SingaporeMotherhood.com * Temporary Holding Place * Any mums stay @ sengkang * Archive through December 29, 2005 < Previous Next >

elfrenz (elfrenz)
Username: elfrenz

Post Number: 6
Posted on Tuesday, December 13, 2005 - 1:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

evon,
we are in the same cluster.. kekeke

Helen (linsaw)
Username: linsaw

Post Number: 429
Posted on Tuesday, December 13, 2005 - 1:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi evon ,
then u are living opp rivervale cres .... when is your EDD ?

Evon (evonlimsy)
Username: evonlimsy

Post Number: 570
Posted on Tuesday, December 13, 2005 - 1:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Helen, not opposite leh.. my block's street name officially is rivervale crescent leh.

EDD is in 26 April 2006. Heard that girl normally may pop earlier..

What abt you, Helen? Boy 3mths old? So now back to work?

Hi Elfrenz.. mayb who noes.. we ve met but juz dunno tat we re neighbours.. =p

So, Elfrenz, u mtb or mother already? How old the kids? =)

elfrenz (elfrenz)

Post Number: 7
Posted on Tuesday, December 13, 2005 - 2:03 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hihi evon,

yah lor.. perhaps we met before.. coz i saw quite a few MTB recently, u might be one of them ;)

me already a mum to 9 mths old girl.. heehee

Helen (linsaw)

Post Number: 430
Posted on Tuesday, December 13, 2005 - 2:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

evon, yap my son is 3month plus now. yapyap , i already back to office. i oso heard that girl normally pop out slightly eariler . before birth one month remeber to drink coconut .

Evon (evonlimsy)

Post Number: 572
Posted on Tuesday, December 13, 2005 - 2:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

what is the coconut 4? both my mother/mils said dun drink...

So, any of u mothers ve placed ur kids in infant care or child care centres? Or babysitting? Can share /w me?

Helen (linsaw)

Post Number: 431
Posted on Tuesday, December 13, 2005 - 2:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

drink cocnut is for easy to delivery . take 1 coconut before delivery date. then take another one 2 week before delivery date , and take another one 3 days before delivery date.

Joleena Chia (chiart)
Username: chiart

Post Number: 283
Posted on Tuesday, December 13, 2005 - 2:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

helen,
i am also staying in rivervale cres..opp those temples...ha..maybe we stayed near:-)
my boy is one year old plus already:-)

evon,
must be pretty excited on your birth then...
oh only drink coconut one month before your delivery..cos it will cleanse the bb (from old tales) and bb skin will be smooth and nice..
but don drink now:-)

by the way, my parents and in laws are taking care of my son at the moment..so didnt place him at any infant care of child care..

feel free to ask any questions:-)

wow we have a lot of mommies staying around the same area:-)

Evon (evonlimsy)

Post Number: 573
Posted on Tuesday, December 13, 2005 - 2:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

really works huh??

my chinese physician was saying to drink lots of barley drink during last trimster..

BTW, green young coconut? So, 1mth b4 EDD take 1, then 2 wk take 1 >, another last 3 days take last 1.. correct?

Joleena Chia (chiart)

Post Number: 284
Posted on Tuesday, December 13, 2005 - 2:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

evon
help in delivery i am not sure...but definitely will have a fair bb:-)

hmm...i also not sure what kind of coconut...should be young ones...

i only took 2 before delivery...so itz up to u:-)

Helen (linsaw)

Post Number: 432
Posted on Tuesday, December 13, 2005 - 3:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Evon,
yap u are right. that is what my collegues told me. i agree with jol too, it will make the baby skin more smoother.

i think should be young coconut ... i actually took a few before i delivery haha....

Helen (linsaw)

Post Number: 433
Posted on Tuesday, December 13, 2005 - 3:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

joleena, yap i live opp the chinese and the indian temple. which block u are in? i am in blk 183.

Village Girl (village_girl)
Username: village_girl

Post Number: 66
Posted on Tuesday, December 13, 2005 - 3:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi all d mummies,

wow so many pple stay in rivervale crescent. I used to put my elder ger in infant care at 184C rivervale crescent from 2 mths to 16 mths.

haha, i oso heard dat drink coconut b4 delivery, d bb will be cleaner, dun know how true but i follow lar. bb ok..both dark at birth luckily fair after few mths.

elfrenz (elfrenz)

Post Number: 8
Posted on Tuesday, December 13, 2005 - 3:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i think its quite true for me.. i drank like twice a week for 2 weeks before EDD.. and my girl came out very clean... my gynae commented that..

Joleena Chia (chiart)

Post Number: 285
Posted on Tuesday, December 13, 2005 - 3:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

helen,
u also live in blk 183? haha..same here..maybe we are neighbours..i stayed in block C...u?

yes village girls, there are so many of us in rivervale crescent..maybe can form a playgroup?
is there an infant care at blk 184c? i didnt notice at all...

Evon (evonlimsy)

Post Number: 577
Posted on Tuesday, December 13, 2005 - 3:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

184C got infant care centre? Wow.. so near.. n i didn't noe.. Hi, Village Girl, how did u find it? Where not continue 4 ur other kid? SAHM?

Joleena Chia, u're lucky tat parents can take care.. they living near u?

I tot bb skin fairer is to take lots of bird's nest. n young coconut is to help to get us easy to deliver the bb leh.. =p (C how ignorant i'm.. )

Seems like most children here age ard few mths - 2/3 years old.. rite?

Joleena Chia (chiart)

Post Number: 286
Posted on Tuesday, December 13, 2005 - 3:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ha..seems like the infant care centre is rather unnoticeable hehe...

yes i am considered lucky:-)..they are staying in hougang so itz a 5 min drive to their place..

yes bird nest help too..in a way...coconut cleanse bb? ahaha..datz wat i heard

yes we have a young crowd here..

Helen (linsaw)

Post Number: 434
Posted on Tuesday, December 13, 2005 - 5:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

joleena, i live in Block C too .. haha

thereis a play group in blk 184C ... i dunknow too...
i mum and mil help us to look after my son too
birds nest make the skin fairer

Joleena Chia (chiart)

Post Number: 287
Posted on Tuesday, December 13, 2005 - 5:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ha maybe we are neighbours?

anyone send their kids for any play gym?

Pris (jadonmum)
Username: jadonmum

Post Number: 197
Posted on Wednesday, December 14, 2005 - 5:35 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Foreverfriends Honey,
My baby boy is still in KKH. Currently now weighs 1.8kg already. Very soon he will be coming home. I think need to be 1 or 2weeks more. Now have mix feeling.... Happy and joyful he will be coming home. Anxious and stress whether I'm able to cope his feeding as he still haven't learn to latch on. He prefers bottle feed.

