| | Posted on Thursday, June 09, 2011 - 10:22 pm: |
Sorry, besides caversham, anywhere we can see koala? The cuddly animal farm? |

mngo (mngo)
Intermediate Member Username: mngo
Post Number: 4176 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Friday, June 10, 2011 - 10:20 am: |
Sherlyn Scitech -> We've been there. My son loves it .. We spent 3 hours there, and we think it was too short! The next time if i go, i will go early and spend at least half a day there . Koala -> Cuddly doesnt have koala. Another place u can see koala is Yanchep national park. And also at Cohunu wildlife park |

Linda (linda_thea)
Intermediate Member Username: linda_thea
Post Number: 4169 Registered: 8-2002
| | Posted on Friday, June 10, 2011 - 1:30 pm: |
Hi Sherlyn Not an expert on Perth, but suggest you try for accomodation in Bunbury instead, that's the nearest bigger town to Donnybrook. Donny brook is a relatively small township with little if any hotels. We are leaving on next wed, also have about 5 nights in Perth City, but we are just using that as a base to explore the areas around. We will be visiting Pinnacles, Chittering, donnybrook out of those 5 nights. The remaining we will see King's Park, Whiteman Park and Lake Monger and perhaps do a little tourisy things like visit Fremantle and Habourtown. How about Swan Valley? Are you intending to visit there? Winter nights come early, so I was also advised not to plan too many activities in a day. Hi Mngo, Your advise is noted. I decided to be KS and bring along a loaf of choc bread and 2 packets of kids liquid milk since DAFF says eggs in bread are ok cos its cooked and milk is manufactured in Singapore. At most reach customs get thrown away. Then really no choice, as I didnt want to lug along a 900g tin of milk. Has it been rainy recently? I saw the Perth local reports stating rain these few days but another friend stated sunshine. Rather confusing.... Hahaha |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4177 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Saturday, June 11, 2011 - 10:05 am: |
Linda Starting next week it will rain. The whole of this week has been sunny. |

dink (dink)
Member Username: dink
Post Number: 1213 Registered: 5-2008
| | Posted on Friday, June 24, 2011 - 9:47 am: |
Hi, Am I glad to find this thread. Lots of information sharing here Will be traveling with my 2.5yo boy coming early august for a 2 wks break. Will do the Perth-Albany-Pemberton-MR-Busselton-perth route. My 2nd time doing this route. I guess I have more than enough time to do a leisure trip. |

lilipit (lilipit)
Junior Member Username: lilipit
Post Number: 309 Registered: 10-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, July 24, 2011 - 12:09 pm: |
Hi does anyone know which travel agents have self drive packages that's customizable ? |

lilipit (lilipit)
Post Number: 310 Registered: 10-2005
| | Posted on Monday, July 25, 2011 - 11:41 pm: |
Hi mommies May I have your comments on this self drive itinerary? We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children(3yr and 5yr) Traveling in October. Thanks very much! ----------------- Day1, Saturday Perth city- groceries, kings park Plan to stay at mont Clare apts Day 2, Sunday Perth - hilarys harbor, aquarium of western Australia Day 3, Monday Day trip to swan valley, whiteman park (caversham wildlife park) Day 4, Tuesday Check out of montclare Busselton- jetty, lighthouse, etc MR - check in MR Hideaway Day 5, Wednesday MR region Day 6, thursday Check out of MR Hideaway Busselton - to finish up what we didn't on day 4 eg underwater observatory, yallingup shearing shed (11am) Return to perth Check into montclare Day 7, Friday Cottlesoe beach Fremantle Maybe kings park area Day 8, Saturday Royal Perth Show (or alternative plans) Day 9, Sunday Return to SG |

sherlyn (anxin)
Member Username: anxin
Post Number: 820 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 26, 2011 - 12:41 am: |
Hi Linda, Thanks for your help. We survived the trip. . Was very busy before that doing all the planning, then after that it is school re open. We enjoyed ours, and I hope you have enjoyed yours tremendously too.
sherlyn |

sherlyn (anxin)
Post Number: 821 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 26, 2011 - 12:48 am: |
Hi Lilipit, We just went this June. We did not go to the AQWA but my dh's colleague went and said that it is not worth. Our underwater world is better. As for yallingup shed, we enjoyed ourselves very much. We are advised to arrive 10 minutes earlier and after buying the tickets, the kids are given feed to feed the sheep. My kids of age 7 and 8 enjoyed themselve very very much. Caversham also has sheep shearing, but we feel that the one at yallingup is more professional. The one at caversham is more like a show. The shearer did not seem to be professional in the show we attended. no comments on underwater ob cos it is closed when we went. Have a good trip. Cheers sherlyn |

lilipit (lilipit)
Post Number: 314 Registered: 10-2005
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 26, 2011 - 5:48 pm: |
Thanks sherlyn! We're so looking forward to the trip. Yup, did some research and Thot yallingup was worth a visit Where did u stay? |

