SingaporeMotherhood.com * Year 2012 Mums * (2012/08) Aug 2012 * Archive * Archive through April 05, 2012 < Previous Next >

Ayukie (ayukie)
Advanced Member
Username: ayukie

Post Number: 5814
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 2:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

yeah took leave for another day after my detailed scan .. anyway am feeling v tired and down as well ..

Jen (jengcc)
Username: jengcc

Post Number: 615
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 2:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

help~~
eye closing

AG (ag_gal)
Username: ag_gal

Post Number: 675
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 2:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i just took chicken essence cos my eyes cannot open since morning. having a bad headache, super tired.
powerwee, stay positive and call your hb or frens to chat. just rest more.

JC (thebagloft)
Username: thebagloft

Post Number: 417
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 3:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Clim> think u better check with the agent how long does it take the policy to be effective.

I got mine from GE and that policy actually need 10 months to take effect. So if you are thinking to get it for your current pregnancy, and touchwood it will not be covered. so better check out more details before buying.

QQ (dragonmum)
Username: dragonmum

Post Number: 349
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 3:12 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Powerwee, Ayukie, take care n rest well...

Just to share, highly recommended Vanish.. Today, washed white/light colour hand me downs clothes, all stains removed!! N clothes very new n clean. Initially got some yellow stains here n there. But need to double wash, coz think that vanish is too strong for bb skin.

Ling (pringles_09)
Username: pringles_09

Post Number: 123
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 3:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ayukie and Powerwee, pls take care and rest more. The mind is very powerful so keep a relaxed mind so it will not affect baby and wont aggravate anything further! i am sure things will turn out just fine - HUGS.

i was also looking at the AXA plan, this plan is ok to take up when pregnant, it will cover your current pregnancy and can be moved over to the baby once you deliver. i hadnt got the chance to speak to an agent but should do so soon!

Pink Coral (pink_coral)
Username: pink_coral

Post Number: 4
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 3:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Mummies/Mummies to be,

I just delivered in Jan and have stopped breastfeeding in Feb (less than a month). I am selling the below items for $350.All items are in good condition.If you are interested, do PM me. Wishing all a smooth delivery! Take good care =)

Ameda lactaline dual breast pump (Original Price $399)
Autumnz Breastmilk Storage Bottles- half are unused (Cost $18.90)
Pigeon Natural-Fit Silicone Nipple Shield- New (Est. Cost: $10.00)
Pumpin Pal Angled Premium Breast Pumping Flanges (Cost : $36.00)
Ameda Freezer Bags (Comes with breast pump)

JC (thebagloft)

Post Number: 418
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 5:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

QQ> then the 2nd time use baby detergent to wash? Will it be ok for the baby's skin?

BBL (mummy82)
Username: mummy82

Post Number: 2925
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 5:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

JC
soak in water for a while lo..
no problem one la..
rem to sun well..

QQ (dragonmum)

Post Number: 350
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 5:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

JC, first wash, I used washing detergent + vanish + hot water setting. 2nd wash, as still got 2 pcs with stains, I rewash again, repeating 1st wash. 3rd n 4th wash, I juz use hot water setting w/o detergent. 5th wash, plan to wash with baby detergent + softhener at date nearer to delivery.

First time mama.. Do as I felt should be alright. Pai seh if steps a bit too much. If got someone helping u, i think do hand wash or brushing after soak with hot water should be more effective.

MummyR (mummyr)
Username: mummyr

Post Number: 430
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 5:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Joanne,
i use peeka.sg

Powerwee,
take care

nahnah,
go H&M and uniqolo in HK? can get maternity as well as baby clothes? have fun shopping!

nahnah (sc_nah)
Username: sc_nah

Post Number: 129
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 5:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ok mummyR .. will go see .. haha .. already bought alot baby clothes .. so maybe just see see and pray that i can resist ... haha ..
:-)

JC (thebagloft)

Post Number: 419
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 6:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Bbl> my place can't sun..
QQ> looks complicated. Haha I see what I can do. My house wm dun have hot water settings.. Maybe I will wash it a few times. Some really very yellow dunno can salvage or not

Hazel Nutty (hazel_nutty)
Username: hazel_nutty

Post Number: 167
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 7:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Powerwee & ayukie, do take care and rest well. Powerwee try ask ur in law or relative to accompany u during this period of time. As being alone at home might not be a good idea.

Post Number: 168
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 7:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I also very tired nowsday at work. Today once again, work till my tummy pain again & headache too.

Clim (connie_lcl)
Username: connie_lcl

Post Number: 2266
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 7:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

JC,

What do you mean by effective? What else should I ask her?

starfantasy (starfantasy84)
Username: starfantasy84

Post Number: 193
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 8:30 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Powerwee, ayukie: take care and like other mummies say, try ur best to relax!

