the long toothbrush soon. reverie - oh i didn't get what u mean but after reading missycandy's reply then i understand...haha so sorrie ah, me v slow de lor... |

don (donroxx)
Post Number: 490 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 1:31 pm: |
wow congratz reverie! |

jo's mummy (jo3309)
Post Number: 1365 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 2:13 pm: |
missy, my Red Blood Cell count is very low (due to heavy menstruation)..now on Iron medication for almost 1mth dy..will need to go for blood test to check the iron level 1st..furthermore, doc say after pass the blood test still must continue with the Iron medicine..if on medication cannot get preggie right?? dunno when only I can start ttc ler.. i also know JUST DO IT lar...lolxx!!! |

Mummy Bean (mummy_bean)
Post Number: 162 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 2:32 pm: |
Hi mummies good afternoon... Dropped my housework and came in to have a breather. I am on the verge of snapping Never know a SAHM can be this tough. My boy is getting on my nerves at every meals I had with him lately. I woke up early in the morning to make soup, prepare his porridge and go marketing but all he did is just dig everything out and throw everything on the floor. I tried diff website for diff recipe, heinz food and etc. Even feed him pediasure. I am so sick and tire of clearing all the mess after each meal. Tried distractions, tv, toys, singing and etc. All methods just failed. I even attended the Parenting Congress to learn any new tricks to deal with this behaviour. All just talk about patience. Its easier said than done. And lately his behaviour is getting on my nerves too. Whatever we don't give in to him, he would just drop flat on the floor and cry his lungs out. I tried every means and ways to correct him but he is just becoming from bad to worse. Just now he refuse to get up from his bath tub and used his iron head to bang my head so that I would give in and let him back into the tub. Now both of us got a big bruise on our head sigh... My in laws just only know how to comment that I need to be patient with him, cannot scold him, cannot make him cry. But no one is helping me. I got like zillion of stuffs to do every day and I am missing all the social life I used to have with this 24/7 job. Sorry for ranting so much..But I just need somewhere to ventilate. Or else I think I am going mad soon..  |

jtho (ftmummy)
Post Number: 1589 Registered: 10-2008
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 2:45 pm: |
hi mummy bean, been a while since we last met! though i'm not a SAHM (and i salute u for the courage to be one), i can perfectly understand how u feel cos my boy is behaving the same way too whenever i take care of him during the weekends! |

miss83 (orange_juice)
Post Number: 1460 Registered: 9-2008
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 2:57 pm: |
re: teeth how many molars actually should we wait to cut through in total? I cant wait to get over it..I hate teething. re: brushing teeth how do u all bursh ur bb teeth? im still using the finger brush..i tried the usual long brush but very diffciult leh..my boy doesnt want to open mouth. even with finger bursh..he usually cry if I brush him.. |

Mandy Wong (mandy_zann)
New member Username: mandy_zann
Post Number: 7 Registered: 6-2010
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 2:59 pm: |
mummy_ bean: i understand it too.. and i salute you too.. many many reasons and stories and that is why i faster come out to work...=P |

Mummy Bean (mummy_bean)
Post Number: 163 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 3:06 pm: |
Jtho: hi !!! how have u been ? ya it has been a long while. The last time they were still like 3-4 months. Time really flies past fast. Thanks. I think all mummies are very courageous regardless FTWM or SAHM. Our toddlers are really some hard nut to crack. miss83: re: teeth I hate teething too !!! such a long torturing process. re: brushing teeth I use cloth and clean leh. cos whenever I use the brush with toothpaste he would vomit out and cries loudly too. And he would bite me if I force my way in. |

Mummy Bean (mummy_bean)
Post Number: 164 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 3:09 pm: |
mandy: thanks !! ya me too.. many many reasons preventing me to drop everything and continue my career. sigh... |

Mandy Wong (mandy_zann)
Post Number: 8 Registered: 6-2010
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 3:17 pm: |
mummy_bean: no worry .. lets jia you!!! =D |

