SingaporeMotherhood.com * Motherhood, Pregnancies And Babies * YLS Catering < Previous Next >

Jenny (snowpooher)
Username: snowpooher

Post Number: 2582
Posted on Monday, November 28, 2005 - 11:39 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Anyone ordered buffet from YLS Catering recently? Need your feedbacks as I've shortlisted them for a function next mth.

Your valuable feedbacks are deeply apprecipated. Thanks.

http://www.ylscatering.com.sg

Twinkle Stars (starss)
Username: starss

Post Number: 16
Posted on Monday, November 28, 2005 - 12:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Jenny,

I just had a buffet lunch at my grandparents hse, they cater from Yan Palace, find it quite nice and the price is reasonable.
The dim sum at the restraunt is nice, the catering not too bad, except dont like their pork ribs, a bit tasteless.

Price:
http://www.yanpalace.com.sg/catering-menu1.html

Food menu:
http://www.yanpalace.com.sg/catering-Menu2.html

Joleena Chia (chiart)
Username: chiart

Post Number: 258
Posted on Tuesday, November 29, 2005 - 11:25 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi jenny
yes i have ordered from for my coming sat function..
and have also ordered early this year for my son one month old birthday...
my friends and relatives feedback are all positive:-)

Jenny (snowpooher)

Post Number: 2584
Posted on Tuesday, November 29, 2005 - 3:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Joleena,

Care to share more? Actually I've shortlisted YLS Catering and another catering which I've personally tried and liked (used for my gal full mth celebration). I like to give a change in taste and also to try other catering services.

There is no GST and Transportation, am I right? What are the dishes that you would recommend? I've sort of pick out the dishes, so would like to hear more reviews. And also how is the portion like, big or small serving?

I'm planning for my sis 21st birthday party. Thanks.

Jenny (snowpooher)

Post Number: 2585
Posted on Tuesday, November 29, 2005 - 3:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Twinkle Stars,

Thanks for your recommendation. However, I prefer to try YSL Catering or my alternative catering this round. Perhaps I can try your recommendation for the next function. :-)

Joleena Chia (chiart)

Post Number: 260
Posted on Tuesday, November 29, 2005 - 3:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Jenny
I would recommend their yam paste which I find quite nice and am ordering again this time round.
For other dishes, sorry i couldn recall what I have ordered previously but overall my guests feedback that everything taste good.
I also hardly have the chance to eat that time.
But my parents and in laws are satisfied with their food.

The portion is rather big and sufficient. In fact, I dont remember having any leftovers cos everything was finished

Jenny (snowpooher)

Post Number: 2586
Posted on Tuesday, November 29, 2005 - 5:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Joleena,

Thanks! I heard good comments on their yam. I may order it but my Mum wants something different. (Cos I ordered Yam on my gal's full mth) Dun understand the elders one lah. I dun see why can't we order yam paste again **puzzled**

Most likely, I will order from YLS Catering. :-)

Joleena Chia (chiart)

Post Number: 261
Posted on Tuesday, November 29, 2005 - 5:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Jenny
Welcome:-)
Ha...it is always something that we dont understand..maybe your mum wants something different from the previous one

by the way, when is your sis birthday? My son one year birthday celebration is this saturday. maybe i can give you more recommendations by then again?

Jenny (snowpooher)

Post Number: 2588
Posted on Tuesday, November 29, 2005 - 10:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Joleena,

Ya, I think so. Maybe she feels Yam paste last round, this round still Yam Paste, a bit sian.

My sis birthday will be in 2 weeks time. Yeap, give me more recommendations on the dishes leh. How many guests you are inviting and how many pax did you order? Need to check if their serving is big or small. We are expecting about 90 ppl.

Joleena Chia (chiart)

Post Number: 262
Posted on Wednesday, November 30, 2005 - 10:27 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Jenny
Maybe can convince your mum to take their yam paste cos it is really nice:-)

No problem. Will let you know what are the recommendations.
I am inviting around 50 pax ..they should buffer around 20% i guess

Jenny (snowpooher)

Post Number: 2589
Posted on Wednesday, November 30, 2005 - 10:42 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Joleena,

You are inviting 50 pax, so how many pax did you order?