QQ: vanish is a very good product. I have been usinh it years ago with my normal landuary.

The axa insurance i cannot see the benefits.. Think it's the iphone. Shall go home use comp to see

QQ (dragonmum)

Post Number: 351
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 8:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Starfantasy, ya.. Vanish is great. Did use before with normal laundry but this is the first time really see how effective it is with bb cotton clothes.

JC, may be soak with hot water n vanish first before transfer to wm? I think hot water is useful to get those stubborn stains loosen.. My wm autoset at 90c for stubborn stain wash. Luckily I didn't throw away thoses clothes, or else wasted. Coz, really really clean n look new.. Amazed...

JC (thebagloft)

Post Number: 420
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 8:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Clim > that is to say let say I bot my insurance last July.. So the policy effective date for my pregnancy coverage is may this year. Anything happen from then till this may, I am not covered. I will only be covered after may. So if axa is effective 30 days from the day u buy it then is ok. But usually coverage for pregnancy stuffs usually need 10 months to be effective. That's what I know but not sure about axa so better ask properly.

JC (thebagloft)

Post Number: 421
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 8:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

QQ I will try hehe thanks!!

JC (thebagloft)

Post Number: 422
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 8:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Oh another thing to ask what is covered n cover how much. In the event touch wood la pregnancy complications or baby need to stay nicu due to premature how much covered. Agents should explain these in details.

Post Number: 194
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 1:38 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I look at the axa insurance, din say how much is the premium so hard to decide to the coverage worth it. Anyone know? The coverage is not very high and most of the expenses frm the illness (touch wood) are gg to cost more than the payout.

BBL (mummy82)

Post Number: 2926
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 6:57 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

From what I know all these insurance covers the mummy when she is preg. N when bb is out the insurance coverage is passed on to bb n mummy nO longer get the cOverage. The one that I read is from prudential. In case bb died. U get paid 5k only. N the premium is 100 a mth for bb. N mummy got to pay a lump sum of 300 on top of the monthly 100. I find it ridiculous Lo 5k for a life. That's too low. And I see the illness they covered also not comprehensive so I didn't take. Might as well get a proper one when bb is out.
Rem to get hospitalization n accident policy for yr bb. Life one can wait. These two must buy first.

Happy (whitsunhappy)
Username: whitsunhappy

Post Number: 539
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 8:25 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I just bot from Prudential. The $100 per month. After the kid is born, it will be converted to the baby insurance savings accounts. Bot becos it can cover me and also when kid is born, it cover the kid.

Agree hospital and accident plan must buy immediately when baby is out.

Want to find out abt cord life bank... Any 2nd time
Mommies wanna share?

Ohhh my detail scan show baby weight is 334g... Lol what the ideal weight?

QQ (dragonmum)

Post Number: 352
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 8:28 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Bbl, yup, agreed. We'll be getting hospitalization n accident policy for bb. Considering either GE or Prudential.

Nahnah, enjoy your hk trip! Can go for makan trip in hk.. Missed hk desserts..

Clim (connie_lcl)

Post Number: 2269
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 8:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

JC,
What I know is cover mommy n bb, might be 30 days not 10 mths. No point we get policy that cover 10mths later, bb already out. The policy directly cover bb once out cos normal case, bb need to be over a few mths before we can get insurrance for them. We need to declare bb health condition too. Paid out for still life is 5k & 10k depend on the package you take. Not sure on premium but I can ask my agent,

For past 2 birth, i do have complication and I change gynae to avoid but now placenta is v low so gynae comment have to csec if it still refuse to move up. Now I still have to cont with the Utrogestan pill and I hate the idea of Csec.

Post Number: 195
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 9:16 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Happy: u intend to donate or store privately? If u intend to donate, can go to singapore public cord bank website to read up, the info very comprehensive.

Rging insurance, think the premium for axa should not differ too much frm predential, so a 100 a month for 3 yrs i think not worth it cos the payout only 5k for illness or death.

meishan (meishan)
Username: meishan

Post Number: 211
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 9:29 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

powerwee> I also had spotting in second trimester (twice). I was very surprised, because I did not do anything and then see two drops of red blood. Baby is ok and doc say is cervical ectropian which is apparently common for pregnant mummies. Rest more and take care.

Regarding insurance, the prudential and AXA ones cover congenital disease i believe. In case baby has some pre existing condition, these will not be covered by an insurance after birth. I have not decided whether to buy it though.

J~A (jmmabb)
Username: jmmabb

Post Number: 473
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 10:02 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Happy,
My #1 is with Cordlife, shd be same for #2. Not sure if got sibling discount, havent find out info.

Cordlife got some accrediation, Stemcord got 2 storage locations, think this is the main difference if didnt remember wrongly.