Foreverfriends Honey (shook)
Username: shook

Post Number: 2520
Posted on Wednesday, December 14, 2005 - 8:13 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Joleena
I stay next to Rivervale mall.

Evon
Congrats. Busy shopping for bb stuff now?

Pris
Dun worry n feel stressed. U will b able to cope when your bb is home. U try latch on 1st. If he can't latch on u express n bottle feed him

COCONUT JUCIE
I drank coconut juice 6 wks b4 EDD. Started wif half coconut for 2 wks than 1 coconut for next 3 wks coz my son popped a wk b4 EDD.

FAIR BABY
Drink tao hua drink

FORM PLAYGROUND
I 2nd tis idea

Helen (linsaw)

Post Number: 435
Posted on Wednesday, December 14, 2005 - 9:16 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi shook,
still remeber me. i am linsaw. u give birth to baby boy or girl. i am living in Blk 183C remeber u came over to my place before.

Evon (evonlimsy)

Post Number: 589
Posted on Wednesday, December 14, 2005 - 10:33 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Foreverfriends Honey: Thanks, Foreverfriends Honey. Me been shopping but not spent anything much yet. Both parents've kind of helped me complete the bb clothes though.. so lack of the other stuff. Not sure when to start shopping for it.. but the discount was not very fantastic. Still looking.

Anyway was a bit confused if i shd buy bb stroller now or later after birth.. since bb won't go out till 2nd/3rd mth later. Then oso, the brands of bf pumps 2 buy.

A bit scared tat can't bf... but'll try.

Also, want to avoid Epidural.. hope I got muz determination 2 do so.

Today c a young kid /w her mom. She looks a bit handicupped.. I a bit scared..I pray tat bb's fine; yet I do wish tat I've the courage 2 accept if my bb has any handicups. Really not easy.. pray tat I won't b depressed. Read tat depression's normal 4 preggies n after delivery.

Helen (linsaw)

Post Number: 436
Posted on Wednesday, December 14, 2005 - 12:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

evon,
bb stroller dun need to buy so early. after birth then decide what to buy . i actually have one breast pump ( manual type) Piegeon , i use for 2 times cos no milk so if u like i can sell to u at a cheaper price. it actually came together with the feeding bottle and nursing pad. actualy price is S$53. cos i not using it , it a waste to put at home if anyone need it then will be good. dun waste loh
if u dun like manual maybe u can try the automatic type , try avent , i heard from my firend not bad.
dun think too much everythign will be fine

Post Number: 2522
Posted on Wednesday, December 14, 2005 - 1:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Helen
I been to your hse b4. Er.... wz your nick Yan_Yan?
I gave birth to a boi. He is 18mth old
Avent has electric pump now?

Evon
For NB, not much to buy on clothings. Best if u can get hands me dwn. If not get half a dozen of kimono, 4 pairs mitten/booties(if u wash clothes everyday) will do.
Do u intend to let your bb wear nappy cloth or diaper?
Stoller not in a hurry. Look c buy when there is offer. Get your/ your hubby's friends or colleagues (if they ask wat u want) to get stroller for bb shower. But u go look c wat model u want 1st.
BF bb, most impt is latch on. BB is the best pump in the world. If u hv any bf question, let me know. I help u if I can.
If u wanna buy electric pump dun buy way in advance. Buy only when u need to use it coz it comes wif a yr of warranty
Epidural. Tell youself u can do it. Dat's wat my colleague advised me. She said dun think of alt. V impt practise the breathing technique. I told myself my mum did it. So can I
U dun worry too much how bb gonna look like. When u worry, bb oso worry. BB feels the mood of mummy. Juz b happy
R u going to engage a confinement lady?

Post Number: 2523
Posted on Wednesday, December 14, 2005 - 1:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Evon
Start shopping when u r in 2nd tri. U may b too tired to shop in 3rd tri.

Best manual pump Avent
Best electric pump medela PIS but v x $500+ n heavy
I used ameda electric pump $200+. U can get a trial fm mums in mind.

Helen (linsaw)

Post Number: 437
Posted on Wednesday, December 14, 2005 - 2:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

shook,
ya last time my nickname is yan yan . recently just change. i give birth to a bb boy too. he is 3 month plus. i think avent has electric pump ( if i didnot remeber wrongly)

Evon,
NB clothing dun need to buy too much , go to wholesaler to buy will be more worth it.
stroller can ask your hubby friends or your friend to give you as a gift but u have to see the model frist . for my case Epidural is no use to me. cos after i inject Epidural i still get the pain . the doc say only 10% of the woman does not react to it , i am the 10% hehe
during the last tris my gynea wanted to do 3D scan for my son , end up he is so naughty , everytimes the gynea say 3D scan his face will turn away end up we did not manage to see his face. and we were so scare dunknow how he look like. but after he is born , he look so handsome. haha

Evon (evonlimsy)

Post Number: 602
Posted on Wednesday, December 14, 2005 - 4:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks, ladies.. = )

NB BB clothes
NB BB clothes all settled. xcept mittens n boots. trying 2 find ard $2~3 per pair ones... but mostly saw ard $4~5.. quite x.

Cousin've given most of the bb clothes except those after 6mths... so my mom managed 2 reserve some from her... hopefully can get during CNY.

Stroller and Infant Car Seat
Saw Combi ones at Kiddy Place @ Suntec, n then @ Baby Kingdom. But ard $300+. Meant 4 infant till ard 4yrs old.

Even infant car seat oso not cheap.. we saw one can use dual ways till the child up to 4 years old +..

But dun dare 2 ask friends n colleagues 2 buy. Paiseh la..

BM Pump
Gf oso intro me 2 Avert as well. She too using now for her bb too. But heard bottles n teats all must b frm Avert.

So still looking ard.. not seen Mendala though.

BTW, is it true that we muz start using to simulate our breasts @ 3rd trim so that can ease milk production?

Confinement Nanny
Praise the Lord.. manage to engage my cousin's 1st confinement nanny.. cousin was saying she beri good but her 2nd child, the CL already ve another job so can't take hers.

Epidural
Hope I can tolerate 2 w/o that... nv try how high my tolerance can b.. =p

BB
Is it normal 2b like tat? I mean suddenly see other less fortunate children n then start anyhow think? I really praise the mothers who re /w these children.. they re so brave. Wish i've that braveness... juz can't help thinking /w so many charities shows going on as well.