sherlyn (anxin)
Post Number: 822 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Sunday, July 31, 2011 - 11:36 pm: |
we stayed at dunsborough (2 nites) , then pumphill farm (2 nites) , then back to perth for 3 nites. |

reenie (reenie)
Member Username: reenie
Post Number: 1362 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, August 03, 2011 - 2:05 pm: |
Hi Mummies, I'm travelling to Perth in Septemeber with my 2 kids, age 2 and age 6. This is our first road trip and any advices will help! 1. Can anyone advice if chinese food (eg. porridge or rice or noodle soup) is easily available for kids in perth city? Any recommendation...as both my kids is very chinese. I am staying at a bed&breafast around Como area so i cannot cook, therefore i need to find resturants or eatery. 2. For those who been to swan valley, i be staying there for 3 days, is it easy to get groceries to cook? As i have make reservation for the entire farmstay, should come with cooking facilities. 3. May i know where in perth city i can buy groceries? Like fresh milk or daily necessities? I'm planning to drive to a supermarket right after my flight touch down at perth airport. 4. We planning to drive so we intend to rent a car, any advice which car rental is good which i can pick and drop at airport? With GPS and baby seats? I think both kids should need the baby car seat.. Thanks! |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4192 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Thursday, August 04, 2011 - 5:03 pm: |
Reenie 1) Yes , the chinatown is near to the city, you can even walk across . So there are plenty of chinese food. you can also get chinese food in every food court. 2) There is a mall in the swan valley region. It's called midland gate shopping mall. 3) In Perth City , there are 2 woolies. One is near to Forrest Chase. The other is along St george / Adelaide terrace. There are also chinese groceries shop in north bridge. 4) Sorry, i cant help. It seems like there are some changes in the picking up and dropping off procedure in airport. |

lilipit (lilipit)
Post Number: 315 Registered: 10-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, August 07, 2011 - 8:44 pm: |
Hi mngo, Do you know if there's any parking near woolies/ Forrest chase at Murray/barrack street? Been googling and looking at the satellite pics but there does not seem to be a good place to stop the car. I think it's in the CBD area? I too also intend to chiong from airport to supermarket. Arriving at 2.40pm on a Saturday think most shops will be closed by the time we pick up rental car and reach our accom. |

reenie (reenie)
Post Number: 1363 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Monday, August 08, 2011 - 11:05 am: |
Hi mngo, Thank you so much!!! I am really super grateful for any great advice. Here's my plan so far, not sure if this is good enough, do give me any feedback if you see anything miss or can add on: Day 1: Check-in around late afternoon, unpacked and go for dinner in perth city Day 2: Kings Park, Swan Bell (anything else?) Day 3: AQWA and Scrabourge beach and harbourtown Shopping Day 4: Frementle Day 5: Check out, head to SV farm stay (not sure if any orchard can visit on the way) Day 6: SV, farm activites and explore surrounding Day 7: Half morning at SV, check out afternoon to airport. This is our first time driving in Perth so i am not sure the time taken from one place to another, the planning is more "conservative". Thanks! |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4193 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Monday, August 08, 2011 - 1:00 pm: |
lilipit There are parking around/near. Check on wilson parking, CP Parking. Yes - city is in CBD. It is orchard + robinson road + raffles place all in one. IGA opens till late on saturday. Coles and woolies open till 5pm. But not sure about the woolies in town. |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4194 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Monday, August 08, 2011 - 1:03 pm: |
Reenie AQWA is not worth to go. Sentosa under water world is better. Fremantle weekend markets only open on weekend. |

lilipit (lilipit)
Post Number: 316 Registered: 10-2005
| | Posted on Monday, August 08, 2011 - 1:59 pm: |
Thanks Mngo! I managed to locate one near where we're putting up. And I google street map to confirm that there's parking outside. Cos we have young kids with us so want to be more sure about getting groceries etc with ease and confidence. Cheers! |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4195 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Tuesday, August 09, 2011 - 10:48 am: |
No problem lilipit. |

reenie (reenie)
Post Number: 1364 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, August 10, 2011 - 11:52 am: |
Hi mngo, In this case, what other activities would you suggest for a day? Seems like i have one full day! hahaa...thanks! |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4201 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Wednesday, August 10, 2011 - 12:38 pm: |
Reenie You can spend your day at the beach. Skip AQWA . You dont need to take one whole day to visit AQWA right? It's just prob a couple of hours. |

reenie (reenie)
Post Number: 1365 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, August 10, 2011 - 2:21 pm: |
mngo, thanks for your advice! i plan to visit the Scrabourge beach, what you think? is there any orchards worth visiting during Spring? Or should i travel down to Rockingham/Mandurah area instead on my Day 3? I came across these 2 place during my search, but don't know if its worth visiting or not. |

