| Author |
Message |

ZuEn (zuen)
Intermediate Member Username: zuen
Post Number: 3373 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Friday, December 16, 2011 - 10:36 am: |
Connie, Shauna just told me yday that she's an English bcos she cannot rem Chinese. Faint. I also went icr je assessment and wasn't impressed. Hehe. Hb went for the meet parents session. Nothing that we do not know of. Mrs teo generally has good thing to say abt shauna, which I suppose is the case for most students. I haven't explore CIM, only intending to sign her up later cos I tink it is pretty academic. I dun want to kill her interest now. Yahama teaches maths? I am also looking at the music wonderland by yamaha for shauna. I might sign her up soon. Roxy, U already signed up isaiah for the music class with yamaha? |

Connie Lim (connie_lcl)
Intermediate Member Username: connie_lcl
Post Number: 2138 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Friday, December 16, 2011 - 5:26 pm: |
Zuen Yamaha is e music wonderland. Mrs teo recommend cos her gal is there. Z is Starting on 3 jan Haha. Sure faint. Did u speak mandarin to her? Did u go to e concert at Cnl? Is shuana e gal that being turn by a boy? My boy says tt shuana. |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3374 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Friday, December 16, 2011 - 9:41 pm: |
Connie, No wor. Only my mum speaks mandarin to her. S' mandarin has an ang mo slang. Lol. Oh, I m looking at wonderland music too. Maybe I will sign up for e tue class. Will let u know if I sign up. Yes, I was at the concert. Did u buy e cd? S is in the middle, the one who kept flipping her hair off the face. Lol. Oh, I manage to speak with e principal yday when I sent s to school for her enrichment. She received my email lor but claimed that too busy to reply. Cnl's syllabus quite standard leh, phonics starting in pre-nursery, nursery start to learn blending. K1 will start spelling, k2 will start ting sie and hanyu pingying. K2 will also learn to write in sentences and learn additions and subtractions. Then again, some other more academically driven schools might do more tough spelling and ting sie, etc lah. S should be staying put in cnl unless if I switch her to cc. How abt z? |

roxy (daffyz)
Member Username: daffyz
Post Number: 1893 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Monday, December 19, 2011 - 9:49 am: |
connie, berries is at the bt batok cc.. so far, some of my friends whose older children go there for primary school chinese enrichment find them not bad.. im hoping to improve their chinese cause really cannot make it!! like S, they speak chinese with an ang moh slang. Im making an effort to speak chinese to them at home but its tough cause my chinese is also CMI Connie and Zuen, yeah loh, im not very impressed with ICR, save money and withdraw him better...hopefully ICL will be better. Yes, I signed Isaiah up for yamaha at frontier cc, near JP.. every tues 745.. want to go together? |

PiyoPiyo (piyo2)
Junior Member Username: piyo2
Post Number: 188 Registered: 11-2009
| | Posted on Monday, December 19, 2011 - 2:48 pm: |
Mummies, you are so wonderful had the plan for your kids already. Don't like me, dun know what should do for my boy. Everyday let him play and play. Till now, he still can't hold the pen properly and dun know how to colour. Feel upset when sawing others kids can write and colouring at the same age. |

Connie Lim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2139 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, December 20, 2011 - 11:15 am: |
Piyo, Kids process differently. Mine go sch but also can't hold pen / cayon properly. His teacher advise me to buy the thicker type so that they can have a better grip. They should not be using the normal thin pencil. Roxy, 745? I better go check mine again. Going to buy books this few days. Zuen, I have a feel that my maid might not cont after 2013. If MIL still stay wif me then I cont to engage a maid n they go K1. If MIL decided to move to SIL place, then I will put both to CC. Pre-nursery phonics? I doubt so. Mrs Teo only said she did let them expose to phonics sound but not in details as letting them pronounce. She said will be in it next year. They have spelling but I fadely remember I saw Bag, cat, bat as spelling. Not sure K1/K2. No time table for them? Only plus n minus?? Oh My boy chinese are better now although English are stronger. He switch between languages when talk to me. I usually speak mandarin to him. Roxy, You engage bus or drive them daily? Sound far for me. |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3384 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Friday, December 23, 2011 - 10:16 am: |
Roxy, When I try to speak in Mandarin to S, she replies me in English. She only attempts to speak in Mandarin to my mum. Piyo, Jia you. Dun compare, only end up getting upset. There will always be somebody who is better. Maybe boys are slower? My no. 2 is already 14 months, still not walking or talking. Faint. Connie, I will laugh if any of my maids can finish their 2-year contract lor. I really hope to go maidless one day just that my mum cannot handle 2 kids now. Bcos hb and I worked long hours, the kids will have to stay full 12 hours in CC if we really decide to send them there. And we will still end up having to rush to put them there and pick them up so that we will be on time for work. They will probably end up being the earliest to reach the CC and latest to be picked up. On top of that, I will have to handle them alone on weekends and PH bcos hb tends to work. And the housework after the kids sleep. The tot itself is daunting enuff. I will probably have a maid until S goes into primary school. Time table? Must learn time table in Kindergarten? I remember learning that only in P3 wor. Faint. Like I say lor, the syllabus seem normal but I suppose the more aggreesive pre-schools do more difficult stuff. Will let you all know if I sign up wonderland. I am lazy and havent move my butt to register S. |