AG (ag_gal)

Post Number: 676
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 10:09 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

morning, i am wfh today cos dunno why I am so tired since yday. slept from 1030pm-8am this morning still very tired. I started having cramps, last nite was the 2nd time this week. so painful and still hurts now.

JC (thebagloft)

Post Number: 424
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 10:18 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Clim > GE one is 10 months and cover baby till 2 years old and that is why the agent advise me to take it when i plan to have small kids soon.

I mean that is GE la. I dunno about AXA. If it is 30 days then it is good. To GE it doesnt make sense to them to be selling the policy when already pregnant. that is GE. I dunno about others and thats what I know hence I share ya.

So dun get the GE one that is my advice.

Just make sure to know when is the effective date so that we do not have disputes. Some policies are not that clear till the buyer ask.

powerwee (powerwee)
Username: powerwee

Post Number: 65
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 10:22 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

thank you for all the encouragement. i will be as optimistic as possible. We are halfway thru so we all got to jiayou for the next 4 months. Jiayou mummies!

hb flying back in an hour time. will try not to get emotional when i see him. haha....

Regarding insurance, actually i got no intention. But for my case now, i think it might help as it covers premature birth. But gonna find out the payout. Must see if worth it or not.

Jen (jengcc)

Post Number: 616
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 10:35 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Insurance:
i got the woman policy from GE, covers me for women illness (breast cancer/ cervial cancer etc) and also cover my preg in event of complications but is for me not bb.

for bb policy, i got hospitalization/ accident and life from GE also which can be effected 15days from birth.
so if u intend to get for bb, can plan and get ur agent to get ready. once bb reach 15days old can sign and effect.
for my #1, cannot remember is hospitalization or accident policy also covers dengue fever, HFMD etc if needs to b warded.
but i am paranoid so i got the highest hospitalization policy for my #1 tat enables her to go to private hospital and stay in A1 ward cos i understand govt hospital like KKH need to Q for appointment (mths of waiting)so better save then sorry

Post Number: 196
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 10:46 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jen: Not to mention that usually the service for govt hospital sucks. I saw quite a few horror reviews of KKH...

JC (thebagloft)

Post Number: 425
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 11:05 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hospital bills really kills..

Post Number: 197
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 11:16 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

JC: Ya, that's what in SG there's always a saying that you can die but cannot be sick...

JC (thebagloft)

Post Number: 426
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 11:31 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My col's son premature by 6 weeks so end up got to stay in the incubator for a week. she din know at that time that the NICU charges is tag along with her ward as in single room, double bedded etc. so she chose single room.. after deducting CPF, she still got to fork out around 9K for the baby's 1 week's stay. Baby bonus also can not cover. simply dun understand government why cant just deduct full from CPF if there is money in there.. still far from 65 lor. as if we wanna be in hospital.

spicyspicy (spicyspicy)
Username: spicyspicy

Post Number: 12
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 11:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi mummies, juz saw tat u all r discussin abt insurance plans, if u all need 2nd opinion, can pm mi as i'm in financial line as well.. Bt juz wan to clarify tat i'm at this forum is coz i'm pregnant, am here readin for advises, nt to pull biz.. :-)

jljz (jljz)
Username: jljz

Post Number: 404
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 12:12 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sighhh... today not much movement from the girl again!!!

Clim (connie_lcl)

Post Number: 2270
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 1:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

JC,
GE consider pregant as high risk. I have a policy pending with them not approved cause I'm pregnant now and failed 2 tests.

Wow, the hospital bill is horrible.

Hospital bill
Anyone make comparision between hospital charges? My gynae told me Mount E n TMc diff by $600. Should I choose Mount E then I have to get prepared. Not sure $600 refer to overall or not.

If want to opt for birth control in future cannot choose Mount A.

JC (thebagloft)

Post Number: 427
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 1:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ya hospital bill horrible. so she told me if it is complicated and insurance cant cover, be sure take the cheapest ward possible so that if baby touch wood needs to stay in incubator, the fees will be not that high. i think liao i sweat.

9K a bit horrible. imagine with the subsidy in actual the bill is 11K lor. zzz

J~A (jmmabb)

Post Number: 474
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 2:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

clim,
u delivering in mt e? my gynae delivers in mt a & mt e, still deciding. think tmc & mt a charges similar ?

Jen (jengcc)

Post Number: 617
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 2:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

clim, JA,
i b delivering in Mt E, if u want the hospitalization cost i can send to u.
they jus up the charges again *sigh*
but no choice my gynae only deliver in Mt E

Post Number: 198
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 2:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ya, every expense in the hospital is tag to the ward one is staying, even doctor's fee and sugery fee (which does not make sense to me because does it mean if I stay in subsidised ward, the surgery performed would be substandard?!)

