| Author |
Message |

KC (kckc)
Member Username: kckc
Post Number: 773 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, January 11, 2011 - 10:05 am: |
Hi Samval, Never heard of this agency before...where are they located? How much is their agency fees and terms? What nationality is yr maid? Thanks, KC |

celtricia (celtricia)
Intermediate Member Username: celtricia
Post Number: 4127 Registered: 1-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, January 11, 2011 - 10:32 am: |
samval, u sure seems a little lucky to have your transfer maid to meet most of your expectations.. hope it'll last long for you..  |

Samval (samval)
Intermediate Member Username: samval
Post Number: 3767 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Tuesday, January 11, 2011 - 1:03 pm: |
KC, they are located at Sim Lim. Agency fee is $400 and my maid is from Phil. They do have Indo also. As for the terms, its 1 FOC replacement within 6 months.. something like that.. I need to check back. celtricia, i hope she remains this way and not just wayang wayang... really keeping fingers and toes crossed. |

celtricia (celtricia)
Post Number: 4128 Registered: 1-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, January 11, 2011 - 7:45 pm: |
samval, i noe wat u mean.. it is so worrying right.. my last maid was almost perfect.. but it came to a point where she was so comfortable wif hb n me, tat she became disrespectful to us... even right in front of our aunts.. n she send out a 'msg' to every of my family members tat she is not replacceable coz my youngest stick to her.. sigh.. in d end, we can't even tolerate her juz 3 mths b4 her 2 yrs contract end.. since den am maidless till now.. now tinkin if i shld even get one.. |

Snowball32 (snowball32)
Member Username: snowball32
Post Number: 1119 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Wednesday, January 12, 2011 - 10:47 am: |
Hi Samval/ Celtricia, One word of advice - Never let your maid think that they are indispensable (learnt lesson from my 1st maid) and they start to get ya...ya... My 1st maid thot I will "beg" her to stay-on but, I juz let her go and now got a "not-as-smart" but more obedient maid. For jobs well done, we can give small rewards to encourage them. We still have to treat them with employer-employee relationship. They must know their position and also be very clear that they can never take over our position. My current maid also know that there is no such thing as "her" territory in the house as she is not the owner. I dictate and decide where to put the things I want and in the way I like it. My opinion - A good maid will know why they come here for & do a good job & earn her dues. They can't pretend forever and the beans will spill in time to come. So, better for them to show true colours earlier than later. |

celtricia (celtricia)
Post Number: 4129 Registered: 1-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, January 12, 2011 - 2:42 pm: |
Snowball, I totally got wat u mean.. ya lesson learnt.. but den again right now.. as much as i wan to have a maid to lessen the hse wrk load since i have 3 young kids.. i hate the fact tat they are like a extra kid tat i will have to monitor and stress abt.. sigh.. |

Dymples (acthia)
Intermediate Member Username: acthia
Post Number: 4637 Registered: 9-2005
| | Posted on Wednesday, January 12, 2011 - 4:28 pm: |
HI KC & Celtricia, How are you ladies? Me had been changing maids since we last chatted here. Recently just send off maid #7. She only lasted 3-months in my house. Imagine, most maids will put 'best' behaiviour during their loan term or 6-mths whichever ends sooner. But this one... from week 1 already start showing colour. Can even ask to advance salary. I tolerate cos she is good in housework. But in end, keep asking for more and more things. Last straw came when she went out jalan-jalan instead of going home after her medical check-up. My dad caught her! Tat was it! I had to rush home from work to send her off packing! Really frustrated with maids. Now I'm coping mighty fine without any maid. To ease the housework, everyone is involved and has their own duties. From my hub to my 2 older glas. The youngest cannot do anything lah. Cos she only just turned 2. If she dun dirty the house is good enough liaoz. hahahahah. So now attemping to go thru without maid. See how we are able to manage. So far, I'm lucky that my mom & dad are helping to look after my older girls That's one load off my mind. Now see if we able to manage the housework. I even bot a garment steamer to ease the ironing chore. hahahahah... good investment. Lightens the ironing load lots. |

celtricia (celtricia)
Post Number: 4130 Registered: 1-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, January 12, 2011 - 8:13 pm: |
Hi Dymples.. I sent bak my last maid last aug, 3 mths before her 2 yrs contract end. Since den, i din have any maids till now.. but right not am considering as older DS is going P1 next yr.. so tinking if i shld have one so tat i can guide him on his studies.. besides, it gets more difficult when the kids fall sick and no one can help me take care of them.. i've used up almost all my leaves last yr all becoz kids has been falling sick on n off and mummy has been going for holidays quite often.. so i guess having maids as standby isnt tat bad.. but have been reading up as well and it seems good maids are really RARE to come by now.. sigh.. |

Samval (samval)
Post Number: 3768 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Thursday, January 13, 2011 - 8:44 am: |
celtricia : I'm also same position as you. Actually we do not want to have any maid. But my dad has been in and out of hospital and my mum is the main caregiver for my kids (mum not staying with us). So whenever my dad goes to hospital, mum has to be with him, thus she cannot bring my kids along to hospital and I have to take leave to take care of them. My eldest is in P4 and i put her in student care, which cost me $400 a month and it is not even full day. So that's why I got a maid, also as "standby". At the same time, do the housework so I can spend more time with my kids and catching up with them and guide them on their studies. Snowball32: Thanks for your advice I have repeatedly reminded my maid that she can be replaced anytime. And I told her if she does anything seriously wrong, I will not send her back to the agent, but I will send her back to Philippines and ban her through MOM from coming to work in Singapore. Told her that she can change passport and all that stuff just to get in, but thumb print cannot change. Once a while must remind her. She knows her position at home, and I also told her that there are many maids out there with Bangla boyfriend and can see them everywhere on their off day. So I told her if she wants to be like those low class girls, then go ahead, and she has to answer to her conscience. Certain things in the kitchen she change, but when i see, i dont like, i will tell her to do it my way, my style. Told her not to climb over our heads and never never think that she cannot be replaced. But I will still continue to monitor as we wont know the true colours until something happens (hope not).  |

KC (kckc)
Post Number: 775 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, January 13, 2011 - 12:48 pm: |
Hi Drymples, Good to hear from u...as the same as u, i am also maidless now. Have been sharing housework with my hb. OUr house has no maid problem issue now. I am only looking around for stand by...to assist my mum. If cannot find, just go maidless lor. How is the iron steamer like? U mean those standing type like boutique shop kind? Is it easy to use? Ha...might thought of getting one since i have loads of ironing... |

celtricia (celtricia)
Post Number: 4131 Registered: 1-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, January 13, 2011 - 1:13 pm: |
samval, i guess most of us here faced the same issues as to y we have to get maids as standbys.. sigh.. tough.. Really hope urs b good n last till u do not nid her..  |

charmaine (tittieal)
Member Username: tittieal
Post Number: 1531 Registered: 8-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, January 13, 2011 - 4:32 pm: |
Hi all, I've been a silent reader all the while. My new maid just arrived 3weeks ago and so far her working attitude is quite good except that she's forgetful, kept falling sick (3x oredi) and hygiene wise have to remind her eg wash hands after handling dog's poo/pee or throw rubbish (she's Indo). But my biggest headache is my 4yr old son just hates her. He dun allow her in the bathroom when he pee or shower. I'm going to deliver my 2nd baby anytime (edd due in another 2weeks) so changing another maid now is not possible. I've tried to let the maid play with my boy but dun work out and i'm really at a loss. So my maid now purely do hsework and she has 2-3hrs of free time in the afternoon when my boy naps. Should i consider changing maid after my confinement if my boy still dislikes my maid? Or should I give a period of, say 3mths for my boy to click with my maid? I will be going back to work in April and my maid will handle my newborn and boy and I have told my maid this too and she seems confident she can handle. |

