SingaporeMotherhood.com * Motherhood, Pregnancies And Babies * Agape Little Uni (Kallang) - Infant care < Previous Next >

Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
Archive through February 19, 2010kiki80100 2-19-10  4:11 pm
Archive through September 02, 2010EiLiYa100 9-02-10  5:21 pm
Archive through February 09, 2011Snowball32100 2-09-11  10:24 am
  ClosedClosed: New threads not accepted on this page        

Leereiner (reiner)
Username: reiner

Post Number: 2870
Posted on Wednesday, February 09, 2011 - 10:44 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ya Ya Snowball, the 3G abacus will start in Mar... let her join in too... but cecil charge 7% gst leh so me is paying more... sigh!!! even the S&D fee has 7% gst hor.... so many 7% to add on....

CCK branch has arts class right? dont have @ kallang n cecil side leh.... how come eh? although my gal doesnt have a flare on drawings/ arts... keke.... just want her to have more exposure....

Snowball32 (snowball32)
Username: snowball32

Post Number: 1172
Posted on Friday, February 11, 2011 - 8:53 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,

The fees are inclusive of GST one leh.

My DD1 also joined in their ART class. I let her join precisely because she cannot really draw. After attending for almost 1 year, now she can draw a few animals liao - Rabbit, crab, bird, etc :P

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2872
Posted on Monday, February 14, 2011 - 10:47 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

huh?? inclusive of GST???

used to pay 60bucks @ Kallang for the S&D. Now @ Cecil, we are paying 64.20 yah (with 7% more, i.e 4.20 more)... so will be the 3G abacus too...

my gal likes to draw castle, princess, family members sorta... but all are very abstract ones... keke....

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 1179
Posted on Wednesday, February 16, 2011 - 9:51 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,

Think they have setup each of the CC as a separate entities. So, some of them charge GST & some do not. The setup is funny hor?

I was looking at the workbooks and worksheets my DDs brought back from CC. Her drawings all very abstract but at least now, I can figure out what she drew.

Carol (nuttyluvclover)
Username: nuttyluvclover

Post Number: 1
Posted on Friday, February 25, 2011 - 6:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,
Did both your kids take the school bus from kallang? How much you pay for it?

eileen ang (eileen_ang)
Username: eileen_ang

Post Number: 490
Posted on Monday, February 28, 2011 - 8:14 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Other than the money, I think the standard of teaching is more important. I don't know if any mummies realised that there are grammatical and sentence structure errors in the letters sent to parents, not to mention the instructions in the children's jotterbooks. I'm really concerned what is being taught to my child......

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2873
Posted on Monday, February 28, 2011 - 8:41 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Carol,

ya, both kids take school bus fm kallang to cecil. its foc, tentatively bah.

Hi eileen,
agreed yo... the std of teaching. spot quite a number of mistakes lor...

me asked cecil K1 eng Tr about the letterland thingy and learning of spelling... very surprised that she said learning spelling is thru memory>> sorta of drilling... so why agape is teaching letterland to kids? or they just do it for the sake of doing only? since other reputable ones have it too.... isnt learning letterland, the kids will learn to listen and blend the word/ spell the word... of coz let alone the sight words.... what a waste of having letterland in the Curriculum. and all along me tot my girl is able to pick up the phonics fm there, can save enrichment monies/ time lor...

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 491
Posted on Monday, February 28, 2011 - 9:13 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Apparantly i seem to be the only one who kept giving feedback of the bad English used. Kept saying until i myself get very frustrated....

Carol (nuttyluvclover)

Post Number: 2
Posted on Monday, February 28, 2011 - 12:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Oh, do you gals feel the teachers are inexperience, therefore they dont know how to teach?
btw, Reiner, is Kallang full, thats why u need to sent your kids to Cecil?

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2874
Posted on Monday, February 28, 2011 - 4:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi carol,

kallang is rather crowded. and cecil side is giving special offer to kallang kids to be tfr to cecil branch. so #1 goes to cecil so will be #2 lor...

inexperience?? cant be... the P always mentioned how many of experience the Tr has lor.... so not true eh?? ha!!! so how?? teach our kids ourselves lor... find that no use to feedback lor... no action taken for improvement leh....

