| Author |
Message |

avrilf (avrilf)
Junior Member Username: avrilf
Post Number: 260 Registered: 7-2009
| | Posted on Friday, January 27, 2012 - 12:40 pm: |
fz and Bebe75: Actually this is the first time, I looked at Mindstretcher notes *ooops* cos this subject is not under my charge. I agree the notes are quite detailed and the revision paper for each topic is useful. Maths: I concentrate in teaching him to use models as it is easier. I only teach him algebra for question that cannot be solved easily with model. Usually for such question, I will ask my son to re-explain to me after listening to mine. This is to make sure he understands. |

yawn yawn (yawn2)
Junior Member Username: yawn2
Post Number: 489 Registered: 11-2010
| | Posted on Friday, January 27, 2012 - 2:57 pm: |
fz no lah, that P5 onsponge book is for hubby to refer to. book is still quite empty, hehe avrilf I've been very handsoff, almost absolutely no coaching from me. My job is to tell dd what's her to-do list that day and chase her lor Seems very busy leh, after completing school homework, there isn't time left for assessment books at all justjazz can use algebra. teacher gave dd marks when she solve using algebra. Unless question specifically indicated only model method, then really need to use model to solve |

bebe75 (bebe75)
Member Username: bebe75
Post Number: 1191 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Friday, February 03, 2012 - 9:05 am: |
Can I check how many hours of sleep does yr kid have? I send my kids to bed at 9 and they wake up by 530am next morning, no nap in the afternoon and so they have abt 8hrs of sleep. The reason I am asking is because, I find that we are running out of time to do revision at home. As they stay longer hours in sch, ie reach home ard 2pm - eat/bath takes an hour - homework prob another 2hr - break/dinner/family catch up - 2-3 hr By the time, we are done with the above, it is already 830pm and I hardly can do much revision with them. My neighbour told me her P4 kid sleep at 11pm - 12am..so that she can stay up to do more revision. I dunno if I shd extend their sleeping time till 10pm..but I am a strong believer that kid need ample sleep (at least 7-8hr) for brain to function well. |

avrilf (avrilf)
Post Number: 261 Registered: 7-2009
| | Posted on Friday, February 03, 2012 - 1:10 pm: |
bebe75, my son sleeps at 11+pm and wakes up 6.30am. |

aly_nat (aly_nat)
Member Username: aly_nat
Post Number: 647 Registered: 12-2009
| | Posted on Friday, February 03, 2012 - 1:15 pm: |
bebe, My dd sleeps at 9, wakes up at 6. No naps. Anything less than 9hours, you will see a pair of panda eyes the next morning. I agree with you regarding "kid" need ample sleep. So far, my dd only need to stay back once a week. So still quite ok. yawn, Sometimes I use Algebra to solve the question when I check her work. But I hv not taught her the method. Avrilf, u hv pm  |

M D (maisydaisy19)
Junior Member Username: maisydaisy19
Post Number: 394 Registered: 8-2009
| | Posted on Friday, February 03, 2012 - 2:50 pm: |
Ample sleep is important. My kids go to bed at 10pm, wake up 6.30am. They don't take naps. Once, for a few consecutive nights, they slept late beyond 10pm and was down with fever. So I'd rather they sleep enough than get sick especially if it's near exam period. |

bebe75 (bebe75)
Post Number: 1192 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Saturday, February 04, 2012 - 12:34 am: |
look like my gals' sleeping time 9pm-530am is reasonable..hmm then I must see how to utilise their time better.. My elder gal is staying back twice a week, and the younger one is thrice a week. Out of 3 days, the younger one has to stay till 530pm cos of her involvement in SYF training. On top of that, they have swimming on one of the weekdays..so that also take up one of the afternoon. I hv decided to stop their swimming lessons once they pass the next stage in Mar..and hopefully my younger gal need not stay till 530pm after the SYF competition is over (think in Apr??) |

fz (zhen49)
Member Username: zhen49
Post Number: 940 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Monday, February 06, 2012 - 7:18 am: |
bebe75, my boy sleeps from 10pm++ to 6am. there isn't much time for revision for P4, but i am more concerned that he does not have time for leisure any more. i try to keep sundays free for him because he has 2 enrichment/tuition on sundays. poor thing.  |

bebe75 (bebe75)
Post Number: 1193 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Monday, February 06, 2012 - 8:43 am: |
FZ - exactly..I try to keep weekend afternoon free for them..but I am so running out of time to do revision. Just checking, how many hours of science lessons do yr kids have in sch? (excl remedial/enrichment classes) I notice that my gal has 5 periods of science ie 5 x 30min per period = 2.5 hr per week. Do you think that is enough? When I look at the timetable, she has more of the Maths/language lessons daily. I find it a bit wierd given that Science carries the same weightage as other subject in exam. Last friday I attended the briefing in sch regarding the streaming matters. The sch actually use the SA1 (30%) and SA2 (70%) results to stream the kids. So much talking abt the having holistic education and alternative assessment...and ended up exams are the one that matter most. I thought the school shd have adopted a balanced approach ie allocating some weightage to their weekly spelling/topical test/projects. Hiaz..kinda stress now.. |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 941 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Monday, February 06, 2012 - 10:20 am: |
bebe75 my boy only has 5 periods too 2.5hrs. definitely not enough. my boy's sch has 10% minitests in Term 1 (for Language includes presentation, for math and science include 'practical'), 10% minitests in Term 2 (ditto), 30% SA1 and 50% SA2. for streaming, need get 50% to do standard subjects. for HMT, need to get all subjects 80 and above before teacher will recommend. |