Snowball32 (snowball32)
Post Number: 1125 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Friday, January 14, 2011 - 1:59 pm: |
Hi Samval, Good to hear that. But, do keep monitoring her as many of them will tahan until they completed their loan then start to have all sorts of patterns shown. Hi Charmaine - U can monitor how your maid perform during your confinement at home and gauge if she is really able to handle 2 young kids. Do you have additional help at home? Maybe you can arrange with your parents/ in-law/ reliable relative to drop by to see how she is doing coping with 2 kids. My personal opinion - Its better to have someone at home to monitor the maid rather than leaving her alone to handle young kids. As for your elder child, it will take sometime for him to adjust and get used to the maid. But, the maid must also take initiative to play and engage him lah. Cleaniness - You have to keep instilling/ reminding this in your maid. It is her usual daily routine. I monitor that my maid washes her hand with antiseptic handwash before handling my kids and food at home. Maid keep falling sick - Is it because she is homesick or she is really sick? Better to get doctor to check her more thoroughly if she has some illness that is not declared or escaped the pre-employment checkup. If after your confinement, your maid is still a no-go, suggest that you consider changing your maid. |

Snowball32 (snowball32)
Post Number: 1126 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Friday, January 14, 2011 - 2:00 pm: |
Hi Dymples, Good to see you around here....long time no see you at the CCK mummies thread already. |

charmaine (tittieal)
Member Username: tittieal
Post Number: 1534 Registered: 8-2006
| | Posted on Saturday, January 15, 2011 - 12:33 am: |
Hi Snowball, Thanks for yr reply. My mil has passed away and we dun hv relatives staying nearby who can helped me come over to check on my maid. My mum stayed 3blocks away frm me but she's reluctant to help me supervise or even come over to check on the maid ocassionally. So i confirm installing CCTV if I start work. Frankly speaking, I pity my maid due to the way my boy is shunning her. Today, my boy let her shower him but he's crying thruout the whole process. After my hubby took my boy to the room, my maid asked me v sadly why my boy still dislike her. My maid is trying v hard to 'blend in' with my boy but still can't work out. Since day 1, I hv been monitoring her cleanliness like washing her hands after cleaning or clearing my dog's mess and she's doing quite okie. Problem is she kept forgetting to close/cover her mouth when she's coughing even when I just remind her seconds ago. So now I just ask her to wear a mask if she's cooking. I bought her a card to call home on her 1st day at my hse to inform her family tat she has reached safely. 3days later, she's down with flu. 2days later, down with sore throat and flu barely recovered. Couldn't bring her to see GP coz her wp still in process so we gv her panadol flu/throat med. 2days later, flu recovered but she's coughing very badly to the extend tat she can't even talk. So I gv her lozenges to relief the cough and itch (she said her throat v itchy) Brought her to medical hall to drink Chinese bitter medicine and bought throat lozenges. She's better the next day but 2days later, she started to cough again and hv alot of phlegm in her throat which she said is green colour. So I cook barley water n herbal tea for her. She's still coughing but much better. Just when I thot she's finally okie, yest she told me her body very itchy and showed me her neck and chest. Got few itchmarks but no rashes so I asked her if she needs lotion. She said she wants snake powder so got hubby to buy. Hubby was pissed off coz he say her problems like never-ending. Told her to tk a bath n put on the powder. Hope she won't hv anymore prob again. She passed her medical test in SG so shd be okie rite? I'm getting a confinement lady this time but I never tell my maid and I only told her she'll be helping me with the newborn. She's okie with tat. I'm planning to get her to learn how to handle my newborn frm the confinement lady during my confinement. Then monitor if she can handle both kids for another 1mth before I start work. But both kids will still sleep with me and I'll still handle the nitefeeds. Hope my plan will work out by then. |

Emma (babypooh)
Member Username: babypooh
Post Number: 904 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Saturday, January 15, 2011 - 7:55 am: |
Hi mummies Need advice how to send maid to agent without telling her the truth? I don't intend to extend her contract and she wants to continue to work, meaning she can go home and then back to work for me again I just worry about she might be up to no good if I tell her the truth . I thought of just send her to agent and let agent handle . |

Snowball32 (snowball32)
Post Number: 1128 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Saturday, January 15, 2011 - 11:48 pm: |
Hi Charmaine, Gd tat u are hiring a CL 2 help during confinement. Your son is probably need more time 2 adjust 2 the maid. My #2 took ant 2 mtgs 2 accept my 2nd maid when she came when she was 17 mtgs old. U can bathe / feed your son n get your maid 2 b ard 2 interact. Slowly let go 2 let maid handle him. He will accept her once he find her approachable. |

Bee (bee72)
Junior Member Username: bee72
Post Number: 101 Registered: 4-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, January 19, 2011 - 10:01 am: |
hi ladies, true or not? http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1105453/1/.html i dun mind spending more if the maids r excellent workers. this is really too much. |

hopefully (hopefully)
Junior Member Username: hopefully
Post Number: 179 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, January 19, 2011 - 11:19 am: |
wah compareable to pinoy maid. hope salary for myanmar maid wont increase anytime soon. dear all, my current maid is getting bolder and lazier, perhaps she knew she will be transfer out soon. I just tolerate till new bio data comes in. While I in hospital, she informed my hubby she has hp, so since then see her charging her hp every night. so long as she didnt chat during day time is still 'alright' for me. my hubby also cant stand her, showing her true color step by step. |

LS (budian13)
New member Username: budian13
Post Number: 11 Registered: 8-2010
| | Posted on Wednesday, January 19, 2011 - 4:01 pm: |
Hi Bee... Yah...I also think ridiculous... Luckily I managed to confirm the maid last Sat..But my agent said...hoped this maid will not 'jump' agency and go to other agency that pays $450....Ayoi....also dont know how...fingers crossed.... |

Snowball32 (snowball32)
Post Number: 1134 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Wednesday, January 19, 2011 - 6:11 pm: |
Hi Bee, I already find the Pino's govt request for min US$400 wages ridiculous, now come Indo maids. If their work performance is up to std to worth that amt, I do not mind paying. But, look at the quality of maids we have.....sighhhhhh |

Bee (bee72)
Post Number: 102 Registered: 4-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, February 24, 2011 - 1:26 pm: |
Hi ladies, I am applying for my 5th maid in less than a year and I will be summoned for an interview with MOM or attend a course. Has anyone gone through this? Please advice. I really find this so unfair. The 1st one couldn't work at all because she was too fat and get tired easily. I was her 4th employer. I think she changed a lot of employers until the agent told me she doesn't know what to do with her. Then the 2nd one work for 9 months and wanted to go home because problem with ex-husband taking her kid. 3rd one was a Myanmar who wanted to vomit when changing my baby's diaper, wash toilet like a princess, eat with knife and fork like a princess, gave my baby medicated ointment to play and tell me she has her own way to take care of him. 4th one came few days went crazy because thought of her baby who was around the same age as mine. Can even watch TV until 11:30pm the night before she ran away. I really don't understand why I am the one who will be interviewed and needs to attend a course on how to treat my maids right. I buy them everything, they eat everything, they are free to watch TV. Anything missing? Thanks. Really frustrating. |

ksmum79 (ksmum79)
New member Username: ksmum79
Post Number: 2 Registered: 12-2010
| | Posted on Monday, February 28, 2011 - 7:55 pm: |
Hi, relation between employer and employee is a challenge to manage. I will treat my maid as my child's nanny. I will let her eat whatever she want and I will get her the necessary stuff, I will give her extra afforable money if she need it to support her family, however I will not let her watch TV freely and I hints her that I am the employer and does it consistently. Do not let them cross the boundary. This is so that the momentum of the work altitude can be upheld and sustained. good luck. |

LP (lostweight)
New member Username: lostweight
Post Number: 3 Registered: 11-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, March 01, 2011 - 10:56 pm: |
Hi, my myanmar maid has been with me for almost 3 years. Now she said she wants to go back for a break. I kept asking her are you coming back or are you going back for good. Because when she asked me to get ticket to go back then, after i bought ticket, she suddenly said i should get her one way ticket. I asked her why. She said she think it may be cheaper to buy a one way ticket from myanmar back to singapore. I told her is more expensive. Cheaper to buy two way ticket. So she agreed. Then now she said she wants to go back for good. Don't want to come back to work! And her ticket is already booked for 12th March! How can I get a new maid in such short notice?? She has off every month! And every off day, I drive her to her church! When she didn't have off day the first two years (except Christmas), no issues of carrying handphone, sms people our address when we went out and she was alone at home (though my in laws are just next door), or text people saying she cannot come out that night because we are going to return from our holidays.... |

are (are)
Intermediate Member Username: are
Post Number: 3750 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Wednesday, March 02, 2011 - 12:00 am: |
hey bee... there should be a hotline num for you to call on your notification. you can call them and say you want to appeal, they will give you a fax num. you can write all these reasons and fax to them. else, you juz need to attend the course till the end of class, get the trainer to sign off, and you are done. |

