| Author |
Message |

Pochacco (kellylims)
New member Username: kellylims
Post Number: 59 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Sunday, February 27, 2005 - 9:56 pm: |
I'm first time pregnant and was recommended on WK Tan. Any comment on her services as her charges are veri x and her stitching skill? |

Happy Mum (happy_mum)
New member Username: happy_mum
Post Number: 1 Registered: 2-2005
| | Posted on Monday, February 28, 2005 - 12:58 am: |
Hi there, I was seen by Dr Tan & delivered last Sept. Yep, Her charges are rather ex & the queue to see her at each visit is at least 1 and a half hr & she'll probably check & speak to u for less than 15 mins. Whenever u have queries, she'll just tell u everything's fine... But despite that, she was really professional & experienced. You'll feel safe in her hands. When it comes to delivery & stitches, no complaints abt that & after delivery, she'll check u everyday & make sure everything's fine.. I would not mind going back to her again. Hope it helps... =) |

Helena (helena)
Junior Member Username: helena
Post Number: 276 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Monday, February 28, 2005 - 9:52 am: |
Pochacco, I was delivered by WK Tan 32 years ago. My mum, also in the medical profession, has high praises for her though they are in different specialisations. When I delivered my son last year, I went to M Tan, who shares the same clinic as WK Tan. The reason why I didn't choose WK Tan is that she's old and I was afraid she might not be so dexterous. Nonetheless, I have heard nothing bad about her; only praises, even from friends who have been to her. |

Pochacco (kellylims)
Post Number: 60 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Monday, February 28, 2005 - 11:28 am: |
Happy Mum, thanks for your feedback Hi Helena, How do you find M Tan? |

blessed (blessed)
Junior Member Username: blessed
Post Number: 447 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Monday, February 28, 2005 - 1:37 pm: |
Hi Pochacco, haha ya WK Tan is kind of old...but i find her very steady still. Yes, she usually say everything is fine. but if there's something wrong, she'll treat it very seriously...like i was hving contractions start 5th mth, she was really serious abt it... scolded me for doing silly things...i felt so embarrassed n hb say i looked so pathetic, if not she'll scold me more. actually her charges look ex upfront, but add up everything, not so ex after all. she checked on me in the hosp after delivery 2x everyday (4days, so 8 visits), n she did not charge me for that. my friend gynae charge her $50 PER visit. i went to M Tan once for emergency... coz its WK tan operating day. I dont feel good with her and will nvr consider her. i'll still go back to WK tan for nx preg if she not retired yet. |

Pochacco (kellylims)
Post Number: 62 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Monday, February 28, 2005 - 2:01 pm: |
hi Blessed, thanks for your feedback. i have manage to book for tomorrow as i am sort of more urgent case of low hormones. heard that she is planning for retirement. |

evanrissa (evanrissa)
New member Username: evanrissa
Post Number: 13 Registered: 1-2005
| | Posted on Monday, February 28, 2005 - 3:58 pm: |
hi Pochacco, How do u know WK Tan planning for retirement? The nurses there told u? |

evanrissa (evanrissa)
Post Number: 14 Registered: 1-2005
| | Posted on Monday, February 28, 2005 - 4:01 pm: |
Hi Helena, I was also delivered by WK Tan 26 yrs ago. Recently she help me deliver my son, she is very good and her stitching is clean and the recovery is painless. hi Pochacco, I'm concern that she is retiring these few years. That means I gotta have No 2 before she goes and retire. |

Catz (catz)
Intermediate Member Username: catz
Post Number: 2736 Registered: 9-2001
| | Posted on Monday, February 28, 2005 - 4:13 pm: |
Yah I've heard nothing but good things about WK Tan.. only thing is that she's a little old fashioned and chases the father out of the delivery suite until the final few pushes?? My poor friend was standing by his wife's side for 11 hours of labour and during the last few moments, he was ushered out. He stood pathetically outside the suite, knocking away 'cos he could hear them going 'push push' inside.. he came in for the final 3 pushes and then was ushered back out again... hehe  |

kissbb (kiss13)
New member Username: kiss13
Post Number: 66 Registered: 4-2004
| | Posted on Monday, February 28, 2005 - 4:31 pm: |
is it true?? husband cannot beside u at the final moment for those delivered by WK Tan?? |

Pochacco (kellylims)
Post Number: 64 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Monday, February 28, 2005 - 5:01 pm: |
Hi evanrissa, i heard from my SIL who is also a customer of her for TCC. i also think so as she is already in this line for so long. Time for her to retire. i also told my HB that our second one probably cannot by her. Good to hear that her stitching is good as i think this is very important. haha. hi catz, so surprised to that. i think i will need to insist on my husband to be around as this is compromised by both of us. hopefully she will allows. |

blessed (blessed)
Post Number: 448 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Monday, February 28, 2005 - 6:18 pm: |
My hb stayed with me thru'out delivery in the suite leh. I only heard she dun allow hb to cut unbilical cord. I heard from my GP that she shld b retiring coz of her age. hmmm, if she really planning for retirement, so sad!! coz i want a female gynae in TMC, till now, she is the only choice loh. |