Jenny (jn80jn)
Intermediate Member Username: jn80jn
Post Number: 2955 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Saturday, December 24, 2011 - 5:38 pm: |
Merry X'mas everyone! |

Tan Leng Leng (tanlengleng)
Senior Member Username: tanlengleng
Post Number: 27813 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Saturday, December 24, 2011 - 5:44 pm: |
Merry Christmas to everyone & your family members too  |

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 1894 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Monday, December 26, 2011 - 9:39 am: |
Merry Xas everyone! |

PiyoPiyo (piyo2)
Post Number: 191 Registered: 11-2009
| | Posted on Wednesday, December 28, 2011 - 9:18 am: |
Hi mummies, Ask for help. My boy still cannot sit down properly and concenrate study (at least 2 mins, he also dun want). Everytime asked him to read the book (we let him choose the book his like), he will keep on complaint eg: eye pain, tired, want to sleep and etc. Asked him question, he never think and straight tell you he dun know. He keep on looking around, the eye doesn't look at book at all. Till now, he dun know how to hold pencil, dun know colouring (just colour all over the paper and draw a circle) and can't recognice alphabet. What can I do? How do build up his interest? |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3385 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, December 28, 2011 - 4:54 pm: |
Merry Christmas. Roxy, Connie, I signed up for Music Wonderful. See you all pm 3rd Jan. I have never met Connie before but I think S should recognise Z. Piyo, Your boy can read? Or you to read for him? For Shauna, it will be dependent on her mood too. Sometimes, she also does exactly what you mentioned. Asked her to practice her alphabet, she decided that she wants to do something else when we barely start. I just tot that it is most important for them to be interested and enjoy what they are doing now. They are afterall just 3 yo. Which month is your boy born in? |

PiyoPiyo (piyo2)
Post Number: 197 Registered: 11-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, December 29, 2011 - 9:22 am: |
My boy born in Jun. Usually we let him play and play. Not sure am I right or not to give him play and play without learning. |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3386 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, December 29, 2011 - 11:08 am: |
Piyo, Shauna is a May baby. We also let her play niah. Maybe Connie and roxy can advise better. They have boys too. |

Connie Lim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2140 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, December 29, 2011 - 5:02 pm: |
Zuen, Yeh, Then we can meet up. Mine is 8pm but Roxy said hers is 745pm. Piyo, AT this age, they learn thru play. My boy's peer can write and do homework on his own. He is in Ichiban kiddy and there's good n bad feedback on this sch. This sch is very focus on studies. At 3 yrs already have homework. My boy still can't hold a pencil properly. Maybe u want to buy the thicker type so that he can have a better grip, This is wat his teacher told me to do. For reading, you just have to be patient. My friend told me to read a loud and even if he is running around, he will still be listening. So I just follow but now can see improvement. Don give him books with all words or little picture, they are not patient. Other than thomas books that he choose, the rest of the books that I bought have little words so they are more keen to listen. My initial mistake is fairy tales with no 1-2 pictures so now those books are kept in carboard for future. |

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 1910 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Monday, January 02, 2012 - 12:49 pm: |
zuen, connie, then it should be 8pm. I probably got the timing wrong. Was going to call yamaha up tomorrow to check ... cya gals tomorrow!! piyo, if you are really worried abt his concentration, you can ask GP to refer you to KK specialist. Last time when I brought isaiah for speech therapy, within the same place, they also have other therapies and when i checked with the parents, its for kids who cannot concentrate and the therapist teach the parents how to guide the kids to focus etc. I think boys at their age don't concentrate... even when I show flashcards to my boy, he is still playing cars. But surprisingly he can recognise some of the words le.. so connie is correct... even if u think they are not paying attention, they actually are. Ive been letting them play with pens and pencil since 1.5 year old so both of them can hold quite ok. He also not very interested in reading so i try to borrow cars books see picture only |

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 1912 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Monday, January 02, 2012 - 12:56 pm: |
connie, planning every morning either me or my MIL drive him to JCCK then afternoon he take bus to CC and my MIL wait there for him to bring him in. Starting school dis thur le, hope he dun cry too much!! And somemore within the same week he will be starting to attend music wonderland and berries. Hope he dun cry. Luckily ICL is in Mar.... I got suan by my maid y my boy never go enrichment classes etc when she says all kids go.. faints Btw, my husband has signed up for rulang alumni already... we got worried when it produced the top student... displaying our KS syndrome now haha! |

Connie Lim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2147 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, January 03, 2012 - 8:17 am: |
Roxy, Its good that you start planning now. I will either do PV at west groove or register in the new Pri near Gek Poh. West groove CCA not good so many said is disadvantage. Think their standard also drop after the principle change. If zac cough get serious today, will have to miss class. Hopes he get better, he slept for 15hrs from 330pm to this morning 630am. |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3388 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, January 03, 2012 - 12:31 pm: |
roxy, You are igniting that KS-ism in me again. Haiz, RL is way beyond us. I must start doing homework again to decide which school to PV. Connie, Wah, 15 hrs! |