Bee (bee72)
Post Number: 103 Registered: 4-2008
| | Posted on Friday, March 04, 2011 - 12:43 am: |
thanks ladies. i will be attending the course. the course will remind me not to buy my maids chocolates and only to provide normal meals! hi 'are', i called mom up and explain but i guess the officer placed the phone away from his ears and showed the blah blah blah sign. who knows? if the 5th maid doesn't work out, i am heading for the 6th one... as though i am so rich and free to change maids. |

sandra (sandramay)
Junior Member Username: sandramay
Post Number: 224 Registered: 3-2007
| | Posted on Monday, March 07, 2011 - 1:42 pm: |
I'm useless, i cant convince my hb yet let her sis control our house affair, e maid which under her name who look aft my FIL create so much prob, yet they 1 2 keep her, my hb agreed it n ask mi 2 shut up, bcos of e maid do i need 2 divoce him, very angry. No 1 1 2 look aft FIL throw him here then anything happen all e fingers point @ us, like we need 2 bare with all e responsibity, 5 bros no 1 care, y we shld care, once i raised tis ques, hb will scold mi n ask mi dont get involve in his hm affair, 命苦,为什么有这种丈夫,不帮老婆。气死人。Wat shld i do nw? tis prob had been troubled mi 4 so long liao. I rather died then everytime quarrel with him. |

Dymples (acthia)
Post Number: 4642 Registered: 9-2005
| | Posted on Tuesday, March 08, 2011 - 1:41 pm: |
Hi Sandra, Oh dear.... you still stuck with tat idiotic maid? *sayang-sayag* Totally understand how trapped, frustrated and upset you are feeling now. Haiz... too bad tat sickening maid is not under your name. Somemore now with all the bros and sis on her side, she must be lagi yah-yah papaya lah. I also dunno how to help you leh. Maybe you can see if she is breaking the law on her off day or whilst she is taking care of your FIL? Then make anoymous police report against her? I dunno... Somehow I feel that either this maid has done black magic to make everyone like her so much... else she has done something to your FIL to make him so protective of her. This is my first time seeing got employers so protect a maid. |

Gal.dolphin (dolphingal)
Member Username: dolphingal
Post Number: 1387 Registered: 6-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, March 09, 2011 - 3:11 pm: |
hey bee, just read ur post.. u are not alone.. =) i also change 5 maid within a year.. now this is my 7th maid liao.. hope things will work out.. =) i also went for the course.. dun think it's useful.. but bo bian just attend lor.. so i can understand ur situation. =) |

momto3 (momto3)
New member Username: momto3
Post Number: 77 Registered: 2-2010
| | Posted on Wednesday, March 16, 2011 - 2:35 pm: |
hi, does anyone know where can I purchase those telephones whereby when calling out we need a pin (singtel have this service, but every no. that we dialled out need to key in the pin) I want those we can prefix certain nos. so when the maid call me etc she neednt keyed in, but for other nos. we need the pin. The salesman told me msia have this type of tel...... |

CSI_Fan (kitty_li)
Intermediate Member Username: kitty_li
Post Number: 2479 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, March 24, 2011 - 4:39 pm: |
Hi mummies, long time nvr come in here coz I was maidless till #2 came along. Need to seek opinion. Current maid eats very little. Breakfast, Milo only. Lunch, 2 eggs and Milo only. Dinner, she eats the same thing as us, but very very little. Is it normal? Is it ok? She kept saying it's ok leh. Work wise, her attitude is ok. Not bad. Just that she eats so little... |

babycutie (babycutie)
Advanced Member Username: babycutie
Post Number: 5724 Registered: 3-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, March 27, 2011 - 9:09 am: |
Hi all, I have changed 3 maids within 7 months and also received a letter from MOM that my next application may not be approved. How long more do I need to wait before I can apply for another maid again without going through course? I have been enduring my maid for 4 months already. Everyday listening to my mum's complain till my ear become numb. I don't want to reprimand the maid. Already tired of doing that cos maid has all reason to turn black into white. Just one word. She is a lazy maid. Her loan will be completed in July. I was planning to get a replacement and send current one back home. Not gg to tell her anything. But I'm afraid my application will be rejected by MOM. |

sandra (sandramay)
Post Number: 225 Registered: 3-2007
| | Posted on Monday, March 28, 2011 - 8:12 am: |
CSI_Fan yr maid eats so little, oso problem, my maid eat non stop oso problem, she wake up @6am oledi ate 2 pieces of breads, 2pkts of biscuits, 1 bowl of cereal, then 9am eats another 2 pieces of breads, 2pkts of biscuits 1 cup of nestcoffe, 10am go down hv 1 bowl of noodles, 1 cup of soft drinks, 12pm 2 bowls of noodles again. 3pm 1 pkt of 'chee cheong fan', 1 cup of coffee again, 5pm 2 pieces of breads n fruit n biscuits again, 7pm dinner cum fruits, 8pm 2 pkts of biscuits again. 9pm sleep. so u tell mi tis type of maid can keep or nt? or rather say who can stand tis type of maid, work attitude very bad, n go round n tell ppl employer no gd, dont let her eat, somemore she is 6yrs in SG,very experienced. cant imagine hw preious employer can stand her. she said 3 yrs in one household? i wondering whether her words is truth? frm wat i noticed frm her work attitude? very strange n stressed. old man in e hse side her very much. scare she gt nothing 2 eat, keep on buy things 4 her n bring her down 2 eat. she likes whole day eats n dont do work. |

CSI_Fan (kitty_li)
Post Number: 2496 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 12, 2011 - 2:08 am: |
i can't sleep. coz the maid disappeared!! she didn't take anything with her. she eats little, probably coz she's shy. after a few more days, things improved. she ate more. then one sat, let her call home, she says her DD passed away. asked to go back, promising to return after 2 weeks. but cannot mah, she was with me for 3 weeks only...how to let her go home? agent also told her cannot. i didn't know whether to believe her or not, but gave her benefit of doubt. counselled her, reminded her to be strong for her other kids. after that, she seemed like back to her normal self, happy, cheerful, smiling. on one hand, it seems strange that a mother whose DD just passed away could be cheerful. yet on the other hand, that could be her way of dealing wih her grief, afterall, she has 2 other kids to care for. we wanted to help her out, so offered to contribute some cash (she nvr asked us for money). but she was not able to give us details of where to remit the $$ to...we asked her 4 times over the next 2 weeks. agent was also unable to verify her story. the last time we asked her abt the details re her DD passing was on Sun morning. Sun afternoon, she left while we were out. she unlocked the gate, padlocked it back and tossed the keys back into the house. main door was left open. it seems like she only took her jacket and possibly, her handbag. her PP, WP and $$ are still with us. we have reported it to the police, but still no news. police tried calling the embassy and HOME but couldn't get through. really dunno what we can do now...haiz. |

KC (kckc)
Post Number: 779 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 12, 2011 - 10:07 am: |
CSI Fan, Dont worry too much! She will most probably in Indo Embassy or go back agency later. Dont lose sleep or eat just becoz of this type of pple. You should get your agency to call Indo Embassy (as they can speak Indo easier to communicate). For Indo, mostly they will run to Embassy or agency. Only Filippions ran to HOME. She has no pp, wp and $$ so eventually will appear somewhere. Is she a ex sg? |

