| Author |
Message |

Asura79 (asura)
Intermediate Member Username: asura
Post Number: 2811 Registered: 4-2005
| | Posted on Monday, April 19, 2010 - 5:10 pm: |
prosper, yah... now i only headache when we are at home... cos i got to cook something suitable for her.. but we dont like to eat her type of stuff... u know like tanghoon prawns got lots of chilli in it... how to give her? So bo pian, at home i steam 1 egg with spinach and minced pork for her to go with rice while we continue with our chilli stuff... hahahaha |

Cindy (elita)
Intermediate Member Username: elita
Post Number: 2918 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Monday, April 19, 2010 - 5:11 pm: |
Heee me also guilty mom of feeding her outside food on wkends! Like asura, one of the best places is jap restaurant cause both brother n sister can take the rice and chawanmushi and miso soup. Else it will be crystal jade kitchen Haha. |

prosper (prosper)
Member Username: prosper
Post Number: 1985 Registered: 12-2008
| | Posted on Monday, April 19, 2010 - 5:29 pm: |
i tried a few attempts cooking her dinner and never pass before. first time, i cook steam egg and turned green and hard. cook rice become porridge. end up put pork floss in the rice for her to eat and settle her dinner. THis is called bad mummy |

Srumpee (scrumpee01)
Member Username: scrumpee01
Post Number: 968 Registered: 9-2004
| | Posted on Monday, April 19, 2010 - 5:57 pm: |
Now then I know so many of you have been feeding your little ones outside food as proper meals. Maybe I should start doing that so that I don't have to carry the food warmer with porridge every time I go out with Eames, so heavy and still has to bring hot water and milk powder some more. ok...I shall try that out this Sat, treat Eames to a Japanese dinner. |

missycandy (missycandy)
Intermediate Member Username: missycandy
Post Number: 4399 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 10:01 am: |
prosper - u didnt add enough water to ur steamed egg is it ? lolx. sounds like it. no la is not bad mummy la. aiyo. jus need to brush up a bit on cooking. =P wow all give jap food. i no money. go kopitiam. lolx!!! =P |

Victoria Ong (victoria_ong)
New member Username: victoria_ong
Post Number: 81 Registered: 8-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 10:24 am: |
prosper you can try this..once u cracked the egg into a bowl..use the egg shell and scoop water into the beaten egg. the ratio is 1 egg to add 2 eggs water. so u use the egg shell (it would be half already), one side of the egg shell scoop twice. the end result..u will get like the japanese chawan mushi type of steam egg texture. i hope it helps. |

Asura79 (asura)
Post Number: 2812 Registered: 4-2005
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 11:07 am: |
missycandy, I go to suki house at kbox plaza in AMK... very cheap jap.. only $1.19 per plate..hahhaa... so chawanmushi at $1.19... good!!! I very bad, i give her some sushi rice too cos i dont want to order jap rice set. But i find the sushi rice there not very sour... so should be ok bah.. and i would give her the rice of cooked meat sushi, in case the raw stuff causes contamination. |

Asura79 (asura)
Post Number: 2813 Registered: 4-2005
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 11:09 am: |
prosper, Yah... i think u never add enough water. The water proportion is as what victoria mentioend. If u want chawanmushi type, steam on medium fire then there would be no bubbles. |

jo's mummy (jo3309)
Member Username: jo3309
Post Number: 1063 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 11:39 am: |
Cindy, Scrumpee and Asura, I also bring give Jovin chawanmushi and sushi rice if we dine at jap restn. I always order the "kids meal" althou its always eaten by the parents..wuahahha..bad customer! i also give him the fried/baked salmon, fried tofu but not the skin, and their teriyaki chic without sauce.. I also found it troublesome to bring his porridge out + all the milk powder & hot water..daddy always complaint its so heavy & bulky! furthermore before going out need to prepare the porridge, which takes abt 2hrs (cut vege & cook in slow cooker) I also dunno how to steam egg at home..hehe..mine is not too hard..but too watery..wuahahha.. |

Northvirgo (northvirgo)
Junior Member Username: northvirgo
Post Number: 285 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 11:49 am: |
A. Fireangel, thanks for your food suggestion. Will try to blend the meat well for my girls. Jo's mummy, me too! i always order chawan mushi and rice for my girls and they love it very much. |

jtho (ftmummy)
Member Username: ftmummy
Post Number: 1557 Registered: 10-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 12:54 pm: |
thank you mummies for your suggestion... yesterday, i brought him to the yu guo for tui na, after that we went for dinner nearby... ordered some dishes and rice, so just gave him some steam fish with rice, he loves it! fireangel, ok, will stock up some jar food from SG (just in case cannot get something within the 1st 3 days), and just heat up for him to eat when in France... anyway, he loves the Heinz Creamy Pasta and Tuna Mornay, and Creamy Pasta Bolognaise. he is a pasta baby... hehehe |

✿sunshinebaby✿ (sun96)
Advanced Member Username: sun96
Post Number: 9307 Registered: 12-2003
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 1:07 pm: |
jo my boi oso will nvr let me cut his nails... norm i've to wait till he sleep then can cut... prosper, srumpee so far i still prepare his porridge even when we go out... i did gave him some food that we eat, sometimes he likes, sometimes he don't... tink i'll stick cook his porridge till he's able to eat outside food well.. |