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 1918 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, January 03, 2012 - 10:45 pm: |
connie, ZuEn, nice meeting you all just now. shaine is so tall and pretty! And Zac has such big eyes, next time charm all the gals keke. Sorry couldnt stay to talk just now, no 2 super grouchy so must quickly rush home.... zuen, haha yeah loh... my friend immediately whatsapp me after the psle results were announced and told me quickly sign up...in case they start to impose restrictions on alumni... her gal is in Aitong cause she old gal How about frontier primary? It's a bn school and near my house.. my neighbour got in and she told me though its a brand new school, she still got to go for balloting! |

Connie Lim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2150 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, January 03, 2012 - 11:16 pm: |
So sorry my boy was coughing in class. Mil say he didn't cough much, not sure y worsen after e swim. Zune, is ur hb v tall? Taller by half head at least |

Charlynn Ong (charlynn)
New member Username: charlynn
Post Number: 75 Registered: 8-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, January 05, 2012 - 4:13 am: |
Happy new year mommies Very exciting reading the threads..... Anyone knows how to get rid of phlegm? My girl can cough in sleep and wake up vomitting!!!  |

Connie Lim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2152 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, January 05, 2012 - 3:27 pm: |
try Hock Hua hou zao san. $55/bottle. |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3389 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Friday, January 06, 2012 - 12:35 pm: |
Roxy, Ur no 2 was waiting for gorgor thru e 45 mins lesson? Frontial is in my consideration. One part of me says thar neighbourhood schools are all abt e same, the other part says that I shld do homework, do PV + send S to the better one. LOL. Connie, Hb is abt 1.85m. To think that S is a preemie and only 1.9kg at birth. There goes the hope of being petite. The male species always have a soft spot for petite girls. ;p |

Clim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2162 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Friday, January 06, 2012 - 8:36 pm: |
Zuen, Wow. Mine 2.86kg at birth but now v short lor. He was v noisy in class, wonder is he like that in CNL. By the way, have to consider the cca in the pri sch too. CCA is imp for sec sch. whichever sch, the PSLE allocation is 100 for chinese n English, 50 for math n science. add up 300. So language now is imp. Heard west groove CCA sucks, pioneer are better than them. Ruland is gd but no chance. |

Charlynn Ong (charlynn)
New member Username: charlynn
Post Number: 76 Registered: 8-2009
| | Posted on Monday, January 09, 2012 - 12:21 am: |
THanks Connie Will give it a try and get one  |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3399 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, January 11, 2012 - 11:43 am: |
Connie, R u gg to perform PV? Which school? |

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 1940 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, January 12, 2012 - 11:42 am: |
zuen, shauna now very tall, i told my helper last time shauna was born premmie, she dun believe! no 2 was in library creating nuisance of herself so for second trip we dun bring her already... connie, zac and isaiah abt same height, both equally short! haiz |

Clim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2165 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Sunday, January 15, 2012 - 10:49 am: |
Zuen Will try west grove. But their cca not strong lei. Recent yes marks also not hitting high. Only ad is near to me n they don have to wake up so early. E other one is e new sch near gek pok. A traffic away from me. But open 2013. I told hb his boy kept looking at gals in class again. Have to keep pushing his head to see teCher. Roxy Both parents short so my boy follow. Daddy promise to bring them play basketball when they grow older, hope they will jump taller. |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3403 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Monday, January 16, 2012 - 10:59 am: |
Roxy, I wanted to b petite all my life wor. Maybe not good for her to b so tall? Muahahaha.. Connie, I am also wondering if I shld try west grove. I m just worried that they take in too many pvs and have to turn away, like wat they did for last year's intake. I am thinking of xingnan too, just that hb hates the name of it. Lol. He has his eyes on frontier. He likes new school, new building. |

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 1942 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Monday, January 16, 2012 - 1:22 pm: |
connie me and hubby also both short short de... hope our kids can jump more and be taller! zuen... all my life, i want to be tall but no matter how i jump also no use !! i think gals tall is so nice! can be model hee my neighbour boy is in frontier now..she says they have the whole school to themselves now |

Clim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2166 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Monday, January 16, 2012 - 2:52 pm: |
Zuen, then u might want to try the new one at Gek Poh that will start 2013. Hope the teacher can concentrate more since it is new sch. and they will strive for higher score to build up reputation. Maybe I go ask PV in Jan 2013 when the sch start. Most likely they will have soft launch this yr as what frontier did. My plc sucks, west groove n the new pri under diff RC and my plc a road away is also under diff RC. My friend said can only do RC at own area. My RC and the 2 pri sch less than a km. Not sure have i told you that Rulang took in many PRC. My friend area many from Rulang and according to her, they bring in PRC so that their chinese standard can maintain n PRC CCA very good. Now Rulang top are maj PRC. Roxy, My friend's son also in frontier. they don take in higher pri. Me too, want to be tall but at least I'm the tallest gal at home. So my gal should be taller than me. Must push HB train them basketball. Jump jump jump. |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3404 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, January 17, 2012 - 11:32 am: |
Haha, e grass is always greener on e other side! Roxy, Any idea of e race of e students? Oops... Connie, WG is actually out of e way for me. Frontier is better. Gek poh also need to take bus. I have to agree on the Prc thing. Jw is invaded by them? They are everywhere I go and very kiasu. I see so many prc in s ballet and phonics class. |