BB Elsy lately kicks a lot n especially at nite. Even my hb can feel her kicking recently. Only 2nd trim leh!

Village Girl (village_girl)
Username: village_girl

Post Number: 68
Posted on Wednesday, December 14, 2005 - 4:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yup, there is 1 infant care/childcare in Blk 184C. I search the magazine that time when i'm looking for one in 2003. Their pricing is quite reasonable $750 b4 govt subsidy. Then after dat NTUC oso opened 1 infant care in SK too but cost >$1k per mth coz got aircon.

I pulled her out when i gave birth to my 2nd ger. We employed a maid instead then my mum help us to look after the 2 kids with the help of the maid. Wah, if put 2 in infant care/cc, very siong leh.

ha, i took epidural for 2 of my gers. can tahan leh. i tried to concentrate on breathing but is too painful lor. Many of my frends did it without epidural, not me. failed. Haha.

Evon, excited right....i remembered when i was preparing NB items for my 1st bb...i was so happy n excited. All bb items look so cute n lovely.

I support the idea of forming a playgroup. Cheers.

Helen (linsaw)

Post Number: 438
Posted on Wednesday, December 14, 2005 - 5:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

evon,
NB
u can get it from the shop near opp bugis junction . thereis a wholesaler there selling NB clothing . they sell in half a dozen. in bugis there is temple. it is opposite the temple

stroller and infant car seat ,
U can let them know. cos normally those close friends collegue will ask what u need so just let them know loh . If it over their budget they will let u know one. or they will change the model .

Breast pump,
i saw this model in the hospital -Mendala can rent from them . but i not very comfortable with the idea so i did not rent .

BB
u dun think too much . u mst think od something happy then your bb will be happy. look on the bright side.

Post Number: 2525
Posted on Thursday, December 15, 2005 - 8:06 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Helen
Y u change your nick?
Do u still contact our sk neighbours?
R u still bf now dat u r back to work? Who look after your bb?

Evon
Gd dat confinement is settled
U dun need to buy clothes for your bb. Wat u hv is enuff. U get more as full mth gift
Cheap mitten n booties can get fm the wholesale centre @ Bugis. But u gotta buy min 6 pairs. I saw @ kidsmall suntec unfamous brand meet your budget. Dat wz a yr or 2 back
Stroller n bb car seat if your friends or colleagues asked u wat u want n if big gp of them can ask them to buy. If small gp, ask for cash. @ least u dun hv to pay so much yourself. Dun ask for voucher, restricts yourself to buy fm a particular shop only
Avent pump can only use wif avent bottle coz the neck is big
Mendala is v common. U can find in any shopping centre bb section. But their product x. Dun buy single pump. V v v noisy
Dun stimulate your breasts to produce milk b4 bb pop, it will cause your uterus to contract Latch your bb on immediately after delivery. Dat's the way to stimulate your milk production. Dun b depress initially when your milk is v little. BB has reserve in their stomach. Anyway their stomach v small abt size of their fist. Keep latching on, your milk ss will est in 3 to 5 days time. B prepared to do nothing but sit dwn n feed bb. My son latched on every 2 hrs. Ea time he latched on for 1hr+.
Normal for preggie to b emotional. Think of happy thing your bb feels happy too. Remember your bb feels how u feel
Your gal v active

Village Girl
Child care wif air con no gd. Child get virus easily fm sick peers. bo wah to pay so much yet child get sick easily hor

Evon (evonlimsy)

Post Number: 614
Posted on Thursday, December 15, 2005 - 9:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi shook n Helen

I will b dropping by Bugis later 2 c.. so it's somewhere near the temple, right???? Will go c.

Noted all ur advice as well.. can't wait 4 bb to pop then she can ve playmates as well. Can understand that being the only child @ home, can b really bored...

So I am on if there is a playgroup near our place. = )

Tang Ling (tang_ling)
Username: tang_ling

Post Number: 2
Posted on Thursday, December 15, 2005 - 11:53 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I am staying in Sengkang too. My baby boy has just turned 6 months. But I am new to the forum.

Has you all meet up before?

Evon (evonlimsy)

Post Number: 627
Posted on Thursday, December 15, 2005 - 3:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Tang Ling, welcome. We not meet up b4.

Shook n Helen, thx 4 the info.. I went n found the shop.. got several things cheap.. =p

Once again, really thank you.

Post Number: 2531
Posted on Friday, December 16, 2005 - 7:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Tang Ling
Welcome. I hv not met up the gals b4 except Helen
6 mths, juz started on solid?

Evon
Most welcome.
U got mitten n booties fm the shop? Nappy cloth cheap, towel oso cheap there

Some1 mentioned abt gym
I brot my son to gymboree @ Hougang n JWT @ Tanglin. If u want your bb/tod 2 hv lesson solely on motor development only, can join. Go for trial 1st b4 u sign up the lesson. I prefer JWT to gymboree

Joleena Chia (chiart)

Post Number: 288
Posted on Friday, December 16, 2005 - 9:52 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi mommies and mommies to be:-)
wow this thread is rather active..

welcome tang ling:-) so which part of sengkang u are in? some of us are near rivervale crescent area:-)

hi evon
glad you got some good bargains around:-).continue happy shopping...let us know if you need more info

foreverfriends
is there a gymboree in hougang? i thought only in serangoon gardens..
i brought my boy to Baby Jumper Gym in OCC...
are u still with JWT?

Post Number: 2534
Posted on Friday, December 16, 2005 - 12:30 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Joleena
My apology gymboree in serangoon gardens, not hougang

My boi not wif JWT. He is wif BJG now @ Pasir ris

Joleena Chia (chiart)

Post Number: 289
Posted on Friday, December 16, 2005 - 12:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Foreverfriends
Oh i see...i used to bring my boi to BJG at Pasir Ris..but changed to OCC branch instead as i think my boy prefers to teacher at OCC..

by the way, is your boy in little walkers? was wondering if i should continue sending my boi to BJG..
any comments

Post Number: 2536
Posted on Friday, December 16, 2005 - 3:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Joleena
The teacher who taught your boi @ Pasir Ris transferred to OCC?

My son is in little walker

How old is your boi? Y u thot of terminating your child wif BJG?

Joleena Chia (chiart)

Post Number: 291
Posted on Friday, December 16, 2005 - 3:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Foreverfriends
yah..she got transferred to OCC so we followed her as well:-)

my boy just turn one this dec...
am not sure should we continue with BJG cos it doesnt seems effective..
wat do u think?

