SingaporeMotherhood.com * Year 2009 Mums * Advice Needed: When need to change baby's used milk bottle < Previous Next >

blisslive (blisslive)
Username: blisslive

Post Number: 23
Posted on Monday, April 06, 2009 - 5:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Would appreciate it if anyone can share with me how long do you change your baby's used milk bottle i.e how many months later do we need to change it to a new one after using it?

Sunglow (sunglow)
Username: sunglow

Post Number: 67
Posted on Friday, April 10, 2009 - 1:58 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Blisslive

What I understood is you need to change teat every 2-3 months...milk bottle as well....taxing on pockets huh....

I am using Avent so this is what I was told...

blisslive (blisslive)
Username: blisslive

Post Number: 28
Posted on Wednesday, April 22, 2009 - 9:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Dear Sunglow

Thanks for your sharing. So far I had been changing the teats from size S to Y. I am using Pigeon. However, I heard that the whole milk bottle need to change after 3 or 4 months too.

Sunglow (sunglow)
Username: sunglow

Post Number: 71
Posted on Wednesday, April 22, 2009 - 10:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Blisslive

Yes...like I mentioned, the milk bottles also need to be replaced with new ones every 2-3 months....

As Avent has indication as to which teat to use for what age baby, I generally adhere to what they say...

Blue (blue25)
Username: blue25

Post Number: 84
Posted on Monday, May 04, 2009 - 10:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

any reason on that? though bottle can be used as long so is not damage. What is the impact?

Ultraman (kennyg)
Username: kennyg

Post Number: 35
Posted on Sunday, May 10, 2009 - 12:18 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi ladies, it all depends on what kind of bottles you are using. If you are using the glass type, you don't need to change unless your broke it. Of course lah.

However, if you are using the plastic type, then you have to change it once every quarter. If KS a bit, change it every 2 to 3 months. This is because plastic bottles tend of the hairline scratch that you can't see it. Chemical will leak into the milk. Especially we steam and stem and steam it.

Same for teats. For hygiene purposes too.

Blue (blue25)
Username: blue25

Post Number: 89
Posted on Sunday, May 17, 2009 - 10:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i only started to check for my biy recently.. now he is 21mths liao.. Like that how har..will those chemical be toxic.. sign

qiqi16 (huiqi16)
Username: huiqi16

Post Number: 234
Posted on Friday, June 12, 2009 - 12:06 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

didnt know that have to change the milk bottle every 3 to 4 mths..

the milk bottle that my son is using, has been used for 6mths plus.

I thought to only change teats every 2 mths n bottle theres no need to.

do mummies here really change the milk bottle ???

Koala (zossamuel)
Username: zossamuel

Post Number: 510
Posted on Monday, July 06, 2009 - 12:39 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I think there is really a need to change bottles every 2 to 3 months,. For me, I change the teat and bottles together so that I can rem. Thanks

bbmermaid (bbmermaid)
Username: bbmermaid

Post Number: 4
Posted on Monday, July 06, 2009 - 8:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I think if the bottles that you are using are not BPA free, then shld change it every 6mths max or when there's cracks.

For the teats, I think as long as there's no tear I wldnt change it till the next level lor.

Joanna Tan (jo_tan)
Username: jo_tan

Post Number: 249
Posted on Tuesday, July 07, 2009 - 11:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Unless it's BPA free, should change every 3 to 6 months..

janiemin (janiemin)
Username: janiemin

Post Number: 93
Posted on Tuesday, September 08, 2009 - 10:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

What about if its BPA free, how frequent sld we change?

muffin_bear (muffin_bear)
Username: muffin_bear

Post Number: 427
Posted on Wednesday, September 09, 2009 - 12:18 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i have been using the same bottles for about 2yrs... looks like a good condition to me..hmm..