Clim: I don't think the $600 is the overall cos misc expenses also differ by hospital.

JA: charges are similiar but heard more good reviews about mt a, especially their food..haha

nahnah (sc_nah)

Post Number: 130
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 2:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i also delivering in mount e ... haiz ... having baby in sg really ex ...

AG (ag_gal)

Post Number: 677
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 2:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I think Mt E is the most exp of all. if baby needs to stay longer, it is based on the type of ward we mummy has choosen, so single bedded will definitely be more exp. I am at gleneagles, they also increased their price since my last delivery so this round I am taking 2 bedded, else will be really broke.

btw I read some of you buying home clothes for baby. there are shops at bugis and chinatown that sells bulk home clothes for newborn. I cant recall the address, need to go find out. I know that is very cheap.

meistar (meistar)
Username: meistar

Post Number: 7
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 3:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Anyone heard of placenta pill? I was thinking of getting someone to process it for me but apparently only 1 of my friend done it. BUt she got someone freelance to do it for her... i'm still thinking if i should do it.

nahnah (sc_nah)

Post Number: 131
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 3:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

haiz .. feeling quite bimbo nw ...
Bought a cute mitten and booties at pasar malam yesterday .. feeling so happy about it cos very rare to find pretty one nowadays .. mostly is plain ma ..
hubby see liao is just say hw safe is the mitten .. say duno what dye chemcial they use .. somemore baby is put in mouth one ... haiz .. i stunned lo .. haiz ... feel so bimbo ..

BBL (mummy82)

Post Number: 2930
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 3:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

nahnah
hahah all clothes are dyed colour ma..where got coloured clothes one..

meistar.
i haeard of and i know who can process..was gonna do it for my no 1 but gave up as gyane discouraged,

Jen (jengcc)

Post Number: 618
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 3:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

meistar,
i saw ppl do it but jus cannot think of consuming it :p

AG,
the shop is located at lvl 1 of the shop houses facing temple. from market cross over shd b 1st shop right at the corner.

nahnah,
ur hb think too much lah.

nahnah (sc_nah)

Post Number: 132
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 3:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

he very paranoid ba .. cos we in the textile industry also .. so worry about poison dye .. but then again .. how could i have forgotten this .. haiz ..

J~A (jmmabb)

Post Number: 475
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 3:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jen,
can pm me, thanks :-) going for hospital tour this sat after the gynae visit

starfantasy,
mt a & tmc ??

bugis baby clothes shop is opp guan yin temple and the hawker centre. blk 269A

AG (ag_gal)

Post Number: 678
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 3:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

nahnah, but white color ones also being dyed rite, else wont be so white? how to avoid unless we buy organic ones...hee then will be so exp.

nahnah (sc_nah)

Post Number: 133
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 3:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

white is usually the natural colour of the fabric .. so they will use minimum chemical .. but alot of colour dye in china is nt exactly good for human skin .. so thats why someof us get more sensitive skin over a while ..

Organic of cos is good la .. but nt pretty ..
maybe shoudl really makemyself ahahaha

Tiggeroo (tiggeroo)
Username: tiggeroo

Post Number: 23
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 3:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

clim, J~A, Jen, nahnah

Have you all sign up for the Mt E prenatal class? I called and they said I should join the June classes.

urchin (urchin)
Username: urchin

Post Number: 139
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 3:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I was looking at prudential for the insurance too. Covered for 5k only. N need to pay lumpsum of 300. Then the 100 mthly is actually an investment link acct. Only gd thing is it will cover bb including pre existing conditions. Cos if buy aft bb born then they will exclude all congenental illness etc. Actually i m only int in the pregnancy complications but payout only 5k lah. But then must tie up with the investment link that's y we r still considering. This plan is esp for pregnancy so can only buy aft 18 wks pregnant n if aft more test got any prob they prob wont approve ur plan. So the agent say better buy earlier before the tests show any abnormalities.

Post Number: 199
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 3:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

JA: yup, between mount a and tmc

nahnah: actually it's a good thing that your hubby thought of it cos there are actually cases of coloring high in lead used in the children toys from china factories some time back. So I think for clothes may apply too. Since mittens bb will put in mouth like toys, better to be safe.

meistar: heard of it but no scientific proof that it will really help in anything. Animal mothers in the wild eat it because food is limited and it provide nourishment for the mother, also for them to cover their tracks. Since human mothers have a lot more choices on nourishments, it may not be necessary.

AG: I don't know how cheap is cheap, but at one of the shop near my house, a plain home wear newborn top or bottom selling for SGD1.90. White colors are being bleached. Natural cotton color is actually yellowish, like those organic ones.