Pris (jadonmum)

Post Number: 217
Posted on Sunday, December 18, 2005 - 7:53 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Foreverfriends Honey,
Mothercare in KKH sell Avent electric pump. Guess what's the price. $800++!!! Shocked!!! More expensive then the latest $700+ Medela PIS Advanced.

Evon and other mummies,

FYI Breast pump can go through rental basis. No problem. It's the pump set that is being used to loan you. The usual funnel and other accessories have to purchase them for hygenie purpose. You can keep these accessories after you finish your rental. I was being told that the rental business are much better than the retail side.

I had contacted the supplier that sold Medela Latina PLus electric pump to KKH. Currently I'm on rental of the latest Medela Symphony (one grade higher than Medela PIS Advanced). If you want to purchase Symphony, it will costs $3000++!

Both Symphony and PIS Advanced have two phase pumping. The beginning will stimulate baby sucking for 2mins then the next will be the pumping. It's great for relieving the block ducts and can really drain out the milk. This pump can even increase your milk supply. It did for mine even when I have quite a lot in the 1st place.

Rental for Symphony : 30days $7/day, 60days $6/day and 90days $5/day.

They also have other electric pump like Medela Latina Plus and Medela Select (not sure whether correct). Rental rate for these two are cheaper than Symphony.

Boey Wai Yen (boeywaiy)
Username: boeywaiy

Post Number: 3
Posted on Sunday, December 18, 2005 - 11:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi everyone! Wow, suddenly thread so active! All come back from holiday, izit? :-)
For those staying in Rivervale, is there a childcare centre behind Rivervale Mall? St Anne Woods or something like that, not sure if it's the name of the cc centre or just the area?

Also, I read in another thread there's a playgroup in the SK community Hub. Anybody knows anything about this?

Foreverfriends Honey
Hi, your son is very close in age to mine. What's his name? Yep yep, I took NPL for 2 years, as I had to be the sole caregiver. Company didn't allow me anymore leave.

Joleena
Hope you all enjoyed your son's first birthday! How did you celebrate?

Evon
Do read up on some breastfeeding books to get an idea of what bfing entails. Don't be like me, blur blur, then kenna major shock because not mentally prepared. Recommend "The Nursing Mother's companion", or for personal accounts "So that's what they're for!" and "How my breasts saved the world". All available in library.

I gave birth in Thomson, and I know that their Parentcraft Centre had a Medela Latina that you could use to pump. The other hospitals should have such units for rental as well. Why not try these units before actually buying one? For me, I started with the Avent Isis manual, then my hands got so tired, so bought a Medela Electric Plus, much more convenient. But then, some mommies swear by their manual pumps. Do take your time over the decision, consider it an investment.

Tang Lin
Welcome! Me joined not long ago too. What's your ds name?

Post Number: 2538
Posted on Monday, December 19, 2005 - 6:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Joleena
When is your son's b'dy?
Did u test whether your son know wat is being taught? Is he able to recognise the card in the class? How many term hv your son been wif BJG? Wat made u said BJG not effective?

Pris
I saw Avent dual electric pump yes'dy. Boi $800+ faint. Did u c the single electric pump?
Medela PIS's price increase so much. 2 yrs ago wz $500+

Boey
Sorry dunno abt the childcare n play gp dat u mentioned
Your co so gd let u take unpd leave for 2 yrs envy . U going to send Teddy to childcare when u start work?
R u still breastfeeding?
My son's name is Yan Chen. We call him Chen Chen

Joleena Chia (chiart)

Post Number: 292
Posted on Monday, December 19, 2005 - 10:18 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

boey
yes he enjoyed it too..we booked a chalet in downtown east and celebrated with bbq etc..

foreverfriends,
oh my boy bday is 3rd dec...
ya he recognise those cards etc...i have only been with them for 1 term..
not really not effective..maybe just feel my son is too active during class that he keeps crawling all over the room...sigh..
so am still thinking if i should continue..
watz your opinion? u think itz good?

Evon (evonlimsy)

Post Number: 641
Posted on Monday, December 19, 2005 - 10:30 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Shook, ya... the shop was selling really cheap.. if only had known earlier then we can save $ on the bb clothes since 1st 2 months, bb probably b staying home n no nd 2 gai gai. =)

Wow, Pris.. thanks for the info.. heard of the rental.. but didn't know tat to own the electric pump can b so expensive already!!!! I'm not sure what Gleneagles've... not sure if they have such rental services...

Boey, thanks... will start picking up books from library..

Question, do you ladies really pump milk in office? Office toilets???? I'm a bit shy if the equipment makes too much noise as the male toilet is juz next 2 the female one.. office do ve an executive toilet but it is outside at main lobby... =(

Anybody got good suggestion place in Raffles Place for pumping milk?

elsy

Helen (linsaw)

Post Number: 439
Posted on Monday, December 19, 2005 - 4:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

shook ,
i did not use up all my maternity leave. my last month i took flexi. my mum is helping me to look after my son. but when my hubby is not working , he will take care himself.
something i still contact KK. what about you. did not still contact anyone. how old is your child?
evon
glad that u manage to get some clothing . the shop there sell alot of bb clothing right. u actually can boot and mitten from them . i oso hear from my friend.

Tang Ling,
welcome u .

Boey Wai Yen (boeywaiy)

Post Number: 4
Posted on Monday, December 19, 2005 - 5:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Question : How does one bold or colour the text? Seen some people doing it.

Shook
Yeah, my company pretty understanding of my extenuating circumstances,but then I have to 'pay back' when I return to work. Sourcing for good childcare now, but still nothing that positive near SK, leh.

Yep, I'm still bfing Teddy. Might as well, since I'm with him! Figured since can't really afford to send him to all those expensive extra classes, give the best I CAN for him, including breastmilk!

Had problem with calling my son Teddy, 'cause it rhymes with Daddy. He solved the problem himself by calling Papa, so now we ALL call my dh Papa.

Joleena
You mean he ate BBQ as well?!?!?!? Did he eat the cake also?

Evon
Don't worry about breast pump noise. It's quite discreet, I could pump next to my sleeping baby for my Medela! But the problem with pumping in toilets is hygiene. I've heard of ladies pumping in the filing room, conference room, pantry, anywhere discreet and lockable, or where no male will just come barging in.

BTW, is your ticker active, or is it just an image?