CSI_Fan (kitty_li)
Post Number: 2497 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 12, 2011 - 1:08 pm: |
KC, she is Phil maid. Fresh. This morning I called the embassy. She went there. Phew! Was so worried something happened to her. Her work attitude etc is actually very good...the whole family is v happy with her. My house has nvr been so clean, even with my previous maids. Embassy said they called agency, but agent said didn't receive any phone call. Funny lah. Police also didn't find anything. I called the IO to update him, he laughed when he heard I was the one who called embassy to check. Think she's just home sick...esp when her DD passed away (supposedly). Haiz, but I dread the whole new maid training bit etc if I have to select new maid again. Sigh |

KC (kckc)
Post Number: 780 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 12, 2011 - 4:03 pm: |
Hi CSI Fan, Lucky, u found her! So what u going to do with her? Why she dont tell you if she is got problem rather than running away... |

CSI_Fan (kitty_li)
Post Number: 2506 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 20, 2011 - 1:33 am: |
KC, yah lorh! I also dunno why she dun tell us of any problem. From her behaviour prior to her running away, totally couldn't tell she had any problems... I can't do anything...embassy not releasing her, not even to agent. but embassy pple say to let her transfer. Also good lah. As much as I want to take her back, her emotional state of mind may not be that stable lah...little bit like that run back to embassy. plus she run once, she can run again...and I'm still paying levy! damn... |

Heaven (heaven)
Junior Member Username: heaven
Post Number: 446 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, April 21, 2011 - 2:08 pm: |
Hi, i just got a filipino maid & need to find out a couple of things: (1) Cheapest way for her to call back Philippines? (2) Cheapest way to remit her money back to Philippines? Can anyone advise? Thks in advance |

Snowball32 (snowball32)
Post Number: 1279 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Thursday, April 21, 2011 - 3:04 pm: |
Hi Heaven, 1) Calling back Philippines You can get a Starhub IDD calling card. I pay $8.50 for a $10-value card and my maid can make 1 hour of phone call (30 min each). I allow my maid to call home every week (30 min). 2) Remittance - You can try Western Union - Reliable and available at all Post Offices. |

Heaven (heaven)
Post Number: 447 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Friday, April 22, 2011 - 12:44 pm: |
Hi Snowball, Thks for the advice... can i check further: is it true that she needs to produce the work permit for remittance services? Is the starhub IDD calling card to be inserted into hp or can use with house phone? Thks again |

Snowball32 (snowball32)
Post Number: 1280 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Saturday, April 23, 2011 - 11:55 am: |
Hi Heaven, For the IDD calling card, you can use normal phone to call. There is a phone # for you to dial in to key in the pin # printed on the calling card before you call the country phone #. I am not too sure about needing WP for remittance. But, when I let my maid go off to do her remittance back home, I give them their WP to carry with them. This is a form of identification for them (if stopped by police for checks). I keep her passport with me tho'. |

are (are)
Post Number: 3796 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Saturday, April 23, 2011 - 4:20 pm: |
hey heaven... yes, WP is required for every remittance. my maid will ask me for WP if she is going to remit. even for western union, after they make a "member card", so they dont need to fill in the address in the form each time, they still need to show WP to remit. else, when she alone outside, i make her carry a colour copy of her WP for identification purposes. i use the hi! card from Singtel as sometimes the cheaper cards connection not too good. she tried M1 and always cut off. |

Heaven (heaven)
Post Number: 448 Registered: 10-2004
| | Posted on Sunday, April 24, 2011 - 4:52 pm: |
hi snowball and are... thks very much for the advice! |

Snowball32 (snowball32)
Post Number: 1281 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Sunday, April 24, 2011 - 8:22 pm: |
So far I use Starhub calling card call quality is fine too |

CSI_Fan (kitty_li)
Post Number: 2509 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 26, 2011 - 12:00 am: |
hey, can i check, is it illegal for maids to wash cars? i see many neighbours' maids doing so and i thot it's ok. but just heard from a fren that it's illegal... |

Snowball32 (snowball32)
Post Number: 1289 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 26, 2011 - 8:34 am: |
Hi Kitty, Our Agency stated washing car in the list of duties in the Contract with the Maid. My previous and present maid all from Philippines wash our car and they are not complaining. So long as the maid is in agreement to doing so, its not illegal. |

CSI_Fan (kitty_li)
Post Number: 2512 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 26, 2011 - 3:19 pm: |
Snowballz, oh I see... Thanks!! |

CSI_Fan (kitty_li)
Post Number: 2514 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Friday, April 29, 2011 - 11:44 pm: |
mummies, can i ask, do your maids sleep with ur kids in the same room? Any issue to take note of if want the maid to sleep with the kids, esp if the kids are young (3 yo) |

Snowball32 (snowball32)
Post Number: 1298 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Tuesday, May 03, 2011 - 1:24 pm: |
Hi Kitty, I do not let my kids sleep with the maid for 1 simple reason. When the maid goes back, we will have a hard time to adjust their sleeping arrangement. Currently, both my kids zzz with us in the same bedroom. We intend to let both kids sleep by themselves when my DD1 turns 5. |

May (baibies)
Intermediate Member Username: baibies
Post Number: 2735 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Sunday, May 08, 2011 - 11:50 am: |
Dear all, can I check and see if anyone have similar experience? I have a maid who had just finished her loan. Caught her in the past wearing my clothes and using my facial care stuff. I have made her write down a "confession and her promise not to do it again". Her own utensils and cup were very dirty and once when I check it was so slimy!! She even grow long fingernails and were very unhappy when I make her cut her fingernails. There was a foreign worker who will appear at my doorstep every alt week and look into the house for her. And lately at night time around 12.30am there will be ppl calling my house to look for her. Despite all that, she have been with me for 8mths as she is alway smiling and polite. But recently she became very lazy and ignore or talk back whenever I reproach her about her mistake. She reaches my limit the other day when my family reaches home at 9pm and she have not even mop the floor. My contact with the agency says I would have to pay the agency lodging at $15 perday for up til 30 days. if she still cannot find a employer, I will still have to pay for her airticket. So I do not really wan to send her back to agent. What else can I do in this case? |

CSI_Fan (kitty_li)
Post Number: 2518 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Monday, May 09, 2011 - 4:23 pm: |
My runaway is still with embassy! She just wants to go home. Don't even want to transfer. Agency also v slow with getting replacements...can I get my money back from agency? |

CSI_Fan (kitty_li)
Post Number: 2519 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, May 11, 2011 - 10:20 am: |
Can I ask what is the average pay for fresh Phil and fresh indo maids now? Agency told us it's $420 + 1 off day for Phil and $480 (no off day) for indo... Is that so? Quite exp leh... |

Snowball32 (snowball32)
Post Number: 1305 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Friday, May 13, 2011 - 9:51 am: |
Hi Kitty, I am going to extend my current maid's contract. According to my agency, fresh Filipino is $420 (1 off-day) and $450 (no off day). Based on this guideline, I am increasing my maid's pay to $450 with 1 off day. She is happy with it. |

are (are)
Post Number: 3810 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Friday, May 13, 2011 - 10:41 am: |
snowball... me same as u, increase my maid's pay tho she is oni 1 year, cos she knows her frens who are coming now are getting $450, and she only $350 (i got her b4 the new rules), so i better increase b4 she makes noise. i am giving her $400 with 1 off day. |

hopefully (hopefully)
Post Number: 195 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Saturday, May 14, 2011 - 2:23 pm: |
hi all, haiz... my myanmar maid loan finish this month end and she want to go back to agent. cos she feel very stress caring for my 1st boy. I understand it is a very stressful job, as my boy is ultra cranky at all time. I also dunno what to do with my boy sometimes. what to do, rather let her go even thought i very please with her, then let her snap one day and did something terrible. have to go thru the process of training maid again very sianz... somemore this will be the 3rd one for this year. |

KC (kckc)
Post Number: 784 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Saturday, May 14, 2011 - 3:00 pm: |
hi hopefully, I need some advice and discuss something with you. U dont accept PM. Can you drop me an email to kchua05@yahoo.com.sg |

CSI_Fan (kitty_li)
Post Number: 2520 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Friday, May 20, 2011 - 4:08 pm: |
Maid salary now so high huh. How do average families cope? Add levy plus food and utilities, it is easily at least 20% of an average person's monthly pay. Wow. Hey, need some advise here. My runaway is still with embassy. She is so homesick that she ran there. But agent is not doing anything about it. Is there anything I can do? What are the implications for me if she remains at embassy? TIA! |