bebe75 (bebe75)
Post Number: 1194 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Monday, February 06, 2012 - 12:33 pm: |
FZ - hiaz..2.5hr with the science lab and other conceptual teaching..no wonder they have no time to do critical process teaching..and that is why we have to chiong to Popular to seek for help..hiaz I rather they come with CA1, CA2..at least spread the risk over the years..and really it makes no sense to spend so much time doing project and end of the the day, they are being measured with different criterion at the end of day I told my gal, whichever combi..just pass yr 4 subjects and save the hassle of choosing 2 std + 2 foundation, 3 std + 1 foundation etc...just aim to do 4 std will do. The principal hinted no value taking HMT unless u are in band 1, I better ask my gal to focus on the 4 core subjects. |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 942 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Monday, February 06, 2012 - 2:37 pm: |
bebe75, any 1 subject doing foundation, cannot go express already, i heard. your girl has affiliation to go express even with lower score, right? our principal also not so keen to push for HMT because it is a 5th subject and happens to be the weakest subject in the sch. i told my boy to try to go for it since it helps in learning MT in an overall sense and MT is the subject that pulls up his overall score in the 'bell curve' (since others are relatively weak in MT) :P |

bebe75 (bebe75)
Post Number: 1195 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 07, 2012 - 12:42 am: |
FZ - the principal did not elaborate the choices we had after PSLE ie how the different subject combination will affect the normal/express posting. I do know that in the past my gals' affiliated sec sch has low COP..as low as 200 - u can go express liao..but not too sure if that is subject to the subject combi. Anyway, the affiliated secondary school does not have good reputation. I have seen how their gals behaved outside the sch and I do not want my gals to end up like them, unless there is no choice. I think my gal is doing ok for MT..but she needs to spend more time on the other 3 core subjects and so I will advise her to focus aiming high marks for normal chinese and pass the the other 3 subjects. If she is really keen in higher chinese, she can still choose to take that in secondary sch (that is what I understand from the principal) |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 943 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 07, 2012 - 6:34 am: |
bebe75, today is math test and my boy can go 36+7=44!!!! 8x4=24!!!! 8x4=28!!!! he usually has no problem grasping math heuristics sums when his dad teaches him, but his Achilles's heel is simple arithmetic. sigh...dunno what to do with his constant arithmetical error....  |

bebe75 (bebe75)
Post Number: 1196 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 07, 2012 - 7:30 am: |
FZ - get him to do checking..double checking, triple checking or more if he has time after completing the papers. My gal also same thing..n easily waste marks esp on section B. I kept telling her for section B, final answer is very important - even if the working are correct, teacher will not award mark for the wrong final answers. But I wonder if she ever realises it..hiaz As you know, she did badly for her first topical test and there would be a retest. Ytdy I had a "vomiting" time teaching her the rounding adjustment..until I have to get her father to take over. Tomorrow there would be a Science test, and she has a long day in sch and after sch she has swimming lessons in the evening. I told her to study her science guide during the break in sch. Hopefully there is not much homework today. |

cookiepie (cookiepie)
Member Username: cookiepie
Post Number: 1041 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 07, 2012 - 9:19 am: |
Hello mummies, Haven't pop inside here for a long while. Saw the discussion about streaming in p4. Does every school practice that? I haven't heard anything from my gal's school yet. I switch her from group tuition to 1-to-1 tuition this year, hopefully can see some improvement. |

Chua Yen Ling (chuayl)
Junior Member Username: chuayl
Post Number: 178 Registered: 6-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 07, 2012 - 9:36 am: |
Hi Mummies, It has been a long time since I go on-line. Been Busy with work. Talking about sleep. A child should sleep at least 8 hours and I heard that the brain develop between 10pm to 1 am. So usually I will ask my kids to sleep before 10pm and wake up at 6:30am. Alegbra I thought Primary schools are not allowed to use as this topic is taught in secondary school. I normally will ask my kids to do the assessment and if they solve the problem, then to me, they are ok. But if they have difficulties, I will just try to ask them to read the questions again and make them do their own working/model drawing as we work together to solve the problem. As for science, I also ask them to read up the guide book and of course I will also read it and pretend that I do not understand some concepts and make them explain to me. I just recently drop my son from the chinese enrichment class as he commented that he wanted to try to see if he can revise on his own. Currently, he only left with English creative writing and science tuition. As for my P3 girl, she has english creative writing, science and chinese. |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 944 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 07, 2012 - 9:39 am: |
bebe75, his eyes got 'problem' ah! after noticing the error, i told him to redo the sums and he gave me back the same wrong answer! ~faint~ actually, i find rounding adjustment can be confusing if the kid's concept is not clear. i got a shock when my boy's math workbook has a lot of rounding adjustment questions wrong on certain type of questions (eg what is the smallest number if the number rounded to nearest hundred is 800?). he couldn't grasp the concept until his dad looked through and then came up with a 'formula' for him to see the pattern. i get frustrated because i dunno how to help him. cookiepie, all pri 4s in SG will have to undergo subject banding streaming (to take standard or foundation subjects) at the end of the year. |

avrilf (avrilf)
Post Number: 262 Registered: 7-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 07, 2012 - 9:40 am: |
From my understanding, HMT gives extra points during PSLE thus will aid in your school of choice. Highest is 3 points for scoring Distinction. My son is currently taking HMT this year. According to the school principal, the students can only drop out from HMT when they could not cope/ score. The teachers will review during yr end. |

cookiepie (cookiepie)
Member Username: cookiepie
Post Number: 1042 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 07, 2012 - 10:03 am: |
fz, Thanks for the clarification. This blur mummy here doesn't know about streaming at all. I shall have a good chat with my gal tonite else she will continue to think she can blur blur go thru p4, like what she did for the past 3 years. |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 945 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 07, 2012 - 10:32 am: |
Yenling, my boy currently has English, Chinese and Science. we are going to drop science after this term...not because it is not good (my boy loves his science instructor from this centre!), but because they syllabus they are offering is not inline with the one the sch is teaching ie they'll be teaching Matter in Term 2 while my boy is already learning Matter this term. berries will be going 3hrs next year too for P5 (not sure if for every outlet). avrilf, my boy's sch will recommend HMT if all subjects are in 80marks and above. then next yr, can only keep HMT if pass HMT and all subjects maintain grading. . i think there are benefits of taking HMT in sec sch too; and with HMT in pri sch, then taking HMT in sec sch will be easier to cope, no? |

bebe75 (bebe75)
Post Number: 1197 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 07, 2012 - 2:14 pm: |
Yen Ling - Regarding use of algebra - I asked my girlfriend who is a ex MOE teacher. She said they will not mark wrong if the child use Algebra to solve the problem. But if the answer is wrong, no marks will be awarded for algebra working. FZ - what formula did your hubby use to teach yr son? I dunno if my gal understand her daddy's teaching or not..hiaz Avrilf - Based on my understanding of HMT at PSLE, the distinction point is only useful if you are applying for SAP sch. I doubt my gal can go SAP sch..LOLz. |

