SingaporeMotherhood.com * Year 2009 Mums * Advice Needed: Any Mummy who put baby in infant care centre ? < Previous Next >

Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
Archive through November 09, 2009janiemin100 11-09-09  8:29 am
Archive through December 15, 2009snowyee11100 12-15-09  11:47 am
Archive through January 06, 2010Pastries100 1-06-10  10:24 am
Archive through February 03, 2010janiemin100 2-03-10  8:51 am
Archive through March 11, 2010Sherine100 3-11-10  9:40 pm
Archive through March 30, 2010snowyee11100 3-30-10  1:40 pm
Archive through April 19, 2010snowyee100 4-19-10  11:06 am
Archive through June 25, 2010sandy100 6-25-10  11:05 am
  ClosedClosed: New threads not accepted on this page        

Pastries (j_pastries)
Username: j_pastries

Post Number: 491
Posted on Friday, June 25, 2010 - 12:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Sandy,

Thanks for your advice!

I am also very concerned on he keep falling sick this past one month, I don't know is due to he is in IFC or his natural body?

I noticed he tends to have fever easily, sometimes he will have mild fever for a day (not due to flu or cough). Even the PD said his body is heaty.

I have think and think and did some reading and also chat with one mother whom is very knowledgable and pro natural when it comes to medication for kids. Same like u, I don't like western med because they are chemicals. I myself try to limit western med for myself so I am trying to limit western med for my boy. But when it comes to fever, my husband is very kan cheong and he always believe in giving fever med to bring the fever down.

What I intend to do
1) Intro colostrum and cod liver oil daily
2) I bought Sambucous (which I intend to give when he has mild fever & flu, not the fever med)
3) We started giving vege puree to the IFC only recently because I noticed he dun have enough vege intake (his dinner is cooked by my mum which I don't know why she seldom cook green vege for him, we have gave her extra allowance for the meals..)
4) We also gave vege puree to my mum to include in his dinner (instead of always reminding her, I rather do it myself)
5) I will bring him to my Chinese Physician next week, I want to 'tiao' his body
6) Will intro 'Burdock' - a Japanese root vege which is good to remove toxin in the body
7) I plan to drop one milk feed for my boy in IFC and replaced with bread (I will provide the bread). Now, they don't need so much milk and he can take up to 3 feeds (each 240ml) in IFC. I feel maybe the milk powder might be too heaty for him, I have changed to Mamil Gold when Similac is too heaty for him..

If the Chinese Physician says ok, I will let him have barley water twice a week instead of only once a week.

The IFC had hand sanitiser. Perhaps I can provide hand sanitiser to the IFC to clean his hand more often?

Frankly, the teachers are quite caring, they always called and asked when my boy is sick. This morn, the teacher called and discussed with me, on how to reduce on his heatiness. They also already making sure he gets extra serving of fruits because he has constipation problem.

On one hand, I am heartpain when seeing him keep falling sick. On the other hand, because my boy is very slow to warm up type, I hope by keeping him in IFC, he can be more sociable with ppl..

janiemin (janiemin)
Username: janiemin

Post Number: 518
Posted on Friday, June 25, 2010 - 12:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

aiyo, i typed quite abit, disappeared.have to retype again

Pastries, no prob ranting..we are all here to care n share..support each other esp our children almost ard the same age..snowyee11 is the "big sis big" with pierre being the eldest and most of us are all first time mummy.im the oni one who gave birth amg my frz so my frz all inexperienced.

tat time we were just saying ur son hav't been falling sick.wat happen? hw come fever for so long? viral infection?

my son oso having fever last week, brght him to IFC and temp reading failed, have to bring him home.luckily my hubby off day, so he took care of him. or else, i have to take urgent leave again.
most of the time, im me who take care of son cos hubby got unfixed working time.my boss still quite understanding, but i feel very paiseh to take urgent leave cos my job requires back-up or stand up when i take leave, more over urgent leave.

If u consider switching job, i feel its best to let them know ur situation..i think all mummies who placed their bb in IFC will face the same situation.

currently, im giving oni vit c & multi vits gummy bear.cod liver oil, orange and original, he dun like.he know how to "shiam" and dun open his mouth.the Vit C liquid one, he oso dun like.

jasmine, hw come ur IFC closed like tat? i tot there must be a max. cases of HFMD before they are able to close.they can anyhow close leh..IFC is setted up to support working mother.we aldy take so much leave liao leh.

janiemin (janiemin)

Post Number: 519
Posted on Friday, June 25, 2010 - 12:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

aiyo, i typed quite abit, disappeared.have to retype again

Pastries, no prob ranting..we are all here to care n share..support each other esp our children almost ard the same age..snowyee11 is the "big sis big" with pierre being the eldest and most of us are all first time mummy.im the oni one who gave birth amg my frz so my frz all inexperienced.

tat time we were just saying ur son hav't been falling sick.wat happen? hw come fever for so long? viral infection?

my son oso having fever last week, brght him to IFC and temp reading failed, have to bring him home.luckily my hubby off day, so he took care of him. or else, i have to take urgent leave again.
most of the time, im me who take care of son cos hubby got unfixed working time.my boss still quite understanding, but i feel very paiseh to take urgent leave cos my job requires back-up or stand up when i take leave, more over urgent leave.

If u consider switching job, i feel its best to let them know ur situation..i think all mummies who placed their bb in IFC will face the same situation.

currently, im giving oni vit c & multi vits gummy bear.cod liver oil, orange and original, he dun like.he know how to "shiam" and dun open his mouth.the Vit C liquid one, he oso dun like.

jasmine, hw come ur IFC closed like tat? i tot there must be a max. cases of HFMD before they are able to close.they can anyhow close leh..IFC is set up to support working mother.we aldy take so much leave liao leh.

Pastries (j_pastries)

Post Number: 492
Posted on Friday, June 25, 2010 - 1:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Janiemin,

At least yr boss is understanding, my boss is not. Esp he don't like me lah, haha. His 2 yr old girl stayed overnight at his mum place, he lagi won't know how 'xin ku' it is for non WEEKEND PARENT, esp when kids fall sick.

I am trying to find a decent part time job, being to one interview, but I guessed the manager freaked out upon knowing I need to fetch my boy from IFC everday (meaning very little OT), and my hubby travels frequently.

My priority is my family so I will not give in by working OT frequently (work is just work, I want to be there for my boy, at least during night time). Too bad I am in accounting line which is difficult to find a finance dept which has almost zero OT. My present Co is such, but ever since my boss joins this Co, I know I have to leave this Co one day.

My boy 2 weeks ago is viral infection, fever + cough + runny nose. His fever went down to low grade fever on 3rd day, but it keep touching 38 degree around evening time. The PD asked me to bring him for blood test if fever still did not go away by day 5. My instinct told me it is just viral fever because he is still active and playful per normal. I feels that his body is too heaty so I boiled Ling Yang for him on day 7, true enf, no more fever after drinking Ling Yang. Then my hubby afraid his precious son kenna HFMD cos there is HFMD over at toddler side, so we keep him at home for 1 week, though no more fever.