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 1223
Posted on Monday, February 28, 2011 - 4:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,

While I find that their teachings of Mandarin is rather good (my DD1 can read many Chinese characters already when I started her with 四五快读). I find that their phonics teaching is not strong enough.

My DD1 is still not very good with words blending. I did check out with her class teacher and she did tell me that they are teaching 3-letters words blending now. She feedback that my DD1 can read many words she taught in class already. But, I think its due to her reading the P & J series.

Btw, from this week onwards, the Principal from CCK branch will be transferred to Kallang Br. You can talk to her & find out more. She is an amicable and approachable lady.

The previouse Principal will go back to CCK branch. I will also feedback to her on my observations on their phonics teaching.

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2875
Posted on Tuesday, March 01, 2011 - 8:06 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Snowball,

but my kids are @ Cecil branch NOT KALLANG leh...

四五快读>> me bot this too, after saw tam recommended and lots of you were getting too... keke... my girl still in Book 1... blame on mummy too lazy lah... so far her chinese still okay...

my girl reads P&J too... she's still hanging @ 8b... so all along tot credit goes to agape letterland phonics to able her to read till 8b... think its my credit instead... keke... but she still too lazy to read by herself a complete story lor, mean other story books....

EiLiYa (s_l)
Username: s_l

Post Number: 561
Posted on Tuesday, March 01, 2011 - 9:24 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I agree with you all. The english standard of the childcare is questionable. I'm not saying that I speak perfect english (far from it), but I do try to speak proper english to my son as much as possible so he will not pick up the bad/lazy english which we are so used to speaking here. Recent months I've noticed alot of bad english spoken by my son which I am pretty sure was not by me or hb :-( Like Eileen said, it is common to see grammatical errors in their newsletter to parents... haiz... what more can we expect from the teachers then? Given the type of school fees we're paying, surely most of us expect a certain level of standard but it just doesn't match up. Very frustrating indeed.

However, I also have to give credit for the mandarin. My son's mandarin has also improved quite a bit and he can speak much better now and without the "ang mo" chinese accent. LOL Also, he is confident to reply in mandarin compared to before.

Anyway, I'm giving myself some time before I decide if he should continue kindergarten in Agape or somewhere else. Doesn't mean that another place is always better than here. Have to do some research.

EiLiYa (s_l)

Post Number: 562
Posted on Tuesday, March 01, 2011 - 9:26 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Btw, Reiner, what is 四五快读 and P&J? Are they highly recommended? I feel guilty for being such a lazy mummy... haha... Must buck up.

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2876
Posted on Tuesday, March 01, 2011 - 11:11 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

P&J = Peter and Jane series. ladybird series... sight words, repetitive... if you are keen, can borrow from me to try our on your boy...

四五快读> = like P&J
http://product.dangdang.com/product.aspx?product_id=20916154&ref=search-1-pub
me got Book 1& 2 only... scared me cant finish... me lazy yah...

haha!!! my girl has increased her singlish a lot lor... always got mark by my sil even my younger niece said y jie jie talk in singlish!!! stimes even "comment" she didnt understand her english...

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 1224
Posted on Tuesday, March 01, 2011 - 3:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Leereiner,

四五快读 - Just started my DD1 with Book 2 (lesson 2 of book 2). The words are getting increasingly difficult and my DD1 needs more prompting to read them correctly. But, she gained more confidence to read them when she finally managed to remember those words.

P & J Series - My DD1 into Book 7b now.

Really got no time in the evenings, so I alternate between 四五快读 and P & J series on alternate days.

My DD1 can read some of the storybooks on her own, those 200 - 300 words kind which I get from Popular (the Robin series). The more they read, the more confidence they gain.

Also just started DD2 on P & J series book 1a.

Singlish - Even my DD2 is speaking Singlish now....with lotsa "wa....la.....hor, etc" We gotta correct them on the spot when we catch them speaking Singlish.

Let me feedback to the current principal on their phonics teaching and see her response.