Jen (jengcc)

Post Number: 619
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 3:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Tiggeroo,
i not signing for antenatal, is my #2.
During #1, i attend TMC antenatal class.

Post Number: 200
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 3:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

urchin: That maturity of the insurance is when? Since the 100 mthly is investment link acct, does not mean the principle is not guranteed upon maturity?

meistar (meistar)

Post Number: 8
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 3:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ya... i realised it's not very popular... still thinking of it leh...

tmr i'm going for detailed scan - FINALLY!

BBL (mummy82)

Post Number: 2931
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 3:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hmmm just get a agent to enquiry lo..
i think gloomybear is an insurance agent..can ask her..but she is seldom online..nvm i go pm her ask her to share.

J~A (jmmabb)

Post Number: 476
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 4:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

meistar,
heard of this service but not much pple ard me did it, seems ok cos will be made to pill, just swallow, cant taste..i will ask my hb his opinion. thanks for reminding !

tiggeroo,
not going to class too as expecting #2. tmc class by wong bb has v gd reviews.

J~A (jmmabb)

Post Number: 477
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 4:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

meistar,
just ask my hb and he say not proven and is against.

http://www.inthewomb.biz/service.html

http://www.asiaone.com/Health/Women%2527s%2BMatters/Story/A1Story20080825-84190.html

http://my-placenta.blogspot.com/

nahnah (sc_nah)

Post Number: 134
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 4:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Tiggeroo ,
i signed up with tmc for mrs wong lesson .. starting in april

AG (ag_gal)

Post Number: 679
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 4:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

starfantasy, $1.90 is cheap rite? hee I also dunno. nahnah how to find out where the fabric came from..any ways?

nahnah (sc_nah)

Post Number: 135
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 4:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

OMG .. i just saw the step by step prep in the my placenta blogspot .. i nearly puke put the water i was drinking ..
pardon my ignorance.. really din expect placenta to look like that ...

nahnah (sc_nah)

Post Number: 136
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 4:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

AG ,
there is no way . you can find out the country of origin , but there is no way you know what dye they use as every factory might ahere to difference standard. You can send it for testing but that means lots of $$ for every piece of item ...
To make it safer for us , its reccomended to wash before wearing ..
For most reputable brand or licensess such as disney , strict guidelines the factory have to ahere to cos children safety is big in other country .. so its rather safe to buy bigger brands i would say if budget allows .

Jen (jengcc)

Post Number: 620
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 4:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

nahnah,
tats y after i c my own placenta after delivery, i cannot imagine myself consuming it.

Happy (whitsunhappy)

Post Number: 540
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 4:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks mommmies on the cord blood bank. Haven decide to use it for saving or donate. See how lar.

Then i also signed up with TMC Wong BB classes. Starting in June. Easier for me too since so busy.

Look like alot of mixed review on getting the insurance. Thought most mommies will jump at it. I thought it was a pretty good plan to cover myself from week 18 onwards and also bb and of course i pray bb and i are healthy. I only can see the returns of the insurance when the BB turned 2 i think but oh well, aren't all insurance like this? haha.

Post Number: 201
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 5:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

AG: To me it's cheap but I admit that I'm vain, so I want to look for pretty ones (those with some designs) What I get from taobao is like additional $1+ more but with very cute design and the clothes are exported to japan one. These nicer clothes I intend to let bb wear when going out. Locally bought ones wear at home lor. Hehe

nahnah: I think no need for every item to buy the more pricey ones, keep to those that bb will put to mouth ones like mittens, hankies, toys buy more reputable ones can le ba...

Happy: I wanted to buy insurance but those out in the market so far doesn't seem worth it based on the premium that one needs to pay with the coverage.

AG (ag_gal)

Post Number: 680
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 5:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

actually now bigger brands also made in china, wonder how's the quality. I guess the lesser we know, the better it is. even like kids food or vege, I always try not to buy from china products. I always wash all my new clothes before wearing cos cannot imagine how many ppl handle the cloth, sew, packing etc.
for placenta rite, I also cant imagine plus if we get ppl to process for us, we will not be sure about their hygience too.
I stored my #1 cord blood with cord life. now still thinking if i should spend this $$. anyont not storing, why? haha trying to convince myself not to store :p

wu py (cottagehut)
Username: cottagehut

Post Number: 5
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 5:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Anyone interested to take Organic Pregnancy Tea? I bought too many boxes and plan to sell 3boxes. Each box contains 16wrapped tea bags. Per box selling at S$12.
Can check the information from this website
http://www.traditionalmedicinals.com/PregnancyTea

Interested pls email me at cottagehut@gmail.com

AG (ag_gal)

Post Number: 681
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 5:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

starfantasy me too. over the weekend i ordered few pieces from oldnavy cos they having easter sale. these are for going out ones. I will just buy those white ones for homewear. I just couldnt resist buying gals stuff now...finally can see gals clothings :p

urchin (urchin)

Post Number: 140
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 5:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

The insurance is investment link so no maturity actually, life plan lor. U can stop it anytime if u dun want it but how much money u get back depends on the returns on investment which i believe need at least 10-20 yrs then can see substantial amt. Then i think for accident n hospitalisation are riders added to the main policy. So might end up having to pay more to cover. My hubby prefers term insurance for coverage so dunno whether to take up. Cos we want it mainly for the complications part but 5k also not a lot if really need hospitalisation.