Luckily I still had my mum helped me out on certain days, so that I do not need to take so many days off.

I foresee I will have a difficult time finding a job which suits my current situation, but I will try.

What vit c u r giving? Multi vits gummy bear, yr boy can chew the gummy bear?

sandy (sandymoo10)
Username: sandymoo10

Post Number: 77
Posted on Friday, June 25, 2010 - 3:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hmmm.. I'l collate what I understand about fevers and shall share w you guys.. so you are aware of how the body works and can make decisions on how to support it's natural processes.

Now working so no time. =P

Pastries - your sons has constipation, so young? hmmm there's soemthing more to it. Any other symptoms? Maybe I can ask my doctor here when he's a ittle more free....and see what he says.. then can share w you guys..

U can go see your chinese sinseh first see if helps..=) Good your're taking natural.

It's normal for daddy or parents to fear fever - but once you understand what I will be sharing in due time, u can share w your hubby. and hopefully al of us will not overly fear fever..

Some may not take to what I will be sharing as we have been brought up in the advanced medical era and have been taught certain things abt medicine, so my sharing may either open up your minds logically or u may find it hard to accept.

Honestly, I found it realy logical.. just how the body works..=)

Dear, u can try doing sales - Herbalife? have you heard? I currently only buy for self maintenance.. but it's an industray quite a no. of mummies go into to have a good time balance..=) It's sales of health products, so as u use n sell, u can earn as you go along..=) I havent gone fully into it yet..
cuz it's MLM and sometimes I find the ppl too pushy..im not that sort..=) ppl want to buy from me, I buy for them..=) can give them slight discount too.. If you're comfortaable I can share w you or u can read up..=)

Pls dun get me wrong. Im not here to sell to you guys. But just sharing an opportuniy which might help your situation.. w work. It's the only part time work that is kinda OTOT. =) Own TIme Own Target..=)

For me, if I have friend who needs help I merely suggest to them but I leave it up to them to decide if they want products or be a distributor themselves..=)

It's like running your own business..=) under a busniess..hahha.=) you work from home..=)

Next time if I have my own children Im thinking of doing it ful time, so i can always be there for my family at the same time no stress of boss..=) haha..cuz you are your own boss to some extent. =)

Im not syaing it's the asnwer but u can read up first..=) and see if it fits you n your situation..=)

All the best.

sandy (sandymoo10)

Post Number: 78
Posted on Friday, June 25, 2010 - 3:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

was just thinking. It could be the milk. Usualy we would recommend a swithc from cow milk to goat's milk or soy(if he's not allergic to soy).

Because cow milk hard to digest - produce alot of mucus in the eliminating tracts - nose, throats, bowels etc. which can cause other stuff..it's a connected the body organs..

cut the wheat and diary. What's your sons' blood type?

Pastries (j_pastries)

Post Number: 493
Posted on Friday, June 25, 2010 - 4:45 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Sandy,

He is B+, same as me.

He always had hard poo poo, he need alot of water, sometimes, after drinking barley water, the poo poo still hard. He also perspires alot, alot. He is always very warm, when we sleep in air-con room, I will shiver with cold but he will perspire..

Does your clinic see young bb? Naturopath is all about natural herbs & remedies right?

MLM -- Hmm, -_-, most ppl I encountered are very pushy and I am quite turn off when it comes to MLM. Don't think my skin are thick enough to be in MlM.

sandy (sandymoo10)

Post Number: 79
Posted on Friday, June 25, 2010 - 6:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

oh.=) okie.. same.. me aso B plus..=)

Yes we see little ones too.. =) Some come in for fever flu etc and we prescribe homeopatics.=)

U see,when ppl beieve in it and they've tried ans seen results done the natura way, they dun even go to the medical docs..For me... I dun take my meds when I see the doc cuz I just need th MC..haha..The doc ast time told me off, " then u come see me for what" I just told him I need MC to cover.. back then wehn I ws a teacher..haha.. need proper documents mah.. now, I work in the clinic, and ever since I started taking care of my health. Im e only one in my family who dun cacth teh virus.. cuz ive built my immunity..

Initialy was upsetting my mom for doing weird things that arent "normal" which is normal to a healthy diet... she only reaise when the flu bug came n every one sick except me..=) Proves something right? =)

Even when my fiance fal sick.. I spend time w him I udn fal sick.

ast time 2 yrs back.. when I sepnd time w him when he's sick. I get the sick virus after a week or so...=)

let me know.. =)

MLM - yeah takes sometime to get used to.. Im stil not used to it... face skin too thinlah...but If u believe in the product u will somehow sell it out of sincerity thats what I believe.. so, one day I guess..=)

we'l. se.

Conatct me directly.. s3m_dra@hotmail.com

Jasmine (jas13)
Username: jas13

Post Number: 23
Posted on Friday, June 25, 2010 - 10:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Pastries (j_pastries)

you are not alone. In fact this is e 3rd time my girl fell sick since vesak holiday.

She was enrolled into the IFC 2 mths ago. 1st mth was ok. Then problem starts, 1st it was cough where she stayed @ home for 1 week (she gotta use nebuliser), 2nd diarrhae (which caused very sore nappy rash) and 3rd HFMD!!!
Hiaz.. this is causing a lot of inconvenience to mine and my hubby's work. I'm also in the accounting with many deadlines to meet.

The IFC did not annouce how many babies caught HFMD. I'm just curious that is this how they should handle the situation. I thought they should probably explain what measures they intend to take after this.

Sorry, just want to rant here..

sandy (sandymoo10)

Post Number: 80
Posted on Sunday, June 27, 2010 - 5:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

=) u can call my friend for a 10 min phone consult about helping your child boost immunity effectively n see fr there what U intend to do.. =)
u can mail her. Or visit her website to get her contact.

http://alternative-naturalmedicine.com/

she's well trained in Australia and knowledgeable..=)

when I say contact me directly I wasnt talking abt MLM. I was talking abt your bb's health concern. =) Me not selling u MLM. dun worry. =)

Im more concenred abt your child=) hehe.. call my friend.. visit her webby..=)

All the best

Be in touch.

Pastries (j_pastries)

Post Number: 495
Posted on Tuesday, June 29, 2010 - 1:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Sandy,

Don't worry! Haha! I know u r not promoting MLM, even if u are, it will be difficult to convince me. Haha!

I started my boy on sambucous, cod liver oil and colostrum le. For sambucous, it will not be daily basis. Shall observe and see how.

btw, thanks for your advice, I feel not many ppl are into TCM or natural remedy but personally to me, western med are chemicals so I love to read your advice and knowledge.

Hi Jasmine,

Be prepared that bb will fall sick often during 1st six months of IFC. It is very tough on the bb, and parents. I feel that your bb current IFC are not professional at all, have you consider other nearby IFC?

Do you have alternative caregivers to help when u need to take leave?

I wonder why accounting line must always equate to working late, if company have enough manpower, then should have minimal OT.

sandy (sandymoo10)

Post Number: 81
Posted on Tuesday, June 29, 2010 - 3:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi pastries..