Snowball32 (snowball32)
Post Number: 1310 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Friday, May 20, 2011 - 4:49 pm: |
Hi Kitty, If I am not wrong, the Agency has to take over the make after 2 weeks (if she still cannot get transferred). This should be in the Contract. You can tell your agency that you 1 to cancel her work permit and send the maid home. No point keeping a ticking timebomb here. OR, maybe you can seek advice from MoM on how to handle this situation? |

CSI_Fan (kitty_li)
Post Number: 2521 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Friday, May 20, 2011 - 5:36 pm: |
Snowball, if I send maid back, I won't be able to get my $ back from them... Nor sure abt the 2 weeks thing. Hmm, I need to check the contract again. |

CSI_Fan (kitty_li)
Post Number: 2522 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Saturday, May 21, 2011 - 7:15 pm: |
OMG. This is getting too much. Need to rant a bit. The agent called me today abt a new bio she just received. Asked if I would like to interview this maid. I said ok. Interviewed the gal, found her quite ok. But I wanted to see the bio first and I also wanted to let hb take a look, in case he has other opinions. So agent emailed me at 12noon. Being a Sat, I am on my own with 2 kids. So I could only check email about 15 min later. I fwded it to hb (who was at work, but able to have internet access). He checked his email, we discussed it and decided ok. Was about to call agent, when she called me. That was at 1.30pm. She says maid is taken already. I'm like WTH!! She knows out situation that we need a helper. She knows that we are considering this one. Yet she doesn't KIV it for us? It is so unreasonable. Couldn't she call me to check if I'm definitely taking or rejecting before letting others take her? So far, all the other bios she emailed to us are unsuitable - either high salary or not willing to help look after children and do housework. Either that, or the bios emailed to us, we are not able to interview the maid. Why are we not able to interview the maid? Because the maid is on the way to SG already. So cannot interview. Is that possible? Are they allowed to bring in maids without employer? And they refuse to refund us the outstanding loan amt. Not able to find us anything suitable, still don't want to refund. I will be taking this up with CASE, but is there anything else I can do? |

Snowball32 (snowball32)
Post Number: 1312 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Monday, May 23, 2011 - 11:15 am: |
Hi Kitty, You can read the Employment Contract. Most contract will state that employer pays for the WP and lodging of the maid for up to 2 weeks, afterwhich, the agency takes over. On the portion on taking back the loan $$$, you can check with MoM on the regulations governing this. You may also want to Tamarind's Maid Blog where you can find very useful advice there. Think you should bring your agency to CASE to bring them to task. |

CSI_Fan (kitty_li)
Post Number: 2523 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Monday, May 23, 2011 - 3:31 pm: |
Snowball, employer pays for lodging food etc if maid is with agency. But in this case, she is with embassy. So, nothing to pay... Hehs. I went to CASE already. The guy there says shd go AEAS, but they still can't force agent to pay coz they are accredition authority only. Then after that is Small Claims. |

Snowball32 (snowball32)
Post Number: 1313 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Monday, May 23, 2011 - 3:43 pm: |
Hi Kitty, But, for everyday she is at the Embassy, she is still under your employment. You should check with MoM on how to settle this. You still have to the Maid's levy for everyday she is with the Embassy, which is not fair to you. Agency should take over if its more than 2 weeks.....shouldn't they? What is MoM's advice on this? |

CSI_Fan (kitty_li)
Post Number: 2524 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Monday, May 23, 2011 - 8:31 pm: |
we can claim waiver for the levy. so no issue there. embassy is more than happy to write a letter stating the period she is housed by them, for us to claim the waiver/refund of levy. MOM says to settle with agebcy. go small claims and mediation. sounds crap to me, the way the solution is suggested. we could always get a replacement but their bio all not suitable! |

muffin (muffin)
New member Username: muffin
Post Number: 85 Registered: 6-2003
| | Posted on Friday, May 27, 2011 - 5:23 pm: |
Hi CSI Fan, Sorry to disturb, I have dropped you a PM regarding a different issue. Hope that you can get back to me ya? Thanks and have a good weekend. |

lemontree (superlemon)
Member Username: superlemon
Post Number: 1500 Registered: 8-2005
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 08, 2011 - 5:46 pm: |
I got a feeling that all maids get lazy after some time? I told mine to sweep floor twice a day. Now she 'conveniently forgot' to sweep in the afternoon. She also takes naps cos she has got her own room behind the kitchen. BTW, she wakes up at 7 am. Ggrrhh.... |

Gal.dolphin (dolphingal)
Post Number: 1494 Registered: 6-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 09, 2011 - 2:28 am: |
Lemontree, What time does she sleep?did u allow her to nap? Or she just nap on her own? Was she given a nap time in the first place? Y dun u just relied her to sweep the floor in the afternoon? Anyone home to supervise her? What's her duties like n how long she been w u? Well.. its human nature to b lazy...sometimes we do get lazy too! She is just a human being... as long as she does the important chores... n the necessary ones... I guess u can close eyes... is she good in the first place?  |

silky (silky)
New member Username: silky
Post Number: 10 Registered: 1-2005
| | Posted on Thursday, June 09, 2011 - 1:03 pm: |
Hi mummies, Anyone can enlighten me if u do let your maid sleep 8hrs a day? My maid slept at 11:30pm but she wake up around 7plus in the morning. So is already almost 8hrs sleep, yet she still take nap in the afternoon too. |

lemontree (superlemon)
Post Number: 1501 Registered: 8-2005
| | Posted on Thursday, June 09, 2011 - 7:20 pm: |
My maid rests in the room by 10pm. I did not specify what time she must sleep, so it's up to her. She definitely gets at least 8 hrs of rest per day. I understand it's human nature to be lazy, but at least must finish her afternoon chores before she naps right? Or at least after she naps, must sweep the floor right? Another thing I'm not happy about is that she brings my dog for a walk twice a day, and they are out for one hour each time. I dun think my dog takes so long to poo. Her behavior is making me suspicious. I just dunno wat she is doing outside for that one hr. She had been ok so far, with me for a year. Just that she can be grouchy sometimes and give black face. She will 'yes ma'am ', yet dun follow instructions. Keep asking myself to endure. Nowadays difficult to find maid who is willing to work even for one year. |

sandra (sandramay)
Post Number: 229 Registered: 3-2007
| | Posted on Friday, June 10, 2011 - 11:31 am: |
Anyone who have any experience with Luck 1 Employment services, pls share. Tq |

CSI_Fan (kitty_li)
Post Number: 2526 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Friday, June 24, 2011 - 4:48 pm: |
Mummies, would u take a transfer maid who has been here for 5 mths (2 employers in the 5 mths), and will have another 6 mths loan if u hire her. So means all in, she would have gone with no pay for 11 mths before she gets her first full pay. Advisable to take her? |

Yvonne Lai (ylai1997)
New member Username: ylai1997
Post Number: 29 Registered: 12-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, June 28, 2011 - 5:02 pm: |
Hi Mummies, any one of you with a good maid for transfer? If yes please email me at ylai1997@yahoo.com.sg |

Yvonne Lai (ylai1997)
New member Username: ylai1997
Post Number: 30 Registered: 12-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, June 28, 2011 - 5:05 pm: |
Hi Mummies, any one of you with a good maid for transfer? If yes please email me at ylai1997@yahoo.com.sg |

Emma (babypooh)
Member Username: babypooh
Post Number: 911 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Tuesday, June 28, 2011 - 6:35 pm: |
Hi all I am also looking for reliable maids . 2 kids and housework and cooking only. email : ngemily@yahoo.com |

sandra (sandramay)
Post Number: 232 Registered: 3-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 29, 2011 - 10:37 am: |
Hi CSI_Fan I dont think i will take her, cos she noe tt she is work 4 free, her attitude will b very poor, she will come here juz like holiday, will juz past time, cos free accomodation n food mah! tis is my personal opinion lar... nt all e same, but i think there is a possibility there lor.. recently encounter 1 maid oso x'fer 2 time within 2 mths, i nearly 1 2 take her, then aft think over nt rite, so nv take her, u noe hw? she x'fer again within 5 days in another employer, so, i think wat i said is quite rite.. juz 4 reference. |