A. Fireangel (areya)
Junior Member Username: areya
Post Number: 345 Registered: 2-2009
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 3:25 pm: |
mummybean, ya gotta be firm and not lose your temper/become impatient. now is the time they are seriously testing our limits, and they want any kind of reaction out of us, whether it's good or bad. the main thing is: if they do things to annoy you, don't raise your voice, don't show them you are angry, just look at them straight in the eye with a serious face, and say in a very low pitch severe voice not to do it again. gotta make that eye contact, and keep at the staring especially if they laugh and try to manja. i tell u what really works for my kiddo ( and i read somewhere that it works for all todds too with a lot of consistency) is positive attention - like don't just give him the attention when they do something bad, give them the attention when they do something good too, eg if he one day lets u take him out of his bath without making any fuss, really praise him for behaving himself. and keep praising for any kind of good behaviour so that he gets the idea that if he behaves in a certain (ie good) way, he will get kisses/cuddles fr u and daddy and at this age, not really a good idea to let them self feed if you are not prepared to deal with the mess lah. i think patience is one thing, but consistence is another, esp when it comes to discipline just keep the mantra that you are the one in charge, not him. u have to scold/slap wrist also so that they get the idea, even if it makes them cry. and i tell u, they will keep repeating over and over and over until u are damn sian, but it's all a normal part of growing up loh ;p hang in there! :D |

Mummy Bean (mummy_bean)
Post Number: 165 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 3:38 pm: |
A.Fireangel: Thanks for the advise !! ya I am actually doing the positive attention lately and I am guilty of raising my voice and losing temper at him. Sometimes he can cries for half an hour just to get his way and it often really drives me up the wall as kids cries can be really irritating and drilling to our soul. But I will heed your advise and control myself as I think if I keep on losing myself towards him I might turn him into a violent lil kiddo too. Now I am searching for classes to sign him on and distract him so that I can take a breather and he can learn some social skills from other kiddos. Hopefully things will work out. Thanks again! ;) |

Post Number: 636 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 10:03 pm: |
Hi everyone thanks for the wishes. Mummy bean ya, fireangel said is true. i am trying to control my anger and beating her too... |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 4735 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 10:08 pm: |
*hugs hugs mummy bean* yes do see when free. maybe we cn mit up for a drink or a meal... at least before i go back to work =P i too lose my temper at times... but luckily for me so far... (touch wood) she doesnt throw tantrums with me.. im quite fierce and i wil stare at her and say no... i will keep on saying no til she gets it... like when she wans to climb out of her high chair during a meal i will talk nicely 1st... doesnt wrk then u knw la.. they dun have patience.. i jus "tiak" her leg... *flick with my finger* duno u understand what im saying or not... lolx... likewise when she touches something she aint supposed to, il "tiak"her hands.... after awhile, she gets the point n doesnt touch it... she will also play punk... she wil try to touch it.. then when i wana tiak her.. she wil faster say no... and wag her finger... lolx... cheekie monkie! if throw tantrum at home i jus leave her be... but i wil also tell her its not right... but outside i have 0 tolerance... can be quite paiseh if she creates a ruckus... so i give in to her... most of the time its becos she wans to walk around... but becos shes such a samseng climbing here, there, touching, pulling, running, i try not to let her get too used to being on the loose when outside... just awhile is fine in an open space... but not where space is limited... distractions that work for her would be food... water... n iphone then sometimes i wil smack her thigh... i knw we not supposed to smack them becos it doesnt work somehow at this age... but she seems to get it at times... =P i peifu u SAHM! sometimes i really wana go nutsss! and i really want to sleep in!!! but i cant... *sobs* part of me cnt wait to go back to work to have some peace but a part of me also wants to be ard to spend more time with her... hee hee... |

Mummy Bean (mummy_bean)
Post Number: 168 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 10:45 pm: |
reverie_island: thanks...ya..I am trying hard not to..but can't help it at times.. missycandy: ya we should we should ! when u going back to work ? Actually I am also consider very fierce towards him til at times he doesn't really fancy me or will even reject me as I am usually the discipline master at home. Lately he started to be very índependent', has a mind of his own and when I say no..he would purposely go against it and repeat it many times til I smack him or raise my voice. I really wonder why. I understand how u feel. Part of me can't wait to get back to work but part of me is enjoying participating in his growing up process. Yet I am really draining out. Sigh. |

starflower (starflower)
Member Username: starflower
Post Number: 691 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 11:26 pm: |
Discipline - yeah its tough. i get so tired sometimes i'll just lie down and raise my voice at him, but he's very "bao pi", i rasie my voice a little teeny weeny bit and he'll cry already , hehee so quite easy...only thing is, for a boy, that's kind of timid lor...and he's very manja and sticky to me... |

Post Number: 637 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Monday, June 21, 2010 - 11:57 pm: |
my ger also v good at fake crying. i ignore her and let her fake cry. |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 4744 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, June 22, 2010 - 12:37 am: |
lolx the fake cry is really funny! Kirs wil scrunch up her face n pretend to cry... then il look at her... then she'l stop and look at me... then pretend again... but i jus ignore la... lolx... after awhile she also continue to do her own things... lolx... |

