SingaporeMotherhood.com * Year 2012 Mums * Dr Chan Kong Hon < Previous Next >

kv (kv83)
Username: kv83

Post Number: 2
Posted on Saturday, October 29, 2011 - 9:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi all, I am thinking of engaging Dr Chan KH since my previous doctor, Dr Tan Han Yang, is going to retire. This is my 2nd pregnancy and I am going to opt for c-sect, thus I am looking for some feedback on Dr Chan before deciding. I have seen a doctor, and he says I am around 16weeks pregnant now. Dr Chan KH name was given to me by one of the nurses at Dr Tan's clinic, but I am not sure if his stitching skills are as good as Dr Tan.

Please provide some advice if you have used Dr Chan before. Thank you. :-)

bubbliciouslee (bubbliciouslee)
Username: bubbliciouslee

Post Number: 248
Posted on Saturday, October 29, 2011 - 10:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My 2 c-sections were done by Dr Chan KH. His stitching skills are remarkable. I would strongly recommend him.

He is using a 3D scan machine so you get to see ur bb in 3D almost every visit as well. ;)

Jeddie (jeddie76)
Username: jeddie76

Post Number: 1128
Posted on Wednesday, November 09, 2011 - 8:40 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

my first gynae was tan hang yang and my 2nd gynae was dr chan KH..no regrets..he is superb!

no worries at all...s

Mommy828 (mommy828)
Username: mommy828

Post Number: 6
Posted on Wednesday, November 09, 2011 - 10:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

D only thing is he very concern abt the weight, I always kena "nag" of my weight, keep asking me to keep fit... Haha..

piggy_77 (piggy_77)
Username: piggy_77

Post Number: 675
Posted on Wednesday, November 16, 2011 - 2:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I am also with Dr Chan KH for my 1st 2 pregnancy and now i am having my 3rd and also going back to him. His stitching is really good and i can get down to walk on the same day. Mine was natural birth. Yah he is very concern abt our weight. I know he will nag hence dont dare to eat much too so this pregnancy never get any nagging from him. Alt his charges are a bit on the high side but you will have no regret.

smalleyespy (smalleyespy)
Username: smalleyespy

Post Number: 13
Posted on Wednesday, November 16, 2011 - 6:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi all!!

This is such encouraging news!! My 1st appt with dr chan is Tmr!

Thank you so much for giving me a peace of mind! I plan to go for c sect too!!

tanny_angelbaby (tanny99)
Username: tanny99

Post Number: 608
Posted on Monday, November 21, 2011 - 8:00 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hello, may i ask .....Is he good at twins, triplets?

twittymon (twittymon)
Username: twittymon

Post Number: 9
Posted on Monday, November 28, 2011 - 12:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi smalleyespy pls revert your feedback after seeing dr chan? mine was dr tan han yang , and sad to know he is retiring. Wanting to find a gynae as good as dr tan. Kindly share his package charges as well thanks

Post Number: 47
Posted on Monday, December 05, 2011 - 10:55 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Twittymon! I went for my 1st appt with Dr Chan already. He is not too bad. Very straight forward, very kind, patient and super experienced,

He was the gynae for Mark Lee's wife and heard for Goh Chok Tong's daughter as well.

He has this holistic approach i guess.. where he does not blif in drinking milk and eating cheeses.. haha.. but really rather relaxed on things like running and jumping etc..

he can be rather costly though.. and heard he is pro Csect.. which works for me.. cos thats wat i want...

Hope that assists..

OH! if u wana book... make appt soon.. he's always packed!

haru (haru)
Username: haru

Post Number: 1987
Posted on Friday, December 09, 2011 - 9:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i am with Dr Chan for my #2. Had a natural birth with him too for #1. it is very reassuring to have him as my gynae as he is very experienced and his skills definitely great. he is very particular about weight gain and encourages an active lifestyle throughout pregnancy but all for the good of mommy and baby!

HL Teo (veryveryveryblur)
Username: veryveryveryblur

Post Number: 15
Posted on Monday, January 30, 2012 - 6:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

anyone can share his package? thanks.