Chua Yen Ling (chuayl)
Post Number: 179 Registered: 6-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 07, 2012 - 2:25 pm: |
Fz, That's what happens to my son's science tuition class. The centre teaches science in advance and even more in depth which I think they are served as additional knowledge. I have gone through the materials and too, I find it too in-depth. So instead of letting him to drop, I told him that just treat as as a knowledge class. Don't feel stressed in going there. bebe, Thanks for the clarification. In this case, I think I will introduce to my son as he is very keen in learning new techniques in Mathematics. HMT, I don't think I will let my son take as he don't actually like chinese and I am afraid he needs to spend even longer time to revise. |

Valerie (lin²)
Member Username: lin²
Post Number: 767 Registered: 10-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 07, 2012 - 3:39 pm: |
Hi, I just don't understand why can't the school teaches formulars whereby the kids can apply to solve all the complex problem sums. Instead my dd's teacher insisted that she should use "guess and check" method or models to solve the sums. Leaving the parent to find other ways to teach their kids... its so confusing for the kids. My dd also have 2.5hrs of Science each week in school. So i guess the school expect the parent to put in the extra hours. Have not hear anything from the school about streaming... Recently, i found out that my dd's teacher would asked the students to mark each other's paper after spelling test with black pen, and after that, the teacher will then go thru with red ink. And many times, her friend would made mistake while marking her paper and the teacher did not even notice it. Mummies, any comments on this? |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 946 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 07, 2012 - 3:51 pm: |
yenling, we are single income, so as much as we love to let him continue with science, we couldn't. save it up for next year P5! lol. bebe75, for question like 'what is the smallest number if the answer is 800 when rounded to the nearest hundreds', my husband said 'hundreds'=100 so 100/2=50 and then 800-50=750. that is the smallest number. 'what is the largest number if the answer is 800 when rounded to the nearest hundreds', my husband said 'hundrds'=100 so 100/2=50; and in this case, 50-1=49 and then 800+49=849. that is the largest number. sounds complicated to me ah. but after a few practices with this 'rule of thumb', then my boy starts to see the picture. -__-" for rounding, i got him to under line the digits that needs to be rounded so that he can see clearer. his test today....he told me he realised he put 33 as multiples of 4!! faint.... Valerie, my boy also been told to use guess and check. he will come back and ask my husband for shortcuts. i think guess and check is a good method because if the kid does not know how to do, he can guess and check and try to figure out. in my boy's case, once he cannot use any methods to solve, he'll just give up and said it is difficult. didn't bother to guess and check and use approximation to derive answer. my boy's class also do a fair amount of peer marking since P1. they are all kiasu kids, so they will look hard at the papers that their peers mark and point out any glaring mistakes. so long marks not affected, i let it be. |

Valerie (lin²)
Post Number: 768 Registered: 10-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 07, 2012 - 3:58 pm: |
fz, my dd is the blur blur type.. wrong also marked wrongly also don't know until i check. Actually, i have been relaxing till now. Since now CNY is over, its time for me to wake up too. |

Chua Yen Ling (chuayl)
Post Number: 180 Registered: 6-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 07, 2012 - 6:19 pm: |
Hi Valerie, I think the teacher just wanted to let the kids take note of what mistakes other students made and hopefully, they don't make the same mistake. As when it is marked wrongly, even when papers are marked by the teachers, it can be wrong too. I have encountered a few times and I always ask my kids to double confirm with the teacher. SO it is still the parents job to go through the paper. |

bebe75 (bebe75)
Post Number: 1198 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 07, 2012 - 10:44 pm: |
science - I guess 2.5 hr weekly lesson is a norm here...really, I wonder if that is enough. Lately, my gal told me that some of the questions in the worksheets given by the schools were extracted from the assessment books which I have bought for her. Thus, now she is more willing to work on the asessment books. I told my hubby, the golden rule for learning science is not to rely on textbooks alone.. Maths - rounding adjustments = I leave it to my hubby to do the job as I think I confuse her even more with your formula..hiaz...Just now, my hubby said she seemed to catch the ball liao..I will test her tomorrow to see if she grasp the idea Peer marking - I think it is common to do so in school..I am not too overly concerned esp if marks were not affected. But I will make sure my kid understand the error and highlight to teachers if needed. |

Chua Yen Ling (chuayl)
Post Number: 181 Registered: 6-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, February 08, 2012 - 10:07 am: |
I just realised that my son had only 2 hours of science lessons per week. I never ask him if the teacher manage to finish teaching as the téxtbook is also slim. Actually, I wanted my kids to focus more on the language subject as they consitute 100 marks each to PSLE, whereas science and mathematics only 50 marks. Please correct me if I am wrong. |

avrilf (avrilf)
Post Number: 263 Registered: 7-2009
| | Posted on Wednesday, February 08, 2012 - 10:24 am: |
Hi Mummies, According to my son's teacher, they will focus on models in lower primary level so that they can have clearer understanding. As they move to upper primary (think is P5-6), they will be taught of different methods to apply on certain problem sums. |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 947 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, February 08, 2012 - 10:35 am: |
yenling, on the average, my boy spends twice the amount of time on Chinese than other subjects. he does 2 sets of assessment books per week (Set 1 all MCQs books, no compre; Set 2 is regular topical book), 1 set to follow berries syllabus and 1 set for sch syllabus. he does book reviews for me too and daily book reading. besides berries weekly, i signed him up for the sch's external vendor's creative writing for practice purpose and the sch has alternate week supplementary Chinese class where they will share a storybook and do activities in class. i am ok with the amount of time spent and if he can continue to 'not resist' Chinese and maintain his above 80marks, would like him to go on and take HMT because i feel that he should continue if he is interested since we are Chinese. :D so it's good to hear that chinese takes up 100%. i think there was one time they wanna reduce weightage, no? last year, our least focus is on math. this year's math seems tougher. science has hence taken a backseat. :P for english, i can't help much. lucky to be able to get a small group enrichment (1:6) and also his sch is quite strong in English. :D |