Mummy Bean (mummy_bean)
Post Number: 169 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, June 22, 2010 - 7:44 am: |
haha. ya the way they fake cry is really cute ! I also apply ignore therapy but Favian very good at faking. He will cry til sweaty so his daddy & ah ma thought those are tears on his face that he wiped off ! Faints. So he always apply this technique on Daddy & Ah ma to get his way. |

Mandy Wong (mandy_zann)
Post Number: 9 Registered: 6-2010
| | Posted on Tuesday, June 22, 2010 - 8:54 am: |
Morning mummies! Oh, My Timothy boy also like to fake cry at times.. then i will just luff at him for being cry baby then he will cry n laugh at the same times...!! =D |

Srumpee (scrumpee01)
Member Username: scrumpee01
Post Number: 1019 Registered: 9-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, June 22, 2010 - 10:26 am: |
Mummies Seems like all your little ones are very sticky towards you. My boy seems to reject me now...so sad. Symptoms - When hubby and I visit him at my mum's plc, he will ignore me and run happily to my hubby - When I try to carry him, he struggles and don't want me to carry him. - During weekends when we brought him home, he will cry if my hubby is out of his sight. Eg.last sat, my hubby had to work so sneak out for 2 hours. During that 2 hours, my boy whined and whined, even if I carry him also no use. He walked around the house, into the room and toiliet to look for my hubby. - When he is in distress, he will look for my hubby first. This behaviour only started about 3 weeks ago when he had high fever...Am wondering if is because due to my preganancy, he 'sort of know' that a rival sibling is coming, so he choose to conquer the love of one parent first and the person is not me. Or is it because I hardly carry him or do things with him ever since I am pregnant, so that's why he is closer to my hubby who took over the duties from me. I am not jealous of my hubby but felt rather sad that my own son rejects me. Sigh.... |

Mandy Wong (mandy_zann)
Post Number: 10 Registered: 6-2010
| | Posted on Tuesday, June 22, 2010 - 10:33 am: |
Srumpee: try to talk to your hubby regarding this matter, let your boy knows you loves him too.. let you hubby to get this information to your son..make your son kiss your tummy every nite/.. |

lizy (lizy)
Junior Member Username: lizy
Post Number: 410 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, June 22, 2010 - 11:07 am: |
Scrumpee, don't be sad. This is probably just a phase that your little boy is going through. But yes, agree with Mandy that you have to discuss the matter with your hubby. I'm sure he'll be glad to work out something with you to help your boy understand that you love him as much as Daddy loves him.  |

Queenie (bel_vodka)
Intermediate Member Username: bel_vodka
Post Number: 3049 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, June 22, 2010 - 11:09 am: |
mummy bean i understand how u feel.. hang on there. i think fireangel suggestions is very good. tho im using this method as well but i wouldnt say im doing it perfectly. there are times i raised my voice at him.. bad me. hehe reverie congrats for ur #2! missycandy when u coming back to work? im still waiting for our lunch appt? |

jo's mummy (jo3309)
Post Number: 1374 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, June 22, 2010 - 11:16 am: |
starflower, my boy same as urs, very easy to cry..i just raise my voice a bit, he will cry with many tears. like ah girl ler.. mummies, till now still got ppl ask me is bb Jo a girl? wah im so fed up ler..he's wearing boy's clothing ler..brown color summore..dunno is their eyes got problem o bb Jo really looks like a girl...OMG.. |

SeaBreeze (seabreeze)
Intermediate Member Username: seabreeze
Post Number: 4458 Registered: 1-2003
| | Posted on Tuesday, June 22, 2010 - 11:29 am: |
Srumpee ... Dun be too affected by this cos during my 1st tri ... I was so sick that I couldnt take care of SH and he was v sticky towards my hubby, mum and even the maid. But now that my energy is coming back ... he will start to stick to me and fight for attention too. Its just a phase and it will pass v soon ... dun worry and no need to feel hurt. Reverie ... Congrats!! Q a few mummies here are having #2 liao heehee ... hope to hear more good news soon. Those mummies who wan Princess BB Dust ... CATCH!!

jo's mummy (jo3309)
Post Number: 1375 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, June 22, 2010 - 11:30 am: |
Scrumpee, cheer up. I understand how u feel..but don't worry, mayb its just for this moment..keep on showing ur love to him..he will get the message and know how much u love him..talk to him that u love him althou he might not understand..say u "sayang" him & tell him baby also love him & sayang him.. |