PigPig -(gin) (fatfat_junior)
Junior Member Username: fatfat_junior
Post Number: 198 Registered: 9-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 1:24 pm: |
jtho juz curious ah, tui na for wat huh? sounds interesting leh..tot of trying if its good |

jo's mummy (jo3309)
Post Number: 1066 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 1:24 pm: |
sun, my boy very light sleeper, so i don wan to disturb him when he is sleeping..i rather let him sleep thru..so i wont cut his nails when he is sleeping.. jtho, may i know how they do the tui na for baby? is it apply oil all over the body? i would like to try but im very scared he will scream n run away..waste my $$ then..heheh.. |

Jasmine (jasminenbc)
Intermediate Member Username: jasminenbc
Post Number: 2656 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 2:18 pm: |
Jo & Pigpig, The Tui Na is like message but they know whereto message for baby as to improve their eating and also good when they fall sick with fever. YU GUO is popular for infant and toddle to go, they do have adult doctor too, the baby and kids is at the basement level. I bring my both my kiddos when their appetite drop not eating well. |

jo's mummy (jo3309)
Post Number: 1071 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 2:49 pm: |
Jasmine, thanks for the useful info...think bb Jo's appetite is good enuf (TOUCHWOOD)..so not really necessary...hahah |

Jasmine (jasminenbc)
Post Number: 2658 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 3:16 pm: |
Jo, They are good at treating baby for cough with phlegm too. |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 4405 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 3:44 pm: |
how much is the tui na? |

Jasmine (jasminenbc)
Post Number: 2670 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 4:07 pm: |
Its abt $30 plus with consultation, medicine exclude but normally its cheap for the medicine. Before the message they have to see the Yi Shi. If kids dont take their chinese medicine they will give the tummy pad which is the powder medicine for them to paste on tummy instead of drinking the smelly medicine which I don't even dare to take kekeke... |

jtho (ftmummy)
Post Number: 1558 Registered: 10-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 5:55 pm: |
during my first visit, i paid $22 for consultation and tui na, $16 for medication. during my second visit, i paid $22 for consultation and tui na. they don't use oil, they just use powder during the massage, and it only takes around 15 - 20 mins... of course, babies will be more difficult to make them stay still to do the massage, but the physicians are very good, cos they standby a lot of books and toys to distract the babies. yes, this tui na is good for babies having cough as well as lots of phlegm.. also good for increasing appetite... and after tui na, normally babies can sleep better... just like us adults, can sleep well after massage or foot reflexology. |

Queenie (bel_vodka)
Intermediate Member Username: bel_vodka
Post Number: 3025 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 6:15 pm: |
Gd evening to all hope alls fine gng to rain soon I believe .. Tc everyone while otw home.. Jus to share, So happy Tristan fifth tooth is out finally after so long. |

Piggysg (piggysg)
Junior Member Username: piggysg
Post Number: 165 Registered: 11-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 6:33 pm: |
Jtho, Where is Yu Guo ? I like to bring Ryker to try Tui Na & see yi shi if they can help to cure his ezcema  |

Post Number: 199 Registered: 9-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 6:40 pm: |
Jtho oh I see!! So more like to improve on appetite and other medical conditions. Where's tat place? Mayb can bring her down one day when needed . Thanks for sharing gal! |

Piggysg (piggysg)
Post Number: 166 Registered: 11-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 6:44 pm: |
Strawberry & Blurjen, Is Moral Child Development Centre. Last time they've 2hrs, 1/2day & full day playgroup cum childcare. But now, no more 2hrs & 1/2 day playgroup. So, I've put him on waiting list on full day playgroup cum childcare . . . I like their daily schedule. Price for full day : Registration : S$ 50 Monthly Fee : S$ 500 Working Mother : S$ 250 (subsidy $300) Non-Working : S$ 400 (subsidy $150) Uniform : S$ 16 / set Insurance : S$ 3 Mattress : S$ 30 (no sharing) Mattress Cover : S$ 10 / set I think is considered reasonable price, esp got subsidy :P |

Piggysg (piggysg)
Post Number: 167 Registered: 11-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 6:45 pm: |
Jo, Last weekend let Ryker try the vegie pasta... he dun know how to eat, throw out...i've to cut in small pieces for him... need to let him try few times |

Jacqueline Tan (aifang_jac)
New member Username: aifang_jac
Post Number: 69 Registered: 11-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 10:22 pm: |
Yu guo is near kembangan mrt. Prosper, did u prepare the party bags during the birthday bash? Jovan loves the bag of biscuits in it. Wats the name Of the biscuits n where to get? Is it mamalove? |

jtho (ftmummy)
Post Number: 1559 Registered: 10-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 11:08 pm: |
Pigpig & Piggysg Tui Na is not only for appetite n general medical conditions, it's also for general health and increase immunity. It's stated in their pamphlet that "Apply physiotherapy to the child monthly will make him/her strong and active, increase immunity against diseases, prevent common cold, and increase appetite." The address is: 8-B Jalan Masjid #01-04 Kingston Terrace Singapore 418929 |

jtho (ftmummy)
Post Number: 1560 Registered: 10-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 11:08 pm: |
The telephone number is 6447 4761 |