Haha...yeah.. I also can't seem to convince myself abt MLM...=P im just someone who got swooned or taken in by the products..hahaha... I have cheaper sources of help..
though I do feel a few of their products are very beneficial..but over priced for financially chalenged familes to consume(this psses me off)I believe what is good should be shared(or at least made available reasonably) and not be used to bring great disadvantage to others at the pure benefit of oneself(business minded)...
so im just waiting til the membership is over..hahaha.. then see how.. if friends need me to buy I buy..if not then...forget it..hahaha=) but am prob staying on as member for my brother's sake...

He's got medical condition(Vessel disease) since age 7.. and has been taking this product(Niteworks) daily..for abt 2 months.. and it has greatly helped him..the medical nurse also told him his vessels were alot better...
If u read on Dr D adamo(Blood Type Diet) B blooders need L-arginine an Amino Acid that helps with immunity boosting..and keep vessels heathy etc..

So if it works for him.. im buying this for him til he's earning enuf to buy it for himself..=)

It's good for B Blood- I found this out recently when I was doing my research and reading..=) But it's quite costly if Im just a simple member.. smal discount...=Z so...now lookng for cheaper alternative for my brother..=) hehe...

Anyway, yeah u can alternate sambucous/sambucol for him..
2-3x per week good enuf initialy til u feel his immunity is better..=)then 1x per week also good for maintenance...til he's fully free fr symptoms..then can go off.. alternate every fortnightly..=) aso can...=) remember to have more fruits n veg.. besides the supps..natural foods..=)

Bbs fall sick - that's natural - for body's immunity to build up on its own, but not too often..1x in a 3-4 months still ok..but not every month..spells something..=) stop taking chemical drugs n switch to naturals..which do far less harm or no harm at all..=)

So if bb is strong, being in IFC he will not fal ill as often..=)that shoudn't be the case..(im not saying you're wrong okie dear? im sur that's your experience) what im saying is, sure fall ill once in a while..only of the body does not have resistence against that particular exposure of germs etc in the air..

We can only prevent bb fr falling ill by boosting their immunity so they can recover faster and build better resistance over long run naturally..=)

But if u also fee changing IFC wil hep cuz of hygiene/professionalism, then it's a choice parents make...=) I wudnt put my kid in a place where I do not feel comfortable.. besides the inconvenience and the $ u are payin is not giving you the convenience you are desiring in the first place..=)

Al the best mummies..=)

janiemin (janiemin)

Post Number: 520
Posted on Wednesday, June 30, 2010 - 8:33 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Pastries,
during my appraisal,i told my boss i cant stay back after wk for meeting as my bb in IFC,then hubby got note class, nite shift and at times oso travels out.I dun care if this is going to affect my performance.i got quite a few bosses to report, at least 2 are female who have children.so they are quite okie.i sometimes tink either you get a high pay job and spent less time with ur family or u get lesser pay and can leave on the dot.

just keep on trying, im sure u will get one which is more pro-family type.

I bght the gummi bear fm nature farm cos i happened to walk past.both are fm nature farm.GNC sld have as well.cos i desperate liao,he doesnt like cod liver oil and vit c.so i cut it into 3 initially..now i cut it 2 and give him.so far no choking lah.

im wondering ist coincident or wat.after Jave went to new IFC for almost 2 months.he oni had fever once and running nose once.no more phlegm,last time his phlegm very terrible one, very hard to get rid.so im unsure ist bcos this IFC is "cleaner" or Jave immune stronger cos past 1 year old or bcos of the gummi bear..**touch wood keke**

we mummies will always try to give anything to prevent them fm falling sick.

Jasmine,
normally for bb in IFC, they will fall sick easily..an average of at least one illness per month for my boi boi. I will only bring my son back home if its fever.otherwise, cant afford to take so many days leave.

1 qns i need to ask.are u going to give bb the MMR jab once they rch 15 mths? Is it ok to delay?

Pastries (j_pastries)

Post Number: 496
Posted on Friday, July 02, 2010 - 1:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Janiemin,

true... I am 'targeting' govt jobs..

It could be due to the new IFC is cleaner, or many other reasons too.. good that he seldom fall sick lately..

For MMR.. hmm, are u concern about the MMR and autism thing??

I have checked with my boy PD regarding this and she told me the guy is now charged under criminal law, she said it is not true regarding MMR and autism link.. There is even a brochure by government regarding the safety of MMR.

BUT... I have decided to delay the jab till he is 2 years old and I intend to let him have the single jab and not combine MMR. Take note that MMR is not compulsory, Measles jab is compulsory, Mumps & Rubella are not compulsory. Many parents didn't know that and thought MMR is compulsory because everywhere u go, the nurses and PD just said 'Oh, it is compulsory'. That is, I wouldn't completely trust the professionals, to them, it is just another patient, no big deal (sorry to say that, most doctors nowadays are not compassionate anymore).

Go and read those real cases of parents with kid behaviour changes completely after the MMR jab, and you will think twice about it..

So it is up to you to decide. It is ok to delay, the govt just send u reminder letter only.

sandy (sandymoo10)

Post Number: 83
Posted on Friday, July 02, 2010 - 2:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Pastries,

Yeah you're right..get mmr jab separate n those not compulsory, do reading b4 taking. know the side effects first. If can delay, I would too.. give to early no good.

No matter how true the crime is against the guy, im sure there was a reason why he fought hard for his cause.. =) We were all brought up on the orthodox medical way of life...unnatual pharmaceuticals...so sometimes it's hard to find that balance and extra time to read up on natural methods of help..=) so we are constantly sucked back into what's 'clinically proven' by the govt which have $ to pump n do R&D... Natural stuff who will pump in $ for clinical research? it's a constant battle..oh well..

If the govt of australia, germany, UK etc are all the the natural paths, are the govts wrong then?

If you guys read up on Hering's Law of cure.. u will understand how the body works and why fevers come abt even in a healthy individual. It's past regressed illnesses from parents genes or simply from chemical meds that do not heal the source of the problem... etc that is trying to naturally unfold and get cleared. the body is constantly clearing it's toxins cuz that's its nature.

So we need to assist. As much as vaccines 'help', we need to understand how vaccines work and what suppressions it can do for your child those could not help.. =) esp teh chemicals used to preserve the 'groggy' virus culture in the ampoule...

AS much as we fear our bbs having sickness n falling prey to it..we need to be aware of the natual process of illness, i can only stress so much.. Some of u may be pissed or upset w me for being so passionate abt this all..but that's me..hope I dun offend anyone here.. the rest is up to you guys..=)

Yes docs now adays less compassionate which pisses me off SO BAD. =Z u hardly have educating doctors...but it is tru that doctors are quite tight w time esp those in govt hospitals.. more n more ppl falling sick falling etc..it's quite scary..hospitals are overflowing w sick people..anyway, dun wanna seem too morbed here..=P

yes, just delay and when u feel your bb has buil t his immunity enuf, u can consider. it's compulsory so u got no choice anyway. have to take or it's against the law..=Z sad but true.