Chicken Little (little_pony)
Senior Member Username: little_pony
Post Number: 11482 Registered: 4-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, February 09, 2012 - 8:34 am: |
Fz I also just got a wake up call after looking at one of my girl's math worksheet. Foundation for her time table is bad so hence explains why she is struggling now. Language I am worried for the compo which pulled her grades down. I guess besides getting help me too need to make her write. Thinking of a way to make her write without making her feel that it is a practice or extra work. First idea is to do a scrapbook project on a photo then get her to write about the event. |

Jolene (piglet_pinky)
Member Username: piglet_pinky
Post Number: 753 Registered: 8-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, February 09, 2012 - 2:08 pm: |
Hi FZ Where do u send your boy for the English enrichment ? |

bebe75 (bebe75)
Post Number: 1199 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, February 09, 2012 - 3:47 pm: |
CL - for time table I have been asking my gals to memorise 6,7,8 time table but she refuses..she said she will get mix up..so she did the traditional way..starting from 6,12,18, etc...hiaz I supposed all P4 pupils are told to use pens for their writing right? I notice my gal tends to use a lot of the correction tape..hiaz..told her she is not being efficient. I need to go to bookstore to top up the correction tape refill.. |

bebe75 (bebe75)
Post Number: 1200 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, February 09, 2012 - 4:04 pm: |
Can anyone help me to resolve this without use of algebra? The product of 2 consecutive numbers is 756. What are the 2 numbers? |

bebe75 (bebe75)
Post Number: 1201 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, February 09, 2012 - 6:29 pm: |
I use guess and check to get the answer but I was wondering if there is another shorter or easier way to solve the problem. My gal is not numeral inclined so it is very hard for her to get the appropriate guess..she will be spending a lot of time test and trial.. |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 948 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, February 09, 2012 - 10:32 pm: |
chicken little, yes! math in p4 is a drastic jump from p3. i surrender at P3 level and can see my husband struggling with p4 math. some he knows how to work out, but he is stuck at simplifying it and explaining to the kid. jolene, my boy is now with Icreativelearner. it is a small group (1:6, 3 including him is from his school :D) 2 hrs session (small group, so more ex as compared to mindstretcher). each session they'll do all components of the paper including parts of paper 1. i like it that the teacher will have a worksheet teaching what is noun, adjective and dunno what other stuff, but is relating to grammar rules, as my grammar is rather poor. the teacher is quite experience and will entertain my boy's questions even at her rest slots before the next class starts. we waitlisted for 3 mths, so quite lucky as i heard usually waitlist has little chance and people usually look for alternative instead of waiting. One of the most impt reason we opt for this is also it is a suitable time slot and location (near inlaws place) for us. mindstretcher does not have the slot we wanted. and no vacancies for their writers' toolbox (i waitlisted for 1yr!) bebe75, my boy is still using pencil in sch. he prefers to use pen and i let him use pen at home. he writes neater using pen while for pencil, sometimes cannot even see the word. the product of 2 numbers, i also only know guess check method. my husband told him to estimate first in tens eg 30x30equal900, and 20x20=400, so number is between 20-30. then he divide by 2 (assume mid of pg 20-30) ie use 25x26 and work from there. not sure if got shortcut method anot....will be a time saver! |

bebe75 (bebe75)
Post Number: 1202 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, February 09, 2012 - 10:57 pm: |
FZ - I supposed guess and check is the method to use for this question. I also follow yr hubby's method. The key here is to able to make the best estimate and work from there..I think if I did not hint my gal..it will take her forever to solve this question |

aly_nat (aly_nat)
Member Username: aly_nat
Post Number: 648 Registered: 12-2009
| | Posted on Friday, February 10, 2012 - 8:02 am: |
Chicken Liitle, how about writing daily journal/diary? bebe, my dd's teacher told the class, only those who has obtained "pen license" can use pen. To do so, they must have shown consistent neat handwriting. dd is working hard at it cos she can get quite untidy at times. As for correction tape, how about getting her the erasable pen instead? |

yawn yawn (yawn2)
Post Number: 492 Registered: 11-2010
| | Posted on Sunday, February 12, 2012 - 9:10 am: |
bebe same same, my dd also used lots of correction tape, need to replace every 2 weeks. I rather she sticks to pencils! |

yawn yawn (yawn2)
Post Number: 493 Registered: 11-2010
| | Posted on Sunday, February 12, 2012 - 9:16 am: |
fz is berries good? I heard they only cover creative writing like 1 compo in every 3 weeks? my dd still struggling with Chinese, so far only got tingxie & yet her tingxie marks ranges from 70 to 80 only |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 949 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Sunday, February 12, 2012 - 2:31 pm: |
yawnyawn, my boy uses correction tape at 1 pc per month and he is only using pen at home! for berries, they do compo not so frequent. berries is not as effective in upper pri, but i'm stuck with no other alternative. my boy can manage tingxie 90-95marks but he could not retain the words after a week. his recent class compo only got 18/30. chickenlittle, your girl with chinese tutor? |