CSI_Fan (kitty_li)
Post Number: 2527 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 29, 2011 - 4:11 pm: |
Hi Sandra, True...u hv a point. Poor thing lorh these gals. Agency just add more loan to them. I won't go to these agencies if I can help it. Found another agency, they dun add on to the transfer maid's loan (ie. Original loan amt was 7 mths, transfer after 3 mths. Now if I were to take her, loan amt will be 4 mths). I think that is fair. Mummies, just to chk...not sure if any of u know. I just selected a transfer maid. I'll be buying insurance for her myself (coz I dun like the coverage offered by agent's insurer - some insurer that I've nvr come across b4). I saw from Tenet and Income's website, that there is a performance bond insurance req by Phil embassy. Any idea what is that and is that a must? I've not heard abt this from maid agent. Called agent, agent also say dunno leh, nvr heard b4... |

Snowball32 (snowball32)
Post Number: 1366 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Monday, July 04, 2011 - 6:12 pm: |
Hi CSI Fan, I just renewed my Filipino maid's WP and Insurance via Tenet. My maid's agency did all for me. Din know that there is such clause. Are you referring to the undertaking for the min. wage that employers has to sign for the Philippines Govt to release the maid? |

Samval (samval)
Post Number: 3771 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 19, 2011 - 9:11 am: |
hi ladies Been MIA for a long time. Just to update, my maid so far so good, and very good with the children. Housework so so. Cooking also not too bad and loves to read recipe and try to invent new dishes. Her loan finishes this month and she will get her full pay. She has a cousin who is coming down to work for my aunty and uncle as they are both 2 old folks living alone. She is aware that new maids now are earning 400 per month with one off day. Can i check with you ladies, when do we start to increase the maid's salary? Is it after their 2 year contract is over or what? Before she came down, we told her that we will monitor her during her 2 year contract and then see whether to increase her salary or give her an additional day off. She is sensible enough not to compare with other maids' pay and remuneration, but then again, we will never know. Her performance is good so far and she has been a great help to me. Also, recently she complained that she can't see clearly so brought her to the optician and discovered that she needs to wear glasses. I paid for her glasses which costs 140, and i told her that i cannot sponsor for this in full. The agent told me that employers are not obligated to pay for their spectacles, but if we want to, its an agreement between the maid and us. I am thinking of helping her a bit on the cost. Please advise. |

CSI_Fan (kitty_li)
Post Number: 2541 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, July 21, 2011 - 3:07 pm: |
Hi Snowball, oh eventually I found out that that one is for maid's going on home leave. Anyway, that Phil transfer maid also ran...3 days into the job. I am so suay. That maid even came by our home to see the place etc. So she knows what she's going into. Think she has some history, probably dun want to work in SG anymore (she ex Saudi one. Probably like there better), but dun want to be responsible for the loan so just run to embassy. Now I have a Myanmar maid. Hope she'll be good. But, I have nothing much for her (or any of my maids) to do! Morning, clean floor (sweep and mop), wipe shelves, wash clothes, wash toilet, clean children's toys. That's all. Afternoon she rests / reads. I only worry she gets bored and start to hv funny ideas. Any suggestions on what I can get her to do? Both kids are in CC full day. |

Samval (samval)
Post Number: 3773 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Monday, July 25, 2011 - 8:22 am: |
CSI gan: maybe can put your kids in half day CC? Then she will be busy already and have more things to do rather then idle or gets bored and mind starts wondering.... |

Snowball32 (snowball32)
Post Number: 1433 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 26, 2011 - 9:20 am: |
Hi Kitty, Both my kids also attend fullday care and my maid stays at home to do housework and cooking. It has been 18 mths since we did so and so far so good. I am more stringent on the quality of her housework since my 2 kids goes to fullday care. Usually, she is done with the basic housework by lunchtime. After lunch, she will prepare for dinner and do folding and ironing of clothes. By then, it will be time to fetch the kids from CC with my MIL. |

CSI_Fan (kitty_li)
Post Number: 2546 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, July 28, 2011 - 12:51 am: |
samval, i hv no one else at home...so can't put kids at half day CC... Snowball, yeah, basic housework is usually done by lunchtime. prepare for dinner...that also doesn't take long. hehs. oh well, i just feel a little sianz lah. both my mum and mil dun want to help out with the maid...to either trian or jagar the maid. |

bongobum (bongobum)
Junior Member Username: bongobum
Post Number: 117 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2011 - 12:26 am: |
Realized this thread is very active so I am posting my experience & question here. My luck with maid is very bad - have changed 3 since last year. First one tell lies, second one got pregnant & the third ond cannot get along with my mother. I do not want to use my current agent, anybody have any good recommendations on maid agency? Thanks! |

Cribcot (cribsi)
Member Username: cribsi
Post Number: 1756 Registered: 12-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2011 - 7:06 pm: |
Hi Mummies... my maid seems to be have toothache and need an extraction.. anyone has good and average price dentist to recommend in the west? Should I be paying or she has to? |

are (are)
Post Number: 3887 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Saturday, August 20, 2011 - 4:54 pm: |
cribcot... u r not obligated to pay for her, but the cost is very high to them. my maid requested for a dental check-up and found many teeth needed filing. i paid for them cos no point she suffer in pain then cant do work properly. she is gd so i dun mind. and with extraction, better dun delay else if the tooth breaks, will need surgery to remove the root, which will cost a lot more, which is wat happened to my previous maid. bongobum... i also hv lousy luck with maid, and unfortunately, no agency can guarantee you no worries. wat i feel tat my agent is gd is that when i had probs with my maids, she does not shake responsibility and avoid my calls, but do all her best to help me counsel her, or get me replacement. my current maid wanted to leave within a mth despite us counselling her numerous times. my agent asked me to bring her down, and aft 2 hrs, my maid apologised to us and went bac happily, and has been with me for more than 1.5yrs now. we still wonder wat did she say tat was so powerful! some of my previous maids are happy w their new employers, so i guess its just the fit tat didn't match. i hv a special child so i am rather strict, and my agent understands that. you can call shirley or magdalene from MDS @ 63447665. i posted their details previously & there were many people who were happy with my recommendation, including my frens. |

hopefully (hopefully)
Post Number: 204 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, August 25, 2011 - 2:05 pm: |
bongobum, there is no good agency, so far even those that I thought good, turn out bad also. its the maid the come to your house can work out or not. my friend tried those $88 agency, got bad ones, I tried expensive one also like that. The agents never really match the maid to our requirement. so fed up with these agency, TM G never send me any bio or called me up even after i stated my requirement and leave my contact and email. then my current agent just said dont change lah, so troublesome, counsel her to continue work for me. The thing is my maid before stepping into my house already told agent she dont want to care for kids. then agent lie to her which she said she was shock to see my 2 kids! I counsel her one time already, this the 2nd time she bring it up want to change. She dont have loan anymore so she dont want to go back to the same agent, for fear of being trick into household with kids. I pissed off with the agent, tricking the maid into household she didnt like will only foresee transfer in a few months time when her loan finish. And every transfer these agents will collect 1 month from them. She very honest with me that she want to go to the Maidcity and try out. Well up to her if she can find her ideal employer. I told her once I cancel her permit she only have 14 days grace period to find new employer. feel so lousy luck with maid, this will be the 2nd one leaving this year. 1st one left becos insist on off days even though i said later on after I delivered and my mom comes over to help. she cant wait! |

berlin (berlin)
New member Username: berlin
Post Number: 52 Registered: 10-2010
| | Posted on Friday, August 26, 2011 - 11:26 pm: |
Hi mummies, Like to know your opinions as I'm a 1st timer getting a maid. Went to interview a transfer maid. She's only here for abt 9months plus. Kind of like her as she is decent & pleasant looking. Plus she seems to like my bb. Speaks very good English for an Indo maid. She is young & I thought what a right candidate to take care of energetic young kids. Went online to check her background. She had already worked for 3 employers in 9months!!! She claimed her previous employer kids didn't like her. Agency rejected my request to speak to previous employers. Sigh..... She kept asking me to give a chance.... Need to decide soon... |

hopefully (hopefully)
Post Number: 206 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, August 31, 2011 - 1:58 pm: |
well berlin, sometimes these transfer were forced to go to any employer that comes along. like my previous maid, when I interviewed her, everything she said ok. but things change after 2 months, cos the agent make her agree to whatever employer asked. I think best is interviewed these maids without the presense of agents. at the agency, these maids have to display very good attitude infront of the agent if not sure get scolding, but when arrive at your house, some true colors will show up. If your agency gives you free replacement unlimited, then maybe you can give her a chance. since she change 3 employer, which means she had chalked up extra 3 months loan to agency, she might seriously work for you. btw which agency you engaging? |