Jennifer Chng (jennifer79)
New member Username: jennifer79
Post Number: 96 Registered: 3-2010
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 21, 2010 - 8:54 am: |
Dear all Mummies, Thank you for the concern (via FB). |

prosper (prosper)
Post Number: 1996 Registered: 12-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 21, 2010 - 10:22 am: |
jac, I cant rem , let me go home to check if i still got the box. Glad he likes it  |

Jennifer Chng (jennifer79)
New member Username: jennifer79
Post Number: 97 Registered: 3-2010
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 21, 2010 - 10:42 am: |
Hi missycandy, May I check with you the date to collect the cutter pls... Thanks  |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 4406 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 21, 2010 - 10:56 am: |
jenn - http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3795721.html?1271815814 - the goods havent arrived yet. prolly end of the mth. u might wana bookmark that for updates. hurhur. but i will update once i get hold of it also  |

don (donroxx)
Junior Member Username: donroxx
Post Number: 430 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 21, 2010 - 11:04 am: |
missycandy... i also go kopitiam haha. will share teochew mueh or chai peng with my boy. so far he is not keen with noodles but i think those can try also. |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 4407 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 21, 2010 - 11:30 am: |
don - hee hee hee! noodles can try but i think must cut... ive tried given her the wanton mee noodles... shes ok with it... hee hee... yesterday i cooked fried rice for myself n mum... then i added luncheon meat... french beans... garlic... egg... chilli padi... then this greedy Kirs wanted also... so i gave her lor... wasnt that spicy... then she kept coming back for more ... -_-" |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 4408 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 21, 2010 - 11:32 am: |
u all talk abt chawanmushi nw i also feel like eating it liao... LOL! go home n steam egg. =x |

jo's mummy (jo3309)
Post Number: 1078 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 21, 2010 - 1:32 pm: |
piggy, ya at first baby Jo also dunno how to eat, sorry i forgot to tell u to cook the pasta/macaroni until very very very soft. next time, before feeding Ryker, u show him how u eat and chew the food. see if he will follow u.. |

st (stjt)
Intermediate Member Username: stjt
Post Number: 2196 Registered: 4-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 21, 2010 - 2:26 pm: |
jtho u bring oli go to yu guo liao...good hor now my SIL also decided to bring her son to Yu Guo after knowing from us that it is good hehe |

✿sunshinebaby✿ (sun96)
Post Number: 9309 Registered: 12-2003
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 21, 2010 - 3:33 pm: |
prosper i oso love the biscuit... whahaha bryan n me shared a pack but i ate most of them... greedy mummy... lolx |

Post Number: 200 Registered: 9-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 21, 2010 - 3:36 pm: |
jtho so u bring him on a regular basis like monthly? i m quite keen on tat too but isit really crowded on wkends? need to call for booking b4 u go? playgroup: tot of enrolling her ard 18-24 months but think MIL not keen cos scare BB tends to fall sick easily ..but seems like not easy to get a place unless we enroll early hor? hmmm |

meebaby (miyomee)
Member Username: miyomee
Post Number: 732 Registered: 12-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 21, 2010 - 3:39 pm: |
Yum yum after reading all the steamed eggs and stuff, I made for her yesterday too but instead of soy sauce I add a little bit, just really tiny bit of marmite it taste great.. still the steamed egg is too much for her, so I ate too haha.. now bb is sleeping now, for mummies who are clueless abt the proper preparation of chawanmushi, I quickly share this recipe here for your family to try.. Stock ------ 150g chicken bones 2 bowls water 1/2 tsp salt 2 tsp light soy sauce 2 tsp mirin (sweet cooking wine) Ingredients ------------ 4 eggs 5 fancy fish cakes 10 gingko nuts 5 fresh shiitake mushrooms 60g cooked chicken meat (cut into cubes) Method ------- 1.To prepare stock : Cook chicken bones in water over low heat, strain for soup then add salt, light soy sauce and mirin 2.Beat eggs and add into the soup to mix well. 3.Strain the egg mixture into a steaming bowl, place into the steamer and steam over medium-low heat for 10 minutes. 4.Add fish cakes, gingko nuts, mushrooms and chicken. Continue to steam for 5 minutes then turn off the heat. Have fun cooking!  |