bebe75 (bebe75)
Post Number: 1203 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Sunday, February 12, 2012 - 10:39 pm: |
Berries - I was told that their standard is quite high. Will it be discouraging to students that are already weak in that language? I am thinking if I shd send my P3 gal to pte chinese tuition or Tuition center. Her Chinese tingxie mark is average ranging 70-80 too., and I am so disappointed. My expectation for Ting xie shd be ard 85 given that the lists are given out before hand. Her usual Chinese assessment (from the assessment books) are around 70 with the reference help from text book. Her killer is the sentence making and the compre..I have not even started her on Chinese Compo!! As for my P4 gal, I allow her to use Pen at home and in school (permission granted by her teacher) as I need to get her to get used to writing in pen. She is very neat but unfortunately very slow..and with pen, she tends to be very careful and details in writing..I told her since her work is neat, she can just strike off the errors so that less time will be needed to use the correction tape. But she just won;t buy it.. Anyone of your having CA..Mine dun have. But I am giving them on my own based on assessment books even though they have weekly topical tests. At P4 level, there is no room for last min work..and burning midnight oil for SA1. |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 950 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Sunday, February 12, 2012 - 11:45 pm: |
bebe75, i find berries to have the standard that i like, but my boy even though started berries in k1, could not replicate what berries had taught him (ie could only retain some 70%...i have to coach him at home to make up the shortfall). maybe he probably do worse without berries, but his performance is going downhill (with the increase in standard in upper pri) and although berries teacher offered to have a separate session to run through his doubts, we couldn't afford the time to go down another day as his weekdays are packed. so we are thinking if private tuition will be more effective. and today i found out that i actually did better explaining my boy's doubts than the berries teachers, who does not know how to use english to explain my boy's questions and kept using chinese to explain when my boy go ???. lol. i told him to approach me first next time and then when i can't explain, to go to ask berries teachers. told him that i am already handsfull with his science, now he still want to load me with his chinese, so now he better handle science by himself first and see how. mine has mini-tests. math done and chinese after next week. no news on english and science yet, so we will try to cover chinese and science next week and english i just rely on his enrichment. this year is really a great jump from last year. |

bebe75 (bebe75)
Post Number: 1204 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Monday, February 13, 2012 - 7:30 am: |
FZ - totally agreed..that P4 is a big jump! |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 951 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Monday, February 13, 2012 - 8:40 am: |
mummies, what is the market rate for engaging MOE teacher to tutor Chinese? for home tuition, is 1.5hrs enough? and also go any holidays for tutors and what to expect in the weekly lessons? can request to include compo every 2 weeks or usually is weekly? can request use our own materials/assessment books?? Thanks.  |

bebe75 (bebe75)
Post Number: 1205 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Monday, February 13, 2012 - 9:02 am: |
FZ - Last year I enquired for my then P2 (normal chinese) and was quoted $40/hr for FT, experienced ex MOE Chinese teacher. *Gasp*..too ex for one subject and so I gave up the idea. I think for pte tutor, we can be more flexi in our lesson planning and requirement i.e focus more on desired areas. One of the parents in my gal's class told me she got 2 sets of assessment for the tutor to alternate- 1 set for tuition homework and another set for tutor to walk thru during the lessons. Tutors may recommend based on the student standard. I am still undeciding if group tuition is beneficial or indiv tuition is better for language..hiaz |

Post Number: 11484 Registered: 4-2006
| | Posted on Monday, February 13, 2012 - 11:07 am: |
mine will be English on 29 Feb and Math on 1 March. Chinese will have usual mini test after every 2 chapters. one was last week, next coming up is on 7 March though they already completed up to chapter 4 but the next test is not so soon. FZ MOE teacher I am not sure. But I think it ranges $25 - $40/ hr depending on the teacher's experience. As my girl does not like classroom setting for chinese and they write compo , compre every week except for the week they have to do oral there will be no compo. So after this first term, we will be back to Home tuition. Got a teacher who charges $100/ 1.5 hours but my friend's daughter will be joining me and my girl so we will pay $50 each per lesson. |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 952 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Monday, February 13, 2012 - 11:07 am: |
bebe75, agree that $40/hr is expensive...so now thinking if can do 1.5hrs instead of 2hrs since now 1-to-1, should be enough? we need the tutor to focus on explaining the boy's questions and also oral and compo and compre...stuff which i feel that group is not so personalised. there is only so much time in a session that my boy can use to raise questions. if considering $40/hr ie $60/1.5hr lesson meaning $240/mth, is still managable for us. Berries is going 3hrs next year for P5 and fees about $200/mth. yesterday i overheard how the berries teacher trying to explain to my boy the difference between 引导 and 辅导. she gave examples on how to use, but even though repeat a few times, my boy still could not understand the difference. when he came out, i told him the first is 'guide', second is 'counsel'. then he go 'ah....'; that berries teacher is from china, so could not use english to supplement her explanation. |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 953 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Monday, February 13, 2012 - 11:09 am: |
chickenlittle, can i join you also? heehee...i stay at the west too. :D your teacher is existing teacher? i am trying to contact a teacher, but if she charges $100, then it'll be too much for us.  |

avrilf (avrilf)
Post Number: 264 Registered: 7-2009
| | Posted on Monday, February 13, 2012 - 11:43 am: |
Bebe75 & Yawn Yawn: My son has to use pen to do his school work thus he finishes his correction tape very fast. Bebe75: My son has tests but no CA. His SA dates are out thus need to plan his revision schedule. Fz: I think if u are havining home tuition for Chinese, u should suggest composition practice once every 2 weeks.If u request to have it every lession, the teacher will not have enough time to go through textbook and assessment book with the child. |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 954 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Monday, February 13, 2012 - 11:46 am: |
thanks avrilf! 1week textbk plus assessmet book (include compre) alternate week focus on compo and oral. sounds good! hope the tutor can be kinder in her charges! LOL. |

M D (maisydaisy19)
Post Number: 395 Registered: 8-2009
| | Posted on Monday, February 13, 2012 - 6:11 pm: |
correction tape My ds is p3 this year and started to use correction tape. To my horror, he tore the tape within 1 week of start of school. My gal uses correction tape and has never torn one. Now I ask him to use liquid paper instead. Cos I know if he does it again, I'll be very mad. Chinese tuition My kids have been in Berries since K1. In the context of Higher Chinese, I find the standard average. They managed to get > 90% for Higher Chinese exams quite consistently. I do not attribute this solely to Berries as my dh spent much time with them on revising Chinese as well. After being in Berries for 5 years, I decide to let them have a change. So I enrolled them in another centre which have compo and tingxie every week. My kids say the syllabus is tougher but my gal said she likes it - She said Chinese is her favourite subject so I gathered Berries did a good job of setting her foundation strong. |

yawn yawn (yawn2)
Post Number: 495 Registered: 11-2010
| | Posted on Monday, February 13, 2012 - 8:45 pm: |
maisy your kids in which new center? |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 955 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Monday, February 13, 2012 - 9:36 pm: |
maisy, yes, which centre? good centres sometimes also need to travel quite far and also no ideal timeslot. my boy with berries since K1 too and although learning Higher Chinese in berries, he did normal chinese in sch and managed to get >90%; but i did a lot of ground work at home too and also lower primary's chinese compo expectations is also lower. thinking of switching to private tuition and now trying to come to terms with the price we need to fork out; one of the reason we intend to go private is because we hope to sustain his interest in Chinese; he is currently in an 'angmo' primary sch, where Chinese is the lowest priority subject. told my boy that we'll try to stay at no tuition/enrichment for math and science if we going to go private tutor route for Chinese. mummies, may i know if your kids' sch teach the 刻心 and 深广 chapter? my boy's class does not do it and they are supposed to be the best CL class of that level. is it normal? |