Happy (whitsunhappy)

Post Number: 541
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 5:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi starfantasy, i see :-)

Oh erm may i know who is the creator of FB? I am ready to join hehehe... Pls let me know so i can go add in the group or i must supply my email?

Happy (whitsunhappy)

Post Number: 542
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 5:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Oh Mommies... i am going to join pre-natal yoga classes by Inspire Mom. http://www.inspiremumbaby.com/inspiremumdetails.asp?no=1

Need to work out liao.. so i can have a easy birth! :-)

BBL (mummy82)

Post Number: 2932
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 5:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

AG
me not storing ..#1 nv store..this one also not storing..
actually store one is enff..cos they are slibing can share

urchin (urchin)

Post Number: 141
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 5:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I haven't bought any clothings for bb at all thou i have been looking. No idea wat size to buy n how many. Haha. N mayb mine is boy the clothes dun look v nice leh.
I m also gg for mrs wong class starting april at amk hub.
N i m not storing cordblood privately. Will donate instead. AG y not storing cos i think shd put in public bank for more ppl to use instead of spending money n keeping it n hoping it wont b used. Cos more donation then easier for those who need it to find match.

gloomybear (gloomybear)
Username: gloomybear

Post Number: 1365
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 6:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Mummies... BBL PM-ed me to explain about the pregnancy insurance to you girls.
I'm from AXA, so I'm gonna touch on AXA's Mum's Advantage.

in summary:

Mum's advantage comes in 2 products. MumCare (Plus) and INSPIRED FlexiProtector / FlexiSaver

MumCare/MumCare Plus is a 3-year / 6-year single premium term plan that offers coverage for an expectant mother against death and pregnancy complications. it also provides hospital care benefit should the expectant mother gets admitted to hospital due to child birth complications. the coverage also extends to the child for congenital illnesses benefit and hospital care benefit for the child.

INSPIRE is a whole life, regular premium investment-linked plan which allows the flexibility to choose your own insurance cover and premium amount to meet your personal needs.

Under Mum’s Advantage/Mum’s Advantage Plus, the Mother can opt to transfer INSPIRE flexi2 to the life of the child at any time after the child is born*, i.e. life assured becomes the child instead of the mother but the ownership of the INSPIRE flexi2 remains with the mother provided the INSPIRE flexi2 has not lapsed or been terminated at the time of notification to axa life of the transfer.

The coverage:

Death benefit for mother expire 30days after delivery.
Pregnancy complications benefit expire upon birth of child.
Hospital care benefit for mother expires 30 days from birth of child.

New
*Gynaecology report is waived for eligiblae nationalities
* available to ladies whose pregnancies are conceived through artificial inseminations

Cost for an average 30yo mummy to be:
For Mum'Care: it's a lump sum of $315
For MumCare Plus, it's $595

For the whole life plan, minimum is $1200/year.

Pls feel to chk with me for details. :-)

gloomybear (gloomybear)

Post Number: 1366
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 6:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

For Hospital plans, I recommend AVIVA. They have the best coverage (and I can sell them too). I have AVIVA way before i became an insurance agent and they are the greatest.
And also, if both parents are covered under aviva, the kids are covered for free (on plan 2) up to 20years old!! (up to 4 kids).
Therefore, Aviva is a very popular choice for parents with kids. imagine u have 3 kids! how much can u save!!

Aviva hospitalisation plan (MyShield) is payable via Medisave.

This is a link from MOH on available hospital plans. Please do not go and buy those that you need to pay by cash. It's no necessary.

http://www.moh.gov.sg/content/dam/moh_web/Healthcare_Financing/Medishield/Comparison_of_MediShield_and_Private_Integrated_Plans/Comparison%20of%20IPs%20wef%2030%20Jan%202012%20Table%204.pdf

Coverage for aviva is listed on it's application form here:
http://www.aviva.com.sg/pdf/applicationforms/MyShield_MyShield_Plus_Application_Form.pdf

Mrs Gui (babygui)
Username: babygui

Post Number: 110
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 6:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I have some brand new BUMWEAR prefolds for sale.

5 Premium white prefolds
5 Newborn unbleached prefolds
2 Snappies

Bumwear Prefolds
Willing to sell them in a bundle @ $35 (including postage).