✿sunshinebaby✿ (sun96)
Post Number: 9310 Registered: 12-2003
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 21, 2010 - 4:15 pm: |
meebb thks for the recipe!!! base on yr step 4, the ingredient will sink or stay on top huh? |

meebaby (miyomee)
Post Number: 733 Registered: 12-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 21, 2010 - 4:25 pm: |
oh yes yes, for staying on top thats why also need to steam again  |

meebaby (miyomee)
Post Number: 734 Registered: 12-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 21, 2010 - 4:28 pm: |
Another note.. Use a fine mesh sieve to strain the egg mixture for smoother custard.. |

starflower (starflower)
Member Username: starflower
Post Number: 658 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 21, 2010 - 5:25 pm: |
thanks for the recipe meebaby :P so keen to try out for baby hehee but gotto wait till next week, coz leaving for HK tmr wahahaa shopping trip w my sis! woohoo cant wait Btw, today i tried cooking lotus root soup, oh man, the whole thing turned out purple...wonder what i did...oh crap, CMI SAHM :P |

teddybaby (teddybaby)
Member Username: teddybaby
Post Number: 906 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 21, 2010 - 10:10 pm: |
Mummies, any of you named jenni ong? I received an email about ipad review from this lady, want to verify if spam or real. |

starflower (starflower)
Member Username: starflower
Post Number: 660 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 21, 2010 - 11:25 pm: |
oh i tried giving him rice & salmon from the jap rest at vivo, he took AGES to finish his dinner, so give up, i conclude i still have to give him porridge.... oh yeah, any babies with 10 teeth yet? Kee's 2 tiger teeth is showing, left and right, so now it's a total 10...scary... |

Asura79 (asura)
Post Number: 2815 Registered: 4-2005
| | Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2010 - 12:00 am: |
starflower, Wow! k is really fast in the teeth development area! C has only 6 teeth, 3 weeks no teething liao.. nice break for me to catch up with my beauty sleep.. hee hee |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 4409 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2010 - 7:29 am: |
If I'm nt wrong Jenni ong is blurjen... Kirs still has 8. But I think 2 more at the bottom coming out... Can see the white white base appearing,.. |

prosper (prosper)
Post Number: 2000 Registered: 12-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2010 - 8:40 am: |
tebbybaby, i also receive email for this ipad review but not from her. It's from one of the bp seller. Think this is the forward message |

✿sunshinebaby✿ (sun96)
Post Number: 9311 Registered: 12-2003
| | Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2010 - 9:52 am: |
starflower bryan got 8... but he's teething somemore coz his gum is swollen n saliva dripping... not yet see the pearly appearing... i oso wanna go hk... to shop shop shop!! enjoy yr trip!!! btw, wat's CMI huh? |

Srumpee (scrumpee01)
Member Username: scrumpee01
Post Number: 972 Registered: 9-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2010 - 11:18 am: |
ANy of you starting to brush your todd's teeth? My mum advise me not to as they are still teething and afraid we will hurt the gums and made it even more painful. She said just clean the teeth with a hanky will do. |

✿sunshinebaby✿ (sun96)
Post Number: 9312 Registered: 12-2003
| | Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2010 - 11:47 am: |
srumpee my mum oso use hanky to clean my boi teeth... |

Evon Chan (evonchan)
Member Username: evonchan
Post Number: 761 Registered: 8-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2010 - 12:26 pm: |
Helo Mummies... I have extra singapore flyer tickets to let go. Any1 keen pls email me at chan.evon@yahoo.com.sg Got good things have to share share. Heee.... |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 4410 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2010 - 12:41 pm: |
CMI - Cannot Make It =P i use the finger brush to rub ard.. lolx scared she bites me though... freaking painful! she did it once becos she thought i was giving her food -_-" |

Piggysg (piggysg)
Post Number: 170 Registered: 11-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2010 - 2:12 pm: |
Jo, Tks, will follow your instruction, I'll to feed Ryker pasta this week again. Jtho, Thanks for the Yu Guo details. Will drop by one of the day. |

Piggysg (piggysg)
Post Number: 172 Registered: 11-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2010 - 2:19 pm: |
Starflower, Our lotus root soup should be brown colour. What you put into the soup ? Usually, we'll put lotus root soup, pork rib & red dates, if possible put dry 'ba jiao yu'(think dry octobus). The soup will be very tasty. Ryker likes this soup & ABC soup Yesterday let him try another new soup... raddish soup. I think he will be soup person like us. |

don (donroxx)
Junior Member Username: donroxx
Post Number: 431 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2010 - 3:36 pm: |
Teddy.. if that email ask you to go to a website to key in your email address and password; don't do it. A friend of mine told me it is a phishing website. |

Jasmin (jaszysplace)
New member Username: jaszysplace
Post Number: 4 Registered: 4-2010
| | Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2010 - 3:37 pm: |
Hi Mummies, jaszho aka Jasmin here. Please support my little biz. Thanks in advance! http://picasaweb.google.com/jaszho/TrendyFashionForLittlePrincePrincess# More items will be added! |

jtho (ftmummy)
Post Number: 1564 Registered: 10-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2010 - 3:41 pm: |
sunshinebaby CMI = Cannot Make It! hahaha |

pinksorbet (pinksorbet)
Member Username: pinksorbet
Post Number: 1782 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2010 - 3:46 pm: |
Hi mummies Wow so many of u giving bb outside food already, dun tink my boy can take cos he seems a tad lazy to chew...sometimes give him food abit scared cos he will choke since he's lazy to chew his food =X the other day i fry french toasts for him, he took really long to finish jus half a bread =__= he still hasn't walked handsfree yet...seems like he's abit slow in this area but not rushing it....ultimately he will walk la i know =P missycandy - i know what u mean...kyan bite on my finger so many times when i was brushing his teeth...damn pain can...i screamed out lor...don't bite mummy! =P |

st (stjt)
Intermediate Member Username: stjt
Post Number: 2203 Registered: 4-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2010 - 4:42 pm: |
hmm i still bring porridge out for my boy at times will give me take abit of outside food to taste. |

teddybaby (teddybaby)
Post Number: 907 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2010 - 4:51 pm: |
don, prosper, missy, thks for the info. Haha, my hubby also told me too gd to be true la |