Post Number: 11485 Registered: 4-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 14, 2012 - 8:35 am: |
Fz the centre my girl goes to now which I will stop is good just that she is just not suitable for such class room based when it comes to language. They will do tingxie weekly, compre weekly, 2 weeks of compo weekly 3rd week will be a oral but you will still need to write down your thoughts for the picture conversation. Thus it focus alot on writing which I like but just too bad it does not work for mine. The chinese tutor we are using will be charging $100/ per lesson. then divide by number of kids in the group. If you are joining us, it will be divided by 3. I have pm you to see if you are keen. |

M D (maisydaisy19)
Post Number: 396 Registered: 8-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 14, 2012 - 2:35 pm: |
Yawn / FZ, They are at Wang in Katong. Just started in Jan this year so cannot tell whether it's good or not. Private tuition is really expensive. My friend's ex MOE teacher, Maths tutor is $50/hr and she has to travel to her house - expensive and inconvenient. As my gal's Chinese has been quite good and she enjoys learning in group, will let her stay in the enrichment centre. |

avrilf (avrilf)
Post Number: 265 Registered: 7-2009
| | Posted on Wednesday, February 15, 2012 - 9:52 am: |
My son has been with Hua since K1 starting off with Speech and Drama. I like their weekly tingxie and qtrly revision exam. However this year they have changed the tutor and for the first time, my son said the new one is not as good as the previous one. He did not complain last yr when they have changed 3 times before assigning the good one to his class. The centre has transferred the good tutor to higher pri classes which pissed me cos she is supposed to have continued with his class. I am thinking if I should change centre but it hard to find one that is good. |

yawn yawn (yawn2)
Post Number: 496 Registered: 11-2010
| | Posted on Wednesday, February 15, 2012 - 6:22 pm: |
maisy oh, I heard of wang. Did your kids take their 2 hours or 3 hours classes? |

yawn yawn (yawn2)
Post Number: 497 Registered: 11-2010
| | Posted on Wednesday, February 15, 2012 - 6:24 pm: |
avrilf you heard of jiang education at fu lu shou? mixed review. anyway location a bit far for me |

yawn yawn (yawn2)
Post Number: 498 Registered: 11-2010
| | Posted on Wednesday, February 15, 2012 - 6:29 pm: |
re: Chinese I enquired at berries some weeks ago but I feel that compo not frequent enough. My dd's Chinese jialut jialut. Alternate week compo practice can still end up writing crap. Not that her paper 2 is any better lah. But those intensive kind I doubt she can tahan. Catch no ball also waste money. I really don't know what to do with her |

M D (maisydaisy19)
Post Number: 397 Registered: 8-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, February 16, 2012 - 11:47 am: |
My kids are in the 3hr program. Alot of homework (a whole page of tingxie and mo xie) every week. |

Mom (mom)
Member Username: mom
Post Number: 1852 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Thursday, February 16, 2012 - 1:43 pm: |
hey, i chanced upon this thread...my 2 kids also at Wang...gd improvement... |

Post Number: 11486 Registered: 4-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, February 16, 2012 - 2:17 pm: |
yawn yawn I went there to check out the place but 1. already location i find it not a condusive place for studying and 2. the boss is too arrogant so I striked them off my list |

Post Number: 11487 Registered: 4-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, February 16, 2012 - 2:29 pm: |
side track mummies any chance any mummy letting go a good maid ? My sil looking for one |

yawn yawn (yawn2)
Member Username: yawn2
Post Number: 502 Registered: 11-2010
| | Posted on Thursday, February 16, 2012 - 5:51 pm: |
mom, maisy thanks for your feedback! your child with which teacher? any particularly good teacher or any teacher is fine? |

Mom (mom)
Post Number: 1853 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Friday, February 17, 2012 - 10:03 am: |
hi yawn yawn, i think all the teachers are gd cos the principle is very strict with her teachers...any teacher who slack would be asked to leave...that was what i had seen happened BTW, I am in search of a gd home tutor or tuition centre for p2 maths for my son...anyone has any gd recommendations to share? Thanks |

Post Number: 11488 Registered: 4-2006
| | Posted on Friday, February 17, 2012 - 2:15 pm: |
mom welcome I actually replied and asking where do you stay as my tutor is for west Check out math concept too at goldhill if location is good for you. My think tank at jalan jurong kechil is not bad too |

Mom (mom)
Post Number: 1854 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Friday, February 17, 2012 - 3:03 pm: |
Oh i stay in the east....but could check out goldhill math concept as my son does TLL there too. Thanks! Anyone else has any gd recommendations, pls do post here for sharing..thanks  |