reenie (reenie)
Post Number: 1366 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, August 10, 2011 - 3:09 pm: |
Btw, does anyone know where to shop for kids stuff in perth? like clothings, toys or even books? |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4205 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Wednesday, August 10, 2011 - 6:41 pm: |
Reenie Yea , Scarborough is nice. Cottesloe is nice too and there are lots of nice eateries at Cottesloe. I dont know what fruits are available during spring... Rockingham has penguin island, which you may want / wish to check it out. Mandurah is slightly further down south, but it is a nice place. |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4206 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Wednesday, August 10, 2011 - 6:43 pm: |
Reenie These are the places where they have kids stuffs 1) harbourtown 2) kmart 3) big w 4) David jones (expensive) 5) myer 6) target 7) all westfield shopping malls. They have cotton on for kids, pumpkin patch, and best and less. |

reenie (reenie)
Post Number: 1367 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, August 11, 2011 - 10:32 am: |
Hi mngo! thank you so much for the list of places to shop! i will probably visit the beaches with kids, hope the weather is great around mid-september. what is the typical temperature like? i am pondering what to pack for the kids. |

muffin (cupcake)
Intermediate Member Username: cupcake
Post Number: 2610 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, August 11, 2011 - 2:16 pm: |
Hi, Will b in Perth n MR fr 1-10 sept. Now is abt 8-19 degree so will b warmer during my trip? Shd we still need layer or just outer jacket will do? |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4207 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Thursday, August 11, 2011 - 5:30 pm: |
In sep It may be cold at night. Better bring a jacket, but sometimes depending on your tolerance, one outer jacket may not be sufficient. |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4208 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Thursday, August 11, 2011 - 5:31 pm: |
Muffin it will be warmer than now, but then if it's evening, it's colder than the minimum aircon temp (18 degrees). |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4209 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Thursday, August 11, 2011 - 5:52 pm: |
hi Ladies Here's the temperature. Average Spring Temperatures September: Daytime 18-21C Overnight Minimum 9-12C Looks like it is not going to be as warm as Singapore. |

lilipit (lilipit)
Post Number: 317 Registered: 10-2005
| | Posted on Thursday, August 11, 2011 - 7:32 pm: |
Reenie, hav u booked your rental car? You can check for your credit card companies for any promotions on car rentals. Can key the promo code when booking rental car online. |

muffin (cupcake)
Intermediate Member Username: cupcake
Post Number: 2611 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, August 11, 2011 - 8:31 pm: |
Thanks mngo, Think I better b KS n bring more... |

reenie (reenie)
Post Number: 1368 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Friday, August 12, 2011 - 10:25 am: |
lilipit, Yes we booked with Avis. Did not checked any credit card offer You know any? mngo, thank you for the weather info! useful! should be cold for the little ones, so i guess i will bring cardigarn/tights for them to wear underneath jeans..haha |

lilipit (lilipit)
Post Number: 318 Registered: 10-2005
| | Posted on Friday, August 12, 2011 - 11:17 am: |
Hi reenie Maybank has. But with terms and condition, turns out no further discount with Avis. Think cos peak period when I travel. With hertz, there's discount. But in the end we rented from Avis cos we wanted a specific car model/type. |

lilipit (lilipit)
Post Number: 319 Registered: 10-2005
| | Posted on Friday, August 12, 2011 - 11:24 am: |
Reenie, notice you're going to swan bell area. I intend to jalan the area as well, more as a time filler if we end our day early. Was also thinking of taking the public ferry (transperth) from the nearby barrack street jetty, to and fro, just to let the kids experience that. Cheap too cos it's considered public transport. Keke. Think 20 min ride each way. Operating times and pricing at transperth website. Last ferry about 7 plus pm. |

reenie (reenie)
Post Number: 1369 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Friday, August 12, 2011 - 2:33 pm: |
lilipit, Thanks for sharing! i didn't include the ferry ride stuffs, sounds good. We intend to take this trip slow and easy with 2 kids, heard the park and beaches are great. Hope the little ones will enjoy How's your planning looks like? |

lilipit (lilipit)
Post Number: 320 Registered: 10-2005
| | Posted on Friday, August 12, 2011 - 7:16 pm: |
Hi reenie My kids same age as yours! This is my rough iti. Day 1 Saturday Arriving late afternoon Get groceries from IGA outlet Check in, East Perth Day 2 Sunday Swan valley - whiteman park (train ride, tractor museum) - caversham wildlife park (within Whiteman park) - mondo nougat - house of honey - cape lavender (for scones) Day 3 Monday Hillarys harbor Kings park Day 4 Tuesday Check out, proceed to MR region Yallingup shearing shed Busselton jetty Cape naturaliste lighthouse Buy groceries Check in at MR region Day 5 Wednesday Explore MR region, including - choc factory - candy cow - Mammoth Cave Day 6 Thursday Animal feeding at farmstay Check out, proceed back to Perth On the way, retrace if we couldn't finish the stuff on Day 4 Swing by to Donnybrook - Apple Fun Park (big playground) Gnomesville (off Donnybrook) Head to Perth, check in Day 7 Friday Fremantle Cottesloe beach Day 8 Saturday Perth Royal Show (stay for fireworks at end of day) Day 9 Sunday Check out Midland gate shopping centre Airport - home sweet home >>> Reenie and fellow mummies, any comments to improve, let me know. Thanks!! |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4210 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Friday, August 12, 2011 - 7:28 pm: |
Hi Lilipit You have just given me a very good reason to take ferry across the river . I think i will do that since i've never taken before. lol |

lilipit (lilipit)
Post Number: 321 Registered: 10-2005
| | Posted on Friday, August 12, 2011 - 7:30 pm: |
Haha. Nice to know that!  |