Ya, I'm trying to convince her to take yam paste, though I dun eat personally :-)

Joleena Chia (chiart)

Post Number: 263
Posted on Wednesday, November 30, 2005 - 11:08 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Jenny
i have only ordered around 30 pax cos we be having BBQ mainly....

Ha..so hopefully your mum is convinced:-)

Jenny (snowpooher)

Post Number: 2590
Posted on Wednesday, November 30, 2005 - 2:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Joleena,

I see. Ok, you feedback to me after your sat event hor. Xie Xie.

Joleena Chia (chiart)

Post Number: 264
Posted on Wednesday, November 30, 2005 - 3:45 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Jenny
No worries

maybe you can drop me an email to remind me?
joleena2908@yahoo.com.sg

Larkspur (larkspur)
Username: larkspur

Post Number: 73
Posted on Tuesday, January 03, 2006 - 12:12 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Jenny,

If you use YLS for your buffet, you better order more cos they do not buffer much.Just celebrated my girl's first year birthday and I order from them for 50 peoples and i invited 60 or less people and i even prepared extra food. Ended up less than 2 hours and with the arrival of about 35 guests, the food are all taken up by more than half and the complementary drinks are nearly gone. In the end have to go and buy bottled drink and extra food, really spoiled my girl's celebration.

Jenny (snowpooher)

Post Number: 2731
Posted on Tuesday, January 03, 2006 - 3:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi larkspur,

I've no problem with not enough food. For my sis 21st birthday party, I ordered 75 pax for 80 guest and still have buffer to spare. My relatives still tabao.

I usually prepared more drinks cos the drinks are usually not enough. I bought 2 bottles of concentrated drinks from NTUC but only managed to use 1/2 bottle.

mum05 (mum05)
Username: mum05

Post Number: 536
Posted on Friday, January 13, 2006 - 3:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

can recommend e choice of food to choose frm YLS catering? thanks

Jenny (snowpooher)

Post Number: 2780
Posted on Friday, January 13, 2006 - 4:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mum05, curry chicken, fried mee hoon, pineapple rice, yam paste, spinach with mushroom, sambal prawn, assam sotong, roasted chicken all have good feedback.

In fact, I find their food quite nice.

mum05 (mum05)
Username: mum05

Post Number: 537
Posted on Friday, January 13, 2006 - 11:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

thks jenny, anyone else? :-)

cheers3344 (cheers3344)
Username: cheers3344

Post Number: 26
Posted on Thursday, March 09, 2006 - 2:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Jenny,

Can I find out from you if YLS split the dishes into 2 portions for you or do they all just come in one big tray for each dish? I am expecting about 90 people. Just thought it's not so nice to leave the food out for so long especially if guests come at different timings. It would be better if each dish comes in 2 portions and you can serve the 2nd tray after the 1st one has been cleared. Less messy as well. Also, how many hours do YLS give you before they come back to clear the buffet? Do you have ample time for all your guests to help themselves to the food? Checked out their website. Price looks quite value for money for their menus. Am actually considering Neo garden and Jacks place before I saw your comments on YLS.

Jenny (snowpooher)

Post Number: 3120
Posted on Thursday, March 09, 2006 - 2:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Cheers3344,
It comes in 1 tray for most dishes except for curry and yam paste which comes in 2 trays. I dun find it messy lah. I mean adults unlike kids, take food won't choose and create messy for the dishes bah? If you have time, you can just use the scoop or tongs to "arrange" the remainings.
I told them the timing to come to clear one. If my party ends at 5pm, I told them to come between 5 to 5.30pm, so far they have been very punctual in their timing. Yes, my guests got plently of time to help themselves to the food. In fact, I had leftover food cos the portion were huge. After the party, my relatives still tabao back. I got buy and bring extra boxes for my relatives to tabao lor.