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2877
Posted on Tuesday, March 01, 2011 - 4:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

not only those, lor, wa lah... even "buy what", "where got leh?" "go where?" stimes me just ignored her... then she knows her mistakes so talk to me in correct form...

wow... your girl can read 200 to 300 words leh... hmmmm... think gotta start my gal too. hmmmm...

let me know what's the P reply. or else me gotta work double in this area... checked kiasuparents forum, letterland is a good teaching on phonics and agape said their Tr are letterland trained. so why cant they pro on this?

Carol (nuttyluvclover)

Post Number: 3
Posted on Tuesday, March 01, 2011 - 6:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

oh, so i see.
Tr Huixin have no experience
as for your no1, he/she in K1 or N2

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2878
Posted on Wednesday, March 02, 2011 - 12:41 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

my #1 in K1... Tr Priya and zhang lao shi... chnaged tr too... inital is rachel >> the vp and zou lao shi lor... hope they dont change...

me is okay with tr hui xin... as my #2 is joining N1 class and he's picking up things yah...

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2879
Posted on Wednesday, March 02, 2011 - 11:28 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

am okay with no experience Tr... but she gotta have the right/ +ve learning attitude, patience and passion twds the kids.... experience gotta build up thru yrs yah right? correct me yo

of coz for infants wld prefer to ve experience as wont want to take risk for handling baby yah...

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2880
Posted on Tuesday, March 08, 2011 - 8:45 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

new principal @ cecil - the P is from Jurong West yah... so ms lai is leaving yo...

arts class @ ceceil too. free one....

how's the new P @ Kallang yah?

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 502
Posted on Tuesday, March 08, 2011 - 9:00 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

New P at kallang doesn't look too friendly. Saw her ordering the children w/o saying please and thank you

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2892
Posted on Monday, March 21, 2011 - 8:45 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

the New Pis from CCK yo?

any1 went to Cecil for the LETTERLAND workshop? any comments? me didnt go ya... but my hb's bil had -ve feedback of the Tr...

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 1237
Posted on Monday, March 21, 2011 - 1:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,

Got Letterland workshop meh? How come my DDs' CC dun have leh? Anyway, this Friday my DD1 got teaparty. I will ask the teacher/ principal during the teaparty on their letterland teachings.

Art class @ Cecil FOC one? I gotta pay $40 per mth for my DD1 to learn leh. How come Agage got so many different fee structure one....so confusing.

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2894
Posted on Tuesday, March 22, 2011 - 9:09 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Snowball,

huh?? tot the Letterland workshop is for whole agape centres yah.... hmmmm.... or maybe they see my posting in this thread then they came up this workshop...?? hmmmmm....

ya lor... art class is FOC @ Cecil... like some agape centres has GST some not.... all along tot the enrichment/ extra class is for whole group of agape, so the price will be "reasonable" to negotiate for such a huge demand yah... (over 10 centres!!!) like wise the sibling discount thingy too.... sigh!!!

for the letterland workshop, -ve feedback fo the TR..... none is able to communicate/ speak English..... so how to teach Egnlish, let alone Letterland... sigh!

agreed that Chinese Tr are good as they are from China.... is your DD1 know the story of "kong long 让梨"? my girl is able to recite the whole story yo... word by word (unsure is it 100% as the story book, but think @ least 90% correct yo)... very surprised... keke... and the 华语 not much of mixed english accent too...

so wonder how they screen the English Tr??

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 1240
Posted on Tuesday, March 22, 2011 - 4:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,

They took away the sibling discount wef this year.

Phonics - My DD1's english teacher quite ok actually. I understand that they are learning word blending now. But, I did not see that my DD1 can do this well leh.

孔融让梨 - Yes, my DD1 brought home this storybook last weekend and she read the whole story to my hb. My hb was quite impressed with her. Agree that their CL2 teachers' quality quite good. But, need improvement on their choice of English teachers. My DD1 got a Filipino teacher last yr. She is quite good but my DD1 end up with some Filipino essence in her speech. Took me quite a while to correct her.

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2895
Posted on Wednesday, March 23, 2011 - 9:14 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hey snowball, the letterland workshop is meant for PG/N1 group... err... your dd2 in N1?

that's why, till now my girl doesnt know how to blend the 3-letters words lor... bit worry... but still think agape doesnt really push on this... althou agape claimed english Tr are letterland trained...