Tinsel_elf (tinsel_elf)
Intermediate Member Username: tinsel_elf
Post Number: 2944 Registered: 2-2008
| | Posted on Saturday, August 13, 2011 - 4:01 pm: |
Hi all, Planning for my early Sep trip now and would like to check if you have any advise/opinion on the following: 1) Is Mandurah worth stopping by on the way to MR? What are the things to do/places of interest? 2) Should I do both Cape Naturaliste and Cape Leeuwin or only either? Which is more beautiful? 3) Dunbury dolphins - really can see huh? 4) Rottnest Island - worth making the trip? 5) Perth Hills, Kalamunda - worth making the trip? 6) Izzit stroller friendy in & out of Perth? TIA!! |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4211 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Saturday, August 13, 2011 - 5:07 pm: |
Tinsel 1) Stop by Mandurah if you just wanna see the surroundings or probably even take a cruise. 2) Do Cape Leeuwin. Cape Naturaliste is not as tall as cape Leeuwin. 3) Bunburry - no guarantee. 4) Nope. Expensive ferry , not worth for a day trip. 5) Do you wish to visit and ride camels, go kalamunda market (weekend) , visit the dam? If not, forget it. 6) Yes. it is SUPER SUPER EXTREMELY VERY FRIENDLY. UNLIKE SINGAPORE! |

Tinsel_elf (tinsel_elf)
Post Number: 2945 Registered: 2-2008
| | Posted on Saturday, August 13, 2011 - 11:12 pm: |
Dear Mngo, Thanx alot for your quick reply. Not gonna stop by Mandurah then. I prefer Cape Leeuwin too not that I know its taller but the images I saw on the net just takes my breath away. Good for someone to affirm that I need not see 2 lighthouses...we'll be spending 3 nights in MR and shall include Augusta in these few days. Heng abt Rottnest...read somewhere on trip advisor that it's overrated. Shall do Kalamunda if time permits. SUPER FRIENDLY? Kekeke...okok shall lug my stroller along. My itinerary is almost done. If u dun mind, pls help to vet thru it...anyone is welcome to comment Thanx muchee!! |

Tinsel_elf (tinsel_elf)
Post Number: 2946 Registered: 2-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, August 14, 2011 - 12:57 am: |
Here's my itinerary...TIA for all your comments & input. 04th Sep 2011, Sun - Arrive in Perth Airport at 3.00p.m. - Check in at Rydges hotel 05th Sep 2011, Mon - Check out of Rydges hotel - Collect car at Bayswater - Visit Scitech - Eating & shopping in Perth City ~ Hay St, Murray St - Drive to Joondalup for hotel check in 06th Sep 2011, Tue - Spend a day at Swan Valley including Caversham - Back to Joondalup 07th Sep 2011, Wed - Spend a day at King’s Park - Shopping in Perth City if time permits ~ Harbourtown - Back to Joondalup 08th Sep 2011, Thurs - Hillarys ~ AQWA - Cottlesloe Beach - Back to Joondalup 09th Sep 2011, Fri - Fremantle - Back to Joondalup 10th Sep 2011, Sat - Wanneroo ~ Mindarie Marine & Strawberry Fields - Kalamunda if time permits - Shopping in Joondalup 11th Sep 2011, Sun - Check out of Joondalup - Bunbury - Margaret River ~ Check in at Vintages Accommodation 12th Sep 2011, Mon - Cape Leeuwin - Cowaramup - Exploring & shopping in MR - Back to Vintages Accommodation 13th Sep 2011, Tue - Checkout of Vintages Accommodation - Check in at Sunflower Animal Farm for farmstay - Mammoth Cave - Dinner in MR - Back to Sunflower Animal Farm 14th Sep 2011, Wed - Check out of Sunflower Animal Farm - Yallingup ~ Sheep shearing @ 11.00a.m. - Busselton ~ Underwater observatory @ 3.00p.m. - Check in at Rydges hotel 15th Sep 2011, Thurs - Check out of Rydges hotel - Return car - Airport ~ Home sweet home |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4212 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Sunday, August 14, 2011 - 4:03 pm: |
Tinsel I think you have not been to Australia right? Otherwise you will not be 'doubting' about the stroller friendliness . I've lived in Singapore. I am now in Perth so i can make comparisons. Years ago when my boy was in stroller, taking bus was a breeze here! The bus has a ramp that allows me to push my son up and the bus will tilt to one side to ensure no gaps. Up on the bus, there are areas where i can sit, and park my stroller next to me. UNLIKE IN SINGAPORE WHERE I HAVE TO FREAKING FOLD THE STROLLER WITH ONE HAND, CARRY MY SON WITH ANOTHER HAND. |