Snowball32 (snowball32)
Post Number: 1483 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Wednesday, September 07, 2011 - 8:41 am: |
Hi Berlin, My opinion - If this maid can change 3 employers, something is not right with her. Worst if the agency do not let you speak to the previous employers. If there is nothing to hide, why is the agency not letting you talk to her previous employers? |

Dymples (acthia)
Post Number: 4666 Registered: 9-2005
| | Posted on Wednesday, September 07, 2011 - 9:31 pm: |
Hi Berlin, After going thru 8 maids in 2.5yrs, I will not take that maid. 3 employers in 9-months? That means she lasted on average 3-months or less per employer. If you really want to hire her, maybe you wanna interview her again and ascertain what her expectations are of a maid and her real reason for coming to SG to work. Sometimes these maids come here thinking being maid is easy money. If not happy, they can anytime cry to be send back. My other concern is that since you will be employer #4, what if she is forced by the agent to continue working? Maybe she wants to go back Indon but can't cos of the loan. In this case, there is risk of her running off or worse going "siao" cos she is pressured to work. I would say - tread with caution. |

mattsmummy (en_hui)
Member Username: en_hui
Post Number: 1820 Registered: 5-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, September 20, 2011 - 8:05 pm: |
Hi mummies, I had bad experience with 3 maids 2 years bad and didn't have one since. Now that I have 2 kids we've decided to have a maid again. I just got an ex-sin Indonesian maid who had worked here for 3 years before she went home. My main priority is for her to help with housework and some cooking. She will arrive in 4-6 weeks and she will be alone at home once my kids attend full day childcare. I would like to ask if it's a good idea to leave maid alone at home in the day. How can be be sure that they are really doing their work and not lazing around or worst up to any funny business? |

Snowball32 (snowball32)
Post Number: 1492 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Wednesday, September 21, 2011 - 5:04 pm: |
Hi Mattsmummy, Both my kids are in fullday CC and I have a maid at home. My MIL will come over to my hse in the afternoon on most weekdays to help bring the kids back from CC. I have a daily tasklist for the maid to do - housework, cleaning, cooking. But, when we are not home, I locked my Master BR door where most of the impt documents/ valuables are kept. My MIL will open the Master BR for her to clean when she is there at my place. I also installed a LiveCam at home to "monitor" my maid while she is alone at home. In fact, in the first year we started to leave her at home, I only gave her the key to open the gate (in case of emergencies/ deliveries). I keep a set of door/ gate keep wrapped in an envelope within her reach (she is aware of where I keep) in case she needs to go run errands. Whenever she leaves the house, she will call to inform me and call again to inform that she is back. I only let her keep both keys when we are sure she is trustworthy enough to hold the keys and that she won't go out without informing us. So far this works quite well for about 2 yrs now. Even when my MIL cannot come over (holiday or going out elsewhere), we feel safe enough to leave her alone at home knowing she won't come up with funny business. We just renewed her contract to work with us for another 2 yrs. I should say I am quite lucky to have a maid whom I can trust. My advice - Do monitor your new maid's performance for at least 6 mths & gauge from there if she is trustworthy enough to be left alone at home. If you can get your parents/ in-laws or relatives to help dropby to looksee will be better (not necessary doing it everyday). |

sandra (sandramay)
Post Number: 233 Registered: 3-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, September 28, 2011 - 11:29 am: |
Hi, Can anyone advice on Cheapest way to remit money back to myanmar? Thks in advance |

tamarind (tamarind)
Advanced Member Username: tamarind
Post Number: 9201 Registered: 4-2005
| | Posted on Monday, December 26, 2011 - 11:35 pm: |
Please feel free to comment. Singaporean employers face unfair policies |

jennylow (jennydec)
Member Username: jennydec
Post Number: 748 Registered: 4-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, January 18, 2012 - 3:02 pm: |
hi mummies, I do need some advice: My maid of 1 years and 1 month claimed that her daughter (9years old) have leukaemia. Her kids are being looked after by her MIL (total 3 kids) for she is separated with her hubby. So on the 3rd Jan, she suddenly left home to buy phone card as her MIL told her that her daughter has leukaemia and admiited to hospital. I reached home to see no one. I was very angry and told her off. On the same night, I have bought another phone card for her to call her MIL. She tend cried badly. saying that she need to go home immediately. My hubby and I were nice enough to accompanied her to agency and PHIL embassy to ask about her return the next working day. The agency told her to wait for 2 days then go back as need to do some paperwork. She refused and insisted to go home. So my hubby and I sent her to airport directly and buy a air ticket for her to go home (ticket paid by her). We even cancelled her work permit since she said that she may not come back so fast. However, on 16 Jan, she text me and told me that she wishes to come back to work for me as her daughther did not get any leukaemia. Asked about work agremment. Hence I asked her what will be her expected agreement. This is what she told me: 1) Need 2 SUnday off day per month 2) Increment of salary - the same as what the maid should get (Previously was $380 and I do give her off day but only once a month starting from Nov 2011). 3) Insisted to hold her own salary (Previously I hold for her and when she need to remit $, I will do it for her instead). Her work attitutde is average only. She can cook dinner for us and get along well with my son. My son adores her like crazy and even called her "Auntie VIvian Mummy". She tend to show a black face to my friends whom came to my house. I suspected that she once steal $$ (About a few hundred) from us though I have no evidence, I did not install a camera(as we went to work and kids are in cc). Do you think I should take her back? I felt that she lied to me about her daughter illness so that she could get higher salary and even off day. I need a helper to look after the house when we are at work, cook dinner for us, and sometimes look after my kids (esp when they are sick, or I need to run some errands). Thanks in advance. |

treestar (treestar)
Junior Member Username: treestar
Post Number: 422 Registered: 10-2008
| | Posted on Friday, February 03, 2012 - 9:47 am: |
Since there is mistrust here .. Betr don't take her back . Else she thinks ur easy . Im in similar situation b4 , n i regret taking back the maid, she also play on my sympathy, i know n suspect some of her misdeed . My decision turns out to b a grave error. |

emama (nannysands)
New member Username: nannysands
Post Number: 66 Registered: 7-2011
| | Posted on Friday, February 03, 2012 - 1:09 pm: |
Say no to this maid,there are many maid better than her.She like it she work don't like want to go home,whats that,come back want this want that forget about it.Trust more problem will come in,get a fresh 1 better,afterall she is not a gd maid. |

berlin (berlin)
New member Username: berlin
Post Number: 84 Registered: 10-2010
| | Posted on Friday, February 03, 2012 - 1:10 pm: |
Hopefully, snowball32, acthia Thanks for the advice! Lost track of this thread. Didn't engage that particular maid finally. The agent was not helpful at all. Didn't want to risk paying them and getting lousy service later. The agency I went to was in Geylang. They have alot of indo maid. Found the biodata on netmaid.com. |

lemontree (superlemon)
Post Number: 1517 Registered: 8-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, February 12, 2012 - 2:57 pm: |
Am thinking of whether to hire another maid anot, after reading all the above posts. My current one, even though I offer her $450 with monthly day off to recontract, she said she has to 'think first'!! So yaya! |

emama (nannysands)
New member Username: nannysands
Post Number: 75 Registered: 7-2011
| | Posted on Monday, February 13, 2012 - 1:50 pm: |
If ur child is old enough to go cc ,don't hire the maid.Is going to have another set of problem if get a maid.Get a part-time maid,do main housework n go,no worry.If not cc than bbs...... |

lemontree (superlemon)
Post Number: 1518 Registered: 8-2005
| | Posted on Thursday, February 16, 2012 - 9:16 pm: |
part-time maid also not easy to find nowadays. Anyone got lobang? |

jennifer (jenx2)
Member Username: jenx2
Post Number: 659 Registered: 7-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 21, 2012 - 3:16 pm: |
hi, anyone hired myanmar maid from united channel agency? or anyone has myanmar maid? this our 1st time employing a maid and mine is coming to our home this wk.. i have a 7yo n 9mths old at hm n she will b looking after them.. as per agency, its a brand new maid.. now considering to install cam anot.. any advise? |