And a preloved post natal binder selling for $25 (used less than 5 times, 85% condition) It is a free size 3-piece velcro binder.
Binder

If you are interested in any of the items above, please pm or email me at jiun_u80@yahoo.com

meistar (meistar)

Post Number: 9
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 6:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

J~A

Thanks for the information...

AG (ag_gal)

Post Number: 682
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 6:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

gloomybear, for aviva hospitalization, do I have to contact my agent before I deliver or after I deliver? I also have it and my #1 is being covered.

hey ladies, I started getting leg cramps this week. twice this week liao. yday I went to the toilet and when I stood up, my legs got numb and had stars feeling...gosh this is definitely too early, cant imagine another 5 months.

Post Number: 169
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 7:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi all, back from work. Having headache the whole day. Just heard from one of my colleague that one of the manager commend to her that I so good life knock off on the dot and said I own her things that has not been done for more than 6 months. So upset. I was only a contract staff and I dun c anything wrong going home on the dot. She is not my direct superior and the task she ask me to help out is her job and only pass to me end of feb this year,where got more than 6 months. some more she already have one buyer under her, dun understand y she dun ask her to do and insist I have to do it &$@!?

Dun understand she is a mother of one not long ago, yet she still make such a commend.

If not for the $$$ that I plan for my bb, I won't bother to stay and work.

Insurance, I think my hb planning to get from aviva but I not so sure abt the details yet. Will update once I have the details.

NB clothes, I not sure need to buy a lot or not as I was told not to buy now since we still dunno bb size till they are born but was very temp to start shopping. But scare over buy. Anyone can advice set how many pcs will be enough?

Post Number: 202
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 7:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

AG: yup yup, ger ger clothes all so cute! I got read up a bit on the cord blood, and recently there's an newspaper article on it. All i can say is take those private cordbank sales talk like a pinch of salt, they leave out a lot of crucial facts. First the figures of usage is not as high as it stated cos the chance of using is very low (since what u pay is store until 18/21 yrs, if want store longer pay more). 2nd and most impt is that if child really kenna sick, it means the dna in the cord blood is already faulty to begin with, using the same stem cells only prove to cure the surface, the illness still have chance of recurring. 3rd is once the cord blood can only be used once (once defrost cannot freeze the remaining even if unused)! So u r paying a lot load of money for 1 time usage. IMO, the best option is to donate to public cord bank cos 1st it might help someone who needs it more urgently, 2nd if everyone donate, the chances of finding a match is much higher. In fact, in some countries (like france n another one i forget), they totally ban private cord blood banking.

gloomybear (gloomybear)

Post Number: 1367
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 7:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi AG, after you deliver. will need the baby's birthcerts etc...

Post Number: 203
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 7:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Urchin: oh the. I already have investment link plans already so think will skip that.

Urchin, hazel: bb needs to be changed at least twice daily, if the clothes get wet from milk, change even more times. If bb clothes are washed once every 2 days then est ard 10 pcs (0-3 months or 0-6 months, not including those for going out) should be more than enough. For tops, buy those that button in front or tie in front (like those kimono style) cos the are much easier to wear for newborns. The later is more preferred due to the way it is tied, can accomodate as bb grow bigger. Buy more tops than bottoms cos bb will wear diapers and usually it is suffcient to use a cloth diaper to swaddle the bottom. Mittens are usually standard sizes, so can get ard 10 pairs too, change the moment it gets wet.

gloomybear (gloomybear)

Post Number: 1368
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 7:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Aviva MyShield: Minimum entry age is 15 days old or the date of discharge from hospital after birth, whichever is later.

Post Number: 204
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 7:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Happy: i go the one at tanglin.. Want to go swimming soon when i get my hands on preggy swimsuit.. :p

Post Number: 170
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 8:03 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Starfantasy, so can I said we need at least 10 pcs from 0-3 mths and 10 pcs from 3-6mths?

Which mean I still need to buy more clothes. And not to include outdoor wear.

Wow raising bb really costly... Ha ha.....

Post Number: 205
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 10:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hazel: Get at least 10 pcs for newborn first, some pieces bb may be able to wear beyond 3 months (esp if those are from 0-6 months). The rest you buy depending on the demand ba, each bb is different. These 10 pcs are for home wear and if you don't mind can get those really plain ones which are cheap.

Miko (mikomilo)
Username: mikomilo

Post Number: 35
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 11:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Any insurance covers premature births that require stay in icu?