Tinsel_elf (tinsel_elf)
Post Number: 2947 Registered: 2-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, August 14, 2011 - 9:05 pm: |
Dear Mngo, Have nvr been to OZ so no reason to doubt...cos u cap the 'extremely friendly', so i oso cap lo...no offence ya & thanx for the great help. It seems that I have many makan places and things to see in MR that I may forego Wanneroo/Kalamunda and head for MR instead i.e. spend 4 nights in MR instead of 3. Do you think its better? Thank you. |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4213 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Monday, August 15, 2011 - 12:05 pm: |
Actually , MR has a lot of good food and restaurants. But it's not cheap esp if you dine in the vineyard restaurants. One main cost like 50SGD. If you want to cook , you can buy stuffs at Coles / IGA at MR town . There is no cooking facilities in Vintages accomodation. 4 days 3 nights is good because you have time to really go around. |

augbaby (augbaby)
Advanced Member Username: augbaby
Post Number: 6451 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Monday, August 15, 2011 - 6:58 pm: |
Hi Mngo, Saw yr weather temp in perth in sept...my aunty who is there says in the morn etc its rather warm but at night its cold...but yrs seems reali cold...i dun wish to unpack coz i got 2 toddlers age 4 n 5...might be my aunty is used to the weather there hence say daytime warm...based on the temp can i get yr advise if my kiddos shld be in long sleeves n pants in the days time all day n a thick jacket for at night will it be suficient...do i need long john instead?? thanks so much...also is there any thing to visit in albany? Coz 1 yrs ago we visited perth n hav alr explore the MR, swan valley, bussleton, perth area...went for a farmstay in MR area...this time we visiting perth coz bringin my mil to get her mind away coz my fil juz passed away n wan to go to a not too faraway flight place....is there any gd farmstay in albany? Or any gd places to visit for kids too.....thanks so much for yr help... |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4214 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Monday, August 15, 2011 - 9:04 pm: |
Hi augbaby That temp is not from me lah! I copied from website and pasted it here. It's actually good for the kids to be in long sleeves and pants because the UV is strong here. Even if the weather could be 'warm', it may be too cold for your kids if they are used to Singapore weather. None of us needed long john because when it's late at night where it's chilly, we will be in our own home with insulation and heater. Now that you mention you came last year , i think i could sort of vaguely remember cos your nick looks familiar. I've never been to albany really. Kids can do horse riding, maze, cuddling animal farm. they are all at swan valley region. |

augbaby (augbaby)
Post Number: 6452 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Monday, August 15, 2011 - 9:22 pm: |
Hi mngo, yups thats me... tink i also ask you for advise that time..heehee...icic ya true tink my kids r used to sg weather hence it still b cold for them... ya brought them to cuddling animal farm b4...tink we visited quite a few places in perth alr so was wondering if there are any other places....for horse riding, where is it exactly available in swan valley region? Heard Yallingup ~ Sheep shearing is not bad after reading a few mummies review here...erm pardon me but where is yallingup n is it reali worth to visit? Thanks so much for yr help! |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4215 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Tuesday, August 16, 2011 - 12:14 pm: |
In fact i have no idea where horse riding is . I know my friends have been there. I can check. Yallingup is in the region of margaret river - far down south. |

augbaby (augbaby)
Post Number: 6453 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, August 16, 2011 - 5:54 pm: |
Hi Mngo, Thanks so much for the help n advise...tink we decided to drop albany as i heard the 5 hrs drive there there r nothing to see along the way n hence i do not tink my kiddos are along to take it..haha... We might either stay in pemberton or MR....as for MR do you happen to know of any gd places to stay? Or any other mummies can u pls advise me on any gd accomodations in MR as well? Thanks alot |

mogus (mogus)
New member Username: mogus
Post Number: 1 Registered: 7-2010
| | Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2011 - 12:38 am: |
Hi Wow - it's so wonderful to find a forum here for Perth! We are planning to visit Perth from 27 Aug for 2 weeks and my iternary is not done yet! We will spending a few days in Perth city at a friend's but after that we will be on our own (with our 4YO and 6YO). :-) After leaving the city (3 nights), our route will be Albany (2n) -> Pemberton (2n) -> Margaret River (4n)-> Mandurah (1n)-> back to Perth city (1n) Any helpful advice would greatly be appreciated! Day 4 - on way to Albany, we will stop by Porongurup Range National Park. Since this is Day 1 after the city, we have nothing much planned here. Day 5 - we plan to do the whale tour and the museum. again, nothing else planned here, yet. Day 6 - we will go Torndirrup National Park (for Natural Bridge and The Gap), blowholes Day 7 - Gloucester Tree Climb, Ancient Empire Walkway, Wind Farm Day 8 - Tram Ride, Gloucester Tree Climb, Marron Farm and etc Day 9 - Augusta Lighthouse, visit vineyards Day 10 - (MR) Animals, cave, berry farm, vineyards, Flinders Bay Day 11 - Busselton Train & Observatory, sheep shearing(?) Chocolate Factory, etc Day 12 - (Mandurah) Pelicans, sunset on the estuary, dolphins at Mandjar Bay, Madora Beach Dolphin Swim? Tour Day 13 - since Penguin Island is not opened yet, i am currently stuck with nothing at Mandurah, back to Perth city Day 14 - King's Park, watever else in Perth -> SG Since we will be there late Aug till early Sept, hopefully we will begin to experience warmer days as we venture southward. |