Hi Helen!
*Wave!*

Boey Wai Yen (boeywaiy)

Post Number: 5
Posted on Monday, December 19, 2005 - 5:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Evon

Me again! just wanted to let you know there's a thread for mommies working in Raffles Place. They may know about a good place to pump

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/283057/314019.html

Joleena Chia (chiart)

Post Number: 293
Posted on Monday, December 19, 2005 - 5:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Boey
any plans to bring your son for any classes?

nah..he didnt have any BBQ food definitely...haha...but a tiny bit of cake though haha..
we brought along a slow cooker to cook his porridge..so he is not left out:-)

Pris (jadonmum)

Post Number: 225
Posted on Monday, December 19, 2005 - 6:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Foreverfriends Honey,
Avent electric pump $900++ not $800++!!! PIS Advanced is the latest model and replace PIS Traveller.

Evon,
KKH don't provide the service for rental. I found the contact number on the Medela Latina Plus pump in KKH. So it's the company (so call sole agent for Medela in S'pore) that sold the pumps to KKH. PM me if you need the rental company details.

Post Number: 2544
Posted on Tuesday, December 20, 2005 - 8:20 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Joleena
IMHO, bb n little tod's brain develops v fast. They learn fast @ tis tender age. Parents can't tell if they learn anything bcoz they can't xpres themselves. B it BJG or childcare or playgp, as long as the child is taught something n learns something. If u r able to teach your boi @ home, no need to send to enrichment classes.
I sent my son to BJG for 2 terms. Contemplating to cont for another term bcoz the teacher who taught him transferred to Bt Batok. Another teacher who is gd is going to take a break next term. Another teacher not up to my expectation. I hv not tried the other 2 teachers. I wanna let my son to cont to attend enrichment classes till I send him to playgp. I find my son learns better wif a gp of little tod. Peers pressure

Evon
If your office has meeting rm or your colleague or boss work in rm n they r ok to let u use their rm, better to pump in rm.
I pump in toilet. My office not breastfeeding friendly. Pump loud no choice. I saw the avent pump is stated ultra quiet or something like dat but v x. $800+

Helen
I sms n email KK occassionally. Jazz once in a blue moon
My son is 18 mth old.
Where do your mum stay? U bring your son home everyday? Your co dun allow u to take 3 mths maternity leave in a row?

Boey
Sorry how do u mean u gotta pay back when u back to work?
I saw a few childcare centres near the church. U dun like the childcare centres there? Did u look ard near your work plc?
Teddy so clever calls papa instead of daddy to differentiate

Pris
I saw Avent electric duo pump @ Mothercare n Metro selling @ $800+ close to $900

Evon (evonlimsy)

Post Number: 654
Posted on Tuesday, December 20, 2005 - 9:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Boey, thanks. Not sure if the meeting room can b reserved 4 a moment 2 allow me to do it... =o But I will check with another colleague.

Ticker is not alive... it's juz image. This forum doesn't support those Lilypie's code. So everyday got to get new image. =p

Shook, I saw it yesterday. The new Avent electric pump.. so X... wonder if it is efficient. = )

Pardon me ladies... What do you mean by taking flexi leave for the maternity leave? I tot the coy's maternity 2months leave muz take straight in a row. N if entitled /w govt maternity leave, it will follow immediately after that? Isn't it?? Can advice me on tix..

I may or may not have the govt maternity leave despite having work more than 120 days before pregnant becoz I am contract staff and my contract happens to end in the second month of the coy's maternity leave. =( (Unless the current coy I am outsourced to likes me n willingly sign me for another year.)
Elsy

Joleena Chia (chiart)

Post Number: 294
Posted on Tuesday, December 20, 2005 - 10:01 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Foreverfriends
which branch of BJG u are in? Pasir Ris?
So u letting your boy to continue until attend playschool?
which playschool u thinking at the moment?
i guess after some discussion, i will stop for one term and continue in april instead
anyway, thanks for all your advice

evon,
i took flexi maternity leave as well. I took 2 mths maternity leave and clear the remaining one month within 6 months...
perhaps you would like to check with your current coy if u are entitled to any maternity leave or benefits.
Get it cleared:-)

Helen (linsaw)

Post Number: 440
Posted on Tuesday, December 20, 2005 - 10:37 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Shook ,
my mum live in hougang so he is stay there while my hubby is working night shift , but weekend he is sure at my place , but sunday night we will go back to my mum place.
My co allow me to take 3 month in a row but i choose to have flexi. cos i have more time with my son and during his jab i dun need to take leave loh .
evon,
u have to check with your company ,cos some co dun like their staff to take flex cos it will be very troublesome for them to montior yuor maternity leave.

Post Number: 2545
Posted on Tuesday, December 20, 2005 - 12:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Evon
Flexi maternity leave is referring to the 3rd mth either take tog wif 2 mths in a row or take later within 6 mths
Better dat u check wif your co on tis b4 u deliver

Joleena
My son is wif BJG @ Pasir Ris
If the teacher is gd @ BJG I will let my son cont for another term
I hv no choice to which play gp I wanna send my son except Kiddy ABC which is opp my mum's blk. She doesn't want the rest which is further away fm her hse

Helen
U stay wif your son @ your mum's plc on wk day?

Joleena Chia (chiart)

Post Number: 297
Posted on Tuesday, December 20, 2005 - 1:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

foreverfriends
where is kiddy ABC? not in sengkang right?
oh so u continue another term.....at little walkers right?

Helen (linsaw)

Post Number: 441
Posted on Tuesday, December 20, 2005 - 5:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi shook ,
what is BJG?

Boey Wai Yen (boeywaiy)

Post Number: 6
Posted on Tuesday, December 20, 2005 - 6:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Joleena
Just brought Teddy to trial Gymboree and Kindermusik at Tanglin today. Realised he just wants to do his own thing and not follow instructor for both places. Sigh...now still considering. What about your kid?

Also, can ask a favour? Can teach me how to cook porridge using slow cooker? Me 'ang mo pai', only know how to batch cook Western baby food. But since he's more willing for me to spend time in the kitchen, thinking of making fresher food like porridge for him. Can PM me on how to cook porridge? Paiseh...don't even know how much water to put for the rice.

Shook
Where's the BJG at Pasir Ris? Never heard of it even! What does your kiddo do during the lesson?

Anyway, my HR pple say 'it's only courtesy' to stay and work for the organisation for an equivalent period of time that I took for NPL. You know what that means! Feel like I'm bonded!

Also, do you mean the cc centres near St Anne's church? Where are they? Dunno how to get to them. My work place not confirmed, because probably get transferred out of my current workplace.

Evon
Hope that your company can at least give a room. Maybe ask among your colleagues who have kids and are bfing to see where to pump?