Clim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2179 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, January 17, 2012 - 1:18 pm: |
Zuen, agreed. My boy enrichment maj also PRC. Gal daily class too. then u try PV at frontier. |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3406 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, January 17, 2012 - 2:32 pm: |
Connie, Frontier is too new to take in pv. No pv for jan 2013 intake too. So I am thinking of pv-ing at gw or xn. Secure a place until p2b 1st, then decide whether to fight for a place in frontier in p2c. I duno if my weak heart can take balloting. Hahaha. I supposed the new school at gek poh will not take in pv so soon too. So can only apply under p2c. If cannot get in at p2c, will be distribute to whichever school in your vicinity with vacancy wor. Very risky. |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3409 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, January 17, 2012 - 2:48 pm: |
Connie, Frontier is too new to take in pv. No pv for jan 2013 intake too. So I am thinking of pv-ing at gw or xn. Secure a place until p2b 1st, then decide whether to fight for a place in frontier in p2c. I duno if my weak heart can take balloting. Hahaha. I supposed the new school at gek poh will not take in pv so soon too. So can only apply under p2c. If cannot get in at p2c, will be distribute to whichever school in your vicinity with vacancy wor. Very risky. |

Clim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2182 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, January 18, 2012 - 11:30 am: |
Zuen, I don wan they allocate lei, Heard corporation pri not good. Will try PV at WG first. then see how ba. hopefully can get into the PV. My friend work as grassroot so under 2b but cannot work grass root opp my block since diff div |

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 1944 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, January 19, 2012 - 9:27 am: |
zuen, connie.. I duno abt the races... but JW is PRC invaded everywhere! so dun be surprised if the JW school is full of them too... can PV at more than 1 school? then can PV at WG, JWPS, Rulang etc then see which one strike jackpot? |

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 1945 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, January 19, 2012 - 9:29 am: |
connie, are u going to try sending no2 to JCK? The balloting/registration starts on 16 Feb.. can go and try. Then maybe no1 can get priority because of no2? can it work this way? |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3410 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, January 19, 2012 - 12:06 pm: |
Connie, Ya lor. That is why must do proper planning. That is also why parents go crazy when their kids are due for p1 registration. I am also thinking about pv-ing at WG. Let's keep each other updated lah. Ur no 2 is starting nursery next year? So age gap is 1 yo? Roxy, No restriction to how many schools but need 40hrs per school wor. We are working mummies, why to find so many hours to spare for pv? Unless there are big school events, otherwise, have to slowly accumulate the 40 hrs wor. |

Clim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2184 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, January 19, 2012 - 1:29 pm: |
Zuen, My friend hb clock those long hrs eg camp etc. v fast 40hrs up. But again depend on sch, they take parents for granted. Called in last yr, confirmed Jan 2013 open for PV registration. Yes, diff by 15 mths. Accident during BF. Who says BF won't get pregnant? Sabo by my gynae. Roxy, What fee to pay if have the slot? Just walk in to ballot? Might try and get both to take bus together. My friend told me approx 45mins bus journey n all kids enjoy that rid. Maybe I go ballot for both. If ballot fail, don know will I cry or not. haha. My Gal still refuse to talk to teacher. Make me v Gang jong. |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3414 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Saturday, January 21, 2012 - 4:16 pm: |
Connie, Oooo, jan 2013. Must jio me then ya. I am also aiming those big events but how many are there to go around? I hope WG doesn't oversubscribed and ended up requiring balloting for phase 2b. Haha, ur gynea really sabo. Now that we already have 2, I suPer worried abt accidents. :p |

Clim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2188 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Sunday, January 29, 2012 - 9:48 pm: |
Zuen, Ok will infrm u again nxt yr. Get another one, this yr water dragon, got wealth. Then can hi-5. |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3418 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, February 02, 2012 - 1:09 pm: |
Connie, -.o" pls.. I m better off dead. Lol. |

Aarti (aarti)
New member Username: aarti
Post Number: 1 Registered: 2-2012
| | Posted on Sunday, February 05, 2012 - 9:23 pm: |
Hello, I am distressed mother of 3.5 years old boy. I am facing serious issue regarding my son's social behavior. He is quite talkative n active at home and comfortable with elders. The moment he is in company of similar age group kids he just don't utter a single word and literally becomes dumb. He started a year ago with playgroup where he never interacted with other kids and never answered any of questions of teacher. Nor he participated in any kind of activity and just sits idle. He was never comfortable with other kids. Once came out of his school he is fine. I thought he will be fine over the period of time and I need to be patient. With this hope I enrolled him in nursery in an international school. Shocked to see symptoms just continue. Teachers try to encourage him to participate but with no results. Lately I got him enrolled in a dance class but for complete 1 hour he just stand in class watching other kids and not uttering a single word. On the contrary he is talkative at home and dances well. Problem from my angle is he is just not comfortable with other kids. Been advised that solution is socializing which I am trying hard but with no results. He is not ready to mingle with other kids. Otherwise he is intelligent, talkative at home, quite active. Can some suggest me how to deal with this problem? Or is there any such school who deals specifically with such personality(socialization disorder)? Any help or pointers will be of great help. Will appreciate if anyone can suggest way to move forward. Thanks |