If you are considering Neo Garden or Jack's Place, my advise is opt for Jack's Place. Neo Garden standard has dropped and some mummies here complained of the poor service they provided. Maybe you do a search to find the thread???

cheers3344 (cheers3344)
Username: cheers3344

Post Number: 29
Posted on Thursday, March 09, 2006 - 3:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Jenny,

Thanks for your response. It is really hard to make a choice coz there are conflicting feedback on Neo garden. Will prob make a choice between Jack's , YLS and Lavish Dine catering. ; )

cheerful_mum (cheerful_mum)
Username: cheerful_mum

Post Number: 328
Posted on Tuesday, November 07, 2006 - 4:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Twinkle Stars

Hows food from yan palacer. Is the portion big or small?

zenn (zenn)
Username: zenn

Post Number: 4365
Posted on Thursday, January 18, 2007 - 8:30 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Anyone ordered fm YSL recently? Any comments?

Thumbprint (thumbprint)
Username: thumbprint

Post Number: 23
Posted on Monday, March 19, 2007 - 4:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

we ordered from YLS for my niece 1 yr old bday last yr, taste not bad, the portion was enough and price also reasonable. Except that we asked for more.. what's that called?.. the thing to light the fire.. anyway, they dun provide extra..

but for that price, it is still worth it..

Mdl (mdl)
Username: mdl

Post Number: 659
Posted on Tuesday, March 27, 2007 - 4:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Thumbprint,

Was it YLS or YSL u ordered? =p plan to cater YSL if remarks still gd for my next upcoming occasion. =)

okeanosmao (okeanosmao)
Username: okeanosmao

Post Number: 1458
Posted on Wednesday, March 28, 2007 - 12:15 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i tried neo garden sometimes in dec last year. found their fd not bad leh,love their curry. not sure of their service as i'm not the one ordering.
YLS food is nice too.yah, big portion oso..service as told by my fren, is gd.

Karen Koh (dylanmummy2003)
Username: dylanmummy2003

Post Number: 1311
Posted on Wednesday, March 28, 2007 - 8:39 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi MDL,
YLS is not bad... i love their curry and kong ba pau especially. ^_^

will definitly use them again.

http://www.ylscatering.com.sg/

Mdl (mdl)
Username: mdl

Post Number: 666
Posted on Wednesday, March 28, 2007 - 9:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

HI Karen Koh,

Thks for sharing

Yan (bess)
Username: bess

Post Number: 290
Posted on Monday, April 02, 2007 - 10:53 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

their food might be good.... but the way they treat their workers.. i don't like it.. i don't mean to stop u from ordering..of course u can continue to do so if u like their food and serivce.. :-) .. this is a matter tat happened to my friend.. i jus wanna share the story with all of u...

i had a friend used to work as part time driver for them.. not long ago before she quit, she fell down and hurt her tail bone in front of their shop. she is in great pain but she still move on to sent the teng kat dinner. the boss know about it but din ask her to rest and find someone to take over. then half way, she is so painful tat she think she need to go to c doc for x-ray and then she called her boss.. she forced the boss to sent somebody to take over her. then they reluctantly sent a driver there. my friend proceed to c doc and went home to rest. she felt giddy and pain so think she won't be able to deliver buffet on the coming weekend. she called her boss. her boss din concern about her condition at all !! in stead they want her to work as usual.. ask her to continue driving though she had told them her tail bone is in great pain and she is feeling so giddy. they want her to drive and her sister to carry all the buffet stuff which were so heavy. her sister operated on her spinal before. they said they dun have enough drivers and there are so many buffet to be delivered.. they jus dun care about the life and death of them, isn't it?! wat is this!! so dangerous for her to cont. driving.. after my friend sister scolded them, then they start to show some concern. recent years.. though their biz is getting better and better.. they become more stingy.. change the pay system to make their drivers earn lesser.. after my friend submitted her resignation, some drivers thinking of leaving too.. maybe they have enough of them too.. haa....

serene (berser)
Username: berser

Post Number: 1096
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2007 - 10:19 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

have ordered from them before for my wedding day in 2004. ordered two potions of foods for my inlaws' and parents' house. relatives have good comments abt their foods. will order from them again for my bb full month celebration.

DD (dleo)
Username: dleo

Post Number: 32
Posted on Monday, April 30, 2007 - 11:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Below is my feedback of YLS which I ordered for my baby's full mth for yesterday afternoon.