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2897
Posted on Thursday, March 24, 2011 - 3:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

just rec'd a call from Cecil... CHANGE OF Tr AGAIN sianz... for my K1 girl...

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 1242
Posted on Friday, March 25, 2011 - 9:02 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,

Yes, my DD2 in N1 now.

I will ask the teacher about their teachings on words blending. If they can push for letterland teachings like the way they teach Chinese, it will be wonderful.

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 1250
Posted on Monday, March 28, 2011 - 10:34 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,

Now CCK also offer K1 and K2 to be transferred to One-North. One-North also offer Creative Art class FOC. So, we end up paying marginally higher fees. I also like the environment there. But, travelling one-way takes about 45min - 1 hr (if traffic jam). I am still considering. Going to visit the Centre with my hb and DDs before we decide. If we transfer, we will transfer both kids to One-North.

I went to the K1 tea party and understand from my DD1's English teacher that they just started teaching 3-letters word blending from this term. I will monitor for a while and see how my DD1 progress.

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2898
Posted on Monday, March 28, 2011 - 12:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

huh??! transfer to One-North? why? heard that tamp branch also got this tfr scheme getting on yah... what's the motive behind eh?

errr... 45-min to 1hr travel time, 1-way only?

whatif the K1 class majority moves to one-north, will you go too?

can pm me what's the fee for tfr to One-North? or you wanna post here? keke...

then #2 shall go with jie-jie yah...

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 1253
Posted on Wednesday, March 30, 2011 - 8:00 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,

PM u liao.

Yes, travelling time is 45min 1-way. That is why we are still thinking.

No lah. Mei mei still young. If transfer, will be when she is in N2. But, N2 transfer got to pay more fees leh.

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2900
Posted on Wednesday, March 30, 2011 - 8:42 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

yah... that's the -ve point if not gonna tfr 2 kids @ same time.... me in same situtation yah... My #2 just 19M, he's taking the transport to Cecil lor... cant seperate them yah...

if tfr later than the deadline given, the fee is near to 1k after subsidy.... cant afford....

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2901
Posted on Wednesday, March 30, 2011 - 8:43 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

is there kindermuisk @ your cck side? how about one-north? is it FREE eh? gotta buy the material only... aro 26 plus...

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 1255
Posted on Wednesday, March 30, 2011 - 11:19 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,

Probably, gotta wait till they offer the transfer then decide if we wanna transfer Mei Mei, to enjoy the special fees.

Music - No leh, CCK do not offer music class. I am letting my DD1 attend Yamaha Music Wonderland and now YJC. She has attended 1 yr liao. So far so good. So, if CCK offer, dun think I will let her join.

gohstan (gohstan)
Username: gohstan

Post Number: 358
Posted on Wednesday, April 20, 2011 - 1:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi mummies here,

I was googling for reviews on agape @ cecil and I chanced upon this thread. maybe should open a thread called agape @ cecil instead of tapping onto the kallang thread soon?

My son is attending cc at cecil soon and I met up with the new principal recently. also noticed a lot of changes in teachers since the last time i went for registration. None of the teachers there now are familiar to me! in fact, the P said that most of the teachers are new (some are even on training not even qualified teachers).. so a bit worrying..

anyway my son is attending PG class soon. noted that PG/N1 class is combined due to small class size and there will be two teachers at one time. but I was thinking if lets say english lesson, the chinese teacher is there, surely will be speaking in mandarin right? so kinda weird right? anyway, can anyone provide review of the current teachers in charge of PG/N1?

do you all think your child is learning something at cecil?

if not convenient to post here, maybe can pm me! i am really interested to find out more and pershaps make some mummies friends in cecil. in case next time need to "combine voices" to complain? hee:-)

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2911
Posted on Monday, April 25, 2011 - 11:02 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi snowball,

have you tfr your dd over to 1-North?

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 1286
Posted on Monday, April 25, 2011 - 12:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,

We visited 1-North and really liked the space they have there.

But, after some consideration, we decided to stay put as the morning and evening traffic can be very bad.

In addition, it is also for my MIL that we decided not to transfer our kids.

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2912
Posted on Monday, April 25, 2011 - 12:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

so many kids are tfr to there eh? will K1 combine with K2 if the K1 no is small, like 2-3kids only?