Idlecat (idlecat)
Junior Member Username: idlecat
Post Number: 415 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2010 - 6:11 pm: |
Hi missy, is the finger brush effective? which brand? |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 4411 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2010 - 6:58 pm: |
those who ordered the Gino cutter pls note that the Bp seller stated clearly in her bp takes few weeks to arrive. So don't ask me how come not here yet. When item arrives I will MSG u all individuAlly to arrange collection... Don't worry!!!! Thank you!!!! |

Lenny Susanty (lenny_susanty)
Intermediate Member Username: lenny_susanty
Post Number: 2469 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2010 - 9:24 pm: |
hi mommies.. finally got my haircut after 7 mths.. haha.. Hubby offered to look after Bree so i can spend an hour at the salon. i itchy backside.. opted for a treatment plus haircut.. before the whole process finish.. Bree was screaming her had off for me.. Hubby brought her in and out to see me then go off to shop around. he finally gave up when Bree's eyes swell, runny nose, started to choke and cough till face red.. he quickly came into the salon.. at this time.. they were blow drying my hair.. before a final check by my stylist.. the ladies had to stop blow drying my hair cos i had to calm Bree down. Bree was almost going to vomit.. and she swallowed those yucky stuff down her throat, when i carried her over.. she was shaking.. the cleaning lady got so scared that she will puke and prepared a plastic bag. haiz.. its only 1hr 15 mins.. and she is going through such trauma. i am really worried about how she will cope without me for longer periods of time. after i took over.. she calmed down and start to grab on to me when i put her head on my chest. after that.. she smiled and chuckled.. before her tears dried up. i am really worried about how she cope with me being away for longer periods of time. actually i was hoping to go for driving lessons.. now got to shelf it for the time being.. |

chocolate15 (chocolate15)
New member Username: chocolate15
Post Number: 20 Registered: 4-2010
| | Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2010 - 9:58 pm: |
wow lenny, looks like Bree can't be without you for long.. guess coz you're with her 24/7 so she's used to you and not anyone else.. are you intending to start her on playgroup when she's 18mths? |

Post Number: 21 Registered: 4-2010
| | Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2010 - 10:01 pm: |
scrumpee, same here, i haven't started any form of brushing except for using the spiffies toothwipes.. my boy will put the facecloth into his mouth so i just let him.. in a way let him clean his own teeth haha.. |

Post Number: 2470 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2010 - 10:38 pm: |
chocolate.. i am only going to put Bree into pre-school after she is 2 yrs old |

sung (sung)
Member Username: sung
Post Number: 1384 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 1:52 am: |
hi mummies, apologies for late reply, can't come online during the day and unless i specially stay up, is usually asleep by the time my boy sleep n i finished my chores ard 11pm. haha pardon my ultra long posting too! :P asura, sunshinebaby, cindy and other mummies thanks for your sharing on your tots' milk intake and shampooing of hair cindy, do you know how to initiate self-weaning? i heard before can apply something nasty tasting to nipple so bb wun want to latch but dun want to try that. so not sure any other ways? haha yup def similar btw trishelle n my boy's behaviour. unless he's playing, else he only wants me! good thing is at least playing, he dun mind any other playmate :P teddybaby, queenie how u initiate weaning off bm / latching? mine only latching at night now so dun know how to wean him off, dun give him, will cry until all awake and refused to sleep thereafter... blurjen, minnie24 not sure if you like to try my method hee it's def not recommended by parenting sites lor :P my boy used to drink/eat very little until ard 11mths+. previously since he was abt 6mths, he only took abt 300-400ml milk during the day and at most 2 tbsp of semi-solids per meal. was really worried he wasn't getting enough. then realised recently that he was just too distracted and wanted to play so didn't wanted to sit down long to eat. now during milk feed, i'll let him play with my hp while popping him on my lap with cushions and i hold the bottle for him so he usually will finish 1 bottle of 200ml per feed while playing with hp. then mealtime is he play all around the house, usually at his playmat area while i chase/call after him to eat. eating takes relatively a longer time compared to eating on the high chair but he eats alot more now, can finish the whole thermos flask of food per meal, that's abt 300ml. he's much happier eating this way, no more puking or gagging look after a few spoonfuls. more work for me, but well my main concern is for him to eat well so i'm ok too as long as he eats and is happy. hee hee not recommended way but can try out if you want to? jasminebc, yucks! read your encounter i freak out all over again! u very brave dared to use cushion to press down, i just sit there and scream! haha really so terrified of roaches. till now still wake up sometimes at nite to check. stupid roach! frighten me till i got phobia liao... northvirgo, my boy also dun like meat (pork/chicken). will gag and keep in his mouth without swallowing till i take it out for him. i realise must mash till really finely, then he will take if cannot see/smell/taste it much. he takes threadfin fish though but dun like salmon... re. sticky tot / sahm minnie24, lenny thanks for sharing. yup basically i'm doing my chores with my boy around me too, if he can't see, he will come crying. lenny, you very super, love your schedule, very organised! am taking your suggestion to let my boy participate in more activities, he does love switching on/off the lights for me my boy never want to sit in stroller/carseat/or now high chair. just want to be free to roam around... but then, my main problem now is how to go toilet without him. he always rush to get into toilet with me and if i managed to close door first, he will stand outside, cry really loudly and bang the doors. cry until all tears, face red and muscus all over. i dun like him coming into toilet with me coz he's very curious and always want to touch the toilet bowl (tink he wants to play with the water in the bowl, yucks!) and also sometimes like when "auntie" comes, dun want to see too...tried distracting with toys or open a cabinet for him to play before going into toilet but 80% of time dun work, so is at my wits' end.... re. toothbrush only using toothbrush but no paste yet. my boy has bitten/chew until 2x pigeon stage 2 toothbrush is broken, now just changed to stage 3 with bristles to better clean his teeth but cannot let him use by himself else sure chew until spoilt too. i also bot a teether toothbrush that he's chewing/biting on now (uses it himself) and he likes it very much. can't rem the brand, bot at KP. coz was designed as a teether too so ok to chew/bite this one. jts. areya, you blend first then cook or cook the ingredients then blend for the pasta sauce? sounds yummy! btw, the ingredients cook together or separately? always looking for new recipes, my cooking sucks! i seriously hope my boy dun want to take rice anytime soon, will have serious headache on how and what to cook for him... queenie, my boy also only wants to be carried in upright position to rock to sleep. been doing that for him since he's abt 10mths and he only wants me to do it. is very straining for back, not a good posture. i always wear my abdominal binder before doing that, some supports help. put him down in cradle style he will wake unless sleep soundly liao and that means abt 15-20 mins of upright style... pinkdemoness, pigpig hope your tots are well now! must take care! lenny, oh wow, just read your most recent post. oh dear me, can empathise with you, tink you will hv heartbreaking and tough time to teach bree to be without you for pre-school time. gambatte! poor bree too, she must have felt really lost and frightened without you to cry till that extend. sayang you both! |