1. Food quantity wise - I ordered for 80pax and end up 73 pax including children turned up. There wasn't much food left (we also prepared our own glutinous rice, ang ku kuehs and eggs), I couldn't image what happen if all my 80 pax turn up, the food may not be enough.

2. Below are the dishes I ordered:
* Fried Rice - very very saltish, LEFT 1/3 TRAY
* Fish with spring onion & ginger- very saltish. LEFT 1 PLATE.
* Curry chicken - okay, NO LEFTOVER
* Cuttlefish with Sambal - good, NO LEFTOVER
* Sweet Sour Pork - little bit Saltish - LEFT 1/2 PLATE.
* Lohan Veg - okay, LEFT 1.5 PLATE
* Hot cheng Tng - very very sweet, LEFT 1 BIG TRAY
* Drink - LEFT 1 BIG DRINK CONTAINER.
(Plate refers to those normal disposable plate size)

3. Although ordered 80 pax, all dishes came in 1 big tray except rice, curry chicken and cheng tng came in 2 trays. Drink came in 2 containers. Disposable cups and bowl, fork spoons etc 100 pcs.

However, "yi feng qian yi feng huo", can't complain much for S$6 per pax. I find overall acceptable, may need to order more or prepare some food yourself or else portion may not be enough.

I think Neo garden is better (my brother ordered for his baby's full mth in Dec 2006). Ordered 80 pax, all dishes came in 2 trays @ S$11.00+.

Peg (peg17)
Username: peg17

Post Number: 482
Posted on Monday, March 24, 2008 - 12:22 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi..anymore comments abt YSL catering? i thinking of ordering betw YSL and Neo garden for my gal 1st birthday this coming sunday. really saltish? i yet to try before but seems have very gd comments abt this YSL leh other than the above comments. thanks...

piggybb (piggybb)
Username: piggybb

Post Number: 7
Posted on Thursday, June 05, 2008 - 10:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

neo garden better I tried tat for my gal full month thumbs up for it.. yls so so only tried taht for my wedding

BlueSky (bluesky)
Username: bluesky

Post Number: 854
Posted on Monday, June 30, 2008 - 11:58 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i tried YSL for my son full month after reading good comments from this forum.. but turn out really so so only. Wouldn't recommend it. Can get better caterer.

Carebear29 (carebear29)
Username: carebear29

Post Number: 361
Posted on Wednesday, July 02, 2008 - 12:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I tried this caterer called Spice Asia Gourmet for our training events, not bad, good food, I heard they operate from a restaurant of their own. Currently, our preferred vendor as they do orchid display on food, good image. http://www.spiceasia.com.sg/download/catering_menu.pdf

KrispyKreme (krispy)
Username: krispy

Post Number: 125
Posted on Wednesday, July 02, 2008 - 7:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Would like to comment on YLS Catering. I recently hired them for my daughters 1 month celebrations. The persons I spoke to over the phone were very helpful and even helped me choose my menu.

However, we were disappointed with the attitude of the workers who came to set up the buffet for us.

Firstly, we catered for close to 100 pax, so there was a lot of trays of food. However, the workers only brought 5 tables which were not enough to put all the trays on. They were putting trays in front of one another and trying to squeeze in as much as possible into those 5 tables. We asked them to set up an extra table, but their excuse was they didn't bring any extras in their van. You would think that being in this business for so long, they would know that 5 tables weren't enough for so many trays. In the end, my husband and I had to source and set up another table by ourselves to put up all the drinks.

Secondly, they were very messy when clearing up all the trays and tables. We had already cleaned and mopped the general area once as it's an area shared with all our neighbours. We weren't there when they started clearing up. But imagine our shock when we saw that they didn't care if the food fell to the ground or if the water spilled everywhere. All they needed to do was exercise some caution when transporting the trays and we wouldn't have to clean the area again. Even 100 over ppl eating and moving around in the buffet area was cleaner than them moving the trays.