Joleena Chia (chiart)

Post Number: 298
Posted on Tuesday, December 20, 2005 - 6:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Boey
do his own thing? he doesn enjoy it? hmm..i send my boy to BJG at Orchid Country Club branch..it is called baby jumper gym..he just finished one term..not too bad...sometimes he just like to crawl around the room..other times, he likes to gain attention from teachers..sigh..perhaps you like to try it out there if u are interested?
i wont be signing up for next term..so most probably be signing up for the following term for little walkers group..

ha..my mum is the one who is preparing the porridge though..hehe...i am a very bad mum..during weekends, my mum prepared it for him too..sometimes, if we are out for dinner, i just grab a jar of gerber food for him...
but i can still PM u...as i learn a bit here and there:-)

Evon (evonlimsy)

Post Number: 674
Posted on Tuesday, December 20, 2005 - 10:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks, Helen, shook, Jolene. Think'll start asking if my contract b renewed by end Jan n c my enttitlement 2 the govt maternity leave.

Boey, thanks. So far, i noe there is a mom who pump milk in office but i dunnoe her.. juz happened 2 noe becoz another colleague was talkg 2 her on the bm storage. = )

Post Number: 2549
Posted on Wednesday, December 21, 2005 - 8:12 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Joleena
The Kiddy ABC dat I wanna send my son to is in Pasir Ris. Here's their website http://www.kiddyabc.com.sg/index.htm Not sure if there is any in Sengkang

I will cont wif walker 2 if the teacher is gd

Helen
BJG stands for Baby Jumper Gym

Boey
It's normal dat little tod play on their own. They still dunno the concept of sharing n playing wif others yet

BJG @ Pasir Ris Dr 6 blk 443 HDB branch office building. Depending on the age, the lesson comprises of flashcards, singing, dancing, gym (dun expect gymboree std), story telling, ..... Tis is their website http://www.bjg.com.sg

O dat means u can't resign within 2 yrs. U gonna transfer out of your current workplc, your post already taken up?

There r CDAN childcare, Gingerbread something like dat, dunno wat Montessori,.... I check out more n let u know

R u going to cont to bf when u start work?
Cook porridge in slow cooker v easy. I soak rice grain b4 dumping in the slow cooker. U can add vege, fish, meat, etc. How long u cook depends on the texture of the porridge u want. For 17 mth old tod, porridge dun need to b the mashy type so dun need to cook too long. I put ikan bilis (wash a few times) scallop (wash than soak over 9). When u smell comes out u can off the slow cooker. U can add 2 portion of water to a portion or rice grain or more depending on how watery u want the porridge to b

Evon
U find a chance to talk to the mummy who pump milk in your office. Normally they will b v happy to help.

Joleena Chia (chiart)

Post Number: 299
Posted on Wednesday, December 21, 2005 - 10:00 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

foreverfriends
thanks...so your mum is staying in pasir ris..
most likely i think i have to place him somewhere near hougang or sengkang..
thanks for your recommendations:-)

boey
think gingerbread is good...i gathered some info here and there..and they say Cedan childcare is no good...cos the teachers don speak well either...
there is an upcoming Modern montessor opened in dec...think itz a franchise outlet..not sure on their facilities....

evon,
do check it out with your colleagues...they should be able to help you out with it:-)

Post Number: 2554
Posted on Wednesday, December 21, 2005 - 9:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Boey, Joleena
Here's the link to all childcare centres in Sengkang. http://app.mcys.gov.sg/web/serv_dss_main_result_region_vm.asp
U can go search all childcare centres in Singapore

Joleena
Yap my mum stays in Pasir Ris

Joleena Chia (chiart)

Post Number: 303
Posted on Thursday, December 22, 2005 - 11:02 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

thanks foreverfriends for the link....

Post Number: 2562
Posted on Friday, December 23, 2005 - 8:11 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Boey Wai Yen (boeywaiy)

Post Number: 8
Posted on Friday, December 23, 2005 - 8:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Shook
Thanks for the links for BJG and cc centres! Probably will go for a trial at BJG. My parents stay in Pasir Ris too. Can bring Teddy to see her after lessons!

Evon (evonlimsy)

Post Number: 709
Posted on Friday, December 23, 2005 - 10:39 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Merry Xmas to all of you and may all good blessings and happiness be ever flowing. = )

PS. Me go gai gai yesterday @ KidsMall IMM n bought Medela electric single pump @ 151.30 after discount of 15%.

B going 2 get some more things over these two weeks. =)

Me not seen the mommies in office.. so not asked.. but thanks.. =)

Boey Wai Yen (boeywaiy)

Post Number: 10
Posted on Friday, December 23, 2005 - 11:28 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thought just crossed my mind. I've got the Mothercare Gold membership card,which gives 15% on pretty much everything. I've no objection to lending it out to mommies in SK. Figured that since we stay same vicinity, and got LRT somemore, shouldn't be a problem to pass it around, or get it back.

I only ask that you try to return the card to me by 3 days. I guess if you let me know that you need it longer, shouldn't be a problem as long as I have no plans to use it.

Mothercare branches at Plaza Singapure, Centrepoint, KKH, Suntec, er..er.., can't remember the rest, but I usually go Plaza Sing, via NEL

Well, offer's been made. Who knows, we could even meet up and go for shopping spree as a group, now that CNY is coming and we need to get our little ones new clothes!

Take care! Enjoy the X'mas weekend.

Post Number: 2567
Posted on Friday, December 23, 2005 - 2:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Boey
Most welcome
Suggest u go BJG for trial 1st. Which day u intend to sign Teddy for BJG class? Which part of Pasir Ris your mom stays?
Thx for offer on Mothercare card

Merry X'mas n happy holiday to all Sengkang mum

Joleena Chia (chiart)

Post Number: 304
Posted on Friday, December 23, 2005 - 3:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Boey
thanks for the offer:-).....so nice of u...shall meet up one day for shopping?:-)

merry xmas to everyone:-)

Qdee (qdee)
Username: qdee

Post Number: 1221
Posted on Friday, December 23, 2005 - 5:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi hi all .. can i join?

I m a mommy of 2 gals - 3 yrs old & 10 mths.
I stay in rivervale crescent.

Pris (jadonmum)

Post Number: 253
Posted on Saturday, December 24, 2005 - 3:51 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Update on my bb boy Jadon. Today being activated by KKH to go down to sign consent form for blood transfussion. Jadon has been monitored on his blood platelet counts. Doctor find him very tired, especially during his feeding and he looked pale. His blood platelet is low.