lilipit (lilipit)
Post Number: 325 Registered: 10-2005
| | Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2011 - 7:09 pm: |
Hi. Just note that yallingup shearing shed is closed on Fridays. Showtime is 11am. |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4221 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2011 - 10:15 am: |
Augbb Try leewin apartments. My friend who stayed there before said it is good. |

hopeac (hopeac)
Member Username: hopeac
Post Number: 557 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2011 - 11:09 am: |
Hi, I have stayed at vintage at MR. It is at a good location. It is near the super market. Some units come with a small kitchenette. But you may not be able to do full cooking, but they do provide utensils. I think we used the microwave to cook certain stuff. |

mogus (mogus)
Post Number: 2 Registered: 7-2010
| | Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2011 - 4:22 pm: |
We will be staying at MR Hideaway. Now, they have a stay 3 get 4th night free promo. We are going there for 4 days. and from all the comments, MR Hideaway looks real good! Can anyone suggest what else to do in Mandurah? |

augbaby (augbaby)
Post Number: 6458 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2011 - 4:38 pm: |
Hi mngo thanks for the suggestion...will go check it out...alot of places i hav checked in MR seems reali exp like a night at aud$400 for 4 adults n 2 kids...faint...or the more reasonable rates ones r fully booked....sigh...do u tink its silly to drive all the way to MR n juz stay 1 night ah?? Hi mogus, i hav stayed at MR hideaway 2 yrs away too n my kiddos love it...nice environment n clean n all but be sure to rem to put away the dishes into cupboard after u wash them ya on last day coz we got fine by them n they charge our credit card without informing us after we left coz we did washed the dishes but left them ourside to dry off n they consider that as not clearing up n washing the dishes...but the rest is great experience... |

mogus (mogus)
Post Number: 3 Registered: 7-2010
| | Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2011 - 5:45 pm: |
Hi augbaby - wow! tat's a great tip, tks for highlighting! i certainly do not want to be penalise for washing up lor.. btw would you know there will be any washing facilities (washing machine/dryer) at the premise? does the detergent come with it, or do i have to bring my own? Front load or top load? Places we will be staying are Albany Havana Villas, Pemberton Farm Chalets and MR Hideaway. Anyone stayed in these places before? Thanks! |

augbaby (augbaby)
Post Number: 6461 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Friday, August 19, 2011 - 9:22 am: |
Hi mogus, Hmm i dun seems to recall that there is any washing facilities there coz i dun rem doing my laundry there but to be sure maybe u can check with them. Coz i only rem i did my washing when i stayed in perth at mantra on hays i tink.... Is pemberton farm chalets a farmstay? How much did u pay per night? We r actually considering if we shld stay in pemberton or MR..still reasearching...when will u b going to perth? |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4222 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Friday, August 19, 2011 - 1:55 pm: |
Augbaby Don't go there for just 1 night. It's so rush, and will be so tiring for everyone. |

mogus (mogus)
Post Number: 4 Registered: 7-2010
| | Posted on Saturday, August 20, 2011 - 12:01 am: |
Hi augbaby Wwe are going Perth on 27 Aug (Presidential election day) and back on 9 Sept, 2 weeks in all. Yes, Pemberton Farm Chalets is a farmstay. Check out http://www.pembertonfarmchalets.com.au. We paid $105/night for 2 nights. after that we will head to Margaret River for 4 nights. By the way, all 3 places replied me this morning about their washing facilities. They have some washing machines (top load) @ $3 and dryers @ $1 per use. Can bring your own detergent though you can also pay from $0.50, $1 to $3/sachet, charges differ from chalet to chalet and the size you need. No softener provided. I am going to buy the tiniest pack top load powder tomorrow at NTUC. Mine's a front load. :-) |

augbaby (augbaby)
Post Number: 6462 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Saturday, August 20, 2011 - 11:53 pm: |
Hi Mogus, Guess wat..haha we ended up booking margaret river hideaway again for our stay in MR...haha..coz after researching alot of places we keen not available and hideaways actually offer a really reasonable rate for their per nite stay plus kiddos love farmstay so well..haha... Mngo ya decided its silly to drive up all the way and then just stay a night... btw any gd recommendations for perth itself? Stayed in mantra on hays the last time n was hoping to try somewhere else then... Is staying at fremantle feasible? We be renting a car for the entire duration so wondering if we shld stay in fremantle..any advise? Btw how faraway is fremantle from perth central area actually? Thanks so much for yr help Any mummies have any gd recommendations for staying in perth? |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4223 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Sunday, August 21, 2011 - 4:33 pm: |
Augbaby Perth to Fremantle is only like 30 mins drive. no point wasting $ to stay there also. |