Catz (catz)
Intermediate Member Username: catz
Post Number: 2739 Registered: 9-2001
| | Posted on Monday, February 28, 2005 - 6:45 pm: |
hey pochcco, yah I was surprised too. He felt so cheated as he had laboured alongside his wife for 11 hours lor. She didn't even take epidural! Anyway, as long as the baby is healthy blessed, there are quite a few female gynaes in TMC lor. I delivered with Yvonne Chan and I'm very impressed as my episiotomy healed very quickly. |

Happy Mum (happy_mum)
Post Number: 2 Registered: 2-2005
| | Posted on Monday, February 28, 2005 - 9:23 pm: |
i'm so surprised to hear that Dr Tan is retiring soon... was thinking of having her as my gynae for the rest of my pregnancy... anywayz, my hubby stayed with me thru' out the whole delivery, he was not ushered out at all leh... hmm.. |

YYP (yyp)
New member Username: yyp
Post Number: 12 Registered: 2-2005
| | Posted on Tuesday, March 01, 2005 - 2:41 am: |
Like Helena and Evanrissa, I was also delivered by Dr WK Tan. This took place 29 years ago. On 6 December 2004, she delivered my daughter. I was admitted at about 5.30 a.m. after my water broke. Dr Tan checked on me several times that day and even made sure that breakfast, lunch and dinner were delivered to me. My hubby was with me in the birthing room throughout my labour and the delivery, which took place at 8.47 p.m. At no point was he chased out by either Dr Tan or the nurses. During my stay at the hospital, Dr Tan checked on me twice a day - once in the morning and once in the evening. The wound healed quickly. Dr Tan also made sure that I attended the Parentcraft class. I felt very safe in Dr Tan's hands and am encouraged to have another baby. She is probably the most popular gynae at TMC, so the wait is long. On the day I was admitted, a nurse at TMC was also having her baby. Her gynae was also Dr Tan. I went for a check-up in early Feb, and Dr Tan did not mention anything about retiring. Dr M Tan, who covers for Dr WK Tan when she's not available, is a family friend. I'll try to verify the info with her. |

evanrissa (evanrissa)
Post Number: 15 Registered: 1-2005
| | Posted on Tuesday, March 01, 2005 - 10:59 am: |
Hi YYP, Dr M Tan is WK Tan's niece, just like Dr Ann Tan from Mt E. |

Helena (helena)
Junior Member Username: helena
Post Number: 278 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, March 01, 2005 - 4:09 pm: |
Pochacco, M Tan is okie. Her stiches are rather nice and I find that she is a careful person, as in if she suspects something not amiss, she'll send you for tests. Heard from a staff that WK Tan waives charges for nurses. Dunno if it is true. SO nice of her! |

java (cosmicstar)
Junior Member Username: cosmicstar
Post Number: 301 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, March 01, 2005 - 10:00 pm: |
hi Helena, Yes I agree that she is a careful person, but for my case, too complicated that is beyond her carefulness. You see I had a stillbirth at 35 weeks in June 2003 due to umbilibal cord strangulation, that was my first pregnancy seen by my previous gynae. So for my second pregnancy I decided to go to WK Tan. Unfortunately my second pregnancy also ended at 35 weeks. WK Tan was shocked and puzzled by my case and suspects that my first stillbirth was not due to cord strangulation but something else. Send me for detailed blood test, results came back with a protein S deficiency that causes blood clotting problems to the placenta and cord. She is going to refer me to a hematologist to get more bloodwork done. I hope WK Tan does not retire too soon, then noone can follow up with my case. |

YYP (yyp)
New member Username: yyp
Post Number: 15 Registered: 2-2005
| | Posted on Thursday, March 10, 2005 - 1:45 am: |
Well, from what I've heard, Dr WK Tan is not retiring yet. She's also not Dr M Tan's aunt. |

blessed (blessed)
Post Number: 460 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Thursday, March 10, 2005 - 11:43 am: |
Hi YYP, good to hear she is not retiring yet! did u ask her personally? i have an appt with her nx week. hahaha, there's so much news regarding her relationship with M Tan and Anne Tan!! from my mum's friend, whose 3 kids n all her sisters/SIL kids r delivered by WK tan, M Tan is WK Tan cousin n Anne Tan is WK Tan niece...ahahahhaa...i wonder what is the correct version...me so KPO |

Mummy69 (mummy69)
New member Username: mummy69
Post Number: 11 Registered: 1-2005
| | Posted on Tuesday, March 15, 2005 - 10:36 am: |
Hi, my 2 kids were delivered by WK Tan too. She is really very good. I always feel safe in her hand and the whole process of the delivery was very good for both of my kids. Her fees are high though. Will definitely recommend her to anyone. |

dooby (dooby)
New member Username: dooby
Post Number: 23 Registered: 1-2005
| | Posted on Monday, March 28, 2005 - 5:57 pm: |
Hi all, What are WK Tan charges like. Thinking of bringing my wife to see her...Thanks. |