"Fly" down to KKH from home. Signed consent form at 215pm. Packet of blood came at 5plus. Was being told that this blood is not what they want...... Was told that it will takes another 1hr for them to deliver again. 6plus still no delivery

At 8pm, time for Jadon feeding. He's the impatient type when he's hungry he wants the bmilk fast down his throat. Currently on tube fed. He's crying so hard until his tongue flop backward and blocking his breathing. Heart rate went down! Nurse do cpr. Managed to bring him back to normal. Continue with his feed. Started to cry again when I'm holding to the tube. Tried to pacify him but continue to cry. Saw the monitor heart went down again. This time to 50 rating only. Face turn purple and eyes big. Nurse rush over to do cpr again. Managed to revive him to normal again. Nurse called duty doctor. Duty doctor didn't response to the staff nurse (pretend or really can't hear I'm not sure). Not sure what's she busy at.

Staff nurse decided to change his feed tubing. After changed his tube when he's feeding 1/2 way. Heart rate went down again!!! I was shaken inside and almost want to breakdown already! 3times I almost lose my bb boy!! If anything happens to him, I make sure I scold and sue the doctor upside down.

Doctor only came over after nurse finish his feeding. Just went there check his heartbeat and call the nurse to chase for the blood. She treat my bb boy case like not that urgent! Finally blood came and was put on transfussion. By then it's coming to 9pm! I was told that it take blood bank 1hr to deliver to KKH! From 2pm to 9pm, 7hrs!!! That doctor just continue to do her paper on all the babies. Make me boiled inside. Throughout all these happenings, I was alone w/o anybody with me. Hubby was on his way to KKH. Tried not to cry but just could not hold back my tears. SMS all my friends to pray for him.

Was asked to go home and rest. Took dinner and reach home not long. Received a phone call from KKH that Jadon need to be ICU cos he need oxygen to rely on. They need to do investigation and monitor him closely.

Called NICU just now to find out Jadon condition and being told that information cannot be release through the phone. Sigh..... Praying very hard for Jadon.

Please keep Jadon in your prayers. Thanks.

Boey Wai Yen (boeywaiy)

Post Number: 14
Posted on Saturday, December 24, 2005 - 6:32 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi, Qdee
Welcome! Seems like many of the mommies are clustered around rivervale crescent.

Boey Wai Yen (boeywaiy)

Post Number: 15
Posted on Saturday, December 24, 2005 - 6:36 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Dear Pris,
I'm sure I'm speaking for all the mommies here when I say we'll all keep you and Jadon in our prayers.

Hang in there! Jadon's a brave and feisty boy. Be strong! Do take care!

Qdee (qdee)
Username: qdee

Post Number: 1222
Posted on Saturday, December 24, 2005 - 10:29 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi Pris, i felt like crying reading your postings.
We'll pray for little Jadon.

elfrenz (elfrenz)

Post Number: 9
Posted on Saturday, December 24, 2005 - 10:39 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi Pris,
Be strong, Jadon need a strong mummy!! Do take care and we'll pray for little Jadon as well as you & family.

Joleena Chia (chiart)

Post Number: 305
Posted on Saturday, December 24, 2005 - 11:54 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Pris
We will pray for Jadon.

He will be ok...and be strong..

take care

Boey Wai Yen (boeywaiy)

Post Number: 19
Posted on Sunday, December 25, 2005 - 12:05 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Deck your child with hugs and kisses, Fa la la la la la la la la
All you husbands hug your missus, Fa la la la la la la la la
All the mummies kiss the daddies, Fa la la la la la la la la
Best of wishes to your families, Fa la la la la la la la la!
(sung to the tune of "Deck the Halls")

*Hic!* A little too much brandied X'mas pudding brings out the failed lyricist in me.
MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL, AND TO ALL A GOOD NIGHT!

Wai Yen

Chin Leng (chinleng)
Username: chinleng

Post Number: 2837
Posted on Sunday, December 25, 2005 - 2:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Pris,

Be strong and take care of yourself too.

Chin Leng.

Post Number: 2570
Posted on Monday, December 26, 2005 - 6:35 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Pris
How's Jadon now?
Both u n Jadon r strong. I pray for both of u. U take care

Qdee
Welcome

TwinsMummy (twins_mummy)
Username: twins_mummy

Post Number: 88
Posted on Monday, December 26, 2005 - 12:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Pris

My boys stayed in NICU and SCN for almost 4 mths due to prematurity. They were born at 25 weeks gestation. Your episodes remind me of the roller coaster experience which hubby and i went thru when the boys were still in kkh.

The nurse to baby ratio in NICU is 1:3. Be rest assured that your boy is in good hands. Check with the nurses who is the neonatologist assigned to take care of your baby. Request to speak to him or her periodically to ask for updates. He or she usually is a consultant or senior consultant.

Yes, NICU do not release information over the phone, i think this is part of their rules and regulation.

Preemies usually require oxygen during the first few weeks of their life. Breathing is a tiring thing for them due to the immature lungs. Some can be weaned off faster than their peers.
it depends on individual baby.

I am a mummy of preemies and can relate to what you are going thru now. You had my contact, give me a tinkle should you need people to talk to.

You are a strong mummy. I broke down so many times in NICU although i told myself not to cry in front of the boys.

There were 4 other preemies which were born almost the same time as my boys. 3 were 25 weekers and 1 a 26 weeker. We had a gathering yesterday. The babies are all doing well now... i will post a picture here in the next couple of days. Hope this helps to boost your morale... :-)

Pris (jadonmum)

Post Number: 256
Posted on Tuesday, December 27, 2005 - 12:12 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jadon is off the oxygen already. Has gained weight despite being off his milk for 1day! Now weighs 2kg!! Praise God!!! Jadon went through a lot of tests as the doctors want to ensure everything is ok. All test results reflect normal and good. He's on his feed now. From 9ml to 18ml and currently 37ml. Hoping he will intake more.

Have yet to speak to the consultant in-charge due to festive season. But have spoken to the ward doctor-on-duty. I will make sure I get to speak to the consultant tomorrow afternoon. Ward doctor mentioned they might want the ENT doctor to review Jadon earlier than expected instead of schedule him after discharge.

Thank you everybody for your prayers. My hubby and I appreciate your actions. Jadon will be a warrior in this "battle".

Pris (jadonmum)

Post Number: 258
Posted on Tuesday, December 27, 2005 - 12:52 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Taken in KKH today.
application/octet-streamTaken in KKH today.
JadonHat1.PDD (49.6 k)

Pris (jadonmum)

Post Number: 259
Posted on Tuesday, December 27, 2005 - 12:58 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Taken in KKH today.