augbaby (augbaby)
Post Number: 6463 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Sunday, August 21, 2011 - 4:36 pm: |
mngo, so actually its ok to stay in fremantle instead of perth rite? N juz travel down? Coz it seems like for the 8 n 9sept the accommodations in perth r like super exp or not available...i m having a headache looking for it...arghhhh... |

mogus (mogus)
Post Number: 5 Registered: 7-2010
| | Posted on Monday, August 22, 2011 - 2:16 am: |
Hi Augbaby - when are you going to Perth and how long will you be in Aust? Sori can't help much abt Perth accomodation.. :-( anyway, good for you to visit MR Hideaway. I'm really looking to staying 4 nights there. I think this would be my pitstop to wash all my dirty clothes.. keke Mngo - we are thinking of heading to Porongurup Range National Park after Perth, on our way to Albany. I read that it's 40km north of Albany. think it's a good idea? it should be less than an hour from Albany i guess? i was looking forward to see the balancing rock... i read that the trail will take us about 2hrs to complete. that should wear the kids out. :-) If this is not a good option, would you suggest another place to visit, also to break the journey? tks much! |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4224 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Monday, August 22, 2011 - 5:09 pm: |
Mogus I am not familiar with albany and Prorongurup. Therefore i am unable to help . |

reenie (reenie)
Post Number: 1376 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Monday, August 29, 2011 - 9:54 am: |
Hi all, Sorry just a quick check, i am planning to exchange SGD to AUD soon. For 7 days in Perth, is 2500SGD enough for self drive, food and some misc stuffs such as ticketings? Thanks! |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4225 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Monday, August 29, 2011 - 12:55 pm: |
Reenie Bring along your credit card. I am not sure what kind of food you are after? If you are going for a 4.50 hungry jacks then its enough. If you are going for a 50 dollar a plate an adult a meal, then that may not be enough. |

reenie (reenie)
Post Number: 1377 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, August 31, 2011 - 12:11 pm: |
LOL...thanks mngo!! i understand what you mean! I am clueless about the food pricing in Perth. I think we will eat out most meal, except breakfast. Do you have any recommendation on food? Is there any food court or chinese congee stuffs for kids? I guess our meals choices are going to limited with young kids who prefer chinese food :P |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4226 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Wednesday, August 31, 2011 - 12:53 pm: |
Reenie Food courts are found in every mall. Then, every mall will have chinese food in the food court. But porridge/congee is really rare unless you go to places where they specialises in dimsum or asian cuisine. If you go to North Bridge, there is a stretch of Asian restaurants there. |

reenie (reenie)
Post Number: 1378 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, September 01, 2011 - 9:54 am: |
Mngo, Sounds great, food court should offer a more resonable price..cannot eat in resturant very meal..haha I will note north bridge for Asian food! Thanks lot!!!! |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4227 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Thursday, September 01, 2011 - 1:28 pm: |
Reenie Food court prices will be like $8dollars a plate. Generally , most stuffs here is abt $10 a meal a person . |

hopeac (hopeac)
Post Number: 558 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Thursday, September 01, 2011 - 2:23 pm: |
hi, The chinese food at food court is not usually not fantastic. |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4228 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Thursday, September 01, 2011 - 6:32 pm: |
Hopeac u saying usually not fantasic? Or not usually fantastic? |

hopeac (hopeac)
Post Number: 559 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Friday, September 02, 2011 - 5:52 am: |
Usually not fantastic. 8P |

aly_nat (aly_nat)
Member Username: aly_nat
Post Number: 596 Registered: 12-2009
| | Posted on Friday, September 02, 2011 - 1:09 pm: |
Hi mngo, I've book my tic to Perth for this year end school hols again. Apart from visiting the Busselton Jetty, think we're just gonna be beach bums this time round. Too lazy to go anywhere. Any idea which beach has the finest sand and/or child friendly? Can vaguely remember Scarborough, Cottlesloe, City beach. Was thinking of Rottnest Island, but saw your comments about expensive ferry price. Btw, did u manage to visit d'grilled? Any good? I miss the chips . Can't wait to be in Perth again! |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4229 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Saturday, September 03, 2011 - 8:52 pm: |
aly_nat!! I remember you. And NOPE... we din visit D'grilled at all because we had been spending all our days at canning vale! Beach wise i really am not sure.

aly_nat (aly_nat)
Post Number: 597 Registered: 12-2009
| | Posted on Sunday, September 04, 2011 - 1:35 am: |
mngo, all days in Canning Vale? haha, I guess that's how it is when one is a resident there. I will probably spend a bit of time up the Swan Valley direction this time round. I've a friend who just moved to The Vines, and apparently, her place is facing a ranch. Can't wait to visit her "mansion" - 6 rooms for a family of 4 n 2 dogs. Simply can't imagine that as I look at the little pigeon hole that I live in now No worries 'bout the beach, mate. I'll bum around around when I get there. Hope the weather will be agreeable when I get there  |

mngo (mngo)
Post Number: 4230 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Sunday, September 04, 2011 - 2:12 pm: |
aly Yea lor! when i was living in singapore, i was more adventurous. I could travel from east to west, vice versa. |