Chua Yen Ling (chuayl)
Post Number: 182 Registered: 6-2008
| | Posted on Saturday, February 18, 2012 - 7:06 pm: |
Re: CHinese tuition, MY colleague who is from CHina gives me advice that for upper primary, it is better to go for private tuition as she mentioned that it will be more focus. If the teacher is good, she will know the kid's weakness and work on it. As for the fees, No doubt that it is very expensive. I think she is giving private tuition and she told me that $40/hour is just normal. I stop my son's chinese class at ZHi Ying Language school as my son mention that he wanted to try out himself to improve on his chinese. By the way, any kid's school have banding at the end of this year? Based on what criteria that the student is allowed/offered higher chinese? For my son school, both the languages must be at least 80 and the other 2 subjects 75. |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 956 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Sunday, February 19, 2012 - 12:43 am: |
Yen Ling, Thanks for the reassurance on Private Tuition. We are taking a big 'risk' for giving up our prime time slot at Berries. There is 'no turning back'. The is also this risk of tutor not being able to follow through til PSLE. But the thought that my boy will spend 1.5hours 1-to-1 session with the tutor is inviting...although the cost of $40/hr is just the starting...have to be prepared to pay more in P5 and P6. Good that your boy is willing to try to improve Chinese by himself. That is half the battle won. All P4 have to go through subject banding end of this year. Students who cannot get a passing score for any subject will be advised to take up Foundation subjects instead of Standard subjects. We were told that parents can still opt to take up Standard subjects when their kids fail the subject, but by end of P5 if the kid still could not pass, the school will step in to convert the kid to foundation course. For HCL, i think it is sch by sch basis. For my boy's sch, HCL is not encouraged. They will only offer it to students who has Band 1 in Chinese and 80marks and above for all 3 subjects. Then in P5, to continue HCL, the kids must pass HCL subject and get A (75marks i think) and above for all 4 subjects. |

avrilf (avrilf)
Post Number: 266 Registered: 7-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 21, 2012 - 10:07 am: |
Anyone wants to buy books from The Book Depository (www.bookdepository.com) cos they are giving 10% off coupon to me when friends whom I send the 10% off email to use it. I am thinking of buying more Horrible Science books for my son. |

Jolene (piglet_pinky)
Post Number: 754 Registered: 8-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, February 23, 2012 - 8:28 pm: |
Hi mummies Any good English electronic dictionary to recommend beside Besta. |

Mimosa (mimosa2002)
New member Username: mimosa2002
Post Number: 49 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2012 - 9:11 am: |
Hi mummies It's been a long time since I come to the forum. I'm looking for a science tutor for my boy. Anyone has good recommendation on tution centre/private tutor? Thanks |

Post Number: 11489 Registered: 4-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, March 06, 2012 - 10:59 am: |
Mummies which assessment books do you use for English comprehension ? |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 957 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, March 07, 2012 - 7:27 am: |
chickenlittle, i used to use comprehension skills by dorcas ang. the short MCQ compre is quite tricky for my boy. but nowadays no time to do so...if have time, usually let my boy do past year papers. |

Sparks (lifesparks)
New member Username: lifesparks
Post Number: 1 Registered: 3-2012
| | Posted on Friday, March 09, 2012 - 4:36 pm: |
Anyone has any recommendation for P$ Maths tutor? Mind Stretcher classroom method doesn't seems to work for my girl |

Post Number: 11490 Registered: 4-2006
| | Posted on Monday, March 19, 2012 - 9:08 am: |
fz thanks, will check it out. Haha tutor just reviewed her paper and pointed out that we should not be lifting word for word now from passage as her teacher is marking her based on P6 standard liao. |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 958 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, March 21, 2012 - 7:22 am: |
CL, wow...NYPS starts marking based on P6 standards now? so soon? so what is PSLE standard? summarised and write in own words? i asked my boy's CL teacher last year on the question on 'where can you see from the passage that blah blah blah', she said PSLE can either lift from passage and use " " to quote where you lift it from, or if the statement from passage is too long, have to summarise it, so it depends on the question. for english, i find that it is very difficult to improve on compre cloze, especially if the cloze is on something non-fictional.  |

Post Number: 11492 Registered: 4-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, March 21, 2012 - 10:50 am: |
fz I also dunno till the tutor pointed out lor. That kind of question I think can. |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 959 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Sunday, March 25, 2012 - 7:09 pm: |
Omg. My boy has admirer in his class! I'm going to faint. |

yawn yawn (yawn2)
Post Number: 538 Registered: 11-2010
| | Posted on Sunday, March 25, 2012 - 10:10 pm: |
fz congrats! haha! |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 960 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Sunday, March 25, 2012 - 10:23 pm: |
Yawn yawn... U got experience? |

Valerie (lin²)
Post Number: 790 Registered: 10-2008
| | Posted on Monday, March 26, 2012 - 9:42 am: |
fz, how do you know? Did he tell you? You son must be very handsome. |

M D (maisydaisy19)
Post Number: 398 Registered: 8-2009
| | Posted on Monday, March 26, 2012 - 11:21 am: |
FZ, what did the gal do? And is your ds 'interested' in her? My dd claimed that she hated boys. She aspires to go to a gal's secondary school next time. |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 961 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Monday, March 26, 2012 - 2:00 pm: |
Valerie, MD I peeped at my boy's handphone SMS. I think he knows I read it cos he keeps his hp in living rm n he knows sometimes I look at it. The gal SMS him that she likes him! Omg! Earlier b4 this SMS, my boy told me he was wondering why others in class will whisper or be secretive around him, even avoiding him. In one ofthe SMS, he replied that they r too young for such stuff n told her to meet him today at recess to talk. Hubby said my boy may be concerned about losing other friends cos of this. I hint hint did ask him what age he thinks is apt to have gf n he said 18 cos he remember last yr I spoke to him b4. He regular look n small built also. but quite outspoken in class. In p2 he got teased too when classmates said him n another gal were couples. But cos the gal did not bother, he did not too n they went on with their regular stuff n the teasing stopped. Omg. Used to think go co-ed sec sch also can but now Told my husband that now I hope my boy can do well enough for psle to go boys sch next time! |

Post Number: 11494 Registered: 4-2006
| | Posted on Monday, March 26, 2012 - 3:02 pm: |
ha ha my nephew too has admirer since P2. My girl was teased by friends since P1. But she refused to speak to them for a week till they apologise and say it was wrong of them to talk about boy girl relationship. |