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 1287
Posted on Monday, April 25, 2011 - 2:01 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,

For my DD1's class, only 5 - 6 transferred. So, their class still have about 16 - 17 kids after the transfer.

For N2, I think also not many transferred.

This time round, like not may parents applied for transfer leh.

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2915
Posted on Wednesday, April 27, 2011 - 8:35 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hmmmm.. so the response is not quite +ve yah... keke....

does your girl has penmanship to do eh? my girl brought back a ex book for writting yah... the words are from the storybook which is taught that week.... wonder is the Tr want them to remember the new words or really into writting? if in writting, can get the kids to write journal kinda... or else the new words can via phonics yah.... oh yah... didnt ask my girl how the Tr taught them to read the words... to decode or thru drilling?? haha!!!

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 1293
Posted on Wednesday, April 27, 2011 - 4:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,

Yalor, actually, its quite far from my place to One-North. If take public tpt, at least 1 hr to reach there. Worst if the bus is caught in Jam.

Yes, my gal also brought back 3 jotter books for writing - English/ Chinese/ Maths. My DD1 can spell Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday now. Probably due to the daily writing.

I read from my DD1's workbook that they are into 2-letters word blending now - Eg, bl, cl, fl, etc.

Now, when my DD1 read her storybook and I come across such prefix, I ask her to try to blend the words and pronounce the words. Hope it helps.

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2916
Posted on Thursday, April 28, 2011 - 8:53 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

huh??? 3 jotter books? my girl has 1 yah... enough lor... keke... can share what are the words eh?

yah, agape do teach blending, letterland... is that they dont enforce on it....

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 1297
Posted on Tuesday, May 03, 2011 - 1:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,

Yes, 3 jotter books. I saw some drawings on the Chinese and Maths jotter books. My DD1's teacher asked them to do writing of the days of the week - 1/2 page each.

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2919
Posted on Thursday, May 05, 2011 - 8:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

oic... for my girl>> the words in the ex bk are those the story theme yah... like shape, circle, square, prowl, etc.... think 6 to 8 words per week kinda... dont bother her lor... @ first she complained fingers/ hand tired, so many to write yah, blah blah.... now better... she can finish all words @ a shot.... keke.... hope she knows what she's doing lor...

so far no chinese or maths work leh....

outing @ agape @ cecil in May:-
--- @ One-North playground & pool....

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 1301
Posted on Friday, May 06, 2011 - 2:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,

Now, I can see some improvement in my DD1's handwriting. She can spell Monday - Wednesday now after writing repetitively.

Outing? No leh....I signed her up for the Jun camp tho'. Is your girl going?

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2921
Posted on Friday, May 06, 2011 - 3:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jun camp?? is it the cooking one? if yes, then me didnt sign up for her... too ex... cheapo mummy here yo...

told my girl, she cldnt go to the cooking camp as me didnt have enough monies... only cld let her go for the drama "monster under my bed"... keke... did your DD went too?

http://www.nac.gov.sg/aep/public_view_pp.aspx?id=306

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 1302
Posted on Friday, May 06, 2011 - 4:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,

I thought the cooking camp should be fun for her.

Yes, my DD1 went for the Puppet Show. She only remembered the Monster under the bed.....

Ling (ecclesia)
Username: ecclesia

Post Number: 969
Posted on Sunday, June 05, 2011 - 4:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi mummies, need your feedback on this centre, Agape Little Uni @Kallang. Planning to enrol my 24mth child here.

Read a very good review at the beginning of this thread, but getting worse as I read on.. quite concerns with the ratio, and the Sing-Lish part..

I'm considering GUG, Rosemary Montessory & Carpe Diem @Pico Centre as well, but Agape so far the closest one

Thanks..

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 601
Posted on Sunday, June 19, 2011 - 9:45 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Same sentiments! Need it be so grand for a childcare??
My boy's also graduating this yr....

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 1353
Posted on Friday, June 24, 2011 - 8:41 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Eileen/ Reiner,

I just received the details on this year's graduation ceremony. They holding it at Marriot Hotel. The pkg for customs, 2 adult tix and high tea is $220 and extra tix at $80. I find it very expensive....still comtemplating if we are going.