Hazel See (hazelsee)
Member Username: hazelsee
Post Number: 592 Registered: 5-2005
| | Posted on Tuesday, September 13, 2011 - 4:48 pm: |
Hihi I'm planning a short trip to Perth in November sch hols for 6 days, want to go a few places, anyone has similar itinerary to share? 1) Gingin Observatory 2) Yanchep National Park 3) Freemantle Anywhere else is a must go around these places or in perth city itself, given we are going north of perth, too lazy to drive too far. |

aly_nat (aly_nat)
Post Number: 603 Registered: 12-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, September 13, 2011 - 8:16 pm: |
Hi Hazel, Depending on the interests/age of your travel companions, 1)sand boarding at the Pinnacles can be a lot of fun. Quite a bit of a drive out of Perth, though. 2)New Corcia - Australia's only monastic town. Not the usual Singaporean tourists' destination. You may want to google for more infor. and decide if the trip there is of interest to you. Freemantle is to the south of Perth city. Hope the above helps. |

Hazel See (hazelsee)
Member Username: hazelsee
Post Number: 593 Registered: 5-2005
| | Posted on Monday, September 19, 2011 - 12:51 pm: |
Is it worth staying in fremantle? Any accomodation recommendation? Looking for budget ones n also family friendly ones |

Ai Sakura (ai_sakura)
New member Username: ai_sakura
Post Number: 69 Registered: 8-2011
| | Posted on Monday, September 19, 2011 - 3:33 pm: |
Hazel: The Esplanade at Freo is pretty popular. Near the big park so kids will love it. Freo is one of the must-see places in Perth. It has the Freo Markets open during the weekends, the nice coffee strip and of course, Ciserellos Fish & Chips. Or even Kailis is not bad. Even Subi markets has closed down a large part so you should go and see the Freo markets. There's a big train station there too so if you aren't driving and taking trains, very convenient. Oh, and you can take the ferry to Rottness Island for a day trip. Very fun and family-friendly! Ai @ http://sakuraharuka.blogspot.com |

kimifin (kimifin)
Intermediate Member Username: kimifin
Post Number: 2360 Registered: 7-2009
| | Posted on Monday, September 19, 2011 - 4:02 pm: |
I have been to this farm stay some years back. http://members.westnet.com.au/willtele/springhills/hosts. If you are going, do let me know if it is fun, cos I intend to bring my kids in a yr or 2! |

reenie (reenie)
Post Number: 1380 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, September 27, 2011 - 3:44 pm: |
Hello Mummies, i just returned from my perth trip and i want to say a big THANK you for those who has helped me along the way, especially MNGO! |

lilipit (lilipit)
Post Number: 326 Registered: 10-2005
| | Posted on Wednesday, September 28, 2011 - 1:52 pm: |
Hi, For those looking out for activity book to download/print for your young kids for your trip to Australia, try this website. The short story in there gives a nice intro to Australia. Enjoy. http://www.pocanticohills.org/australia/australia.htm |

shelyn (shelyn)
Member Username: shelyn
Post Number: 1002 Registered: 4-2004
| | Posted on Friday, June 22, 2012 - 1:46 am: |
Hi, I travelled to Perth 2 years ago and got a lot of information here, esp from the 'long time' resident mngo.... however, now I'm thinking of planning a trip to melbourne and can't find a similar site that is as helpful as this. Anyone has any recommendation for melbourne site? Actually I was pondering whether to go to Perth again or to another state. We really enjoyed our Perth trip and had lots of good memories but my hubby was saying if we go perth again, it might not be as enjoyable cos our expecations is not the same anymore. Anyone who went perth a few times can comment? In fact, other than perth, I am not sure what other state I would like to go.... had been ding-dong-ing between gold coast, melbourne and adelaide. Can recommend a state that is relaxing with lots of nature and kids stuff (2yr old and 5yr old)? I went to freo, cottesloe, kings park, caversham, MR for my previous trip... still thinking of it day and night hahaha.... |

shelyn (shelyn)
Member Username: shelyn
Post Number: 1003 Registered: 4-2004
| | Posted on Friday, June 22, 2012 - 1:51 am: |
Oh yah, I remember I requested for some maps from some tourism site previously. But this time I can't seem to find any site offering free maps. Anyone can help to 'refresh' my memory on how to get the maps and brochures? |

jovanmum (jovanmum)
Member Username: jovanmum
Post Number: 704 Registered: 10-2008
| | Posted on Friday, April 19, 2013 - 4:10 pm: |
Hi I'm planning for a 9 day Perth trip in mid-August. As this is my first time traveling to Perth and I will be bringing 2 toddlers (ages 2 and 5) along, I would really appreciate if anyone can share with me your itinerary, place to stay/visit, things to look out for. Thanks very much! |