Valerie (lin²)
Post Number: 791 Registered: 10-2008
| | Posted on Monday, March 26, 2012 - 3:29 pm: |
Aiyo, nowadays the girls are really maturing fast. But i guess this is growing up process and cannot be avoided. Oh, about menstration, have anyone spoken to their dd about it. I felt that my girl may have it by this year. She has pimples on her forehead and need to wear padded singlet already. So worried if she gets it and do know how to handle it. Wonder should i teach her how to wear the sanitary pads. |

yawn yawn (yawn2)
Post Number: 539 Registered: 11-2010
| | Posted on Monday, March 26, 2012 - 3:55 pm: |
fz 6 months after starting p1, my dd rec'd her first 情书. she frowned & said that boy made grammar & spelling mistakes. 2 other boy classmates followed her everywhere and both said want to marry her. during school holiday programme, a boy she met for the 1st time declared he's going to marry her. She's not taking any of them seriously lah. Just laugh it off. Fortunately or unfortunately, she put on quite a fair bit of weight since p2, so now quite chubby & 'popularity' index dropped a little. No more love confessions but she still gets along very well with boys I'm not particularly worried lah. I intend to send her to a co-ed sec sch leh. I believe she won't get carried away. I've sort of download my version of ideal boyfriend to her so she would make the right choice when the time comes to choose (in Uni).

yawn yawn (yawn2)
Post Number: 540 Registered: 11-2010
| | Posted on Monday, March 26, 2012 - 4:11 pm: |
valerie my dd also wearing padded singlet. I've been talking about mensus & body changes with both my girls since preschool years. Not purposely lah, when they ask or somehow topic arises then we chit chat about it. Good idea to teach about using pads. Haven't occur to me. I gave dd a quick briefing just now, hehe |

bebe75 (bebe75)
Post Number: 1207 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, March 27, 2012 - 12:28 am: |
lolz..so cute..but I doubt I can say the same if it happens to my own kids..hee The other day I brought my kids to watch movie "The Lorax" and saw a couple, looking very young like 12-13 yrs old, holding hands waiting to enter the theatre..I told my hubby what will he react if that girl was her daughter..he said it will never happen..cos my gals are too shy..I said never underestimate the children now..probably I shd follow yawn yawn.."downloaded"them my version of ideal dating partners.. Valerie - my gal also has "pimples" or rather tiny bumps on her forehead..I told her that might be a sign of puberty and she starts getting worried..I hv been telling her the puberty and reproductive system changs but have not taught her about using pads. I have bought a padded singlet for her..but she refused to wear it..I told her that she has to start getting used to it..for now her modesty are protected by her pinafore, and she does not see the need to wear the singlet. I do know that some of the gals in her class has already wore "bra" since beginning of this year.. |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 962 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, March 27, 2012 - 8:37 am: |
haiz, not only have to deal with psle, have to deal with puberty also. faint... my boy said that the some girls in class are starting a trend on who-likes-who-so-no-one-else-but-them-can-go-talk-to-those-'chomped'-ones-if-still-want-to-be-part-of-the-group thingy. faint. he said no wonder some of them ran away when they saw him cos under 'instructions' to keep a distance away from him. faint... he said a handful of girls and boys are not in the 'group' cos they either felt it is ridiculous, or that they are oblivious. so he hangs around with them. i told him that that's what friends are for...don't put up with such nonsense in class. (from what he said, some of the boys are themselves 'chomped' by the girls in the group, so while others avoid them, the boys themselves stick together. seems like girls who talks to them will be shun by the group so some girls prefers to avoid them too) yawnyawn, looks like your girl quite popular ah. i find that it is easier for girls to reject boys than boys to reject girls, cos for the latter, if not handled carefully, the girl may not be able to accept rejection well. for boys...skin usually quite thick ba. :P |

M D (maisydaisy19)
Post Number: 399 Registered: 8-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, March 27, 2012 - 9:41 am: |
My dd is qt outspoken in school and openly detest boys, so may have scare away the boys. So far, she hasn't tell me she likes anyone. But she keeps talking about a male teacher and says he's funny. Maybe she prefers 'mature' guys. LOL... I'm going to get my gal the half singlet to wear soon. I haven't start telling her about menses but she has been curious with the birds and bees. Recently she ask me some awkward questions like "if a man and woman need to have S** and don't want baby, what should they do?" So am I to start educating her on contraceptives already, at 10 yo. Faint. |

yawn yawn (yawn2)
Post Number: 541 Registered: 11-2010
| | Posted on Tuesday, March 27, 2012 - 10:35 am: |
maisy speaking of 'mature' guys... dd's music teacher is good looking! I was a little concerned she might develop a crush on teacher when I was considering hiring teacher. So far so good, I think she is immune to good looks, heng ah! She likes boys who are smarter than her, especially in Maths, so I guess she's attracted to the brainy type. I've not talked about contraception. I only subtlely preach celibacy before marriage, haha! |

yawn yawn (yawn2)
Post Number: 542 Registered: 11-2010
| | Posted on Tuesday, March 27, 2012 - 11:10 am: |
fz not really lah. i think her personality is more like a boy. She said girls are too petty & like to form 'group'. She refused to join any girls 'group' last year even though she was invited often because she didn't like to be confined by rules in the group eg. who to friend & who to ignore. Too much unpleasant peer pressure. So she rather hang out with the boys who did not bother with such idiocy. That didn't bother the girls too much though, they still talk to her, guess they see her as neutral, heng lor This year she's still experimenting who can be her new best friend. But not much of group forming in her class yet, the girls seem to hang around mostly in pairs. then again, only 7 girls in her class so I guess not enough headcount to form groups |

Chua Yen Ling (chuayl)
Post Number: 183 Registered: 6-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 06, 2012 - 2:45 pm: |
SA1 is round the corner. |

fz (zhen49)
Post Number: 963 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Sunday, April 08, 2012 - 1:22 pm: |
yes yen ling, oral exams in 2 weeks' time. |

avrilf (avrilf)
Post Number: 267 Registered: 7-2009
| | Posted on Monday, April 09, 2012 - 4:27 pm: |
Mine no oral exam for SA1 |

Jolene (piglet_pinky)
Post Number: 756 Registered: 8-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 10, 2012 - 9:18 am: |
Hi mummies How to improve in Science section B OE question? |

Post Number: 11495 Registered: 4-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 10, 2012 - 9:35 am: |
just to share, my girl must be the first in this thread to get menses. Was at a fren's house, she just whisper to me and ask me for a pad. just went in and put on herself. thereafter , in her bag, i pack a pouch with pads, panty and a pair of shorts. She too has pimples on the nose. My girl's oral and paper 1 will be next week. sigh we are totally not prepared as she just had a eventful Monday - high jump tournament and SYF guzheng |