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 608
Posted on Friday, June 24, 2011 - 4:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I've no choice but to go cos my boy's in K2.
I do agree dat this is the child's 1st graduation ceremony n we should make it memorable for them but e question is: is there a need for such extravagance? I'll b over e moon if they hv gone such an extra mile for their curriculum n basic needs such as reducing e tr student ratio.
I guess the management just wants to up their branding, prestige n market value. They r jus wanting to be on par w other branded childcare centers.

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2944
Posted on Monday, June 27, 2011 - 12:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

me got the know graduation thingy from my gal's classmate mummy... is 220bucks... too ex... not going... as my gal is is K1, 不关事... keke...

not only agape is "uping" their brand, lots of others cc are doing too... what does it help for the kids eh? hope it'll be @ its own pl, its more 亲切... and the kid is gonna graduate from the pl and not what what hotel mah...

haha... totally agree with eileen yo...
"I'll b over e moon if they hv gone such an extra mile for their curriculum n basic needs such as reducing e tr student ratio."

is tr pauline taking K2? how is she eh? long time no see her...

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2945
Posted on Monday, June 27, 2011 - 1:01 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi eileen,

can share what are the stuffs tot in K2 eh?
1) spelling - eng & chinese - when start? how is spelling learnt for english? thru memory??
2) any 成语
3) creative writing for eng & chinese bo?
4) how aobut maths, sci?
5) homework bo?

very very worry of my gal leh... dunno is agape is lacking or my girl cant catch up... my niece is doing a lot more than my girl... @ least point 1 & 2 are given to her @ the begin of yr but agape not doing it... only in K2...

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 1359
Posted on Wednesday, June 29, 2011 - 11:25 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,

I feedback to the CC principal that $220 is too much. Yes, many CCs now "uping" their brandname. But, to me, they can actually find a place big enough at some clubhouse which cost a fraction of price of holding it at a hotel and get much better food and ambience.

How you find the new principal at your DD's CC. Any improvement seen after she is posted there?

I think for K1s, still can let the kids enjoy lah...too 夸张 to make them learn spelling lah. I am more for strengthening their language skills like them reinforcing their phonics teachings rather than teaching memory works.

My DDs have their PTC this Saturday, I will feedback to their teachers again on their phonics teachings.

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2958
Posted on Friday, July 15, 2011 - 11:10 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi snowball,

agreed too... if they can find clubhouse or even CC, am sure these places are big enough to accomdate all agapes kids yo....

you mean P yingying from CCK? she's @ kallang... but my kids are @ cecil yo... my niece still @ kallang, heard my sil said she's always have smile on her face, greets parents, hug the kids... she's warm yah...

me KS bah... but scary to hear what my niece is doing lor.... of coz me want my kids to have a carefree school life....

how's the PTC? update here yo....

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2968
Posted on Tuesday, July 26, 2011 - 10:09 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Zoo excursion on 12 aug. anyone of you going with your kids?

twxmummy (twxmm)
Username: twxmm

Post Number: 266
Posted on Friday, July 29, 2011 - 1:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I just call up Agape in jurong br., intend to put my son next Jan when turn 2yrs old, the fees up to $1000 per month now (b4 subsidy) Last yr Dec i call only $900. going to visit the centre tomorrow, can anyone give me comments, will meet Mrs Neo, she is the pricipal?

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2975
Posted on Monday, August 01, 2011 - 5:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

huh? mrs neo now @ jurong eh... dun think she's the perm P lor...

kite~ (kite~)
Advanced Member
Username: kite~

Post Number: 5824
Posted on Thursday, September 22, 2011 - 1:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

may i know what does K1 and k2 students learn? is their academic strong?
so far how is their art lesson, wat did they do?

How abt cooking lesson?

for extra enrichment lessons, wat r being offer? did u all sign up?

preciousthots (preciousthots)
Username: preciousthots

Post Number: 305
Posted on Saturday, September 24, 2011 - 5:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I am considering to enrol my 22mths daughter in Agape Clementi branch in Dec this year for N1 class. The branch only starts operating in Oct so only managed to see the environment. One of the main concern I have is the teacher children ratio. They follow the mcys ratio though I had thought ration should be better for the fees they are charging. I was told the same applies for other branches. Can parents in existing Agape branches share if you feel this is a concern? I feel that the attention of 1:12 and 2:24 is different. Personally prefer the classes to be smaller. Are your kids in such big classes too?