Tan Leng Leng (tanlengleng)
Senior Member Username: tanlengleng
Post Number: 27934 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Sunday, February 05, 2012 - 10:06 pm: |
Aarti, try here; http://www.kkh.com.sg/Services/Children/ChildDevelopment/Pages/Home.aspx HTHs, Leng Leng  |

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 1948 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Monday, February 06, 2012 - 3:39 pm: |
aarti like wat leng leng has recommended, maybe can go to kkh to seek specialist help connie, just have to pay $50 deposit if you get the place. If you don't get it, no need to pay anything. I don't think balloting is available for no1 le.. they have a waiting list... maybe no2 can get in and no1 can get priority? I know it works the other way round.. not sure this way works or not... |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3419 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Monday, February 13, 2012 - 6:46 am: |
Connie, Frontial primary opens for pv wor. They are calling for applications for kids born in 2007. Now I am thinking btw west grove and frontial. |

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 1957 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Wednesday, February 15, 2012 - 5:55 pm: |
connie, did u sign up for JCK? I signed up yesterday and paid $100 registration fee.... |

Clim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2213 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, February 16, 2012 - 2:56 pm: |
Zuen, Some ple said new sch good cos teacher r selected. Frontier direct higher Chinese. My friend' s boy form teacher is gd but her friend one not so. So depend on luck, if nearer to u can try. New sch at my area called get poh pri. Wll try this n west groove since walking distance. |

Clim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2214 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, February 16, 2012 - 3:03 pm: |
Zuen, Some ple said new sch good cos teacher r selected. Frontier direct higher Chinese. My friend' s boy form teacher is gd but her friend one not so. So depend on luck, if nearer to u can try. New sch at my area called get poh pri. Wll try this n west groove since walking distance. Btw, I got a slot for zac at jck next yr. might consider transfer him there. Friend comment tt they have kindermusik n v gd. Her gal no enrichment n both language v good. Well prepared till p2. Do u wan to try ? K1 direct intake . My gal ballot fail so now on waiting list. But at CNL can see z Chinese improve a lot n more fluent now. Character also better. No more picking fight at play ground. |

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 1961 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, February 23, 2012 - 9:43 am: |
connie, kindermusik need to pay extra $60 per term and extra $60 per term for bearies play gym I heard good reviews abt JCK dat's y sent Isaiah there but so far, dun really see any improvement... he can write basic chinese characters now but its taught by his childcare and not JCK.... hmmm |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3420 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Monday, February 27, 2012 - 7:25 am: |
Connie, Registration shld be closed for jck right? Haiz, shld have checked the forum earlier. Roxy, Wah, write Chinese characters! S asked us to speak to her in English when we tried to communication with her in mandarin lor. |

Clim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2227 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Monday, February 27, 2012 - 7:52 am: |
Zuen, Haha, ur gal smart. Still can request language. Has her chinese improved? The speak at home do helps, now z is v fluent but still mix a few vocab in english. You can call to ask cos K1 entry not much student. Might still have vacant. For Nursery, no slot. Get S to enter first so your boy will just follow. Then we can save on enrichment n time bringing them. I just noticed my boy enrichment class all china children. He is the only local. |

feifei (feifei)
Senior Member Username: feifei
Post Number: 14930 Registered: 4-2006
| | Posted on Monday, February 27, 2012 - 8:08 am: |
Morning ladies.. Been a long time since I come in here to chat =D. All, Anyone has wean their kisd off pacifier successfully? I have started wearing charlotte since friday, hard time...kept whining for her tutu during nap and before bedtime...haiz.. |

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 1976 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Monday, February 27, 2012 - 11:30 am: |
zuen... yes, we were surprised when he wrote "shou, da, xiao" etc very basic chinese characters... seems like reading chinese story books to him helps. last I checked with principal, kindergarten still has vacancy in noon session. fei, long time no see! how is charlotte? Isaiah doesn eat tutu, but his mei mei does. Am trying to wean the mei mei off at 2 year 2 months, very tough but trying!! |

Clim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2232 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Monday, February 27, 2012 - 1:25 pm: |
Roxy, Can ask the principle can let my gal go in ma? :p Hoping both can go into same session n same sch else next year I'm in trouble. Zuen, How? want to join me? The positive training kept making me wanting to throw zac there. The chinese story book that they bring back weekly are too tough for them. Last week I can't read cos no hanyupinying. This week ask daddy to read, he read the book facking himself and I told him book have to face kids. So he reply so chim, how will kids understand? some words are wrong also...... Do u face this problem? My boy don like chinese story books cos he don understand. A bit of defeat the purpose and adverse result out. Feifei, How are you. Charlotte is #1 or #2? Zac throw tutu away himself so auto wean at 18 mths. Happens I change it from pigeon to avent n he don like it. No 2 succeed when she turn 2. I cut the pacifier and gradually reduce the time. so she wean off after that. She also diaperless at 2 yrs old in the day time. The hardness is diaperless training during nap n nite time. |