Aical Lim (aical)
New member Username: aical
Post Number: 36 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Monday, March 28, 2005 - 7:00 pm: |
Hi dooby, WK Tan delivery packages is $2075 exclude blood tests, vitamins and scan.This price is for all type of delivery meaning i.e. normal or C section or assisted delivery. i think first consultation charge is $80. subsequent visit will be @ $50. Her package is abit on the X side but she is really very good. My first girl was delivered by her and i am currently seeing her for my second one. Be assured yr wife will be in safe hands. |

dooby (dooby)
New member Username: dooby
Post Number: 24 Registered: 1-2005
| | Posted on Tuesday, March 29, 2005 - 1:46 pm: |
Thanks Aical, what is the cost for each scan? My doc at raffles quoted me 2200 for her service. But i heard need to book appointment 1 mth in advance, is that true? |

Aical Lim (aical)
New member Username: aical
Post Number: 37 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, March 29, 2005 - 1:57 pm: |
Hi dooby, For the normal ultrasound scan that you do during yr regular visit, i think is ard $10 to $15. For the detail scanning @20wks is abt $100 plus. R u refering to yr appt for e first visit to see e gynae? It really depends on e availability of e gynae schedule. For WK tan, she will only see you when u r in yr 8 wks. |

babycutie (babycutie)
New member Username: babycutie
Post Number: 38 Registered: 3-2005
| | Posted on Monday, April 11, 2005 - 4:07 pm: |
Hi Aical, Does WK Tan has package? Some gynaes have packages whereby normal scanning, urine test and vitamins are free of charge. |

chin (chinlee)
New member Username: chinlee
Post Number: 17 Registered: 3-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, April 17, 2005 - 1:47 pm: |
Hi, I just made an appointment to see WK Tan next week. On the phone, the sister on duty told me about several tests that have to be done on my first visit. When I visit her, it will be the beginning of my 2nd trimester. - Blood Test - she said S$100+ - Oscar Test - she said S$300+ She did not mention anything about the consultation..I reckon is it around S$80 to S$100 - which is quite standard. Not sure of any packages..if anyone has other info, please share. Thank you.  |

2005 (first_mum)
New member Username: first_mum
Post Number: 9 Registered: 6-2005
| | Posted on Thursday, June 23, 2005 - 7:44 pm: |
Hi, Ive signed up for check-up and delivery package under WK Tan. Her waiting time is indeed very long, and when it gets to my turn it would only be for like less than 10 mins! Maybe shes too experienced, everything at her finger tips. but i do feel safe in her hands. cant wait for next check-up. Miss my bb :D |

Happy Mum (happy_mum)
Post Number: 3 Registered: 2-2005
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 29, 2005 - 9:27 pm: |
Hi Chin & Baby Cutie, Dr Tan does have a package. Like what Aical mentioned, the package is $2075, excluding detailed blood test & scan & vitamins, for all types of delivery. The package do include the monthly/ fornightly/ weekly consultations. If there are no medications/ vitamins to be taken during ur visit, I don't think you need to pay anything. This was what I had when I had her as my gynae last yr. I'm not too sure if the package has changed. |

chin (chinlee)
Post Number: 53 Registered: 3-2005
| | Posted on Friday, July 01, 2005 - 3:09 pm: |
I have since signed up with Dr WK Tan. Charges are as you detailed. Thanks for the information, anyway. She is so far so good.  |

BellyButton (bellybutton)
Junior Member Username: bellybutton
Post Number: 235 Registered: 1-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, July 03, 2005 - 4:33 pm: |
hi, when does the package start? is the $2075 payable in one whole sum at the start? |

chin (chinlee)
Post Number: 57 Registered: 3-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, July 03, 2005 - 8:16 pm: |
The $2075 starts from the second visit, since they will provide u the info during the first visit. Can not remember how much the first visit was..probably around S$80. First payment is S$1000 + GST. Second and last payment is after delivery. So in between, you only pay for the supplements, scans and tests. No difference whether you have natural / C-section. Though I think epidural is separately charged. |

03mommy (03mommy)
New member Username: 03mommy
Post Number: 1 Registered: 8-2005
| | Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 10:17 pm: |
I wld highly recommend her. She operated on me to remove a cyst, saw me thru my 1st preg, and am now seeing her for #2. She's older but extremely experienced and still steady (both w/ my surgery & delivery). And she really cares. She's the kind who won't say too much so you don't overly worry, but if something's not right, she'll say so and counsel you. Wait varies depending on time/ day. For my #1, she was worried cos' of my med hist & asked us to stay back until she was done w/ her last patient (she only had a few more to go). She spent 20 min advising us on do's & don'ts. When I had complications while overseas, I called her a few times and she told me what to do. She managed my delivery expertly and is very supportive of breastfeeding e.g. checks your breasts and teaches you to massage them to get you ready to produce milk. When my baby had to stay longer cos' of jaundice, and I was "discharged" but staying in the hospital as a lodger, she still came to see me 2x a day to offer moral support (@ no extra charge, cos' all her visits are incl in the package). Don't know if she's vy expensive cos' I didn't compare. I feel she's worth the money though cos' she's a good doctor. Plus her packages incl most things, so you don't have to pay much extra e.g. her surgical fees covered all the visits in the hospital and after discharge. And she changed my dressing herself even tho' most doctors just ask their nurses to do it! My only concern was that she might retire before I'm done having kids. She was vy sweet tho' - said she'd wait for me to have my 2nd . I don't mind sticking w/ her for as long as I can, and if I have to make a switch later (if I go for #3), so be it! |