AS much as I am not an advocator for vaccines, we're in the system and we can only do what we can..=) I won;t discount it's goodness cuz i guess it has helped many in various ways..it's like anti-venom..if we are dying and we need it, we need it..but certain vaccines...i personally dun think we do...but we all want the best for our bbs..=) being a mom isnt easy w all these tough decisions etc and i respect all mothers for doing their best...=)

Just be aware and know your rights and stuff/knowlegde abt meds vaccines even natural meds...=)

govt jobs - stable. good..=) every job has it's limitations, it's just what we are willing to sacrifice on w/o disrupting our family values/needs.. so hard hor to be mother/ wife etc..hahha...=P I guess im gonna experience it sooner or later...time now for me to enjoy enjoy...ahaha..

snowyee (snowyee11)
Username: snowyee11

Post Number: 534
Posted on Thursday, July 22, 2010 - 9:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Been not posting here for quite sometime. How's mummies here and your little kiddos? How time flies..Pierre is in the playgroup for almost five mths..He will still have his flu bug every twice a mth kind, but as for fever, actually once only so far..so I think his immune has build up..but be prepared they will get mosquitoe bites quite often. Probably they go outdoor like playground and plus CC is non-aircon.

Pastries/Janiemin,
Yes, dun take the combined jab(chicken pox plus MMR) if you are taking the mmr, I think it is too strong. Actually even you take the chicken pox jab, not 100% guarantee you will not get chicken pox. One of my friend's son inject the chicken pox jab, but also got chicken pox in cc.

May (pishako)
Username: pishako

Post Number: 387
Posted on Tuesday, August 03, 2010 - 10:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

it's my first time posting in this thread. i want to ask for advice. I have been providing frozen purees to my son's ifc for the past 2 months. He's 7.5mths old now.

however, the ifc informed me today that i cannot send my purees down and they want me to stick to the school's menu, which i don't think is very good. they have stuffs like pancakes, peanut butter jelly sandwich for 7 to 9mths old category. :-(

can someone advice what i should do? I am thinking of changing ifc.. any recommendation for alexandra area/novena area?

piggym (piggym)
Username: piggym

Post Number: 3765
Posted on Thursday, August 19, 2010 - 10:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I m new in this thread. Been thinking of sending my boy to IFC. He is currently coming 10mths.
Been reading abt this thread.

juju78 (bb_hopeful)
Advanced Member
Username: bb_hopeful

Post Number: 5852
Posted on Saturday, September 25, 2010 - 12:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

the thread is so quiet le... hw's the mummies & the lil ones?

i've been working p/t frm hm for a few mths, realli not ez. lotsa juggling & time mgt. but it gives me more time wif my gal. if only hb can b more understanding, it wld b perfect le

Genial (genial)
Username: genial

Post Number: 7
Posted on Tuesday, November 02, 2010 - 9:51 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi piggym,

My girl is a infant care baby too. Initially feel sad to put her in. But now, seeing her enjoying herself makes me feel better.

Sophia (buttonsjackr)
Username: buttonsjackr

Post Number: 732
Posted on Tuesday, November 02, 2010 - 1:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi piggym, welcome to this thread. I've put my twins in ifc since they were 3 months! Looking back, it's been quite a while and they are now 11 months. I must say it has been a tough journey (they kena HFMD twice) and have numerous colds and coughs. However like wat Genial says, seeing them enjoy themselves and having a sound routine has affirmed my choice of leaving them at the ifc.

hey juju78, so envious that you have more time with your kid. Ignore hubbi, sometimes they can be so stubborn headed to realise that our needs are just as important.

juju78 (bb_hopeful)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 5964
Posted on Tuesday, November 02, 2010 - 3:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sophia,
haha! more time wif her, yes. but dun mean more time for p/t work & housework, & daily meals at home

Genial (genial)
Username: genial

Post Number: 9
Posted on Wednesday, November 03, 2010 - 1:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ya, my girl also got sick very often when l just put her in. Now it's better (put her there more than 1 yr)... Mayb used to the virus inside.

Sophia,
U got twins. Must be very challenging... Do they look alike? l like seeing twins walking together, so cute!

Sophia (buttonsjackr)
Username: buttonsjackr

Post Number: 735
Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 9:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Genial,
I've got a boy and a girl and no, they do not look alike. They have different personality too.
They are now at the crawling and trying to walk stage. Also testing their limits even when we tell them NO.

ddtan (ddtan)
Username: ddtan

Post Number: 484
Posted on Tuesday, February 08, 2011 - 1:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Does any of your babies dun like to drink water ?
I noticed that it is getting more difficult to get my son to drink water. We tried mag-mag training cup, milk bottle, cup. He drink a bit and run off.
In the end, have to feed thru spoon and cup as though it is feeding him soup. He's 17 mths already. Any advice ?
The teachers in IFC also not sure what to do with him.

Can I ask any babies reaching 18mths and needs to withdraw from IFC ? What are your plans ? Promote to toddler class ?
I have been having some doubts on whether promoting him to cc is good for him. My son's immunity has not been very good and cc student teacher ratio is quite big. Worried that he's quite a difficult child and fall sick easily if he will fall sick easily in cc.

Been considering if sending him to nanny until he reaches 24 mths or 28 mths. That time, I hope to train him to drink and eat by himself by then and hopefully his immunity will be better with 1to1 care. Any comments from mommies ?

I had quite a bad year last year coping with all sorts of illness from my son in IFC. Took leave so often plus need to leave on time to fetch 2 kids. On top of that, need to go back and cook dinner and feed both of them. Feel really tired with no other domestic help... though of trying nanny ... at least can settle his lunch and dinner when we come and fetch him.
Now, I am starting sambucol for him... hope it will help.

Appreciate any advice.

Shirley (shirley_htt)
Username: shirley_htt

Post Number: 243
Posted on Wednesday, February 09, 2011 - 6:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi ddtan,

Is he a breastfed bb? My son also like tat. Doesn't like milk bottle. Switched a couple of cups for him... From Nuby sippy cup, Pigeon sippy cup, Pigeon straw cup, normal plastic cup to his final cup... Take & Toss (I think is the First Years) straw cup but straw I use Tommee Tippee. Only this one he tends to drink more & can walk while holding the cup without spilling. I guess u hv to keep trying with different cups.

Sometimes I let him drink from the cup first before letting him drink from straw as a start. Yup... infant care teacher will spoon feed him as a soup also.

Our plan is to look for childcare center near our home. Let him stay for few hours in playgroup after he graduate from IFC.