Clim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2239 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, February 29, 2012 - 8:03 am: |
Zuen,. Are u feeling ok? Didn't attend music wonderland for 2 weeks. How u gals pursuade ur hb to take over? My hb refuse to take over, rather bring my gal to library n playground to wait. |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3423 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Friday, March 02, 2012 - 5:50 pm: |
Connie, We were in hkg last week. The tuesday that just passed, my nightmare came... Shauna refused to go to class!!!! Haiz.. We were outside the class and she refused to be coaxed. Waste my $$. I will try again next tuesday. I told my hb to bond with shauna over class. One lesson only and he complained boring and refused to go anymore. Lol. Re: jck I tried calling them but couldnt get thru. Will try again on Monday. So isaiah and zac are in the afternoon or morning session? Feifei, *Wave*, how's Charlotte? Got didi or meimei already? Shauna never on pacifier. We tried to give but she doesn't want. |

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 1981 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Sunday, March 04, 2012 - 2:15 pm: |
Connie, I think u can check with principal tell her since zac has a place can ur daughter be given priority in same session? zuen Isaiah is in morning session I have requested to place A in morning session next year too I'm thinking stop music wonderland actually my husband told me Isaiah like it's alot but I was thinking with all e childcare enrichment classes very shiong on pocket n multiply by 2 |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3424 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Monday, March 05, 2012 - 6:50 am: |
Roxy, I will try to call jck this am. Wish me luck! Re: music wonderland Tomorrow is crucial. If S still refuses to go for class, it will probably mean that we will stop. This girl ah... Stubborn. Haiz. |

Clim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2246 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Monday, March 05, 2012 - 9:34 am: |
Zuen, Does Shuana like music? Zac enjoying the class. Will sing at home too. Maybe she enjoy gg with u rather than ur hb. Roxy, U plan to start ur gal on the music wonderland? I will only start mine when she turn 3.5 yrs old. Now waste $$. She is not on any enrichment class at this moment. Not sure is it because she is sep bb thus find her not ready for any enrichment yet. Her refusal to talk in class n follow instruction really made me hestitate to send her anywhere. Just felt like dumping her to CC to learn. U mean I can start calling now to ask for her priority and not wait till OCt? |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3425 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, March 07, 2012 - 8:46 am: |
Connie, I duno if S likes music but she does sing at home lah. I also duno wat about the class that she doesn't like. She simply told me the week b4 that she was tired and refused to so to class. But once home, she was jumping arOund with didi and rEfused to sleep. Faint. |

Clim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2251 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, March 07, 2012 - 1:22 pm: |
Zuen, Is ur boy n Roxy's boy same name? |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3426 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Friday, March 09, 2012 - 7:18 am: |
Connie, Nope. Roxy's boy is Isaiah. My boy is Isaac.  |

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 1993 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Monday, March 12, 2012 - 10:36 am: |
zuen, so funny, my gal like ur boy so much.. keep wanting to play with didi.... and turns out that its your mother in law connie, i think you can try calling now. Tell them that Zac got a confirmed place already.. as such, can they put your gal at top of waiting list and give her priority. This week they are on term break, but I think you can still call them. Im thinking whether to stop isaiah from music wonderland, he enjoys the sessions alot, but very shiong on pocket. There's chinese enrichment (2 kids), english enrichment (1 now... to be 2 next year), swimming and thinking of signing up maths enrichment. Plus all the childcare, kindergarten and bus transport charges all add up to quite an hefty amount per mth! |

Clim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2253 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, March 13, 2012 - 1:32 pm: |
Roxy, thought u place ur kid at JCK still need the chinese n English enrichment? My friend told me academy enrichment can stop. She never place her gal in English/chinese/maths enrichment. Now P1 doing well. |

roxy (daffyz)
Intermediate Member Username: daffyz
Post Number: 2001 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, March 15, 2012 - 12:15 am: |
connie, really ah? but i really do see improvement in I's chinese. I do not know is it JCK or his childcare or berries. But will still continue cause he is not exposed much to chinese at home. For english, heard good reviews abt ICL... so maybe let him try one term Your friend gal maybe smart? but so far in kiasu parents, the JCK reviews all says JCK prepare the kids well for lower primary |

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 2002 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, March 15, 2012 - 7:10 pm: |
btw I got 2 extra sets of scholastic leveled readers Level A, B and D. Each set consists of 15 small black and white readers to let kids read themselves. Each set is going for $10 each so if take all 3 sets will be $30 for 45 readers. ( level a, B and d) please let me know if anyone keen. Thanks |

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 2003 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, March 15, 2012 - 7:24 pm: |
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B004MTU4EC/ref=mp_s_a_11?qid=1331810142&sr=8-11 link to the readers |

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 2004 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, March 15, 2012 - 7:25 pm: |
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B004MTU4N8/ref=mp_s_a_13?qid=1331810659&sr=8-13 |

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 2008 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Friday, March 16, 2012 - 4:12 pm: |