ruth (christopher)
New member Username: christopher
Post Number: 1 Registered: 11-2005
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 23, 2005 - 3:10 am: |
I just had my first child with Dr Tan. Have heard that her sitches for C sections and naturals are one of the best in town. She does have a long queue but she's very encouraging, supportive and patient. She also takes good care of you post delivery. All in all, I thought she's fantastic. I strongly recommend her! |

ling (ling156)
New member Username: ling156
Post Number: 14 Registered: 2-2006
| | Posted on Friday, March 03, 2006 - 1:35 pm: |
I too had my first child with WK Tan. All through the first pregnanacy. she was very professional and initially I was sort of scared of her as she was quite fierce. But after the 2nd appt, I felt that she was very steady and knew what to do in the event of an emergency (touchwood!). I was pregnant end of last year and went to see her as well. Unfortunately, the pregnancy self-terminated and I found that during the 4 or 5 visits to her for my check ups, she was always counselling me that the pregnancy didn't turn out as expected as there was "something wrong" with either the egg or the sperm. She also kept assuring me that I can try for another after a 2 month rest period and that I was still in time for a Dog baby! Showed concern and empathy.. Have nothing but great comments about her. She also delivered both my SIL's babies and my SIL's sister's kids. In fact, she was also the doc for my grandma in her later years..I count experience as one of her best attributes.  |

ValC (valc)
Junior Member Username: valc
Post Number: 343 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, March 19, 2006 - 10:32 pm: |
can i check with those of you who had your babies delivered by wk tan, did she allow you to breast feed your baby immediately after birth? |

kris (kris)
Member Username: kris
Post Number: 1096 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Monday, March 20, 2006 - 7:24 am: |
ValC: Yes, she asked if I would like to bf my 2nd bb immediately and I did. With my #1 she didn't ask me as she knew that I was already overexhausted from the 22hr labour.  |

ruth (christopher)
New member Username: christopher
Post Number: 62 Registered: 11-2005
| | Posted on Monday, March 20, 2006 - 10:54 am: |
Dr Tan is the best! I loved her! Most of the women in my family go to her. She supposedly has the best stitches for natural and cesearean too. She is very very gentle and steady during the delivery - I was very nervous and I HATE pain. She's also very understanding. She really loves babies too! She's the best. Go to her and you'll be in good hands!! SHe's not chatty but will talk if she has the time. And yes, she let me bf after birth. Can someone who's seeing her please ask if she's retiring soon and let me know? thanks! |

Celine (celyw)
Member Username: celyw
Post Number: 761 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Saturday, April 15, 2006 - 1:50 am: |
I really regret not to choose her as my gynae when I have my 1st bb last year. Choose Dr Chen Chern Yi due to convenience which was a BIG mistake! Anyway I hope when I am ready to give birth to the 2nd one Dr WK Tan is still around coz she will be my 1st choice irregardless cost or distance. |

rnjt (rnjt)
New member Username: rnjt
Post Number: 64 Registered: 4-2004
| | Posted on Saturday, April 29, 2006 - 3:57 pm: |
Hi Celine, can ask , why did you say choosing dr chen chern yi was a mistake ? |

disneymom (bayb)
New member Username: bayb
Post Number: 41 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Sunday, July 02, 2006 - 1:30 am: |
WK Tan was very encouraging on breastfeeding. she was all for total bf, kept telling me then that i've got enough milk for my baby. surprisingly it was my paediatrician who do not really encourage total bf, but advise me on partial MF. |

MerryMum (merrymum)
New member Username: merrymum
Post Number: 24 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Monday, July 10, 2006 - 6:47 pm: |
I have Dr WK Tan as my gynae too..And she is great! Very experienced and "steady"...And she is very dedicated and caring as well. My bb did not poo for 3 days in the hospital and she actually showed more concerns than my assigned PD..even informed me when bb finally poo...She is very pro breastfeeding too! |

sereneoh (sereneoh)
New member Username: sereneoh
Post Number: 14 Registered: 11-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 18, 2006 - 5:30 pm: |
can anyone tell me wk tan's contact no? and her address in tmc? sorry..lazy to seach for it. |

sereneoh (sereneoh)
New member Username: sereneoh
Post Number: 15 Registered: 11-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 18, 2006 - 6:56 pm: |
thanks girls ..i got it..62534753. 1st floor of tmc. |