TwinsMummy (twins_mummy)
Username: twins_mummy

Post Number: 90
Posted on Tuesday, December 27, 2005 - 11:28 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Pris

Wow.. that's some good news...:-)

Boey Wai Yen (boeywaiy)

Post Number: 24
Posted on Tuesday, December 27, 2005 - 11:30 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Dear Pris,

How wonderful! Yay! Jadon looks tired, but real good. My eyes are tearing up from looking at his photo, when I think of how fragile my son also was when he was born. Jadon is a brave warrior indeed.

I noticed your posts are usually after midnight. You and your hubby get as much rest as you can, ok? Take care!

Boey Wai Yen (boeywaiy)

Post Number: 25
Posted on Tuesday, December 27, 2005 - 11:31 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Dear Pris,

How wonderful! Yay! Jadon looks tired, but real good. My eyes are tearing up from looking at Jadon's photo, when I think of how fragile my son also was when he was born. Jadon is a brave warrior indeed.

I noticed your posts are usually after midnight. You and your hubby get as much rest as you can, ok? Take care!

Helen (linsaw)

Post Number: 442
Posted on Tuesday, December 27, 2005 - 11:32 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Pris,
Glad to heard Jadon is getting better. don't worry , he will get stronger everyday .
U must take care of yourself too.

Joleena Chia (chiart)

Post Number: 306
Posted on Tuesday, December 27, 2005 - 11:41 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Pris
Am glad Jadon is better. Dont worry he is a strong boy.

Am sure he will be okie very soon and get discharged.

Do take care and we will continue to pray for him and your family:-)

Post Number: 2575
Posted on Tuesday, December 27, 2005 - 7:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Pris
Great news! Dun need to worry since Jadon is gaining wt.

U muz oso hv gd rest n take care of yourself

chin swee nguk (gracemum)
Username: gracemum

Post Number: 45
Posted on Tuesday, December 27, 2005 - 8:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

pris,I am sure Jodan will be Ok , he also work very hard to gain wt. he is a strong baby..

Don't worries

Pris (jadonmum)

Post Number: 261
Posted on Tuesday, December 27, 2005 - 10:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Great news!! Jadon is out of NICU. He's transfered to Special Care Nursery. However I was being told that Jadon might need to be on tube feed when he's discharge. So scary to think of how to insert the tube into his throat down to the stomach..... Doctors want Jadon to gain weight so that his airway will be wider and prepare for up and coming ops.

Post Number: 2576
Posted on Wednesday, December 28, 2005 - 7:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Pris
Another great news. Congrats!

Wat ops does Jadon needs to go for?

Boey Wai Yen (boeywaiy)

Post Number: 29
Posted on Wednesday, December 28, 2005 - 8:18 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Pris
Great news indeed!
Keep us updated on his progress when you can, yah?

Helen (linsaw)

Post Number: 443
Posted on Wednesday, December 28, 2005 - 8:23 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Pris ,
one good news for the day. Congrats!!!! Think at the bright side. sooner or later he will be not depend on the tube anymore. this is only temp. as what the doc say , he MIGHT " need to feed on tube when he is discharge , so there is still possibale that when he discharge , he do noest need to feed on tube.
We will pray for Jadon and your family too. Keep it up Jadon.

Evon (evonlimsy)

Post Number: 740
Posted on Wednesday, December 28, 2005 - 9:34 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Pris, great! I'll pray 4 Jadon n ur family as well too. = )

Evon (evonlimsy)

Post Number: 755
Posted on Wednesday, December 28, 2005 - 1:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi moms.... I got question to ask regarding moe registration.. =p

I was in tix particular primary school that has affliation /w another 4 primary schools in Hokkien Huay Kwan. So, theortically, 's my kid eligible 4 one of the 4 primary schools automatically w/o going through being volunteers, donations or partipating to be member of the school etc????

Any advice???

Pris (jadonmum)

Post Number: 265
Posted on Wednesday, December 28, 2005 - 6:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Update on Jadon. Seemed that the doc want him to put on weight so still on tube feed especially he's just out from NICU. So they don't want to tire him. He's currently 2.03kg already despite they had reduced his feed to 38ml from his previous 42ml before the incident happen. Doc mentioned he gained weight might be because he have enough rest and has blood transfussion.

Doc has confirmed that Jadon will be going through hernia cum testicles ops next week. Not sure when is the date as they will only decide base on his condition. He will need to undergo another blood transfussion before the ops.

I keep thinking he can be out of KKH to celebrate the New Year 2006. Doc confirm that he can't be discharge this year 2005. Most probably discharge next year 2006. Sigh.... He's there for almost 2mths..... Hospital bills are getting higher.... Thank God I had downgrade him to C Class Ward......

The consultant has checked the incident happen to Jadon on 23 Dec. There's some misunderstanding between the nurses with reference to the consultant's instruction on the bag of blood issued by the Blood Bank. SO CAUSE DELAY FOR NOTHING...... Ward duty doctor had a new case (baby) that just went to SCN (Special Care Nursery). So she's busy with this case and did not think that my bb boy (Jadon) incident is urgent!!! Maybe SCN has never have such a case happened that's why take things for granted. I was being assured that such things will not happen again. I'm being sacrifice/tested for other people to gain.

Pray for Jadon's condition and ops. Also pray for finances for hospital bill and ops.

temple (worshippertemple)
Username: worshippertemple

Post Number: 603
Posted on Wednesday, December 28, 2005 - 11:45 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi all... i'm new to this thread... me also staying at sengkang fernvale area... i have a baby boy which has just turn 5 months old on christmas day...

hi pris,

was reading through your story and was deeply sadden by what happened. my boy was born slightly pre-mature also at week 36 (2 weeks later than you, yours was 34 weeks right) but his weight was 2.15kg which was nothing as compared to yours. but i thank God that now he is a healthy boy, growing up very well.... i'm sure that God will see your baby through this difficult moment. Put your faith in God.

there's a baby girl in my church who was born at week 26. i understand that she was also in KK for 4 months before she was discharged. now at about 8 months old, she growing up well and catching up on her development. i'm sure your baby will be well and be a healthy little boy soon.

will remember Jadon in prayer...

Post Number: 2581
Posted on Thursday, December 29, 2005 - 7:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Pris
Wish Jadon's condition stable n hv a smooth op soon.

Temple
Welcome to tis thread

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use