sung (sung)
Member Username: sung
Post Number: 1385 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 1:55 am: |
oh yeah, hee some more qns :P 1) mummies can share approximate how much solids are you feeding your little ones per meal now? - chinese rice bowl quantity, 1 bowl per meal? 2) playgroup. we must start registering now? just realised quite a few mummies have already registered? is it really that "hot"? i hven't started looking yet... any mummies, know any good ones in sengkang? 3) lastly, any good recommendations for part-time cleaner (weekly type)? current one no good, want to change. thanks mummies! going sleep now, nite everyone! |

Cindy (elita)
Post Number: 2921 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 8:16 am: |
sung, self wean meaning when bb wants to feed, u distract him or you feed him through bottle. it will be tough and will be a struggle but if you maintain your stand, i'm sure u will succeed. Parttime cleaner:: i also need recommendation!! any one? hehehe!! thanks sung for raising this! |

Post Number: 2471 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 8:58 am: |
cindy... i have one that is not bad... |

pinksorbet (pinksorbet)
Post Number: 1783 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 9:14 am: |
sung - my boy can take 1 bowl of porridge for each meal...he's not a milk boy since he was 2 months...so had to feed him more solids than milk...now he's on pediasure at night and mamil gold in the day, will use mamil gold to mix with cereals for him. re: playgroup, i suggest u look for it now if u wan to register your bb when he turns 18mths, reason being good ones have long waiting lists. I know there are a lot of preschools in SK, so i bet there are a few good ones lying around like Modern Montessori (MMI)...too bad i actually moved out of that area and searching for one near my new place now, but its so hard! Re: Feeding problems My boy is like this too...we need to distract him throughout the feeding cos he will make noises and fidget in his high chair, so had to entertain him with toys and stuffs like that, i even had to sing and dance to him while daddy feeds him. lenny - bree is so sticky to U! I think she really needs u to be around her. Seperation anxiety i bet. Its so different from my case cos my boy can live without me being around, which i have to admit i'm a lil sad though cos he always waves happily when i leave for work or even when i'm around, he seldom really looks for me too. Mayb cos i'm not the primary caregiver. I guess there's always pros and cons on sticky tots. |

Post Number: 2472 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 9:40 am: |
Sung & Cindy.. i have tried my friend's part time cleaner.. she is not bad.. but i don;t have her no now.. i sent my handphone for repair yesterday.. Sony Ericsson service centre told me that it will be aminimum of 7 days.. i will ask my gf for her no.. my current one.. she old lady liao.. actually i want to change her.. but i feel bad cos she is very nice to us.. haiz.. |

Post Number: 2473 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 9:45 am: |
Sung.. as for that schedule.. i read Gina ford's books and use the schedule that she recommended.. book title.. The Contented Toddler Years by Gina Ford |