Ellysia (ellysia)
Advanced Member Username: ellysia
Post Number: 8823 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, March 21, 2012 - 2:40 pm: |
hi long time no come in, cos i been busy with the other grp at fb & my bb gal, now coming to 7mths old. my boy dairy allergy has improved recently, now he can eat cakes and ice-cream but doc advised dun take milk first. He is learning how to read recently, been learning words also. I haven't start him on any enrichment, keep wanting to but no action. maybe cos his cc oso a lot of enrichment ored, any extra will be on weekends. |

Ellysia (ellysia)
Post Number: 8824 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, March 21, 2012 - 2:43 pm: |
regarding pv, i dunno anyone heard of it but i heard somewhere tat moe is considering to scrap away the alumni system.. but dunno how true. |

*♥Felicia♥* (feliciarosey)
Advanced Member Username: feliciarosey
Post Number: 6967 Registered: 6-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, March 21, 2012 - 3:53 pm: |
HI Ladies, i'm back here. Have been a long long time since my last post here. I was looking for some piano lesson info so peek in here to take a look. for mummy whom is aiming popular school, better check with the school for PV matter this year coz most school start accept PV registration when the kids is at 4 yrs old. Registration does not mean you'll get it. You'll have to wait for their call to confirm. But i heard that some school, if you keep calling them, they might put you on priority list for PV. Btw, can i know if you kid can write well on number and alphabet? my girl still very bad in writing and even tracing also have problem. |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3427 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, March 22, 2012 - 6:26 pm: |
Roxy, Connie, R u all continuing? S says that she wants to learn (now) so I will sign her up for one more term b4 I dec if we will progress to e next level. I am only looking at Chinese enrichment next year. Maths probably later part of this year. Super siong on the pockets! Felicia, S' writing is horrible and she's still mixing up her h and n, and also her b, d and p and q. |

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 2012 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Sunday, March 25, 2012 - 4:30 pm: |
http://www.moe.gov.sg/media/press/2012/03/seven-new-primary-schools-for-2013-and-further-differentiation-and-outreach-at-p1-registration.php P1 registration no more balloting strictly by distance .. and citizens absolute priority over PR yes!! |

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 2013 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Sunday, March 25, 2012 - 4:34 pm: |
hi Felicia !! Isaiah writing is ok.. he is starting to write simple Chinese now Zuen yes I'm continuing one more term he likes it n doesn't want to cancel Chinese enrichment try berries it's pretty good |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3428 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Monday, March 26, 2012 - 7:04 am: |
Roxy, But the Phase system will still stay, right? It is just that SGp will have more priority than prs in the same phase. I will probably continue for one more term too. Connie, u? |

*♥Felicia♥* (feliciarosey)
Advanced Member Username: feliciarosey
Post Number: 6969 Registered: 6-2007
| | Posted on Monday, March 26, 2012 - 10:20 am: |
Morning ladies! Roxy, chinese? wow, thats fast! YuJie still struggling with 1,2, 3..... Partly my fault too coz as i put more effort in teaching No.1 as she'll be attending P1 next year.

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 2015 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Monday, March 26, 2012 - 11:51 am: |
morning felicia! simple chinese characters like shou, da, xiao etc. But not taught by me. Im a lazy mother. Haha Taught by his childcare. I got a shock when he suddenly wrote those words to me. Zuen... yes the phrases are staying. Not sure is that the end of the revisions they mentioned or more are coming in May? |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3429 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Monday, March 26, 2012 - 4:21 pm: |
Roxy, S only recognizes "kou". Lol. |

Ellysia (ellysia)
Post Number: 8839 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Saturday, March 31, 2012 - 4:24 pm: |
seems like yr kid learning fast.. my boy still quite slow i tink. mainly bec the cc not teaching much i tink. but hard to change cc cos he ored so adapted to the environment. |

Clim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2259 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Monday, April 02, 2012 - 1:38 pm: |
Zuen, I totally forgotten about it. How to confirm? Yes, my boy insist he want to cont. My gal also making noise to join. Forgotten, any monday class? I need to push my hb to attend the class with my boy for a month or 2. Now he paiseh to attend. Zuen, Zac also recognise Kou. Now he can recite some si from the school. |

Clim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2260 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 7:43 am: |
Zuen, I just registered last night for Mon evening 7-8pm. |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3430 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 1:07 pm: |
Connie, I remain in e same class. Didn't see u and roxy in e class last week. We may be skipping this week. I have company event and S may not want to go with Daddy. They opened new classes? I thought the different timings are for the next level of class. I am more than happy that S wants to continue. I am just worried that I pay $$ liao, then she gives up! I asked her so many times before I finally made payment for the new term. |

Clim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2265 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 1:59 pm: |
Zuen, Sorry, the mon is the July class. Last week went to HK but didn't bring kids. Last week the abduction news was like mad so I just let me play at home. When he saw me on wed, everyday ask to go for music class. Today will be going. |

Clim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2267 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 8:39 am: |
Zuen, Roxy check with counter and not much seat left. Not sure y so fast. |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3431 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 3:39 pm: |
Connie, E next level one not many seats left? I am thinking of signing up neater the end of next term wor. I want S to be more sure before I sign her up. Monday 7pm is too early for me. I usually leave office at abt 7pm. Roxy, U also taking Monday class? |