I quit my job when bb was 11 month but still send him twice a week to IFC so tat I can hv time for myself. Currently only 1 child so still can manage. I'm surprised tat u still can handle ur children & work at the same time. Must be tough on u

juju78 (bb_hopeful)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 6223
Posted on Wednesday, February 09, 2011 - 7:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ddtan,
my gal is still being latched at hm, btl fed ebm in ifc & now cc. she's 21mths old now.
since she was 7mths old, she started drinking water via spoon in ifc, mag mag at hm. no issues at all. maybe u jus nid to keep trying to find out which method he prefers to drink water wif.

i transited her into cc toddler class after 18mths as i'm still working. dun mind me asking, how is the ifc's hygiene standard & the well being of the bbs thr? and the cc side? if the env is not clean, other children are not well, our child will not be well also.
maybe u nid to hv a talk wif ur child's ifc/cc teacher & the principal of the centre as well

ddtan (ddtan)

Post Number: 485
Posted on Thursday, February 10, 2011 - 1:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Shirley, Jujul78,
Yes, he is breastfed until 1 years old. He has always been fussy about drinking from milk bottle. I had a hard time forcing him to not latch on and drink from milk bottle at 4mths when need to go IFC.
I tried a few types cups... he will drink a bit, after that he will play with it... like bite the straw...when I check then see the water level did not go down at all so I know he did not drink and just playing.

I think my biggest headache now is where to put him after 18mths.
The IFC is quite clean.. but there are a lot of bb there - 15 bb and so there are always lots of bigger children spreading cold, flu to each other.
Plus the IFC recently switched to air-con so it caused more problems as virus spread more easily.

Actually, I am kind of struggling now with work, and after work picking kids etc. If they are healthy, its manageable. But when my younger one fall sick, its very stressful cos he lose appetite, very fussy. My son immunity also not so good... easy to catch colds esp. in Dec and Jan.
Plus my son likes to put fingers in his mouth and touch here and there... so can easily catch all sort of virus.

Juju78,
How is your gal doing in cc ? Did she fall sick ?
When fall sick, did u send her to cc still ? Does she recover well ?
The cc that we intend to send to, student teacher ratio is around 7 to 1.5 teachers. Do u think its too much though it is legal to MCYS ?

ddtan (ddtan)

Post Number: 486
Posted on Thursday, February 10, 2011 - 1:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Now, I have 3 options:

1) Send my son at 18mths to my gal's cc.
Pros: convenient as can fetch/send both kids together. My gal can spy for me how the progress of my son. I know the teachers well so can communicate to them. Some teaching done in cc.
Cons: Prone to sickness since still cc. Have to cook/feed dinner for him daily. When sick, have to take leave.

2) Send my son to nanny.
Pros: Less prone to sickness since at home env. When sick, still can send to nanny. Nanny will settle his dinner for him. Plus will have enough rest since home env.
Cons: Not sure whether can trust nanny... dun know if nanny will feed him what she said she will. Not simulated mentally.... is it impt from 18mths to 24mths ??

3) Send son to cc near my parents' place in Bishan. I stay in Sengkang. My parents will fetch him from cc earlier 5pm and give him dinner etc. When sick, they help take care.
Pros: Parents so can trust them of cos.
Some teaching done in cc.When sick, may be able to send to my parents but my son's PD is in sengkang - lots of travelling. Parents will settle his dinner for him.

Cons: Lots of travelling for my hb and me as my gal's cc in Sengkang. So we have to split to fetch 2 kids. My gal in K2 already so not so keen to switch cc for her since last year liao.
CC - so still prone to sickness.
Long term - maybe after my son turn 3, I will switch to my gal's cc for convenience sake.

Any comments on which option is better ?

juju78 (bb_hopeful)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 6233
Posted on Thursday, February 10, 2011 - 1:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ddtan,
personally, i feel ifc shld extend for kids till at least 2yo, but i guess mcys dun think like us.
ya, 1 to 8 is too big grp but wat can we do? haiz...

she had some runny nose & cough for a few wks when she went over to cc full time. as she din hv coloured mucus & phlegm, she still went cc but shorter hours. to me, mild runny nose & cough is sort of a transition thingy to getting used to the cc side virus.
now she's ok & adjusted to cc. i din hv much problem sending her in after 6.5 days of break (i brought her out on mon & tue, so she only went back yest)

ddtan (ddtan)

Post Number: 487
Posted on Thursday, February 10, 2011 - 2:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

yes, I agree. I find young kids at 18mths to go to cc is too young for them. Its like culture shock for parents and kids.
Have u consider nanny that time when she turned 18mths ?
The ratio of 1:7 teacher student is quite high... sometimes, I find whether teacher can give enough attention to our kids. Esp. my son is difficult.

kimifin (kimifin)
Username: kimifin

Post Number: 2034
Posted on Thursday, February 10, 2011 - 2:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I m thinking of IFC for #2, cos for #1, 1st nanny stop assignment and give us 3-5 mths notice.
Then found another nanny, but she backed out last min, saying she not well.
so means if get nanny, hopefully the nanny can look till 2 yo, if not, v hard for u to last min get placement in IFC or CC, or adjustment is also hard.

Shirley (shirley_htt)

Post Number: 244
Posted on Friday, February 11, 2011 - 5:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hmm... If I were u, I might choose Option 1. Convenience to me is an important factor. Your parents willing to travel to Sengkang to help to take care at least once a week? How abt your in-laws?

For me, I sent my son around twice a week to school, my mom sacrifice & travel from Clementi to Hougang to help me take care once a week or when he is sick.

Cook dinner i guess, u have to cook very very simple meals or if too busy, u can consider catering. Sometimes there are brochures whereby they cater for u & even indicate no MSG. U just have to pay them I think monthly.

Hopeful (hopeful1977)
Username: hopeful1977

Post Number: 360
Posted on Friday, February 11, 2011 - 6:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Any recommend for infant care or nanny at sembawang?

ddtan (ddtan)

Post Number: 492
Posted on Monday, February 14, 2011 - 5:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi shirley,
No, my parents not young so they can't really travel to Sengkang on regular basis. Only left father in law now and he works. The other choice is bring my son to my parents' place when he's sick.

I tried tin-cut (catering) before and food really sucks. Quality also no good. I rather cook my own as can put in better quality food like better fish, meat etc.

If nanny is located conveniently (reasonable), will u choose nanny ? And why ?

Shirley (shirley_htt)

Post Number: 245
Posted on Tuesday, February 15, 2011 - 3:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi ddtan,

Hmm... If u trust the nanny. I quit my job also because I don't really trust nanny. Moreover, my son is on breastfeeding, so he really wants me to coax him to sleep.... not even his father can. My former work requires me to work till 9pm.....so by the time I reach home, it's 10pm+.... it's already beyond my son's bedtime. Therefore I quit my job.

I'm not very sure if ur child can let nanny take care. Is he ok with strangers? Nanny take care only him or more than one? Nanny will be the last resort, I suppose. I still prefer to send him to school. He can mingle around with friends although chances of him getting ill is high if his friends were sick, but this cannot be avoided. There are also more facilities in school where he can learn more.

Besides option 1, another possible one will be option 3. Although lots of travelling, but if you have a car, maybe it is still fleasible?

ddtan (ddtan)

Post Number: 497
Posted on Tuesday, February 15, 2011 - 5:30 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi shirley,
Yes, this has always been my concern on whether nanny can be trusted or not. I asked for referral but always most pple dun provide.