The food was so so only. The warmers provided were not enough to warm up the food. So some of the food turned cold really quickly. But some of their dishes got full praises from my guests. This included their kong bak pau. And I personally liked their fish fried in dried chili as well. Their curry chicken was very diluted and not very nice.

zack lee (zacklee)
Username: zacklee

Post Number: 48
Posted on Tuesday, August 05, 2008 - 1:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I think YLS has too good business and standard starts to dro....

zack lee (zacklee)
Username: zacklee

Post Number: 49
Posted on Tuesday, August 05, 2008 - 1:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

This can also be subjective. Depends on your luck

Kell (closetdoor)
Username: closetdoor

Post Number: 885
Posted on Tuesday, January 06, 2009 - 2:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Very confusing.

So both YSL and YLS are only so so right?

Joanne (baby_glendon)
Username: baby_glendon

Post Number: 236
Posted on Monday, March 02, 2009 - 10:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Just have my buffet on 1st march, it is a disappointed. The YLS buffet is not beri gd leh... The portion is small oso. Butter prawn, xiao long pao, brcoli w/ mushroom N CUTTLEFISH, were quite bland, tasteless. Kong ba pao n brised duck not bad. I order 40pax, be4 half of my guests come, 2/3 of the food were finished, got to spend another $100 go out packet chicken wing, satsy, n beehoon again... I wonder did they place my order correct, cos the reciept stated 30pax n charges $300 all amended to 40 pax n $400...

Scarli, they onli provide 30pax food, last min charge me 400... =S

ringo (ringo)
Username: ringo

Post Number: 292
Posted on Thursday, April 02, 2009 - 3:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

any recent comments on yls catering? thanks!

Lavinia Lim (lavi)
Username: lavi

Post Number: 1
Posted on Friday, April 03, 2009 - 11:24 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hiya

i had my bb 1st mth celebration n ordered frm YLS also. food was gd n portions were huge..mayb coz i ordered extra! I think it's quite a gd deal 2 order frm YLS! but they don provide takeaway boxes so prepare some if u not hving the buffet at home

Chen (patience)
Username: patience

Post Number: 34
Posted on Tuesday, May 05, 2009 - 11:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

just ordered them for my girl's full month. The drink was not enough, good thing i stocked some packet drinks in my fridge for guests.

xmas_baby (xmas_baby)
Username: xmas_baby

Post Number: 32
Posted on Saturday, September 26, 2009 - 11:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I just used YLS for my son's full mth. Food is quite nice but portion is quite small and drink not enough. got good feedback for their curry chix, yam paste, bobo cha cha, sotong with dried chilli and kong ba pau.

Summer (summer1979)
Username: summer1979

Post Number: 2360
Posted on Thursday, October 01, 2009 - 11:14 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Anymore ppls order from YLS? Need more feedback and advise

happymrskoh (happymrskoh)
Username: happymrskoh

Post Number: 152
Posted on Wednesday, October 14, 2009 - 12:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

HI xmas_baby,
was the food portion enough for the number of pax ordered? drink not enough by how much? I am thinking of ordering from YLS for my baby girl's full month. please advise, thanks.

AFann (afann)
Username: afann

Post Number: 880
Posted on Friday, November 12, 2010 - 10:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

YLS SUCKS!

SPOILT MY LIL BOY FULL MONTH TO THE MAX!

Garfield (garfieldhello)
Username: garfieldhello

Post Number: 88
Posted on Friday, December 31, 2010 - 11:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Fainted

kimifin (kimifin)
Username: kimifin

Post Number: 2206
Posted on Monday, May 16, 2011 - 12:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Anyone use YLS recently?
It is not the same as Yeh Lai Siang, which I saw mixed reviews too.

I am looking for catering which serves Braised Pork buns + Orh Nee.

Please share your feedback.

Vivienne (mommy_viv)
Username: mommy_viv

Post Number: 7
Posted on Tuesday, August 16, 2011 - 5:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

There doesnt seem to be any feedback for YLS in 2011. I've tried calling them, their attitude isnt very good. Guy over the phone seem quite "hao lian". Reconsidering my options again. Any latest review?

desmond tay (desmond34)
Username: desmond34

Posted on Sunday, July 29, 2012 - 12:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ordered from YLS catering last week. I think their price and food is good, especially their orh ni and braised pork buns. Service wise is also good.