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 1495
Posted on Thursday, September 29, 2011 - 9:42 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Preciousthots,

Both my kids are with Agape CCK Br. So far, their teacher-to-child ratio is below the MCYS stipulated ratio. My DD1 in PG/N1 with 22 kids and they have 3 teachers. When she was in PG class last yr, her class got 5 kids to 1 teacher. My DD2 in K1, 14 kids to 2 teachers (used to have 20 kids but some transferred to One-North Br).

I was also concerned with the teacher-to-child ratio and I remembered the centre principal then did tell me that they are aiming to reduce the ratio (that was one of the reasons for the fee hike then when I placed my DD1 there more than 2 yrs ago). Now, they are going for another fee hike. So, I do agree that they shld have better teacher-to-child ratio.

Post Number: 308
Posted on Thursday, September 29, 2011 - 11:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Snowball,

Thanks for sharing. May I ask how much is the increase of fees you are referring to? Just want to understand as the fees they are charging is already on the higher side (clementi is $1177 and one-north is $1284 which is higher than Learning Vision) so I would be worried in terms of affordablity if they have fee hike every few yrs. Could you pls also share your views of the school in terms of curriculum ? Thanks in advance :-)

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 1497
Posted on Friday, September 30, 2011 - 6:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Preciousthots,

The fare hike is $100 this time round. But, applicable for new intakes (phewwwww). I guess most CCs will review their fee structure every few years. Even under the same group, the fees charged are different (dependent on location & the rental they pay for the place, I guess).

I should say the teachers' T/O at my kids' branch is considered low as compared to some of the branches. The teachers at least follow-thro' the whole year so far.

Cirriculum wise - I find Agape stronger in Chinese than English which is a good complement for us as we speak mostly English at home.

In terms of discipline, my kids have no problem and the centre is always kept clean. My kids are also eating well in the CC.

I let my DD1 (in K1) join the additional classes - Art, English S & D( DD2 also join) & 3G Abacus. So far, my hb and I are quite happy with their progress there at this branch (tho' I've also heard of negative comments/ feedback from other parents).

So, I guess it all boils down to management of expectations.

Do visit the Ctrs of your choice, do your own observations & talk to the principal before you make your final decision.

Best of luck to you on your CC search :-)

Mamaluv (mamaluv)
Username: mamaluv

Post Number: 8
Posted on Wednesday, February 01, 2012 - 10:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi I want to share my experience at Cecil.. The current teachers for PG/ N1 / N2 are all either not qualified, not trained or no experience.

The P told me that they recruited these teachers becoz the teachers like to play w children. But we are paying a premium for agape n yet they cannot provide quality teachers.
These teachers also write their own lesson plans n I seriously doubt the P looks at it altho they represented these new teachers were guide along the way..

Feels like my kid is like a learning tool for agape to train their new teachers..

My kid loves the teachers there n its v troublesome to change cc . Have feedback many times to them that they need experienced n qualified teachers but I keep getting g excuses that such teachers are hard to find.

For mummies who hv kids in Cecil I hope we ca. Have a stronger voice on this. So far everyone seem quite silent n they tink they have no problem... Sigh

EiLiYa (s_l)

Post Number: 597
Posted on Friday, February 03, 2012 - 3:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Wow... price keep increasing but quality keep decreasing? My kid is at Kallang and I too am not impressed with the teachers' standard. He is promoted to K1 this year and I actually thought of putting him into a kindergarten but can't due to logistic issues. Sigh... It's frustrating that we are paying so much yet we are not getting what we are paying for.

Btw, I saw that infantcare has increased to $1.6k. That's alot of money just taking care of a baby's needs.

Mamaluv (mamaluv)
Username: mamaluv

Post Number: 24
Posted on Thursday, February 09, 2012 - 10:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

If more parents feedback maybe the P will inform the director n they can review their curriculum etc . I dun mind paying a premium if they are gd.

Btw heard a lot of bb withdraw from Cecil infant care.. Duno what's wrong..