Clim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2272 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Sunday, April 08, 2012 - 12:00 am: |
zuen, wow, u knock off so late. I can only choose mon cause after due, my hb will go wif my boy. |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3433 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Monday, April 09, 2012 - 1:28 pm: |
Connie, I work long hours.... Haiz... When is ur no. 3 due? I cannot imagine another one.. I will cry. Lol. Boy or girl? |

bonjovi (bonjovi)
Member Username: bonjovi
Post Number: 526 Registered: 4-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 10, 2012 - 9:43 am: |
Good morning, ladies . Hope this note finds all well. It has been a while since I dropped by. Sounds like all of your kiddos are very advanced. Mine can only recognise a few alphabets and numbers ( s,m, l, o, k, t, g, 1, 2, 3). For a long time, i thought he is colour blind. Only recently he surprised me with knowing all the colours. Felicia:like yujie, i am struggling to get him to write. even when he colours, it is horrid even with my very low standard. he is super hyper. can i get some ideas how u get your children to sit down and write or how u taught the alphabets? plus point is he enjoys reading alot(us reading to him) and loves books. roxy: i am keen on the books if it is still available.let me know. |

Clim (connie_lcl)
Post Number: 2275 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 10, 2012 - 1:29 pm: |
Zuen, Mid Aug but might have complication again this round. Boy. Bonjovi, If he love books, don sound hyper. Their time span will start to improve over times. My boy love books too. To reduce my damage, I bring him to the library. |

bonjovi (bonjovi)
Post Number: 532 Registered: 4-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 10, 2012 - 4:20 pm: |
clim: i think its a habit for him because we read every night since he was 4 months old (unless we are away for holidays). even his teacher feedbacked that he has short attention span. we go to the library but i also purchase quite a fair amount of books for author he likes. maybe, i will need to start to factor in writing time every night. Or force him to write/ colour even if he does not want to. I worried about his not catching up yet struggles with not wanting to kill his interest in learning. |

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 2027 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 11, 2012 - 5:13 pm: |
zuen and connie, ive reserved a slot for him under Mon class. But I am very reluctant to pay cause want to save $$ haha. Am sending him to a few lessons now. Was thinking can save some $$ by cutting yamaha. bonjovi, i try to make it into a game with him. Eg, right now he just attended his first English lesson and he has to memorise 8 sight words per week eg its grandpa, grandma, father, mother now. What I do is I lay the flashcards on the floor and try to make it a game with him and his sis (still trying to teach her ABCs now) and whoever can get all 8 words correct will get a reward from me eg chocolate/sweet. He is very enthu and every night pester me to play because of the sweet cause I do not give him sweet normally. But its been only 2 nites so far, we'll see how far his enthu lasts haha. I borrow from library too. My no2 also very little attention scan, much lesser than no1. So getting abit worried on that. |

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 2028 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 11, 2012 - 5:13 pm: |
bonjovi, can you PM me regarding the books, thanks you don't accept PM |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3435 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, April 12, 2012 - 5:02 pm: |
Bonjovi, *wave* I am trying to play games with shauna too but it all depends on her mood. Roxy, U also booked 7pm slot? |

bonjovi (bonjovi)
Post Number: 533 Registered: 4-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 13, 2012 - 11:22 am: |
Hi Roxy, i just pm u my hp number. kyler is also enthu when i lured him with sweets-skittles or min M&M.i tried it with point system. but i really dun like him to have sweet stuff b4 bedtime oh my! sight words! what english course is that? sounds "deep". hehz...ur stressing me ....haha...we just started I can read in March. zuen: *wave* yes, it all depends on mood and i have to follow his rule. *faint* music lesson: i am going for trial lesson at staccato music. kyler has v good music sense. but i am also hestitant to send him becos of cost. i cant imagine the money we will need to spend since my no.2 starting N1 next year! i may have missed the post. have anyone tried berries? |

ZuEn (zuen)
Post Number: 3436 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Saturday, April 14, 2012 - 10:00 am: |
I am thinking of signing shauna up for jelic, leading to mpm. Initially tot of cma (abacus), but read on forum that abacus concept different from how the school teaches maths and it is as good as not learning if the kid subsequently stops and forgot about the abacus rule. There is a branch in pioneer mall. Anybody tried mpm or done research on maths enrichment? Roxy, I am trying to teach Shauna sight words top but not progressing leh. She is not remembering. I hope she will one day surprise me and read out those sight words that I am introducing. |

roxy (daffyz)
Post Number: 2029 Registered: 10-2009
| | Posted on Saturday, April 14, 2012 - 4:34 pm: |
bonjovi both no1 n 2 are with berries 1 term now. And it's good I see Isaiah Chinese improving alot. He can converse to me in Chinese now n sometimes I hear him sing Chinese nursery rhymes which he tells me taught by berries. Simple sentences like 我的玩具车 he can read cause taught to him by berries. I tried ICR last dec wasn't very impressed by them n withdraw him. I'm with Icreativelearners now Zuen yes n I haven't pay yet hee think no more slot le. I only try first week sight words teach him le I think I neglect Chinese. Being a parent is really not easy haiz what centre is dat? I Also thot sign up cma but have same concerns as u |