Joanne kang (jkang)
Username: jkang

Post Number: 1
Posted on Thursday, February 02, 2012 - 9:35 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Can share the package and the price?
Thank u in adv!

zara (zaralle)
Username: zaralle

Post Number: 197
Posted on Monday, March 05, 2012 - 12:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

per visit is about $380, includes ur multi vits and dha supplements... this is for the monthly visits until about 24 weeks.. then he starts the package.. about $1k until u give birth. but this $1k only includes the visits and the multivitamins. DHA supplments not included. Costs for any blood tests/ OGTT tests also not included. pretty exp.. but he's quite good, and his constant nagging abt weight will help u to keep ur weight in line, although sometimes u will feel so sian cos its like everything also cannot eat. =(

if i rem correctly, his fees for delivery is $2k for normal and $4k for caesarian. (all the figures are approximate and applies to me, so if he changes, i'm not sure ah..)

i have survived so far and delivering in may 2012!

mummy lee (mummielee)
Username: mummielee

Posted on Tuesday, March 13, 2012 - 4:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

anyone can share his stitching skills for normal delivery?

also, what is the total hospital bill for normal delivery at gleneagles?

Post Number: 89
Posted on Tuesday, March 20, 2012 - 12:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hello! m currently seeing Dr Chan! Zara, ur price seems cheap for the package! Mine is $1600 and yes for visits, scans and multivitamins (DHA excluded)... initially per visit was about $395...

his delivery fees... NORMAL- $4k, With forceps - $5000 and Csect- $6000

Epidural will be a quarter of delivery charge!!!

and ur right.. he likes to nag about ur weight... vv v v v demoralising.. haha..

Mummy lee- Stitching i duno yet... heard raves about ppl healing very quickly.. with min scars etc... i will tell u in Jul.. haha..

Total hospital bill at gleneagles depends on which room ur choosing.. u go their website.. should be able to see..

hope this assists!

ej (ejz)
Username: ejz

Post Number: 19
Posted on Thursday, March 22, 2012 - 11:45 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Normal delivery is 2k. Why is yours so ex? I just gotten the price list from the clinic last week.

Devilene (devilene)
Username: devilene

Post Number: 96
Posted on Sunday, March 25, 2012 - 9:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi! I am with Dr Chan KH too. Im currently preggy with #2 and I had my #1 with him. Dr Chan is an experienced gynea and his charges are steep as compared to other doctors.
For my #1, it was natural with forceps and he charged $5k for that in 2009. My bill came up with almost $10k (incl room etc) Now I am not sure if his charges have gone up. U can call his nurses to find out the prices.
And yes, he loves nagging on the weight gain. I piled on 17kg for #1 and he scolded me thruout. This time, due to my MS, I havent gain much weight so I was spared his nagging. For now. :-)

zara (zaralle)
Username: zaralle

Post Number: 198
Posted on Monday, April 09, 2012 - 11:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

smalleyespy, i tot normal delivery is 2k.. why yours is 4k? ur package starts from which week? mine started ard wk 20+ i think.. after 5mths? as for the DHA, u can buy online from iherb.com. It's exactly the same one Dr Chan gave, but cheaper. u can check it out. i discovered too late..

i only put on 8kg so far (pre-preg to 35wks nw) and he's been nagging also.. cos i started on the plump side.. SIGH. so demoralizing cos i really restrict myself from eating.. sometimes feel so sian already, still cannot eat the things i like.. so sad lor... but then again, if he never nag, maybe i will eat loads of rubbish and will nt be good for bb...

winky (tinky)
Username: tinky

Post Number: 205
Posted on Wednesday, May 02, 2012 - 7:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

He charges 16k for c section for twins!
No package, each visit is 500 bucks.