Snowball32 (snowball32)
Post Number: 1558 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 21, 2012 - 5:25 pm: |
Hi Jennifer, I have a maid at home. Both my kids go to fulltime CC and we employ her to do housework and do cooking. I install a livecam at home (you can get from Singtel shop) to monitor my maid. It is a cheaper option to installing a CCTV camera. My maid is aware of the livecam and she knows that I can see her mvt anytime/ anywhere. So far, we have no problem with this. |

Chris (christine77sg)
Member Username: christine77sg
Post Number: 1286 Registered: 3-2010
| | Posted on Wednesday, March 21, 2012 - 3:12 pm: |
Hi, I m a newbie in getting a maid. Gonna interview the 1st potential maid this evening. This Indo maid is highly recommended by the maid agency's boss, who is also an indonesian himself. According to him, he has personally interview her twice as anthr employer wanted to employ her n even got her passport issued in Mid Feb this yr. However, the employer finally didn't get the maid, cos his existing maid improved. This maid has no woorking experience outside her ctry. Cn I trust the agency's boss's words? I m also tinking of installing cameras, heard Foscam is gd. Anyone using tat? Normally hw many shld I install n at which area? Shld I inform the maid tat ther r cameras in the house? Or shld I hide the cams n watch her secretly? Much appreciate if anyone cn giv mi an advise. Thks! |

chelsa (chelsa1980)
Member Username: chelsa1980
Post Number: 1548 Registered: 7-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, March 22, 2012 - 3:12 pm: |
Help!!! My maid of 1 yr plus said she want to go back indo, claiming hb sick and dont want to go hospital. My youngest is 1.5yrs old. Older one is 4.5 yrs old. She takes care of the youngest most of the time. Her decision to leave caught me by surprise. So right now, I dont know what to do. I have already decided to put my younger boy in the same CC as his brother which is working distance (about 15 mins) from our place. My mum works 3 hours in the morning. My main worry is that my mum will get tired out. Also it can be quite a challenge to bring two kids to and fro. 1. Go maidless. I will hire a part time maid. Pro: No more maid problems. Cons: At night if my hb and I need to clear outstanding work, there is no one to take over the kids. 2. Hire a transfer maid. Pro: someone to do housework. During emergecy, there is backup. Hb and I work long hours Con: Not sure if transfer maid can be trusted. Basically no one to supervise her at home, though we can install CCTV 3. Hire a new maid Pro: someone to do housework. During emergecy, there is backup. Con: Waiting time at least 6 weeks. Got to train all over again Which option should I take? My mum is all for 1. But I am not sure. |

gal.dolphin (dolphingal)
Post Number: 1812 Registered: 6-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, March 22, 2012 - 8:26 pm: |
Hi chelsa, I would opt for #1 too.maid these days are not easy to take care.. Guess u can drop them off at your parents or in laws if really need to work late? But that's not all the time right? |

jennylow (jennydec)
Post Number: 749 Registered: 4-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, March 22, 2012 - 9:35 pm: |
HI Chelsa, I would prefer to have option 1. My maid went back in early Jan this year and it was a surprise too. Caught me off guard. Currently I am maidless too. Me and hubby have to work and leave my kids in full day CC. We will tabao food for dinner. Reach home still have to do housework chores and look after kids. Though it is quite tiring, yet need not bother about maid issue. Recenrly maids are not trustable and hard to get a good maid nowadays. Do consider and discuss with your hubby. |

chelsa (chelsa1980)
Member Username: chelsa1980
Post Number: 1549 Registered: 7-2007
| | Posted on Friday, March 23, 2012 - 12:01 am: |
Hi mummies, Thanks for ur replies. I made a trip down to my agent. I told him that I may not hire maids but he still shortlisted three maids for me. I interviewed all and there is a 33 yr old transfer maid. She has completed a 2 yr contract. Did not renew her employment as she said her mum misses her. After three months, her mum asked her to work so that she can give her money. She came to sg again and so got to work for the loan again. Her employer returned her after half a year and according to her, the 80 yr old granny at home often scold her. If I take her, I have to pay $788 (agent fees) and $500 monthly after 4 months when her loan is paid up. That is so expensive! My current maid is only $350 and I paid $488 as agent fee last year! Currently my 18 month old still cries at night and needs to be carried. I am for option 1 too. However, there are a few considerations. - My mum has rheumatism and she has difficulties walking especially when it rains. I leave home for work at 6.40 am. My hb may be able to drop them at the CC at 7.00 am but not always. Sometimes my hb may leave home early. Sometimes hb is also outstationed. The current arrangement when my hb needs to leave early is that my mum will go to my place at 6.40 am to bring my maid and two kids to her house. Maid and younger son will stay at my mum's place. Then mum will bring my older one to CC and then to work. So if there is no maid, my mum has to take two kids to and fro. I asked my mum to stop working but she wants to work. - I enrolled my younger one for CC next monday. I am worried that he will fall sick. I have used up my childcare when my younger one was hospitalised in Jan. Mum also cannot take leave as and when. - However, if I have a maid, there is nothing much for her to do! I have consider putting my younger one in half day CC so that she will take care of my younger one (with my mum's supervision. She will be home at noon time) Sigh..... |

CSI_Fan (kitty_li)
Post Number: 2717 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Monday, January 07, 2013 - 4:37 pm: |
Hi, can I check, I heard that if we would like to bring a maid in directly from Philippines, we would still need to go through an agent? Is that correct? Or can we do the paperwork ourselves? TIA! |

jennylow (jennydec)
Post Number: 755 Registered: 4-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, January 08, 2013 - 2:04 pm: |
Hi, the last time when i brough my maid in directly from PH, I got my agent to do the paper work which cost about $400 plus. But have to pay the air ticket separately. Cos if do the paperwork ourself, it would be rather troublesome. |

samantha loi (samantha_loi)
New member Username: samantha_loi
Post Number: 2 Registered: 1-2013
| | Posted on Tuesday, January 08, 2013 - 2:16 pm: |
I have been looking for an ganggang service for about a week, could anyone suggest me a few service providers? when I asked my few friends, they suggested me an servicer's called "Mummy’s Massage". have anyone here used it earlier? |

faeriekim (faeriekim)
Member Username: faeriekim
Post Number: 1546 Registered: 8-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, January 08, 2013 - 10:11 pm: |
Hi all, i have also had my fair share of "maid-changing". before coming in to read this thread, i thought that i was the only unlucky one. my friends around me didn't really have maids, and those that have, are tolerating their maids but have at least had them for almost 2 years... i thought my 4th time was lucky... but no... the latest pinoy was worst! she actually lay down in bed the whole day that she decided to leave. she packed her bag early in the morning and didn't even talk to me. in the pm, she just told my hb that she wants to go agent. we didn't send her back that day but i got the agent to come down tmr. and when she knew that, she washed herself up the next day and wore nice clothes! and waited for agent to come. gosh! i told her, i could send her back to ph. she said "if that's what you want, then send me back" oh goodness! they r getting bolder nowadays. am still waiting now for agency to refund me. and i am not going to get another maid. looking out for part-timer. |

faeriekim (faeriekim)
Member Username: faeriekim
Post Number: 1547 Registered: 8-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, January 08, 2013 - 10:18 pm: |
hi CSI, maybe this thread might be informative? http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/2652156.html?1357126080 |