That was why I sent my son to infant care when at 4mths. Got pros and cons.... when he fall sick very often and not as chubby as most kids his age, I always questioned myself if that was the best decision for him... Most bb taken care at home seldom fall sick and always look bigger size than my son. But I had a sense of peace knowing my son is alright in infant care... at least no teachers will beat him.

How old is your child now ? Do u plan to send to cc ?

Pastries (j_pastries)

Post Number: 552
Posted on Tuesday, February 15, 2011 - 10:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi ddtan,

I have a 21 month old boy and he is in IFC since 2 months old!! Now he is in the toddler class. I read about yr situation and I totally can empathise.. But may I ask how old is yr boy now? I suppose not yet 18 months?

Actually the 1st year they are in IFC, they will fall sick often, but after that is much better. Since he is already in IFC, I feel it would be abit 'wasted' to withdraw him when he turns 18 month old. Say a nanny take care of him and you send him to nursery when he reaches 3 yrs old, wouldn't the whole fall sick thing start all over again? Many kids who just started nursery at 3 yrs old also fall sick very often at the beginning.

Also, they really learnt much much more at CC then at home. And don't worry too much about can he adapt well at CC, actually my boy seems to enjoy the toddler class more then when he is infant class. I guess that is because the toddler class teachers are really quite nice and alot of more activities at the toddler class then infant class. He was bored at the infant class. Also, I noticed kids who attend CC learnt things faster and speech development are faster too.. Of course they also picked up bad habits from other kids but we need to constantly correct them.

Nanny.. I am sure there are good nanny out there but not easy to find good nanny lor..

My boy is very petite too! Was your boy size due to genes? Sometimes a kid's size is due to genetic reason.

I too, prefer option 1 & 3 then option 2.

ddtan (ddtan)

Post Number: 498
Posted on Wednesday, February 16, 2011 - 9:53 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi pastries,

My son will be 18mths this end Feb. He is not the petite size frame... he's quite tall for his age but not chubby kind. Will say he is thin for this age.
My thoughts is perhaps if he stayed with nanny till he is 26 - 28 months, he can build up his immunity before joining cc. When he falls sick, its hard to discipline him as he becomes very grumpy. And also, everytime he falls sick, his body immunity is low, and sometimes he will end up catching another virus shortly.

What's the teacher student ratio of your son CC when he joined ? Does he know how to eat by himself when he first joined ? Does he drink water often?

My worry is that teachers will not have much time for him. He's not a keen water drinker plus he is quite a fussy eater. Most of the time, he does not like new food introduced like strawberries, bread, cheese.... So in cc, I will guess he will not be fed much.. He's more of a main course eater e.g. lunch eat proper food like rice with ingredients, or noodles kind. We keep trying to give him new food to try, he usually end up spitting out. Dun really like to drink a lot of water. These days, we try different water bottle to encourage him to drink water.

Having a nanny interim... was kind of to give him time for nanny to train him to try diff food etc. to better prepare him and also to build up his immunity.

My son's cc teacher:student ratio is around 1:7. Is that consider a big group ? There's part time teachers around to help during meal time , bathing time and nap time.

ddtan (ddtan)

Post Number: 499
Posted on Wednesday, February 16, 2011 - 10:09 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi pastries,

Can I know in CC, how often teachers check if your child poo-poo ? Since lesser teachers to more kids, unlike in IFC, teachers check more often. Guessing in cc, may end up the child may poo-poo for a long time already, and go-unnoticed by the teachers until the bum goes red ??? Did it happen for your son in cc ?

Shirley (shirley_htt)

Post Number: 247
Posted on Wednesday, February 16, 2011 - 10:12 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ddtan,

I used to think of that too. In fact, my son got chickenpox from his infant school from one of the bb when he was 4 month old & the whole group of bb tat were there got them. He stayed in hospital for few days because of his persistant fever and more importantly, his feeding was bad. From then on, his good feeding of 180ml dropped to I think 90ml. Sometimes the faint chickenpox mark on his face made me feel bad.

He got HFMD when he was 9 month old & passed it to me. I can feel the pain he has went through. The ulcers in the mouth & the sore throat is terrible. He doesn't want to eat anything except latching on me for milk. In fact from that day on after he recovered, he does not want to use milk bottle anymore. Teacher has to spoon feed him.

Maybe we are really unlucky. All these symptoms cannot be discovered early. By the time fever is discovered, maybe virus has spread around. But whatever is the case, I still prefer to send him to school.

My son is difficult to coax ever since he was young. The infant school teacher can made him drink more milk than what my husband feeds him. For porridge, at least one teacher entertain him, another feeds. Or if one is tired, the other can take over. A nanny faces the same baby the whole day. Unless the nanny is extremely patient even with the fussiest baby. But it is hard to find.

Still trying to find a childcare playgroup for 18 months. Better to have curriculum so that it is more fun. Will be looking around my home childcares then decide.

Shirley (shirley_htt)

Post Number: 248
Posted on Wednesday, February 16, 2011 - 10:17 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Some babies in his IFC are bigger built. Most likely is because of his parents genes. Anyway, I have asked the peditrician, he said that as long as baby gains some weight every month and is happy, should be ok.

The IFC teacher said that need not worry if baby is small size as they know some babies will suddenly grow very fast at the later stage.

This Sat, my son is going to see the doc for injection. Maybe I'll ask the doc abt him being small built & lower percentile.

ddtan (ddtan)

Post Number: 500
Posted on Wednesday, February 16, 2011 - 10:54 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Shirley,
My son had very bad diahorrea at around 5mths old which lasted for 2 weeks of soft stools like 7 to 8 times a day. We were very badly affected by that event - almost wanted to withdraw him out but hb said to wait and see. He had HFMD also at around 8-9 mths. Plus all sorts of bad cough, cold, running nose which lasted 7 to 8 days usually. Everytime when he is sick, appetite dropped a lot - dun want to eat or drink. Lost a lot of weight each time.

When IFC changed to air-con in last Dec 2010, also fell sick whole mth of Dec on and off. Recovered and aft few days, caught another virus from another bb, and sick again.

It was so never ending... last year was the worse year I had.

Sometimes, I wished my co will retrench me and I could stay at home and take care of my son till he turns 24mths then go cc.

Shirley (shirley_htt)

Post Number: 249
Posted on Wednesday, February 16, 2011 - 1:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi ddtan,

Sounds serious. Did he see a pediatrician? Last time my son had chickenpox, they let him ate a medicine that can cause diahorrea. Have to get him another medicine to stop coz it was too runny till poop all over on the floor!

Now my son has runny nose. I have bad cough, but luckily my son didn't get it. Don't know if his immune system is getting better. Bad cough especially will cause bad appetite. Need to drip the medication into his nostrils to dissolve the phlegm. Runny nose if not so serious like now.... normally I buy Baby Vaporub... NTUC or Cold Storage normally I think sells cheaper than the forum.

There is one time he also like this.... almost never ending. Thank goodness. Now no virus yet. Try to let him see a good pediatrician then will have some medicine in the fridge. It is very useful. Since he can eat solid.... try to feed him some yogurt and put some vegetables like spinach or beetroot in his porridge. Basically I let him try different types of food in his porridge. Meanwhile, u try to make his immune system stronger. I also buy vitamins for him.... but only feed him twice a week as he doesn't really like it. Also feed him something that he likes.... so u have to keep trying.