Winnie (badgal)
Junior Member Username: badgal
Post Number: 109 Registered: 8-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, September 20, 2006 - 4:41 pm: |
Hi gals Like to chk wif u wat is WK Tan charges like? Is it unlimited visits? N wat does it incl? |

RabbitMum (rabbitmum)
New member Username: rabbitmum
Post Number: 1 Registered: 9-2006
| | Posted on Saturday, September 23, 2006 - 3:40 pm: |
Hi Winnie, Dr WK Tan charges as follows: $2675 (single pregnancy) and $3975 (twin pregnancy). Covers all scheduled consultations & std urine dip stick test & all types of delivery (normal, c-section, forceps) & all hospital visits after delivery. Dr WK Tan is really a nice lady  |

mag (chzmag)
New member Username: chzmag
Post Number: 17 Registered: 10-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, October 17, 2006 - 1:59 pm: |
Yup! I agree she's really nice. She delivered me and my brother twenty over years ago and she also sees my aunts and alot of my friends' mums. That's why when I got preggie first in 2003, my only thought was to see her. Her queues are especially long, sometimes, we even have to wait up to 3hrs before she sees us for 5-10mins. But she's very knowledgeable and I feel comfortable with her I think the only times I really had a good chat with her was when she cleaned and stitched me up after delivery both times, and hb and bb out of the way. We talked about sch, alot of us were from SCGS, and the rumour that DR M Tan is her cousin which she confirms is untrue. I was in Guangzhou, working when i found out I was preggie for the third time. The encounters with the doctors here are horrifying after being 'pampered' by Dr Tan. They treat you like guinea pigs here FYI. That's why when I had a holiday, I immediately booked a flight back home to see Dr Tan for my antenatal check My detailed scan showed a isolated cyst in the baby's brain, but Dr Tan didn't even broach much about it. She said it would go away, and for that, i trust her. She is the kind of doctor who really makes you comfortable. |

Winnie (badgal)
Post Number: 110 Registered: 8-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, October 17, 2006 - 6:16 pm: |
Hi RabbitMum & mag Thks 4 all ur comfortg words. I oways tot male gynaes r better. Guess she's 1 of those rare female ones tat r gd. She's in her 60s now rite? |

Winnie (badgal)
Post Number: 111 Registered: 8-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, October 17, 2006 - 6:23 pm: |
Sorie RabbitMum I scrolled thru the earlier posts & saw 1 gal wrote sayg tat WT Tan's charges r $2,075. Cld I verify tis wif u again? Coz u put there as $2,675. Is it a typo-error? |

blueberries (blueberries)
Junior Member Username: blueberries
Post Number: 186 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Wednesday, October 18, 2006 - 10:55 am: |
Hi Winnie, Nope, not a typo. Her charges has increased for year 2006/7. $2075 was for year 2004/5. Btw, she's also my gynae . hi-hi, rabbitmum . |

java (cosmicstar)
Post Number: 487 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, October 18, 2006 - 5:13 pm: |
wow u mean she increase her charges by $600? damn! I gotta pay more for my next preg liao. |

Winnie (badgal)
Post Number: 112 Registered: 8-2004
| | Posted on Friday, October 20, 2006 - 11:32 am: |
Hey blueberries Thks 4 the clarificatn. Din noe she increase her price by so much! My fren was still tellg mi tat the last time she delivered her boy (abt 4.5 yrs ago) her price was still $2k. Is it for unlimited visits? |

blueberries (blueberries)
Junior Member Username: blueberries
Post Number: 197 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Friday, October 20, 2006 - 2:01 pm: |
Dun think it is for unlimited visits. All visits must be scheduled. For unscheduled visits, need to pay consultation but I think it is up to the doc whether she wants to charge you for that visit. I've made a unscheduled visit before I took up the package, but she was on leave so another doc (her back-up) saw me. I was not charged the consultation on condition that I pay for the package then . |

RabbitMum (rabbitmum)
New member Username: rabbitmum
Post Number: 14 Registered: 9-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, October 25, 2006 - 10:16 pm: |
hi-hi blueberries, nice to 'see' u here too sorry, has not been checking this thread cos' it seems to be pretty slow moving :P hi winnie, guess blueberries has answered your queries liao. have u signed up with Dr Tan? How many weeks are you now? |

Winnie (badgal)
Post Number: 113 Registered: 8-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, October 26, 2006 - 8:57 am: |
Hi RabbitMum Mi nt preggy yet. Nw TCC. Juz tot I better do some homework 2 chk out the better gynae 1st. My colick oso use WT Tan for her 2 pregnancies. She said a lot of gd things abt this doc. THe oli bad side is her waitg time can b veri long loh. So I tot I cld read up more abt her & the comments tat her patients give on the web. : ) |