Post Number: 2474 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 10:41 am: |
Pinksorbet.. u want my pediasure? i bought a small tin.. opened and gave to bree a few scoops so far.. add into cereal but she allergy.. |

lizy (lizy)
Junior Member Username: lizy
Post Number: 395 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 10:59 am: |
Hey Lenny, read the post about Bree's Seperation anxiety condition. Quite serious leh. Must be hard on you as well as for little Bree - Constantly feeling insecure whenever she can't see you around certainly not a good feeling for her either.. I totally understand your worries... abt how she's going to sch, without mummy ard etc. Hmm.. I'm wondering if you ever try these.. Do you play hide and seek with her? e.g. I use blanket to cover myself (or Vera's favourite toys), and ask Vera to look for me/toy. She would look for me and when she found me, I would say: "now you see mummy" then I'll give her a hug. Then try something more adventurous, you go out of the room while she's in the room. For a start, try just 1 second. e.g. Now you see mummy, now you don't. When I play with Vera, I will pretend like I'm playing catching with her when I appear. Then extend the time when you're not in the room then appear again. Sometime, we play in the living room. I hide behind the sofa and have Vera look for me or vice versa. Oh.. sometime her Papa joins in too. |

lizy (lizy)
Post Number: 396 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 11:18 am: |
oh I forgot to say why play hide and seek. I read somewhere that hide and seek helps a baby understands that when he/she can't see an object, it doesn't necessary mean that that object is gone forever. At this stage, the best way to explain to our little ones is through play. And it's good to involve her papa as well whenever it's possible.  |

Cindy (elita)
Post Number: 2922 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 11:48 am: |
lenny:: greatttt!! let me know her contact when you can. ehehehe THANKS! |

pinksorbet (pinksorbet)
Post Number: 1784 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 11:55 am: |
lenny - where do u stay? cos if its too far and inconvenient i may give it a miss...hehe...thanks for the offer! |

miss83 (orange_juice)
Member Username: orange_juice
Post Number: 1410 Registered: 9-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 12:01 pm: |
mummies anyone tried scotts emulsion original flavour? is it nice? not fishy? just tried the orange one today n my boy likes it..dunno the white one will like it or not..coz hubby said white one more effective hee.. |

lizy (lizy)
Post Number: 397 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 12:08 pm: |
Re: Feeding Problem yes.. I got this problem too. But it's weird coz seems only I'm having this problem. My mil and sil don't seem to have this feeding problem. When I'm working, sil is her main caregiver. She always say Vera is an easy baby. 'Easy baby'?? How come this doesn't happen to me leh... When come to feeding time, I need to use distraction too. Donno since when, I let her have bread with porridge. I have no choice, she'll eat only if I put a little piece of bread on top of the spoondful of porridge. If I only give her porridge, she either pushes the spoon away or turns her head left, right, up or down just to avoid the spoon... If not she'll cry if I don't give her what she wants. Recently, I think she's sick of bread. She wants Gerber puffs... The same thing she'll do if I don't give her. Sometime I ask myself.. What's wrong with my porridge? maybe my cooking sucks.... :p |

lizy (lizy)
Post Number: 398 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 12:33 pm: |
miss83, I had tried it myself when I was a kid. Very fishy taste (ok, to be really exact: when you smell it, it's more fishy than when you put in your mouth. When it's in the mouth, it's not as fishy but has a little of sweetness. After swallow, the fishy taste remains and if burp, the fishy smell is the strongest and that's the smelliest to me when I was a kid) but I didn't detest it when I was given as a kid. Most prob. because mum introduced it to me when I was very young so I sort of get used to it already. I tasted the Orange flavour one too when I was older. I find it quite tangy but I liked it too. Hehe.. At that time I was old enough to feed myself already. I would use the Chinese soup spoon to pour the orange one to feed myself. :D Yes, I'm going to introduce the scotts emulsion to Vera soon. Already bought a bottle, it's original one. Most prob. tomorrow morning. Like you, I also donno if she'll reject or not.. Let's see bah.. |

lizy (lizy)
Post Number: 399 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 12:45 pm: |
Hey miss83, I was thinking perhaps I should try it myself before I give it to Vera and after all these years the taste might be different. So I tested the Scott's Emulsion Original Flavour myself just now. Ok, the taste is still the same.  |

lizy (lizy)
Post Number: 400 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 2:03 pm: |
Hello Sung, RE: Solid Quantity per meal For Vera, it's 2 ladles/scoops porridge in a bowl. She will have 2 of such meal per day. RE: Playgroup Like you, I also just started my research on playgroup. A few of my colleagues told me to start register now as their children have to be put in waiting list when they registered... I was thinking "wow.. so hot? Thot birth rate in SG is low..?" Anyway, I started my research from here: http://ele.ecitizen.gov.sg/Education/PreSchool/ If you scroll down all the way to the bottom of the page, you'll see Quick Links. Click at "Child Care Centre" (usually CCC will offer Playgroup program) under For Parents. Then Select SengKang region to look for what are the CCC in SK region. The above is how to come to this link: http://app.mcys.gov.sg/web/serv_dss_main_result_region_vm.asp I live in Yishun so I can't tell which school in SK is good for recommendation. Anyway this is how I start my research. I had short listed a few near my area and the next thing is for me to go down and see the place for myself. Hopefully I can find something suitable for Vera... |

lizy (lizy)
Post Number: 401 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 2:08 pm: |
erm.. maybe most mummies already know about this link but I thot it would be good to share again. hee.. http://www.babybonus.gov.sg/bbss/jsp/inst/InstInternetMaint.jsp |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 4413 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 2:08 pm: |
lizy - my mum says that kirs is also easy to feed... within 10-15mins cn finish her porridge.. but when i feed it takes longer leh... zzz... maybe they choose who to "bully" ba... hurhurhur... |

lizy (lizy)
Post Number: 402 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 2:12 pm: |
aiyoh.... I suddenly realised that I have been the only one posting here.... :p Hee... i just post as and when I think of something to share. Maybe it's Friday today, I feel so alive!!! |