My son is difficult to feed is because he wants some toys or something to hold while feeding. U have to know his habit but don't let him round around the house while feeding. I'll let my son watch a bit of TV, but not all the time during feeding. Sometimes we also can't spoil a child like tat. Appetite will gradually increase bit by bit.... so sometimes u must also be patient.

Shirley (shirley_htt)

Post Number: 250
Posted on Wednesday, February 16, 2011 - 1:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

How does ur IFC school teacher feed ur son? Did u ask what amount they feed him with and what's their menu?

Pastries (j_pastries)

Post Number: 553
Posted on Wednesday, February 16, 2011 - 2:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi ddtan,

Oh, so you have engage a nanny now?

My boy CC is also 1:7 or 1:8 which is MCYS guideline.. Same like yr boy childcare, they have extra help during meal time, bath time etc. He is in My First Skool. I think when comes to HFMD or Chicken Pox, it really depends on the CC itself? Like my boy CC, they always caught suspected kids of HFMD very fast and the spreading is keep minimum. (*Touch Wood*)

My boy IFC teacher already trained them to self feed before they promote to toddler class, so no problem with self feeding. He too like your boy, does not like to drink water!! But in the current CC, he drink quite alot and his constipation problem improved alot ever since in the toddler class. According to the teachers, because he saw other kids drinking water, he also want to drink.

At home, same, we have to self feed with spoon and add bread in the cup! If not, he refuse to drink at all!

My boy is also tall but quite thin for a toddler... It is true that when he fall sick, he lost some bit of weight but it could be because both me & my husband are also very thin. Ever since he turns 9 month old, he lost all those chubbiness.. The PD said no worry because it is more likely of genetic reason. He has very big appetite, eats alot, drink alot of milk but now tends to reject plain home cook food.. So I am not too worry about his small size as he is eating well.

As you said your boy is eating well for the main course, I think no worries on his eating.

As for poo poo, so far my boy don't have rashes. Everyday when I asked whether did he poo poo, at least the teacher is able to tell me the answer immediately. Actually for my boy CC, I prefer the teacher at toddler class better then IFC side, there is one Chinese teacher, I always saw her paying extra attention to my boy when we peeped outside.

How was your elder gal CC? Was the 'sickness' record better? Because from what I read, it seems your boy IFC had quite a bad record.. My boy 1st IFC was not this current one, he fall sick really often there (but he was very young then), after 6 months at the 1st IFC, I switched him to the current centre.

I understand what you went through! I remembered me taking lots of leave, used up the childcare leave during that dreadful period! What makes it more fruastrating was we do not really have alternative care giver.. Now I have switched job and working part time partly due to all these problems and also my husband need to travel very often.. Sometimes I feel abit 'under utilised' because my current part time job was just simple admin accounting stuff but I think this the best situation for me right now. Family always come first.

Since you are really feeling so bad about sending your boy to CC, you might want to go with option 2 and enrol him in a 2 hrs playgroup?

Pastries (j_pastries)

Post Number: 554
Posted on Wednesday, February 16, 2011 - 2:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi ddtan,

You are starting sambucol on your boy right? That is good. But I only let my boy have it on weekend because the kid can become rely on it. I also let him have cod liver oil.

I intend to buy those vitamin gummy for him too. Another thing I let him have daily is Eu Ren Seng's Bao Ying Dang. I feed him about 1/3 of the small bottle daily. I find it good to prevent mild cold or runny nose.

My boy just recovered from bad cough & runny nose for like 2 weeks! Now is my turn!

Shirley (shirley_htt)

Post Number: 251
Posted on Wednesday, February 16, 2011 - 2:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Pastries,

How much does My First Skool charges? I hv one near my home. Thinking of enquire over there abt the playgroup charges & cirriculum.

Pastries (j_pastries)

Post Number: 555
Posted on Wednesday, February 16, 2011 - 3:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Shirley,

But My First Skool does not have a fix curriculum for the toddlers class... But I saw them having lots of activities, like Christmas they have a log cake decoration activity. Of course, the usual music, arts & craft and outdoor play. Just recently they are introducing additional optional music & art enrichment classes within the normal 'school' hours. I have indicated my interest, will wait for the enrolment form.

The current charges after $300 subsidy is around $320 per month for the toddler class.

In Dec, I enquired about Kinderland near my house and they have no curriculum, let kids watch TV at around 5+pm, only check temperature upon morn arrival (no visual check of tongue, hands & feet), centre very old and I am not impressed with the teachers. The charges was about $600+ after $300 subsidy..

ddtan (ddtan)

Post Number: 501
Posted on Thursday, February 17, 2011 - 9:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My son's IFC is My First Skool currently. When my son first joined, I believed the diahorrea was due to stomach flu that spread to a few babies cos another 2 to 3 babies caught it as well. One of them was so serious was admitted to hospital for drip as he had soft stool like 15 to 16 times a day. It was quite a bad experience for us as everytime he drank anything like milk or water, he poo-poos. After that, one parent complained and the teachers started to be more stringent when they clean up the babies.

Pastries,
Looks like your son adapting very well to cc. How about dinner ? Did you have to rush back from work to cook dinner daily ? How old was he when he started self feeding ?

There is currently a nanny that I felt comfortable with now after looking at 4 to 5 nannies. She seems like the patient mother and kids are very well-behaved. Brought my son to see her yday and he seems dun really mind her after some warm-up.

Hence, its down to option 1 or 2 for me.

If nanny, things will be more relaxed for me as no need to rush back every day after work, to cook and feed dinner. No need to bath my son during evening time after cc. And also, the daily chores like washing his clothes, wash and sterilize milk bottles no need to do (which I need to do if in cc). Cons is that I will expect he will not learn much from nanny. This nanny did tell me she dun mind reading to him some children's books.
From what I can see, this nanny and family doted the previous boy she looked after a lot. She even brought him out swimming and even on family outing and took a lot of pics of him which she had shown me in her PC screensaver.

CC wise, I will say my gals cc teachers are quite caring though the playgroup teacher is new and from China. They had a number of HFMD cases and took almost 2-3 weeks to completely stop as each weekend, there were new cases - this was not too good as I remembered I had to stop my gal from school to prevent her from catching it from other school mates.

I dun have much of alternative care giver now...except my parents.

My son pretty much like Pastries... also need a toy to entertain him or a bit of TV when he eats his meals ... even during milk, I have to give him a toy or he will not finish his last bit of milk.

ddtan (ddtan)

Post Number: 502
Posted on Thursday, February 17, 2011 - 9:54 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

For the HFMD, its kind of seasonal period. From past years, it seems to start during the peak season like once a year in my gals cc.
Other than that, my gal did not have much major virus (touch wood) while she was there... except the usual colds which sometimes, seems to be caught when we bring her out during weekends.. or cold, rainy weather.