Joeie Tan (joeietan)
Member Username: joeietan
Post Number: 1615 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Monday, November 13, 2006 - 9:52 pm: |
hi Dr W K Tan help me deliver. she's good. if i got 2nd one will look for her too. her price is comparable as to others |

cheepoozz (cheepoozz)
New member Username: cheepoozz
Post Number: 2 Registered: 12-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, December 12, 2006 - 11:28 pm: |
Hi there, With WK Tan's current package at $2675. How much would i expect to top up in cash after deduction from the medisave.. Gather from all the good comments about her.. i would think the extra $$ is worth it... |

rabbit_00 (rabbit_00)
New member Username: rabbit_00
Post Number: 23 Registered: 12-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, December 20, 2006 - 4:34 pm: |
Hi cheepoozz, I think you will need to fork out at least 4K cash if you choose 1 bedded at TMC. I paid $3.5K cash when I delivered there last mth. My package was $2075. |

Winnie (badgal)
Post Number: 124 Registered: 8-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, December 21, 2006 - 8:53 am: |
Hi gals Juz found out I'm 5 1/2 wks preggy. I went 2 make an appt last wk. Was actually given an appt next wk 2 c my appointed gynae which is Dr WK Tan. Bt due 2 the fact tat I had little cramps on & off since last wk when I found out I was preggy, I asked 4 an earlier appt. As ytd was wed, I saw Dr Mag Tan. I dun hv a gd impression of her. She's so rough wif mi when she did the scanng! N she didn't even tell me when my EDD is gg 2 b! Worse she oso can't tell mi what caused the cramps. I really hope Dr WK Tan is not like her. Coz most ple say female gynaes r nt like their male counterparts who r extremely gentle. I used 2 c Dr Vincent Lee frm Raffles last yr b4 preggy. Bt he migrated 2 australia liao. I'm saw the posts here tat WK Tan is gd. I really hope she's 100 or 1000 times better than Dr Mag. Otherwise, I hv 2 find another gynae again. DO u think I shld still continue or find another? |

java (cosmicstar)
Post Number: 498 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, December 21, 2006 - 11:28 am: |
Hi Winnie, Rest assured, Dr WK Tan is many times better than Dr Madelene Tan. You will be in good hands under her. I saw Dr M Tan once when WK Tan wasn't free, din like her at all, somemore will scold her nurses. |

Helena (helena)
Member Username: helena
Post Number: 1217 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, December 21, 2006 - 2:46 pm: |
Hi, I was with M Tan and I agree that she can be quite blunt but on the whole, I really find her really good. I sought her advice on the phone and she was very patient. WK Tan is also good. She was the one who delivered me. My mum's doctor friends recommended her. My mum said she's good but told me M Tan is better cos WK Tan is getting old already. |

Winnie (badgal)
Post Number: 128 Registered: 8-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, December 21, 2006 - 2:49 pm: |
Hi java Thks 4 the assurance. HB & myself r giving tis clinic another chance. Hope Dr WK Tan is as wat u gals hv described it 2 b. Gentle & caring. Coz it was a nitemare ytd when we saw tis Mag Tan. |

c0co (c0co)
Member Username: c0co
Post Number: 695 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Wednesday, January 10, 2007 - 12:14 am: |
hi, i am with WK tan and heard that the cons of going to a super popular gynae is that you might be neglected. Should there be another lady delivering at the same time as you are ( if really that unlucky), you might be kept waiting and neglected even when you are also having contractions, especially if you are delivering your number 2 compared to the other lady( who is delivering her 1st baby) this is a real scenario i heard from my sister's friend. Its horrifying to even hear that. Any experiences like this or similar experiences? |

charsiew (pudgyme)
New member Username: pudgyme
Post Number: 11 Registered: 5-2005
| | Posted on Friday, January 12, 2007 - 6:08 pm: |
hihi.. any more comments on Dr WK Tan? :> Tks alot... |

Curl (curl)
Junior Member Username: curl
Post Number: 287 Registered: 11-2003
| | Posted on Friday, January 12, 2007 - 6:35 pm: |
Hi I may not have similar experience but I do share the same feeling. I was a WK Tan patient and I do feel neglected at times. I feel that she is a good an experienced gynae but queue is badly managed. Her appt is packed at 12pax per hour. Cos of her 'popularity', she tends to overlook some things. I did not have a pleasant experience as I was in a critical condition that she has 'misdiagnosed'. However, I prefer not to share the details here, cos I still believe that I am the unlucky one. My take is that if you have little problems and smooth pregnancy, she will be a good gynae but if you need more attention and care, may not be as good as she cannot attend to you immediately most of the time. Q an overworked gynae. |

charsiew (pudgyme)
New member Username: pudgyme
Post Number: 12 Registered: 5-2005
| | Posted on Friday, January 12, 2007 - 11:53 pm: |
Ooh Curl..sorry to hear of your unpleasant experience :< i guess its really a "heng suay' thing, one man's meat may be another man's poison.. This tells us that it all really depends on us whether we can build a good rapport with the gynae, & whether we can really trust her/him. This is all so subjective... Thanks for sharing :> you have jus helped me to think in another perspective. Now I have more information to access whether shes "the one"...(matrix) heehee Will think abt it.. |

c0co (c0co)
Member Username: c0co
Post Number: 696 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Sunday, January 14, 2007 - 10:10 pm: |
hi.. thanks for your opinion Curl... =) ya man. really have to think about what i really want. I really really like her. Just that my waiting time has been 2.5 hr lately. Quite painful. |