Mummy Bean (mummy_bean)
Junior Member Username: mummy_bean
Post Number: 135 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 2:17 pm: |
Hi mummies, been a long time since I last posted here but been a silent reader all along and all your tips are so useful to me. missycandy and lizy- same here ! I have very a big problem feeding my boy like whatever I gave him he would push the spoon away or use his tongue to spit out the porridge. But my mil also commented he is an easy baby which I don't understand why it never happen to me. I was also wondering is it my cooking sucks ? haiz... He has been having a fever for 3 days already. Reject solids, milk intake terrible. Really don't know what to do with him. |

lizy (lizy)
Post Number: 403 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 2:21 pm: |
missy!!! yesyes... Vera seems to always bully me!! And sometime it's so hard for me to coax her to sleep too. When she's with me, she will always play this, play that. Climb onto me and want me to piggy back her. sometime she bites me too and only me! -.-" |

lizy (lizy)
Post Number: 404 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 3:03 pm: |
Mummy_Bean, oh dear.. I hope your little boy get well soon. understand how you feel and the kind of stress you're having now. But did the doc say anything? |

blurjen (jenocn)
Member Username: jenocn
Post Number: 1159 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 3:10 pm: |
teddy, so sorry abt the mail. u can ignore it!! |

teddybaby (teddybaby)
Post Number: 908 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 3:47 pm: |
sung, re weaning, I just feed him bottle instead of latching. He is ok maybe cos i only latch him 1-2 a day, rest bottle feed, so he is quite used to it liao. Blurjen, No worries  |

alfafa77 (alfafa77)
Intermediate Member Username: alfafa77
Post Number: 2484 Registered: 10-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 3:50 pm: |
TGIF!!!!!!!!!! WOooooooohooooooooooooooooo hey hey mommies. Long time no visit. So sorry. Work's been moving at a frantic pace and looks set to get even worse. Nevertheless, it's Fri now and I've no mood to work. Think my battery is running out by now. Been going on pure adrenalin so far for the whole entire week. Anyway, just wanted to check is anyone considering shicida? Heard mixed reviews from friends with older tods so far and am undecided. Anyone experienced it? Or how about little neuro tree? Cheers! |

missycandy (missycandy)
Post Number: 4414 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 4:10 pm: |
mummybean is favian's mama right? hmmm... *hugs hugs favian* lizy - kirs prefers to play with daddy more.. lolx.. whenever she sees him come home, she squeals! -_-" see me will smile n laugh n run to me... then will run away again...lolx... but for food she looks for me or popo... for fun, she looks for the men( papa, kong kong or my bro when he is ard) |

Post Number: 201 Registered: 9-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 4:13 pm: |
sung Thanks babe!! such a long post to everybody here..so sweet of U. |

prosper (prosper)
Intermediate Member Username: prosper
Post Number: 2003 Registered: 12-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 5:51 pm: |
I read today news abt the ipad review, it is a scam for sure |

Post Number: 23 Registered: 4-2010
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 6:25 pm: |
mummy bean, has your boy seen the doc yet? my boy had high fever last thurs and doc took his mucus to test and it's this virus called parainfluenza which doc say quite a number of cases these weeks. the fever lasts about 5 days and fever medication MUST be given every 6 hours to control the fever. i've kept him away from infantcare for a whole week now. he's ok and his appetite is slowly returning. they get bodyaches with this virus so will be super cranky and cry for no apparent reason. no appetite and constantly tired. you might wanna check with doc if a mucus swab test is necessary. not to scare you but just to share coz the last week has been a super tiring week! |

tuskywoollie (ayambunny)
Member Username: ayambunny
Post Number: 557 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 23, 2010 - 10:56 pm: |
alfafa, i went for e Little Neuro Tree preview...when my son ard 6 mths old...they claim to provide LOTSA enrichment for ur tots...even teach a foreign lang like Japan. I found their claims too unbelieving...i asked to sit in to view one lesson in progress but was flatly denied...besides, they dint let me see e res they use for kids...nothing fantastic...so i guess itz no more LNT... As for shicida, it seems more like for older tots...not sure if itz very rigorous... I onli let him try Little Gym...my gal frien nudged me for JG...in e name of exposure...well, i oso up to my neck in work so hardly any energy to bring him anywhere. Mayb e next enrichment is to expose him to music...N for learning, Kidsphonics sounds qite cool! Appeared in news before... For me, itz been a long long long while...glad to see this thread still running... I oso received e ipad review...wondered who did this... cheers! |