Clare Teo (claret)
Username: claret

Posted on Monday, August 13, 2012 - 6:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I tried YLS catering based on good reviews from this forum and other forums but it turned out to be the worst experience I had. YLS is a VERY irresponsible and unreliable caterer! For those who intend to order from YLS catering, pls think twice. Like to share my unpleasant encounter with them...

I catered dinner for 30 pax to be served at 6pm last Saturday for daughter's 1st year birthday. In the end, the caterer did not even turn up and I had to dabao from the nearby zi char stall for my waiting, hungry guests!

I called on the morning itself to confirm the delivery of the food with the caterer. Was told they'll deliver the food around 5pm plus. At 5.45pm, I called to enquire why the food was still not delivered. Was told 10mins later that the driver was stuck in a jam and would arrive in 15mins time. At 6.20pm, I called at least 20 times and nobody picked up the call. It was not until we called the Head Office and was given another number. We managed to contact the coordinator at 6.30pm and was told he is trying to contact the driver. Had to make umpteen calls to 'force' them to commit to a time that the driver would arrive. By 6.45pm with all my hungry guests sitting around, we gave him an ultimatum that, if he still can't confirm their driver's whereabouts in 5mins, we'll cancel the order. Indeed, he couldn't contact his driver when we called him 5 minutes later and we cancelled the order. I had to rush to the nearest zi char stall to whip up 6 dishes and get drinks for my guests. The zi char stall managed to deliver all 6 dishes for 30pax within 20mins.

Vivienne (mommy_viv)
Username: mommy_viv

Post Number: 143
Posted on Tuesday, August 14, 2012 - 7:27 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Wow, what a horrible experience, not to mention embarrassing for the hosts. Will not consider using this caterer at all.

Jeneatte Lee (jeneatte)
Username: jeneatte

Posted on Wednesday, August 22, 2012 - 10:29 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Called YLS yesterday to order buffet for my function come saturday. The operator says buffet intake that day is already full. Is YLS food so good? Since so many people order. Should order in advance next time. I'm now searching for other caterers.

jocelyn lee (jocelynlee321)
Username: jocelynlee321

Posted on Wednesday, October 31, 2012 - 4:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ordered from YLS Catering for my boy's 1st birthday last saturday.

My guests were very satisified with the food, especially their kong ba pau, black pepper smoke duck and yam paste. The portion is big too! The variety of food is simply great.

I will order from YLS Catering again for my mother's birthday next month. Hope the promotion is still on going.

http://www.ylscatering.com.sg/

jocelyn lee (jocelynlee321)
Username: jocelynlee321

Post Number: 2
Posted on Friday, December 14, 2012 - 10:30 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Indeed, YLS Catering has again greatly satisfied my guests when I ordered from them for my mother's birthday. Delivery was prompt and food served, was again, in very large portions. Curry chicken and Black pepper smoke duck and Yam paste are must-haves on your buffet tables!

I will definitely order from YLS catering for my future functions.

chin19 (chin19)
Username: chin19

Post Number: 457
Posted on Thursday, January 10, 2013 - 5:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Anyone use YLS recently?

Please share your feedback.

poseidon_gal (poseidon_gal)
Username: poseidon_gal

Post Number: 376
Posted on Wednesday, February 27, 2013 - 5:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i use them a few times..hee so far so gd.. the yam paste is a "must-have"..

Tammy Lim (sundaymorning)
Username: sundaymorning

Post Number: 33
Posted on Thursday, February 28, 2013 - 10:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks for all the info of YLS :-)
i wanna order next month for a party too ! shall give it a try.

dragonbee (dragonbee)
Username: dragonbee

Post Number: 175
Posted on Sunday, March 10, 2013 - 12:25 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Anyone ordered from ysl recently? Is the food still good and how's the service? Thanks.

Felicia Lie (ffellie)
Username: ffellie

Post Number: 93
Posted on Tuesday, March 26, 2013 - 6:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Considering for my girl's full month. Should I or should I not?

Add Your Message Here
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use