araire (araire)
New member Username: araire
Post Number: 28 Registered: 1-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, March 28, 2007 - 11:00 pm: |
I was with Dr WK Tan when I delivered my first baby in April 2006. She's careful and steady. She doesn't offer much "advice" unless she thinks you really need to know something. I feel that if u are young and don't expect a difficult pregnancy, then go for another gynae cos her queues are very very long (the longest in TMC). The reason why she's so popular is because she's apparently very experienced. |

ferrari__ (ferrari__)
New member Username: ferrari__
Post Number: 7 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 27, 2007 - 9:06 am: |
Can anyone share the recent charges of Dr WK Tan ? How long is the waitting time for her visits ? |

limko (limko)
New member Username: limko
Post Number: 47 Registered: 8-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 27, 2007 - 11:34 am: |
Hi ferrari, I just signed up a package with WK Tan, I think her normal consultation charges are $90-$100 plus $30 for scan. Her package is $2600 for normal or c-sec, same price. I started my package at 13 weeks. When u sign up for the pkg, you pay additional $75 for blood and urine test package which they will administer at every visit. Oscar, Detailed Scanning, medicine and scans not included. You pay 50% upon sign up and 50% upon delivery. Her fees are quite expensive but she is very experienced gynae |

ferrari__ (ferrari__)
Post Number: 8 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 27, 2007 - 2:42 pm: |
thxs limko, So this package includes delivery charges and the pre-natal visits ? How about the folic acid and vitamins ? Cos i had a package with another gynae, but does not include delivery charges. I gone thru all the scans and etc. But I heard Dr Tan's stitching is good and recover quite fast, tot of changing gynae as I'm unsure my current gynae if she is good with her stitching. And so far i cant find much comment on her too. A bit worried. Or can i book Dr Tan just for delivery ? |

limko (limko)
New member Username: limko
Post Number: 49 Registered: 8-2004
| | Posted on Friday, June 29, 2007 - 11:49 am: |
her package does not include folic acid and vits. I am not sure if you can just book her for delivery. I think then you have to just pay her the delivery price, no package. You can call up thomson to check. |

ferrari__ (ferrari__)
Post Number: 9 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Monday, July 02, 2007 - 8:55 am: |
Thxs limko, i'll check on that. =) |

gal (olivegal77)
New member Username: olivegal77
Post Number: 1 Registered: 7-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, July 19, 2007 - 12:05 am: |
Hi all My son was also delivered by DR WK Tan last June'06, she is a great dr, I trust her. very calm dr.extremely experienced. I once went to M Tan when Wk Tan was not around, I did not have a good impression of her, she was not able to tell me why I was bleeding etc, even after the scan. since then, even sometimes while waiting for Dr Wk tan, she has to go for emergency delivery, I will wait for her even if 2-3 hours later, rather than seeing M Tan. though Wk tan price is steep, its worth it! recommended friends to her, all had good comments .... She is a firm and confident dr. |

gal (olivegal77)
Post Number: 2 Registered: 7-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, July 19, 2007 - 10:00 am: |
hi ferrari her pkg is now 2675 which include ur visit consultaions till u deliver, & delivery fees. but it does not include folic acids, iron pills or omega fish oil pills etc. u also have to pay for the oscar scan at 3rd mth and detail scan at 5th mth. however these 2 scans are done by dr Chang. you can double check....c3s |

mercy (mercy)
New member Username: mercy
Post Number: 1 Registered: 9-2007
| | Posted on Sunday, September 23, 2007 - 1:26 pm: |
Both my two children were delivered by WK Tan. The second one was just delivered this month. She is extremely professional and experienced, at the same time, loving and caring. Both myself and my husband know that under her, both myself and the baby are in good hands. As long as she is still in her profession, I would never consider another gynae if I ever want another child. The longer queue time and slighlty expensive fee (which I don't think so) are all worth it. Highly recommended!!! |

Jolene (jolene78)
New member Username: jolene78
Post Number: 44 Registered: 8-2004
| | Posted on Friday, October 19, 2007 - 4:06 pm: |
Dr Tan is indeed professional & experienced. i also juz delivered tis mth via c-section cos baby too big (3.9kg). on the day of delivery, as i was neverously waiting outside the OT, she actually come to ensure me tat everthing's going to be fine, told me to relax & dun worried. her stitches is gd, wat i see is only a fine line and i actually dun feel any pain after delivery tat i dun even hav to take painkillers. And she changed my dressing herself. although she's old but still veri steady & i strongly recommend her. no regrets. worth the $$$. |

zzz (sleepystar)
Junior Member Username: sleepystar
Post Number: 345 Registered: 3-2007
| | Posted on Friday, October 19, 2007 - 6:48 pm: |
hi all, i'm also under dr wk tan and due next month. however, she is on leave next month and might not be around if my bb decides to come out early leh.. does anyone have such experience of gynae not ard during your delivery?? so sad  |