I also having cramps... But dr say most likely gas pains. If the pain is on the left at the lower abdomen, it is probably gastrointestinal. When pregnant our tummy cannot digest so well so there is more gas. May not feel the gas but because it is trapped, it is painful. After a burp or fart it feels better!

urchin (urchin)

Post Number: 142
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 11:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I also got leg cramps when I m sleeping liao.. dunno is cos of leg cramp then I woke up or I woke up already then go n stretch the leg too fast or what then cramp.. but these few days din get leg cramps cos I put a pillow below my feet when sleeping.. really seems to work v well...

by the way, mittens need to wear for how long? I remember the mittens always fall out from the little hands... my sister have some clothes that include a flap for the hands, so dun need mittens n can still keep the bb's hand inside.. should be quite good, at least won't keep falling out.. haha..

princessxiaomei (princessxiaomei)
Username: princessxiaomei

Post Number: 2095
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 11:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Woah now topic on insurance le :-) I didn't buy any for pregnancy de.. Is there really a need? ;) I've been feeling so tired handling my #1 yet feeling good to spend time w him playing his toys... Legs so numb.. I'm abt 18 wks but still can't feel v v obvious for baby movements... I guess maybe my skin too thick la.. Hahaha.. N baby lazy?!?! Lol..

I saw some of u mentioning abt vanish. I thot of trying to use tt to remove those yellowish stains for old clothes.. How do we actually really use vanish? Is it pour vanish n normal detergent?? Then just wash like that?? Paiseh ah cos I nv use before so like abit swaku. Hahaha..

Post Number: 206
Posted on Thursday, April 05, 2012 - 12:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Gas I had it more during early pregnancy, now dunno is got used to it or really become lesser le.

Leg cramps wise not so often but my back is killing me especially when I wake up in the middle of the night to go toilet. Now cannot do massage so just have to bear it. Haiz

urchin: mittens should wear all the time cos nvr know when bb like to rub hands on the face then the fingers and/or nails will scratch the face. Those clothes are most likely long sleeves one right? I don't sleep in aircon so wearing long sleeves all day might be too hot for bb.

princessxiaomei: You can soak the clothes with vanish for a while then wash normally.

gloomybear (gloomybear)

Post Number: 1372
Posted on Thursday, April 05, 2012 - 1:05 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Miko, the hospital care benefit will cover the ICU cost. $100/$200/ day up to 25 days.

yanlin (yanlin)
Username: yanlin

Post Number: 532
Posted on Thursday, April 05, 2012 - 7:18 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My gynae asked me to lift up my leg after I reach home. It helps to prevents cramps too n improve blood to baby.
Hmm... Have not experience cramps on legs yet.. Lie on bed after home is really big help in this.

Joanne (joanne03)
Username: joanne03

Post Number: 3365
Posted on Thursday, April 05, 2012 - 7:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi gloomybear
This insurance doesnt cover for twins right? Thk u..

Hi Star n Mrs C
Thks for ur advise on forwarder use.. Seems very chim to me but i can understand chinese well.. See whether i can hv the time to analyse how to do it.. Hee..

Finally confirm a maid last night n she will be here end of next week.. Abit ahead of my schedule as i plan of May but since i feel heavy now so is gd tt the maid can come in early n i can still train her..;) but nothing prepare for her yet so still stress tt she comes in so fast... Hv to prepare her roaster first.. Hope i can get a gd maid..

Those who already hv maid, will u asks her wakeup at same timing on wkend too? As i worry she makes lots of noise n we cant sleep late..Hhee.. So u will keep her pay for 3mths or pay her monthly? Hmm..

TGIT... Happy holiday tomorow..;)

AG (ag_gal)

Post Number: 683
Posted on Thursday, April 05, 2012 - 8:14 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

morning...my calf still hurts from Tue nite cramp...last nite couldnt sleep cos could feel it and bb kicking so hard. not sure why my leg cramp is so bad.

joanne, its better to set a time for her to wake up cos not every maid will be so auto. I'd recommend that you set the same timing as how you want ur maid to wake up next time (after bb is born) else they will get used to it and dificult to change later. for my maid, bcos she has been with me long enough so i dont need to specify so much and she is a early riser anyway. but my previous maids before can sleep till 7am+ and everyone is awake except her...then the floor still not sweep and mop since the nite before and she will mop when everyone is awake which may not be what you want.

princessxiaomei (princessxiaomei)
Username: princessxiaomei

Post Number: 2098
Posted on Thursday, April 05, 2012 - 8:28 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Morning! :-)

*starfantasy* - Oh so I can just soak all the stained clothes w vanish in a pail then ltr on wash as per normal???? :-) keke I gonna get vanish soon! My #1 eat v messy and often stain all his clothes... Can try w his clothes too! Hahaha thanks.

So tired.. Slept late last night n woke up 4+ till now... Heartburn all e way.. Feeling so uncomfy! :-( tt time I only had heartburn in 1st & late 3rd trim. Now frm 1st till date... So xinku.

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use