MommyDee (mommydee)
Username: mommydee

Post Number: 3
Posted on Monday, March 12, 2012 - 12:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I'm thinking of enroling my 7 month old bb into Agape@cecil but just saw this post that a lot of bbs are withdrawing? Any one knows why or have any comments on Agape@cecil for infantcare?

Juni (mutti)
Username: mutti

Post Number: 1687
Posted on Monday, March 19, 2012 - 4:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi my has been attending the one in serangoon. teachers have been changing since day one. My girl always complain about it worst case is they combine K2 and K1 together sometimes and during naptime.

Juni (mutti)
Username: mutti

Post Number: 1688
Posted on Monday, March 19, 2012 - 4:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i feel that for the price, the standard could have been better

Post Number: 393
Posted on Friday, May 18, 2012 - 12:41 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Mummies, does anyone has the contact details of Agape Little Uni directors? Need to provide some feedback and would like to speak to Mrs Chan personally.

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 933
Posted on Friday, May 18, 2012 - 7:24 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I don't have the contact of the director but i wrote a letter to the centre principal and the director came down to the centre to speak to me. I'm sorry to say that I was utterly disappointed with her. She was adamant and insistent on her views and when i questioned her further, she can't answer and just insisted that that's the way she runs her centre and if I m not happy, I can withdraw my child. She is not event coherent at some point of time. She knows that our (parents') hands are tied and we are, to a certain extent, at their mercy.
My child is still in Agape SOLELY cos of logistics issues.

tulip.starzz (tulipstarzz)
Username: tulipstarzz

Post Number: 49
Posted on Friday, May 18, 2012 - 3:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Just something to share. I was considering agape kallang last year but due to some comments from mummies, I decided to give it a miss. Currently my gal is at kallang cc. Though it's far compared with agape. Not trying to promote them. They are not excellent but good enough for me. In my opinion a frequent change of teachers will not be good for the children. Anyway that's just my humble opinion after chancing upon this thread.

Post Number: 394
Posted on Sunday, May 20, 2012 - 11:05 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Eileen, thanks for sharing. May I know if you spoke with Mrs Chan or Mrs Lim? Understand they are both directors of Agape Little Uni.

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 934
Posted on Sunday, May 20, 2012 - 1:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi precioustots,

I spoke to mrs chan n another lady, not sure what's her name.

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 935
Posted on Sunday, May 20, 2012 - 1:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Just to be fair, i give the thumbs up for the new Principal MS HO..... She's v hands on, v friendly, v approachable, n truly love the children

Post Number: 395
Posted on Sunday, May 20, 2012 - 11:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

thanks Eileen...if the lady is also the director, then it should be Mrs Lim I guess..

good that you are happy with the new principal...

liewb (liewb)
Username: liewb

Post Number: 313
Posted on Thursday, July 19, 2012 - 3:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Has anyone enrol in the Agape at Bishan/Thomson area? Any feedback?

elee (esmelee)
Username: esmelee

Post Number: 9
Posted on Wednesday, September 26, 2012 - 12:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi there,

i enrolled my child in agape at sin ming area, mid view city. its really good! my child learnt alot there and i like their smooth progression
(curriculum)from PG to K1, so at least i know that i dont have to worry when my child enters primary school.

liewb, you wana enrol your child there too?

Happy Wendy (wendyeng)
Username: wendyeng

Post Number: 653
Posted on Friday, September 28, 2012 - 8:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi elee,
Please PM me on regards of your post of babysitter as you cannot accept PM. Thanks,

Happy (akjes26)
Username: akjes26

Post Number: 336
Posted on Sunday, October 28, 2012 - 4:26 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi wonder if anyone has their child currently @ Agape One-North.. Any recent feedbacks on them? Had recently visited the centre and quite liked the environment.. but jus like to get some comments from mummies here :-)

yessica tan (babycrasher)
Username: babycrasher

Post Number: 28
Posted on Thursday, December 06, 2012 - 2:12 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

How is Agape at Sengkang?

Lynn Leong (happymtb123)
Username: happymtb123

Post Number: 1
Posted on Friday, December 07, 2012 - 3:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

how is agape at cecil? any feedback for 2012?

Add Your Message Here
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use