tsukushi (makino)
Junior Member Username: makino
Post Number: 267 Registered: 11-2004
| | Posted on Monday, January 07, 2008 - 12:12 am: |
Hi, Has anyone been recommended a PD by Dr Tan? Will you have to request her for recommendation or she will assign one to you? |

michelle (bridewannabe)
New member Username: bridewannabe
Post Number: 18 Registered: 1-2005
| | Posted on Monday, January 07, 2008 - 7:34 pm: |
Hi Tsukushi, Dr tan will ask u who is your preferred PD when you are around 32 weeks. If you have no preference, she will choose one for you. |

tsukushi (makino)
Junior Member Username: makino
Post Number: 270 Registered: 11-2004
| | Posted on Monday, January 07, 2008 - 11:37 pm: |
michelle, Do you know who she will normally choose? If we have a preferred PD, must he be from TMC? |

lhy (lhy)
New member Username: lhy
Post Number: 3 Registered: 1-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, January 24, 2008 - 12:36 pm: |
Hi all, will like to ask if Dr Wong is contactable only though emails or does she give out her hp nbr as well for emergencies? Also, can anyone share how much will the bill add up to if i were to stay in 1-bedded, including her delivery fees, antenatal fees, hospital bills etc? assuming natural w epi? Thank u soooo much!! |

lhy (lhy)
New member Username: lhy
Post Number: 5 Registered: 1-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, January 24, 2008 - 1:29 pm: |
Sorry, i meant Dr Tan. |

gal (olivegal77)
Post Number: 17 Registered: 7-2007
| | Posted on Friday, February 22, 2008 - 7:13 pm: |
hi Ihy i dont think dr tan is contactable through emails, she is too busy. normally you just need to call the clinic and talk to the sister, and she will let dr tan know abt it and call u back for the reply. i spent abt 5-6 k when i delivered in 2006, staying in 1 bedded, her delivery fees plus consultaion is $2075 then. (exclude medication). after everything i paid abt $2500 cash in all, the rest was medisave. now i am expecting my 2nd Baby due in june'08, her package increased to $2675, 1 bedded room charges also increased a little. |

queenofoeb (queenofoeb)
New member Username: queenofoeb
Post Number: 53 Registered: 4-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, September 02, 2008 - 9:01 pm: |
my gynae is M Tan from TMC and i gotta say she's quite good also. my stitches are clean and i also did not feel much pain. i was able to get up n walk by 2nd day. will go back to M Tan if i'm pregnant again. |

Beauty Seet (beautyseek)
Junior Member Username: beautyseek
Post Number: 252 Registered: 12-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, September 22, 2010 - 2:12 pm: |
Dr WK Tan has been my gynae since I discovered a fibroid in 2007. She delivered my 1st baby in early 2008 and I am now seeing her for my 2nd baby due in a few wks' time. I highly recommend her. She is very professional and most impt of all, cares for her patients and is also very careful. Personally, I think it is impt to find a gynae whom you can trust. For my case, I have lotsa worries... fibroids, thyroid, poor placenta function, breech baby position, super fast labour etc... and I must say having her as my gynae reassures me a lot for I know she is the best one can have. Like others before me have said, she is also very good with her stitches. In fact, I think her charges are not expensive at all given her wealth of experience and commitment. |

ixoral (ixoral)
New member Username: ixoral
Post Number: 21 Registered: 3-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 16, 2010 - 2:35 pm: |
Hi ladies, my friend highly recommended me Dr WK Tan for my 1st pregnancy Can kindly advise me on what are her latest charges? Seem like it's increasing year on year.. How old is she now btw? |

IbaV MS (ibav)
New member Username: ibav
Post Number: 1 Registered: 1-2011
| | Posted on Thursday, January 06, 2011 - 10:52 am: |
Hi ladies, This is my 2nd pregnancy, i should be around 7 weeks. However dr cant detect the heart beat. As for my first pregnancy, I got miscarriage on the 3rd months! Im thinking to get 2nd opinion... anyone know if Dr WK Tan is good at this kinda case? Thank you. |

mao-mao-a (maomaoa)
New member Username: maomaoa
Post Number: 6 Registered: 3-2010
| | Posted on Tuesday, January 10, 2012 - 6:07 pm: |
my first was also detected with no heartbeat at 6weeks. I got second opinion with dr tan and d&c by dr tan too. |

limko (limko)
Junior Member Username: limko
Post Number: 175 Registered: 8-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 13, 2012 - 1:28 pm: |
I am with Dr. WK Tan for my first baby and now with her also for the second. I think she is really professional and motherly. She will talk to you gently and she is so experienced so I feel safe with her. |

Maryanne (messymummy)
New member Username: messymummy
Post Number: 17 Registered: 2-2012
| | Posted on Sunday, July 29, 2012 - 2:45 pm: |
Has anyone done a natural breech delivery with Dr Tan? I need to decide by tomorrow... 39 weeks now. She said she can do both, it's up to me. Appreciate if anyone has experiences to share. Thanks! |