Yes, I started my 2 kids with Sambucol for about 3 weeks now. My son and daughter also taking some multi-vits syrup now. Sambucol seems not bad.... but need to monitor. My son had a cold just 2 weeks ago .. seem to recover faster now.

Pastries (j_pastries)

Post Number: 556
Posted on Sunday, February 20, 2011 - 10:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi ddtan,

I stayed very nearby with my mum so she will cooked dinner for us. That really helps alot! She is the alternative caregiver though I try not to trouble her.. so in previous job, I still will take leave, like if my boy misses IFC for 3 days, I take 2 days, she help me to take care one day kind of arrangement..

Since you are comfortable with the nanny, then at least when he is with the nanny, things are more relax for you after work. At least your boy has taken dinner and cleaned and changed into pyjamas. Much much easier!

I can't recall when he can self feed!!??? I think is somewhere after 1 yr and before 18th month because the IFC teachers are teaching all the ready infants how to self feed, especially before the promotion to toddlers class.

But now at home, he don't self feed. After he gets over the novalty of it, he wants us to feed him..

ddtan (ddtan)

Post Number: 506
Posted on Friday, February 25, 2011 - 10:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi pastries,
The nanny we are comfortable with in the end preferred to take care of babies.. she took up a new baby staying near her place. :-(
Was quite disappointed even though we confirm her early...
Finally, we decided to send my son to my gals' cc ... mainly due to convenience to pick up both kids and close walking distance to my place so I can pick up the kids immediately after work instead of waiting for my hb to knock off which is usually later. And also mainly we know the school and teachers well so if anything, we can feedback to them.

Hb and I also prefer that he learn something in cc than to watch TV whole day in nanny's place. Cons is that both hb and myself have to work harder to prepare dinner after work and feed and bath my 2 kids.

Hope my son will not fall sick so easily as he starts the new cc next Tues :-)

Your IFC seems to do quite a lot of things to prepare your son.. like self-feed. etc.

My IFC did not do any of those... I requested that they cook some rice/noodles for my son's lunch or for older kids to better prepare them to eat more solid food.. but was rejected by the principal as they said they only serve porridge for infants group.

juju78 (bb_hopeful)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 6280
Posted on Friday, February 25, 2011 - 10:58 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ddtan,
my gal's ifc also start putting her on 1 nap a day & other cc routines, plus self feed training. self feed started after she had better control of her hand-eye coordination. she also had bb food till she officially went over to cc side. but quite ok for me, cos i dun give her mashy food at hm. sometimes, i also pack home cooked food for her to ifc, thus she gets a variety of texture & taste

ddtan (ddtan)

Post Number: 507
Posted on Friday, February 25, 2011 - 3:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

juju78,
wow, which IFC was your gal in ? My boy is in My First Skool and they did not teach self-feeding. When my son reach 17mths, I kind of panic as he was not introduced to solid food then in school or at home. Started to feed him rice and noodles only at home and after 1 or 2 tries, found he like them more than porridge. But now, still dun take much bread or pancake etc. Dun know why he dislikes it.

BTW, which cc did you enrolled your gal in now ? Can i know how much they charge for school fees ?

juju78 (bb_hopeful)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 6283
Posted on Friday, February 25, 2011 - 7:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ddtan,
my first skool also. i guess it depends on the teachers thr. they encourage self-feeding once the tots looks like they r ready. they only feed porridge in sch, i will cook rice wif soup & pasta/noodles at hm. my gal loves carbo food, bread, pancake, etc, tchrs always comment she take 2 servings!
she's transitted to my first skool cc, cos both the ifc & cc r located at the blk opp my plc. after working mum subs, its $400-ish a mth

Teng (teng2)
Username: teng2

Post Number: 342
Posted on Tuesday, July 12, 2011 - 11:04 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My child is also in infant care.
At first I was also worried about all sorts of things.... even teared the first few days when we left him there.

But now that I think back, considered a better choice, I believe :-)

Some queries:
My boy is now 14 months old. Understand he needs more solid intake. After fetching him back from IFC, we reach home around 7pm. Will normally give him some milk for the night.

Do you all cook for your child?
Any simple/faster recipes to share?
Thanks in advance!!

juju78 (bb_hopeful)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 6566
Posted on Tuesday, July 12, 2011 - 2:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi teng,
wat i did for my gal back then, was to choose frm the following:
- bread/biscuits + milk
- instant cereal
- instant bb food (jar/food pouch)
- use slow cooker or thermal cooker to cook porridge

if u scroll up, think some mummies pre-cook extra stock & freeze into mini portions to take out & cook wif porridge every nite, then add some meat/fish

Johanna G Tan (jgt78)
Username: jgt78

Post Number: 4
Posted on Thursday, August 04, 2011 - 3:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hello mummies, my 5 and a half month baby is in infantcare. I don't know anyone else who have children in infantcare. Hoping to get some help on this forum. My baby is going to start semi solids soon. The centre will feed him lunch of cereal and later porridge when he is 7 months. I will have to take care of his solids for dinner. How do you know when baby is ready for two semi solid meals? Do you get the center to feed milk before you pick up and then feed solids when u reach home? Thanks!

Teng (teng2)
Username: teng2

Post Number: 363
Posted on Thursday, August 04, 2011 - 3:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Juju,

Thanks for your reply. Sorry, think I missed your msg.

Johanna,

Same here, I was hoping to get some support from here too :-)

But I will normally try to get the centre to feed him a heavier meal around 5pm such as cereal so that in case we didn't cook in the evening, milk and bread will be able to last him through.

I rem when I first started baby on semi solids (around 5months), it was cereal first for 2 meals eg: noon and dinner time, the rest all milk feeds.

Then around 7months, I started 1 cereal (noon) and 1 porridge, around 5pm. And around 8mths, when he's used to porridge, we will use slow cooker to cook 2 porridge meals at one go.... again, around noon and 5pm....

Around 10-11 months or so, I rem our feedings were like :

7am : Milk
10am : A bowl of cereal or bread
12-1pm : Porridge (when he wakes up)
3pm : Milk
5.30pm - 6pm : Porridge
8.30pm : Milk
and if he haven't sleep by 11pm, another milk feed, else, he should be in bed by 10pm, unless we are out.

In infant care, they will adjust him to solids slowly... one thing good about infant care is, they are trained/educated in infant meals and infant care. Honestly, at home, we go by trial and error..... I only put my boy in at 12 months so the transition period is already over... just felt that at home, we really go by trial and error until a certain routine gets put into place...

Honestly, even at 12 months, I was soooooo apprehensive about putting baby in there but we didn't really have many other choices... in fact, I was worrying about how baby is coping for 1st 2 weeks but slowly... my hubby and myself saw that it could have been a better choice then maids/nannies/parents who have their own trial and error methods of handling things too haha :-)

Sorry for the long post...

Just out of curiosity, which infantcare are you with?

nancy goh lee kee (ngohleekee)
Username: ngohleekee

Post Number: 10
Posted on Saturday, August 20, 2011 - 4:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

try MyFirstSkool. it's value for money.

Add Your Message Here
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use