abc (happypea)
Username: happypea

Posted on Tuesday, May 08, 2012 - 4:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Mummies, I am also visiting Dr Chan. The new package price is at $1600.
Normal delivery 2k, With forceps - $5000 and C-section- $6000. However guess what? I heard from the nurse that delivery charges varies?! It will depend how much Dr Chan wanna charge you.I have 2 friends visiting Dr Chan this year and the delivery charges are different ok?? I will be visiting him 1st week of June and will be presented my package then. Hopefully he will charge me the lower one. I am very curious how come the charges are not standardized? Me and my hubby are quite unhappy to hear that that his charges differs.:-(

MellyJong (mellyjong)
Username: mellyjong

Post Number: 48
Posted on Thursday, May 10, 2012 - 3:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I'm also seeing Dr Chan & just got my package $1600 till delivery.
His fees: Normal delivery $4K, forceps $5k, C-sect $6k (Are you sure he can deliver for 2K only??)
Hospital charges are different depends on type of room (2bed, 1 bed, Executive, Superior, Suite).

I'm (happypea)
Username: happypea

Post Number: 3
Posted on Thursday, May 17, 2012 - 7:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hello Mummies, sorry normal delivery is 4K.

fleurfleur (fleurfleur)
Username: fleurfleur

Post Number: 490
Posted on Sunday, May 20, 2012 - 3:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi MTB,
I am buying some stuff from Iherb and if you are interested in tagging along your solaray DHA which is cheaper than what the clinic charges, please PM me.
Once we hit USD200, can get a 12% off.

MellyJong (mellyjong)
Username: mellyjong

Post Number: 59
Posted on Sunday, May 20, 2012 - 6:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi fleurfleur,
Yes I am keen. Have sent you PM.

fleurfleur (fleurfleur)
Username: fleurfleur

Post Number: 547
Posted on Friday, June 22, 2012 - 10:42 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi MTB,
I am buying some stuff from Iherb and if you are interested in tagging along your solaray DHA which is cheaper than what the clinic charges, please PM me.

Lyn (lyn0800)
Username: lyn0800

Post Number: 6
Posted on Tuesday, July 17, 2012 - 11:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My boy was delivered via c-sect by Dr Chan in Apr2012. Thank Lord for placing me in the good hands of Dr Chan who took care of me and my baby throughout my pregnancy. I am a plus size and my family(mom, aunties n grandma) has history of diabetic and high blood pressure. Dr Chan made me lose weight during my pregnancy. All my friends and relatives commented that Dr Chan is weird BUT I can proudly say that he is a SUPERB Gynae!!! I only gained 1kg on my 40th week and my boy's birth weight was 3.58kg. My boy was out within 27mins; I was able to get down the bed and walk the very next morning. My sister and mom can't believe their eyes when they see my scar(one thin beautiful line).
My hubby and I felt that every dollar was well and worth spending.
>> if not mistaken... package price(from 5th mth onwards) varies due to the complexity of the pregnancy.

Juerlyon Ng (mistyhaze)
Username: mistyhaze

Posted on Wednesday, September 12, 2012 - 7:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Anyone has updated prices for his consultation? Thanks in advance!!

HL Teo (veryveryveryblur)
Username: veryveryveryblur

Post Number: 25
Posted on Thursday, December 27, 2012 - 2:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Dr Chan is a very good OB. My boy was delivered naturally and I don't feel any pain. His stiches are marvellous.

Eve Sng (evelyn83)
Username: evelyn83

Posted on Monday, January 14, 2013 - 10:43 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Dr Chan is an excellent OB! A knowledgeable, caring and confident doc who delivered my boy naturally in Aug 12. His Stitching was good and I could walk around the next day after delivering. The nurses in the delivery suites were singing praises of him and telling me how good Dr Chan is. I'm defintely gg back to him for my 2nd.
To clarify, his charges are standardised, doesnt vary at all.
Before Mar 12 (i cant rmb the date correctly), u could sign a package with him at 16th weeks at $1k with delivery charges at (vaginal - 2k, with forceps - 3k, csect - 4k).
After Mar 12, his charges has increased. At 16th weeks, u could sign a package with him at $1.6K with delivery charges at (vaginal - 4k, with forceps - 5k, csect - 6k).

Add Your Message Here
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use