gayathri (buzzgayu)
Username: buzzgayu

Post Number: 110
Posted on Thursday, September 10, 2009 - 2:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

well i m using avent bpa free.. i find the bottles are so good and shining if v use it properly

do anyone of u want evenflo bpa free bottles.
i have 3 new bottles for $15

pm me

zxy (ashllie)
Username: ashllie

Post Number: 21
Posted on Monday, September 14, 2009 - 11:30 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

if the bottle is BPA free, is there a need to regularly change the bottles? cos BPA free bottles not cheap ah, quite taxing on the pockets.

why does BPA free botles look yellowish compared to the clear transparent non BPA free bottles?

elseve (elseve)
Username: elseve

Post Number: 8
Posted on Saturday, September 19, 2009 - 9:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I agree that BPA free bottles are very expensive. use MAM ones for my gal. As the bottles are colored, I can't tell whether they are yellowish.Have been using for 3mths le. Not sure whether to change it or use for another few months.

Anyone has any idea?

buds (budbelly)
Username: budbelly

Post Number: 1
Posted on Tuesday, October 06, 2009 - 9:04 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

For my 1st bb I used BPA free bottles for about a year, no problems.

Samantha Tan (bluemarinesg)
Username: bluemarinesg

Post Number: 1554
Posted on Tuesday, October 06, 2009 - 1:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I change the teats about 4-6 mths after using. No fix rules for me though. If the teats turn super yellowish or are torn (such that the holes become gaps and will interfere with the baby's sucking), then I will change.

Bottles leh... As I have 10 bottles in use at any one time, I think I only change them once a year? Not very sure. Same as teats, only change the bottles when necessary. Like too many scratches. Usually I will tab on 'trade in your old bottles' promo. Like that then wu hwa (worth while) mah....

poohbee (poohbee)
Username: poohbee

Post Number: 41
Posted on Wednesday, October 07, 2009 - 2:00 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

my 1st son only change the teat size from 0-6mths to 6mths n above..after that had been using the same teat for the past 1.5b yes..as we use the needles to poke thru for larger holes as my son gets bigger

orangecanton (orangecanton)
Username: orangecanton

Posted on Thursday, October 08, 2009 - 2:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sorry to interrupt the conversation.

I'm organising a BP (pre-order) for BPA Free Feeding Bottles: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3079091.html?1254964180

Hope it might interest some of you.

ling (fengfeng)
Username: fengfeng

Post Number: 2
Posted on Thursday, October 15, 2009 - 11:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hoho i learn smeting abt BPA free.but will it last longer

Rine (enires)
Username: enires

Post Number: 46
Posted on Monday, October 19, 2009 - 3:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

After reading the benefit of BPA bottles , I bought 2 Avent BPA free bottle @ expo to try however the bottle keep on leaking most of the time so i went back to demand a exchange to normal bottles. The normal one was ok. I heard it is because there is on batch of bottle got problem. Does anyone any problem like mine?

shirley lee (shirley_lee)
Username: shirley_lee

Posted on Thursday, March 25, 2010 - 12:28 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hello mothers,

I am a SMU student working on a project to find out more about how moms and dads think about infant milk formula.

Could u kindly help me to complete a short survey... Please do not answer if your kid is not drinking infant formula.

Please click on the URL link to start the survey. The link is as follows:

http://smusg.qualtrics.com/SE?SID=SV_d1g0kScZuvCWqj2&SVID=Prod

Thks alot!

Shirley

Alice (babyalice)
Username: babyalice

Post Number: 8
Posted on Tuesday, June 01, 2010 - 4:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Try This product, pretty nice!! Look Pretty usefulhttp://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/4047033.html?1275380996

leshia (leshia)
Username: leshia

Post Number: 10
Posted on Wednesday, August 03, 2011 - 2:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Normal bottle 6mth. BPA about a yr but I do have frens that nv chng the milk bottle unless colour chng.

mehui (mehui)
Username: mehui

Post Number: 136
Posted on Wednesday, February 29, 2012 - 8:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

We change bottles every 4 months or once the colour changes. Teats almost every other month 'cos many are torn from biting (teething). BPA bottles seem to last longer. Using both types at the moment.

Add Your Message Here
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use